Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

catacomb
post Sep 6 2012, 10:16 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 6 2012, 12:02 AM)
Hi all, I'm EP holder and need advice here...

I tendered my resignation last week and last day should be end of Sept. I've confirmed with future employer that be starting my new job on 1st Oct.

However manager approached me today and advised me to take layoff package instead but end date will be another month later (end of Oct). I was asked to negotiate with future employer if I can join 1 month later.
If go by layoff package, I will be compensated in terms of $$, but I heard those that took layoff package will not be allowed to re-join current company in future.

And after talking to management, they seems favoring me to take layoff package than standard resignation.

I'm still figuring out whats the logic... have yet to receive terms and conditions regarding the layoff package too...
Perhaps someone here can shed some lights for me...

Thanks in advance.
My advice to you is never take a layoff package unless you are getting more than 6 months payback. If it's only one or 2 months, just let it go and move to your new company.

Moreover being layoff is not favourable for your portfolio if you really apply for big companies that do background check. You might save another employee because your boss don't need to layoff someone but choice is yours to consider.

I have worked and stayed in Singapore for nearly 20 years and I just came back to KL and work this month. Can PM me if you need questions answered. smile.gif

This post has been edited by catacomb: Sep 6 2012, 10:17 PM
catacomb
post Sep 7 2012, 03:16 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 6 2012, 10:24 PM)
wah liao..20years...what made u return to KL...to be exact MALAYSIA..your whole family?with kids?
smile.gif my parents and my brothers are in Malaysia but I am not married smile.gif. Still single. Hmm too many reasons to list down why I return but I will just jot down some main considerations..

(1) My roots is in Malaysia. Although I have friends in Singapore but I do value friends that I have in Malaysia since my kindergarten time till now.
(2) Malaysians don't have demanding power unlike 10+ years ago. Now there are too many foreigners from other countries which exchange rate is lower than Malaysia. Yes exchange rate now is 1 sing to 2.5 ringgit but there are other countries which is 10x or 20x more so they are willing to take lower pay
(3) You got to constantly upgrading and climb. Yes you can do it at certain age but for someone like me who is turning 40 soon and still stuck in the mid management level, I value personal time more than putting 24hours into a company
(4) If you can save in Singapore, I believe you can save more in Malaysia if you were to use the same lifestyle in both countries
(5) Lastly with pun intended smile.gif, in Malaysia you not happy with the government you can still have voice and rights to choose. In other countries, you just complain and suck it up. Nothing much can be done smile.gif

The only few things I can agree about Singapore being better is the transport system. You can really get to places even the most remote sites without much problem. Security is another thing. You can just walk alone in the street at 3am with your wallet in your hand and no one would come and snatch it from you. Other than that, it's always 2 side of a coin. There are things better in Malaysia and there are things better in Singapore.

If you are getting 4k in malaysia and u get the same 4k sing dollars in Singapore, my advice is forget about going to Singapore. If you are getting more than 5k in Singapore then yes give it a shot in Singapore.

Oh let's not forget, there is not much mamak for you to hang out past midnight smile.gif
catacomb
post Sep 7 2012, 08:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Sep 7 2012, 08:44 AM)
Is there any different for people start out from quality university and people start out from normal university?
Normal university grad does not possess quality of experience as quality university grad?

Added on September 7, 2012, 8:45 am

Wow, seem like management position and higher salary lure you back.haha
lol not really... in fact I "downgraded" myself when I came back to Malaysia. Well when you age, there are other priorities in life besides job smile.gif

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Sep 7 2012, 02:02 PM)
I think he proudly say that:"I'm Back !!" one month ago.

rclxm9.gif
lol yea.. so far I think I am still fine with Malaysia... if really cannot make it... I rather go somewhere else besides Singapore smile.gif

Added on September 7, 2012, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
is not end of the story yet, he might return back to sg  laugh.gif laugh.gif
well i did the same thing hahaha  rolleyes.gif
haha doubt so... unless I really cannot make it in Malaysia lol

Added on September 7, 2012, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(vonnevonne @ Sep 7 2012, 02:44 PM)
Need some advice here.

My passport unable to go thru the automatic gate whenever i enter Singapore or  i left. It bring me so much trouble to queue under the manual counter.

May I know where I can go to resolve this trouble?

If you just renewed your permit or re-entry permit, then you got to wait a week before the system gets updated. Else just go to ICA building in Lavender to update your infor or check on it.

This post has been edited by catacomb: Sep 7 2012, 09:05 PM
catacomb
post Sep 11 2012, 04:46 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 10 2012, 10:27 AM)
Sabahans, Sarawakians below 35 allegedly barred from working in S'pore
sweat.gif
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/M...910-370595.html
think this is because Sabah and Sarawakians if contribute CPF, when they go back they can withdraw the CPF... that's my guess... Malaysians from Peninsula can never withdraw their CPF. The rules govern will be the same as Singaporeans unless you migrate to somewhere and surrender your Malaysian citizenship and never return to Malaysia. Even you surrender your PR still same thing. For me, I can't do a damn thing with CPF. Not married cannot buy HDB flat. Buying private you need to have at least 10% of cash on hand.

Moving to Singapore temporary for the time being is not worth the effort. To those thinking about staying JB and going Singapore daily to work that's provided you working Jurong or Woodlands area. Else be prepare to start from your home at 6am and reach your JB home around 9pm. Money is something but it's not gonna buy you back time.

Renting a room in Singapore easily cost $400 to $700 depending on location. Food easily $10 a day. If you go out to town for movie and dinner, be prepared to spend at least $50. Mobile phone add another maybe $50. Internet another $60 at least.
catacomb
post Sep 11 2012, 09:19 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 11 2012, 08:00 AM)
If they give up their PR, West Malaysians can withdraw all their CPF at 55 years old. All other PR holders can withdraw immediately after giving up their PR.

If you don't give up your PR, you can't withdraw everything regardless of which side of whatever country you're from.
Lol what's the point of giving up PR when you can only withdraw at 55 years old? It's the same as not giving up your PR. Legal withdrawing of CPF is 55 for both PR and Singaporeans smile.gif. If I can tahan till 55, I don't even need to withdraw already smile.gif. Just wait another 5 years till 60 can withdraw everything smile.gif
catacomb
post Sep 11 2012, 11:13 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 11 2012, 10:43 PM)
I'm not trying to convince you of anything.

I'm merely responding to your earlier statement below that "Malaysians from Peninsula can never withdraw their CPF unless they migrate and surrender their Malaysian citizenship and never return to Malaysia... Even you surrender your PR still same thing."

I'm just pointing out that it is incorrect.

And don't your two statements: "Just wait another 5 years till 60 can withdraw everything" and "Malaysians from Peninsula can never withdraw their CPF" completely contradict each other?
smile.gif I am not saying you are trying to convince me in anything. Well take it as I posted too fast without putting in too much details then. Yes you are right about the withdrawal and no I am not contridicting. My intention was just to make clear that if you surrender your PR before the legal binding age of withdrawing CPF, you still cannot withdraw if you are staying and residing in West Malaysia.

Yup you pointed the correct thing. Yes you are correct smile.gif. Cheers

By the way I think I did mentioned "The rules govern will be the same as Singaporeans unless you migrate to somewhere and surrender your Malaysian citizenship and never return to Malaysia"

Added on September 11, 2012, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 11 2012, 11:05 PM)
Just another question guys. I'm free next week from mon to wed. Do you think it's any use to go sg to look for jobs?
why don't you use those internet job portal instead?

This post has been edited by catacomb: Sep 11 2012, 11:18 PM
catacomb
post Sep 12 2012, 01:15 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 12 2012, 12:11 AM)
But that is still entirely incorrect.

Upon giving up one's SG PR...

1. The limitation is only applicable to Malaysians residing permanently in West Malaysian (ie. West Malaysians). It doesn't not apply to East Malaysians. If you change your residency (albeit permanently) from West to East Malaysia, you can withdraw your CPF in full just like everybody else.

2. Even if you reside in West Malaysia, you can still withdraw when your 55, or even earlier at 50 if you have not worked in SG for 2 years below that (ie. you stop working in SG when you're 48... and not necessarily give up your PR at 48).

So, it's a matter of residency in West Malaysia, not citizenship of Malaysia.
3. And after giving up your PR, you will never be 'the same as Singaporeans' no matter what. The Minimum Sum and Medisave Minimum Sum will not apply to you. And my guess is that CPF Life will be compulsory instead of opt out by the time we retire, and that too will not apply to non PRs.
For item 1, it's not possible. I have checked with the officer from CPF board before. Even you were to change your address permanently to Sabah or Sarawak, you still cannot withdraw because they base on birth cerificate and not IC. Anyway don't quote me on this as I was told by the officer. I have checked alll means about how to withdraw out my cpf. And in my earlier post I did mentioned Sabahans and Sarawakians are able to withdraw their CPF and return to Sabah or Sarawak. I didn't use the word going back permanently because they are still able to return to Singapore and contribute back to CPF etc. I shall not go there into details

Item 2 I got no comment as I didn't check on that.

Item 3, I can't comment and don't wish to comment. All I did mentioned was even I give up my PR I can't withdraw my cpf now and also mentioned West Malaysians withdrawing of CPF is the same as what governs Singaporean. Don't try to mix the 2 together

Also I believe you were the one who said West Malaysian can withdraw all their CPF in your Post #2429 but now you are saying otherwise in item 3. So ain't you contridictinig about your own statement also?

Let's face it, you can make corrections and I am all good but please don't get personal and trying to pick on me. The word entirely incorrect as far as I know means none of what I state is true. Anyway neither you nor me can give a complete detail explanation about withdrawing CPF

This post has been edited by catacomb: Sep 12 2012, 01:23 AM

0.0501sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:17 PM