428 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by alvin8866: Jul 22 2012, 10:20 PM
alvin8866
post Jul 6 2012, 08:58 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Jul 6 2012, 08:41 PM)
You and your friend are in the same company ?
If not, how you compare your company pay grade to other company ?
Just curious.  nod.gif
Different company. We are course-mate
alvin8866
post Jul 6 2012, 09:26 PM

428 posts

Malaysian. I graduate from UM (malaysian university)
alvin8866
post Jul 6 2012, 09:35 PM

428 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by alvin8866: Jul 22 2012, 10:22 PM
alvin8866
post Jul 6 2012, 09:45 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 6 2012, 09:38 PM)
did they offer you ?
I work for the company for 3 months already
alvin8866
post Jul 7 2012, 01:38 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 7 2012, 01:30 AM)
you cant compare like that, she got luck smile.gif

Ps : luck also is part of life smile.gif
I don't compare my salary with her salary.

I want to check whether my salary is below average salary in the market. Fyi, although I'm a fresh graduate, I have more hand-on experience and wide knowledge than others. Salary increment is important to me as I want to save money for other purposes (startup in the right time and venture) in the future
alvin8866
post Jul 7 2012, 02:28 AM

428 posts

chess_girl, thank you, It is helpful and constructive.

davidbilly, thank you
alvin8866
post Jul 9 2012, 08:53 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 11:16 AM)
Yes, i get my approve from MOM , long waited 6 days biggrin.gif , so next step is find hr?

Date of Application : 03/07/2012
  Pass Type : EMPLOYMENT PASS
  Pass Category : Q1
Bro, do you mind to share your salary? One of the EP requirements is your salary must be 3k and above smile.gif
alvin8866
post Jul 9 2012, 10:15 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 09:28 PM)
its depend ur qualification , my one is 3k and my friend 1.8k also can get EP  tongue.gif
Minimum salary requirement for work pass application (SP and EP) was increased since January 2012.

When does your friend got his EP?

This post has been edited by alvin8866: Jul 22 2012, 10:17 PM
alvin8866
post Jul 10 2012, 12:51 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 11:01 PM)
My friend qualification same with me, just salary different , 1.8k + Bachelor Degree Information system engineering (Campbell U)

I knwo SP is min 2k , EP is min 3k , but he told me is EP , i also wonder  doh.gif
I'm frustrated recently. I appealed the applications twice, unfortunately, got rejected.

Does anyone here manage to get PR status via SP ( year 2012)?
alvin8866
post Jul 10 2012, 08:23 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 10 2012, 07:27 AM)
my wife got it..applied in April got a POSITIVE replied in June
Congrats, bro

Is she a S-pass holder? How long she holds the s-pass before applying PR application?
alvin8866
post Jul 10 2012, 06:53 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 10 2012, 09:00 AM)
sorry...i didnt know SP means S-Pass...nope..she was holding EP all these while....moved to another job after her 1st year working(2years EP validity)...then after her 1st year with another company(EP) worked in that company for 1 year++...then she applied for her PR
It means that she held EP for 2 years before she applied for PR, am I right? (one year from each company respectively)

I would definitely appreciate if you don't mind to share her salary (when she applied for PR). smile.gif

This post has been edited by alvin8866: Jul 10 2012, 09:03 PM
alvin8866
post Jul 22 2012, 10:25 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 22 2012, 08:11 PM)
hi, may i know you apply EP and get rejected takes how long being notified your application rejected ?

i had been waiting for 5 days still pending status for my EP ....
3 weeks.

The procedure usually takes 1 week. Kindly let me know if you have news from MOM
alvin8866
post Jul 24 2012, 09:34 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 22 2012, 11:17 PM)
Omg 3 weeks is such a tragic. Why you said normally 1 week but yours take up to 3 weeks ? So you waited for 3 weeks then get rejected and applied s pass again and wait for another 1 week ?

Did you tried out the self assessment tool see whether you are eligible for EP or s pass although I know it doesn't represent mom final decision.
waited for 3 weeks and got rejected. end up s-pass

I did online assessment for ep. I'm eligible. I think the requirement for ep is very strict starting from Jan 2012
alvin8866
post Jul 30 2012, 10:24 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 30 2012, 11:00 AM)
you could not rent any residential room without a work pass. Your best bet would be staying at travel lodge in Sg or staying in JB

Added on July 30, 2012, 11:02 am

nope. no problem here. I'm using 3G mobile broadband and 3G wireless broadband. Speed is good.
I'm going to subscribe Singtel 4G (Prestige 75 + Premium 21) this week.

Anyone use Singtel 4G? Is it really fast?
alvin8866
post Aug 17 2012, 10:44 PM

428 posts

I'm a fresh graduate working in a startup (small company)

I'm a UM student, a computer science degree holder (second upper).

I'm holding a S-pass. My current salary is 2.8k. I would like to apply PR. Is possibility of getting PR application approved lower? Considering:
1. small and new company
2. S-pass holder and salary
3. Education background

Should I wait for salary increment before applying PR? Thank you
alvin8866
post Aug 18 2012, 12:31 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 18 2012, 08:09 AM)
that is the main concern, all the others doesn't matter that much. I am not even a graduate. salary lower than u, holding S pass.
stay in JB and travel in and out daily as well. I got my PR because working in a reputable company. But graduate from UM do give you some advantage.
Give it a try. If you apply, u got 50-50 chance, if you don't apply, ur chances are 0
It is quite true.

underground_8, company background plays important role in PR application.

I think I should either wait for salary increment or join a bigger company.

How much salary increment is expected for a software engineer (fresh graduate) usually? $500 - $1000? I know it is subjective and varies in different company policies and employee performance. It will be great if I can have a rough idea in this matter. Let's say I deliver my duty on time in minimal supervision.

Thank you
alvin8866
post Aug 20 2012, 12:28 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Aug 19 2012, 05:04 PM)
Yes it is very subjective, but if you are really good, for your next jump, you can expect 30%-40% increase, but do note that, if you are jumping from EP -> PR, you need to take in calculation for the future CPF deduction (20%)
thats why most of the Singapore fresh graduate are having 2.8-3k as starting. biggrin.gif
Thank you.

How long I should wait after submitting PR application?

0.0564sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:35 AM