CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

tqeh
post Jul 4 2012, 06:45 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 4 2012, 08:21 PM)
victoria medical students may all get their housemanship after all...including international students, with the new priority policy....
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/national/educatio...l#ixzz1zdUujKVN
The Victorian Hospitals have always unofficially prioritised international students in Victoria over interstate graduates, with a few exceptions, ie really outstanding med students from interstate. And now, they finally formalised it.
tqeh
post Jul 25 2012, 07:25 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Huskies @ Jul 26 2012, 12:00 AM)
I wouldn't be surprised if the postgraduate medical council of Victoria reverts to its previous priority list i.e. interstate domestic before local international - either this or the other states also follow suit - not that it makes much of a difference as there is simply not enough room to accommodate all the graduates into existing hospitals. (Private hospitals and clinics have been proposed as alternative training places)

The current estimated shortfall for 2013 spots is 373 (by AMSA), and this does NOT include Monash Sunway students...I think their chances are effectively nil...
It is basically a slap in the face for the Monash Sunway student, if PMCV had not changed their priority they would have had a higher chance of getting a job in Victoria. Now that PMCV has formalised the group 1 2 and 3, Monash Malaysia is placed in group 3, I could so imagine how devastated they are in terms of seeking internship in Australia. Even South Australia is ranking them below interstate internationals, ie priority 5, on par with the UQ New Orleans student.

In contrast, most Monash Sunway students last year got a job. Sigh.

This post has been edited by tqeh: Jul 25 2012, 07:28 PM
tqeh
post Sep 2 2012, 10:02 PM

168 posts

(Hope limeuu can shed some light onto this)

I was surfing through the internet and browse through some specialists' CV in some private medical centres in Malaysia. To my surprise there were a lot of doctors, graduated from UM, worked most (except fellowship) of their career in Malaysia, are able to obtain FRCS (for whatever surgery it is) eventually, and most of them obtain their FRCS at about 6th year out!

How is that possible? Ie graduated in 1987, FRCSOpth 1993. Fully registered with GMC and MMC.
tqeh
post Sep 6 2012, 03:41 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 3 2012, 04:38 AM)
like i said before, those graduated up to 1989 are recognised by the gmc, and can get full registration....

many actually went and worked a while in uk...it was as simple as flying there as a tourist, apply for jobs, and then once getting an offer, converting the tourist visa into a 4 year work visa.....

many however did not, but the old style frcs can be sat for, with recognised work in some hospitals in msia....once signed up, they can just register with the colleges and fly to uk to sit for the exams....

it is still possible to sit for the exam, but the name has been changed to mrcs, which is not recognsied by msia....the frcs now is the speciality 'part 3' exam previously, which can only be sat for with recognised training rotation in the uk....no training in msia is recognised for this....hence surgical training are now exclusively masters for local msian graduates.....
I see. Thank you for that information. Does that mean all the senior consultants' previous FRCS are actually the current "MRCS" ? Gosh it is all pretty confusing now.
tqeh
post Nov 8 2012, 07:05 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 2 2012, 03:12 AM)
i wonder why the respective states refused to come up with the extra 8 million for the last 80 grads.....divided amongst the states, it's only less than 2 million each....

now, this problem is not going away even if the 8 million comes through this time....the numbers goes up some more for 2014.....i believe it only peaks and plateau off about 2006.....when all the new med schools starts graduating....
I guess the problem is not that simple, as this is just the beginning of the problem. If they let all of the international interns come through, it will get rolled over and carried on for HMO2 positions and on and on and on. Bear in mind once a person completed his internship he will be eligible for permanent residency hence rendering the situation even messier.

Contrary to popular beliefs, there ARE actually jobless interns out there whom are unable to secure a HMO2 position. Most jobs are full in Adelaide, Perth, Vic, Sydney and Queensland. Even Rockhampton and Mackay are full. I always thought that internship is the bottleneck, there are always more HMO2 positions that interns, but no, the fact is there are still jobless people out there. But this time around, it is not limited to international students - some interns that are born and bred in Aussie, live in Aussie school in Aussie, are still left jobless without a place.

This is just the beginning of the problem, sadly.

tqeh
post Dec 12 2012, 06:08 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 12 2012, 06:21 AM)
img refers to doctors who graduated outside these countries.....international students who studied and graduated there are not considered img.....

it is possible to get jobs beyond fy in uk....the visa requirements will be met, as long as there is a job offer, and that is possible in some circumstances....particularly for top students with good references.....

dr. sim is no longer with the moh officially....
Limeuu, I did not study nor work in the UK. But I have heard postgraduate in the UK is difficult but most of my friends got it anyway. Why?

And I have seen a couple of times you mentioned about top students with good references getting PG job. But, how many people can actually be top student in the university? And some top students did not end up performing extremely well in work anyway.

tqeh
post Dec 17 2012, 07:02 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 17 2012, 10:37 PM)
Good. Even someone who has just passed first year can pick up the error.

The list of meds was prescribed by a junior MO who has just completed Housemanship. This MO is a graduate of an IPTA which is recognized by Singapore medical council.

I really hope this is an "accidental" or "postcall" mistake. If not the rural folks are in big trouble.

BTW, statin with fibrate is also not a good combination, as it can cause rhabdomyolysis. This combination is only used as second line therapy.
It is likely that it is a unintentional mistake (for aspirin and ?cardiprin).
Not sure why gemfibrozil, does it actually really work? Definitely I wont feel comfortable starting them together.
? consider beta blocker in future?
Statin is a must regardless of lipid studies given its role in secondary prevention.
Plavix - did not state the duration? Was PCI done/ BMS/ DES? =D

Such mistake would not be made if there is a pharmacist around checking discharge scripts?

tqeh
post Dec 17 2012, 09:36 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 18 2012, 12:22 AM)

gemfibrozil is to lower TGL levels, beta blockers work on the heart. both drugs work differently and have different mechanisms and different outcomes.  smile.gif u only start statins if patient has a previous cardio/stroke event. if levels all ok then no issue la. but having said that if you get admitted probably got problem liao.
Yea, I think I know what are those drugs for after a few years of medical school.

I have not been studying in a while (like really super long) but correct me if I am wrong (I know there are a lot of senior doctors reading, please correct me if I am wrong!)

I have no idea if gemfibrozil actually works in secondary prevention of cardiovascular event - I have not been taught about it, or read about it, or find out about it.

Statins MUST be used in secondary prevention of cardiovascular event as Number Needed to Treat is low (?50, cant remember, depending on which studies you pick and which statin)

Statins, can be used for primary prevention for high risk patient - oh well, nowadays ppl just treat numbers anyway lol even if they are perfectly healthy lol. NNT probably about 1000? pretty low yield.

Perindopril has to be used post AMI as it reduces mortality (er, something to do with cardiac remodelling blabla)

B-blocker, in patient post AMI without significantly impaired systolic function (Ie systolic heart failure), should be commenced on a B-blocker (low dose first, as tolerated) as it reduced recurrent AMIs and ?mortality.

And yea, about the plavix part, I dont know man, I dont know whether the patient had a STEMI/NSTEMI. But the duration of plavix should be documented!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tqeh
post Dec 17 2012, 09:42 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 18 2012, 02:28 AM)
rosuvastatin has the highest incidence of liver and muscle side effects so it is generally avoided.
Is that from lecture / real life practice? I see so many cardiologists start people (private prac) on rosuvastatin. Hospital people tend to get atorva.
tqeh
post Dec 19 2012, 08:01 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 19 2012, 11:56 AM)
1. This patient has both hypertension and CCF, thus felodipine should not be used as first line therapy. In the above case, dose of enalapril is still not optimized.

2. Beta blocker could be added for this case in place of felodipine. Beta blocker is known to be beneficial in patients with heart failure, and it treats hypertension as well.

3. Calcium channel blocker is best avoided in systolic heart failure, but can be used safely in diastolic heart failure. Both conditions can only be distinguished with echocardiography. However, both conditions often coexist in clinical practice. Echo was not done in the above case.

4. Another study done on felodipine in heart failure
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1277290/
It is really good to see healthy discussions going on. Keep up the good work guys.
Agreed that CCB should be changed to B-blocker. Here we use metoprolol, and some heart function clinics (run by heart failure specialist, ie cardiologist who did fellowships in HF) uses atenolol, not sure why.

It is quite interesting to know that in Malaysia we can diagnose "CCF" without a documented Echo. I know it's a clinical diagnosis but still, wouldn't you want to know whether you have missed any important information, ie Pulmonary HTN, LV RV size EF etc.
tqeh
post Dec 19 2012, 07:11 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 12:01 AM)
1. Beta blocker is not recommended in DM patients, but it is not absolutely contraindicated. Compare to CCB in heart failure, it is relatively safer.

2. Low dose Beta blocker is generally used in HF. So even DM patients are well tolerated towards BB.

3. There are many studies with conflicting views on the usage of CCB in HF. But in general, CCB is best avoided in diastolic HF (a strong physiology knowledge will tell you why)

4. Enalapril can be used as high as 20mg BD in HF

5. Kidney functions are normal in this case.
In practice, both systolic and diastolic HF often coexist (according to my consultant, more reference needed). Thus CCB shouldn't be used as first line.
Just had some bedside teaching about diastolic heart failure (and had a glance at all the heart function clinic letters for a patient admitted under med) - basically it's all about fluid balance and beta blocker, and there is nothing much else to treat. A quick read in uptodate showed that there is not much data about diastolic heart failure. ?ACEI ?diuretics ?probably beta blocker. Difficult! Thats why you need to go to heart function clinic lol
tqeh
post Dec 19 2012, 10:44 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 01:35 AM)
The recipe for chronic heart failure management comprises of the following:

1. Diuretic (to get rid of oedema)
2. ACE I (improve survival and quality of life)
3. Beta blocker (reduce myocardial oxygen demand)
4. Restriction of fluid intake

In Malaysia, CHF is usually diagnosed clinically with radiological evidence. However, not every CHF patient can get echo due to limited resources in KKM. Also, echo is usually done by medical assistant, so the reliability remains questionable  sweat.gif
Am just talking about diastolic HF, not HF in general.
tqeh
post Dec 25 2012, 12:49 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 24 2012, 09:17 PM)
An embolus can consist of a fragmented malignant mass from its primary or secondary sites.
Hemato malignancies...? Yes... AML can lead to DVT.

Other D/D?
I think we need to be more professional than speculating other people's cause of death based on newspaper report.
tqeh
post Jan 6 2013, 05:51 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 6 2013, 05:18 AM)
it is worrying, when students decide, even before they even graduate (and some, even before managing to enter med school) what they want to do on the basis of money.....not interest and talent....
Limeuu,
Having said that, lotsa my consultants in hospital are pretty "$-minded". The first detail they look at (especially surgeons) for patient is whether or not he/she has private health insurance. If they have, they will try to drag them across to private and speed up the procedure.

Why cant people ask about which specialty makes more money? lol. And also, which specialty is more employable/ more business/ more jobs around.

tqeh
post Jan 7 2013, 07:48 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Mr Kong @ Jan 7 2013, 11:28 PM)
Working 4 years in the government which is compulsory in Malaysia.
Here's the part I want to know.
Can you do your POSTGRADUATE DEGREE
(Master, MRCP, FRCS, etc) in UK or Australia with an IMU local degree and

If Yes
2nd question:
After getting your postgraduate degree from the respective country, is it likely that you get to WORK in that country?
Someone needs to take time to explain to layman.
MRCP/MRCS/MRCPCH are EXAMS that you can take, AND MALAYSIA recognise those qualifications so in MALAYSIA you are eligible to be gazetted to be a specialist once you cleared those exams.

In UK they are more of an entrance exam that you have to clear before you are eligible for advanced specialty training. To be admitted to the GMC as a specialist (Ie FRCS FRACP watever you can think of), you need to TRAIN in the UK in accredited rotations in an accredited position, which means, you will have to WORK THERE, which means YOU WILL HAVE TO GET A JOB THERE.

You dont "study" postgraduate qualification for, let say, 6 years, then come out as a specialist.

You "work" in an accredited position for 6 years, let say, physician or surgeon, and then you pass your exams along the way, and exit as a specialist.

This post has been edited by tqeh: Jan 7 2013, 07:50 PM
tqeh
post Jan 10 2013, 05:38 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 10 2013, 05:08 PM)
that case by datuk hii has no basis.....he was appropriately advised, and was given the option of follow up assessment....he took the option to proceed for surgery...

steve job's situation may have influenced his decision.....

i doubt if the court will allow it to proceed....
Having worked in the Hospital with the least Whipple's complication rate in Australia, I have encountered several Whipple's patients that ended up not having pancreatic cancer. Seems like it is not uncommon for people to go ahead and resect the lesions seen in pancreas.

Hopefully there is no case.

This post has been edited by tqeh: Jan 10 2013, 10:18 PM
tqeh
post Jan 10 2013, 10:20 PM

168 posts

*edited*

This post has been edited by tqeh: Jan 10 2013, 10:22 PM
tqeh
post Jan 10 2013, 10:21 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 10 2013, 10:59 PM)
So... Where  the pathologist went?  laugh.gif
Too late already, head of pancreas is already out! haha, along with many other organ parts
tqeh
post Jan 16 2013, 03:55 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 16 2013, 07:14 PM)
i hope you all understand the concept of the exception not making the norm.....and the effects of statistical skews.....and the principle of training ALL competent doctors, not prima donnas...
I believe the first few batches from Monash Malaysia are quite good, requirement (for A-levels) is 3As and above, but that was during my time.

Had a friend who got an offer from the Aussie, but failed to get into Monash Malaysia, which is weird, lol.
tqeh
post Jan 17 2013, 01:02 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 16 2013, 10:26 PM)
it is correct....they have accepted people rejected by imu-pms....which is ironic, as it was the reverse in 2006-2008.....

the first 3 batches have small numbers of 40-60, and carefully chosen...current intake licensed is 150, and they CANNOT find suitably qualified students with the grades, and thus like all other ipts med schools (with the exception of imu-pms), they have dumbed down their requirements.....

also, in the beginning everybody thought it is the same degree as the clayton version (indeed, the 1st 2 batches did their first 2 and 1 year(s) respectively at clayton) with full recognition.....now people know the sunway version is not recognised by smc and gmc....

and in addition, the internship crisis has hit, and people now know it is unlikely sunway graduates will find internship places by the time they graduate....
Thats a surprise.

I remember when I was on, there was something going between IMU and Monash, ie if you get rejected in either of the university, you are not eligible to apply for the other. Cant really remember the details of it.

Yea I supposed now the Monash Malaysia's graduates are going downhill, why did they increase the number of students to that much, given that Tan Sri JC has openly stated that whatever revenue they generate via the medical school is going straight back to fund the school (? is there a special term for it?).

I think ALL states now have put in place a priority list which makes Monash Malaysia graduates even more difficult to get a job in the Aussie. Ie South Australia, Monash Malaysia comes after international NZ grads.

0.0531sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:04 PM