Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

ky_khor
post Jul 21 2012, 04:36 PM

No.22
894 posts

If you're not from Penang, KL but moving into city for job upon graduation, Singapore is the better start, better choice.

If you're from Penang, KL, where jobs are plenty, and you plan to stay with your parent, drive their car, eat home cooking at night for a while, then please stay where you are.

Having spent my childhood in Penang, and freshie years in KL. I think this debate shouldn't even exist. There's more than just money you earn here. And I'm left with 3/4 of my income to do whatever I want every month after deduct all the basic need expenses.

Singapore may not have -whatever you think is relevant about weekend entertainment- but Singapore has AirAsia, too LOL, plus Jetstar and Scoot.

edit: "this debate" as in myr4k vs sgd3k thread. I dun even know how I ended up posting here. @.@

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Jul 21 2012, 04:44 PM
ky_khor
post Jul 23 2012, 11:34 AM

No.22
894 posts

Have any of you heard of non-Muslim Malay or converted Muslim in Singapore? Is there something like JAIS in Singapore that will take action against them?

Do you know any SPR/converted-Citizen Malay from Malaysia?
ky_khor
post Aug 8 2012, 01:41 PM

No.22
894 posts

Store your cv on monster, linkedin. If your cv and qualification is eye catching enough, sooner or later the recruitment agent or employer will find you. Whether you want to work in Singapore, or not.
ky_khor
post Aug 14 2012, 02:29 PM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 13 2012, 04:39 PM)
no lah, there will be a 36%(CPF) cut to your take home pay. You better think twice.
where do you get that figure?
the most i get is about 20% using CPF calculator (citizen, 1st year PR, 2nd year PR).
ky_khor
post Aug 15 2012, 10:03 PM

No.22
894 posts

since you're only at interview phase now, you probably won't need to pay income tax next year.
ky_khor
post Aug 17 2012, 11:11 AM

No.22
894 posts

Heh so you're the culprit who're trying to use my WiFi... I didn't turn on DHCP server on my router. So take a guess on my network and gateway IP. Good luck!

j/k
ky_khor
post Aug 30 2012, 11:32 AM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(phoenixstudio @ Aug 30 2012, 01:43 AM)
im just currious..
company in SG interested to allow internship for Mlysian student?
Yes. I personally know a few that did their internship in Singapore.
ky_khor
post Aug 30 2012, 12:20 PM

No.22
894 posts

Allowance or not, unless you have free accommodation in Sg, you'd prepare to lose money doing intern here.

Conservative monthly budget:
Meal: sgd300 (sgd10 a day)
Room rental: sgd350 (shared common room)
Transportation: sgd100 (sgd5 x 20days public transport)
Phone bill: sgd20 (prepaid)
Total: sgd770 or myr1800

I doubt they'll give intern allowance any higher than sgd800.
ky_khor
post Aug 30 2012, 02:37 PM

No.22
894 posts

There's no official quota system for EP. Only WP has quota.
ky_khor
post Aug 30 2012, 05:46 PM

No.22
894 posts

Whatever qualification you have, if your salary if <sgd3000, most probably your employer will still apply S-Pass for you.
ky_khor
post Aug 31 2012, 04:00 PM

No.22
894 posts

Is it true that Singapore PR who owns property overseas are not eligible to purchase resale HDB in Singapore? How does HDB find out about your overseas property??

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Aug 31 2012, 04:01 PM
ky_khor
post Sep 4 2012, 09:54 AM

No.22
894 posts

Spouse/parent sponsored male PR need to serve NS! You didn't know that throughout the PR application process? P0wnage...

No worry now you can bring your smartphone into the camp.

*Avoid NS = breaking law in Sg. Worst case scenario is for you to lose the PRship.

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Sep 4 2012, 09:55 AM
ky_khor
post Sep 4 2012, 11:18 AM

No.22
894 posts

ChuckyLau, i'm confused about your statement: it conflicts itself.

Do read up on NS eligiblity on the official web. Basically all PR except through those who apply via professional/employment sponsorship scheme need to serve NS.

Side tracking: one episode of The Pupils showed that 1 ang mo pr with singaporean wife flew back to US to avoid NS. He got caught during his next entry and serve jail term.
ky_khor
post Sep 7 2012, 12:56 PM

No.22
894 posts

Never take the lay-off package. You've already secured a new job. Don't put your new EP approval on chopping board over some manager's last-ditch effort in covering their backside.

I'll negotiate a later start date without taking the lay-off package. Instead I'll take a nice and sweet in-between-job vacation.
ky_khor
post Sep 10 2012, 02:17 PM

No.22
894 posts

Fenster84 didn't state his qualification or job position. It's hard to tell if 2200 is ok. But 2200 definitely can survive and save up a bit.

My fixed expense here is about 1500 and i'm definitely not the most frugal person among the lot.
ky_khor
post Sep 11 2012, 02:20 PM

No.22
894 posts

31% rejection rate for s-pass and ep registration so far this year, most of them pass renewal.

0.0457sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:43 AM