Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

mercury8400
post Jun 11 2012, 01:12 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 11 2012, 01:09 PM)
Are a lot of you guys from KL, and living in your parent's house before coming to SG?

I notice most of you say that rental in SG is expensive. It's expensive in KL also.

I rent a HDB for the same rental I paid for a terrace house in PJ. In that sense, I don't see any change in rental expense at all.
The answer to the above is yes.
Therefore many of us don't pay rent in KL
mercury8400
post Jul 8 2012, 11:41 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(alvin8866 @ Jul 7 2012, 01:38 AM)
I don't compare my salary with her salary.

I want to check whether my salary is below average salary in the market. Fyi, although I'm a fresh graduate, I have more hand-on experience and wide knowledge than others. Salary increment is important to me as I want to save money for other purposes (startup in the right time and venture) in the future
It doesn't matter if you think your salary is above or below the market value.
The only thing you gotta think about is
a) Do you have a job offer that pays more?
b) Can you justify to your employers for being paid more?

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jul 8 2012, 11:46 PM
mercury8400
post Jul 22 2012, 11:01 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 20 2012, 11:31 PM)
First couple of years, spend a bit more to live comfortably so that you don't get increasingly pissed off having to "sacrifice" your lifestyle in order to work in Singapore. Treat yourself better, live better and you'll work better.

If you do well at work, you will get larger jobs, get promoted and draw higher and higher salaries. That's why you're here in Singapore in the first place.

So, in the first couple of years, don't concentrate on saving a big % of your salary. Just ensure whatever you spend on is worth it and contributes towards making you better than your peers/competitors. Concentrate instead on making your salary bigger. My starting salary was 1300 when I graduated. That's crazy low, ok. But the next year, it was 2500 with a promotion. Third year 4500 when I qualified professionally and promptly changed jobs. Since then... expenses (reasonable expenses) have not really been an issue anymore. Get ahead of the curve... and things will work out.
Actually i kinda disagree with the above.
I think the opposite should hold true i.e. you save a bigger % of your salary each year when you're here and then gradually you start spending when you have more money.
But you must build a safety net (i.e. savings - at least 8 month of expenses) first before you start spending.
Maybe becuase I'm from the banking industry where things are very uncertain and job stability is something very fragile with almost zero visibility in the future, I think having a safety net is assurance that, at least if and when you get retrenched, you won't freak out. Coz remember, you still have to pay rent, eat, buy groceries, etc. You can cut down on expenses but you can't eliminate them.
Neway that's just me.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jul 22 2012, 11:02 AM
mercury8400
post Jul 22 2012, 08:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 22 2012, 11:29 AM)
Fair enough.

But the fact is that if you earn 2500,.. saving 50% (1250) and saving 20% (500) will make at most a minor difference to whatever nest egg / safety funds / rainy day stash you're trying to accumulate. But spending that extra 750 each month will make a HUGE difference to your quality of life (and of food) in the beginning... and by extension (if you spend on the right expenses), will make a correspondingly large difference to the quality of your work.

When I say 'right' expenses, I mean transportation expenses, for instance. If you want to save money by taking public transport, that's absolutely fine. But if you're sleepy, sweaty or a follower of flexible time... then it's a good move to spend on taxi fare when you have morning meetings or have to work in such close proximity with your colleagues that they can smell you. Otherwise, get up an hour earlier and enroll in a nearby gym to use their showers mid day. All it takes is being the last one to come into a meeting and interrupt the big boss while he's presenting. That is what we call a CLM (Career Limiting Move). For your personal life, you save time, move around more comfortably and generally feel less annoyed that you had to leave your dad's car behind in KL to move to Singapore. Same goes for food, getting comfy & convenient accommodation, self grooming etc.

And the theoretical 750 savings deficit you incur in the first 2-3 years... you will more than make it up when you save 20% of your 5000 salary in the next few years. And most people's expenses (living expenses, not buying stuff, travel etc!) will top out at 3000-4000 or so per month unless they really do a lot of restaurants, pay for the gf/bf etc. So by the time you earn 10000 or 15000, you'd be easily saving 5000-10000 a month.

I acknowledge the power of compounding... but it far better to get more salary earlier. Never compound savings at the expense of slowing your salary growth. Saving more doesn't make you rich. It just determines how long you stay rich. But you have to become rich first by increasing your income. Only then will you have something subtantial to save.
I agree to your last point.
However, like i say, if your job visibility and stability is unclear even in the next 6 months (let alone 2 to 3 years) then you ought to start saving that S$700+ coz it'll go a long way for you to secure your expenses while trying to get another job, should you get retrenched.
mercury8400
post Aug 3 2012, 09:31 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jessica.hui2702 @ Aug 3 2012, 08:27 PM)
Hi, I am Malaysian going to be graduate in sep 2012.I am interested to work in singapore and my major is analytical economics. although my major is economics, but I dont feel like want to work economic-related job if possible (boring...sad.gif )until now, I only started apply 2/3 companies.Actually I am interested in Korean language where i can do the job related to this. I know there may hard to find the work something like this because my Korean proficiency is normal and company may rather hire korean for the korean language-related jobs. besides that, shall i have some comment or recommendations on which companies to apply for the job?I have search on the singapore job searching machines. my considerations is if I simply apply many companies, it would be costly for me to go singapore to interview upon the company request. I am confusing now.
Thanks in advance someone can give me so advise. smile.gif
So ask yourself, what can you offer your employers that is way better than the other Singaporean, Koreans, Indian, Chinese, Thai, European and Americans in the Singapore job market.
If you can answer that question then you can secure the job.
If you cannot, best you stay back in Malaysia and apply for a job in a Korean Co. in M'sia.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Aug 3 2012, 09:33 PM
mercury8400
post Aug 8 2012, 12:58 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Aug 7 2012, 01:36 PM)
Hi all,

looks like its quite a trend to shift the career to Singapore. As for me, i would like to know which HDB/Condo/apartment best to stay near to Orchard road? Might b starting on 1st of October after all cleared (permit and watsoever).
My budget is 1,000 Sgd and below.
It is impossible to get a HDB/Condo/apartment in Orchard for S$1k. It is also near impossible to rent a room for that price, if you're talking about Orchard.

mercury8400
post Aug 19 2012, 01:15 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 19 2012, 07:09 AM)
how nice smile.gif  . I rarely get a break, work like kuli sad.gif
Work like kuli is ok as long as u get paid like a king....
I work like kuli but get paid like kuli too vmad.gif , which is kinda sad.....haih....
mercury8400
post Aug 26 2012, 03:07 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 26 2012, 02:14 PM)
I am also sim grad. Back for good. In malaysia,mnc will offer u rm3k
An MNC in SG will offer you >S$4k if you are really good fresh grad with first class honors and excellent interpersonal skills
mercury8400
post Sep 2 2012, 09:51 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 2 2012, 02:35 PM)
then why not secure an international firm in Msia 1st? cuz I think being in International firm in Msia is still better than being in an unknown firm in Sg
I would think otherwise i.e. start in SG with a second/third tier company then jump to a MNC.
At the very least the SG company will not discount your experience.
Also pay wise you will have an increment instead of a salary cut or no increase in salary i.e. they pay dollar for dollar.

mercury8400
post Sep 3 2012, 10:48 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 2 2012, 10:02 PM)
well it will depends on which MNC u talking about cuz I doubt it'll be easy to jump into big4 from a small audit firm.

ie from small firm in Sg most probably u'll only jump on to med firm and they will still discount ur exp cuz there's a significant difference between a small audit firm and international medium firm.
Not really unless its for higher position i.e. manager and above. If u start as senior 1 with a mid tier accounting firm i think u should have no problem getting an increment as senior 2 in a big 4
mercury8400
post Sep 6 2012, 07:40 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Sep 6 2012, 07:16 PM)
I dont like employers who take advantage of their workers. Like exploiting Malaysian to work harder than locals and complain less. This is unfair.
Nobody likes it but unfortunately that is the reality.
The main reason why they hire foreigners is becuase we are cheaper, more hardworking and do not complain much.
In a way, us foreigners also spoilt our own market by not speaking up against this kinda unhealthy behaviour so much so that employers think that exploiting foreigners is the norm rather than the exception.
mercury8400
post Sep 6 2012, 07:50 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(joeysew @ Sep 6 2012, 02:05 PM)
I'm keen on areas like research with exposure to valuation, financial modelling etc. So either with exposures to those areas would be great. I'm a fresh grad from Melbourne Uni actually, so you reckon opportunities for entry level are in abundance too?
It's not in abundance due to the economic uncertainty and many foreign firms on a hiring freeze but there are pockets of opportunities here and there. But be warned, the competition for fresh grad places are INTENSE caps intended. Remember, yr a foreigner along thousands of those very well qualified ivy leagues guys who are forced to come to SG from Europe/US/Asia coz of the high jobless rate in their home country.

The finance industry especially is in deep shit at the moment and its not looking too good in the near future either. Many people have already been laid off and from what i heard many more will come especially in the next year. So be prepared to network yourself to a job and work like you've never worked in your life. If possible, bring a sleeping bag to work so you can save on rent tongue.gif . When you earned your stripes then you can start demanding.

But no harm trying. Since yr from an ok university (i don't think they consider Melbourne Uni along the same status as Ox-Bridge or ivy league but its decent none the less). BTW why aren't u working in Aus in the first place?

mercury8400
post Sep 11 2012, 09:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Sep 11 2012, 09:16 AM)
Hi guys,

Recently this company has offered me to join them. They will make a work permit for me, however I need to pay the levy fees on my own because they said that this job has no basic salary, only full-commission.

Anyone experience such case before or if you have any advice, enlighten me
For a foreigner its a no-no to accept jobs with no basic pay.
This is becuase if you sueh-sueh cannot get sales for a particular month, you will have NO PAY!
How are you goona pay the sky high rent, utility bills, food and other essentials?
And what happens if your sueh-ness continue for another 2-3 month especially since yr new here and have no contacts (which you will need time to build) ?
You're gonna sleep under the bridge? Eat the leftovers KFC/McDonalds ?
How?

0.0506sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:17 PM