15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

yhoong12
post Aug 31 2012, 11:34 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Aug 31 2012, 07:10 AM)
if u have ep, then ur passport, ep, and employee card is required. Deposit is waived for ep.
EP is a must, employee card is depend on your company wherever they have corporate plan on the telco, and the most important thing is proof of billing where must be within three month before you sign the contract and must have your name on the proof of billing
yhoong12
post Sep 3 2012, 08:34 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 2 2012, 09:51 PM)
I would think otherwise i.e. start in SG with a second/third tier company then jump to a MNC.
At the very least the SG company will not discount your experience.
Also pay wise you will have an increment instead of a salary cut or no increase in salary i.e. they pay dollar for dollar.
But if you work in second tier still okay, but third tier, maybe you need to bao ka liao and all possible is not work related, then sure big company will discount your experience. hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 08:29 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Sep 3 2012, 08:23 PM)
Hi all, I'll be working in Singapore in next month, and currently looking for the accommodation.

May I know what is the rental for a room with bathroom in HDB? Thanks.
With attached bathroom? prepare SGD >700 to take master room.

notworthy.gif

Added on September 4, 2012, 8:35 am
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 4 2012, 12:57 AM)
I wanna ask you guys, i'm graduating with an IT degree end of this year, well technically I have to do my intern from november to january then I'll be officially done with studies and I hope i can get to SG to work so..

1) should i skip looking for intern in SG and just focus in MY first to complete my intern
2) when I'm done with my intern, i hope i can work in a MNC in SG but i realise thats hard, so maybe just by joining a SME first but its that the right mentality?

or anyone has better suggestions on what I should do.. would like to hear from someone who grad and work there straight too
1) you can go for intern in SG if you can bare the living cost with very little salary for intern, anyway regardless where you intern, they will neglect it as the period is too short for you to gain experience, still treat you as fresh grad regardless you complete it in MY or SG.

2)Why everyone tend to join MNC at the beginning? which MNC you referring to? if you got first class then is ok to join, if not, get yourself into SG with the job you want because jobhunting is hard abit nowadays. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Sep 4 2012, 08:35 AM
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 09:38 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 4 2012, 09:26 AM)
1000? Redhill/tiongbahru green line nearby town..master bedroom they asking 1200-1300 ar!!for 2 persons of course..if 1 person maybe less 100 bucks only!!
That one is too close to town area already.if 1200-1300 w/o bed lagi worse, need to waste more money at the beginning. doh.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 10:17 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Sep 4 2012, 10:10 AM)
well, i was thinking of renouncing my pr. lol. Will be planning to go aus to try out.
But if you renoucing PR after you receive the notification to NS, it will cause you something, i not sure about it. hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 11:33 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 4 2012, 10:30 AM)
Thank you for the answer I was looking for someone to tell me these kind of things. As for MNC hmm WD, Accenture or whichever are there but ya like you said..  I think a trip to SG will be fruitful. When applying for jobs in SG, do you tell them upfront you're a Malaysian?
apply job thru job market? you mean when you grad or for intern?but they should know you are malaysian, in fact you should told them, if when they accept you, you only tell them you are malaysian, what if they dont want you, then you waste time and money. noneed to cheat on this kind of thing, not worth it.
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 11:37 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Sep 4 2012, 11:18 AM)
Never try to renounce your Singapore PR unless you are very confident that you will not work in Singapore anymore. Singapore immigration is very strict with those who rejected or renounce their PR or citizenship. I have a friend who tried to outplay the law by skipping NS, then tried to come back by saying that he has to serve the bond (He was bonded with the Singapore Gov to work in Singapore for 3 years as he enjoyed some study subsidy in Poly), but Immigration says, No Thanks. Did not grant him an EP pass despite numerous appeal.

So, think twice. Btw, Aus aint easy as well. My bf's bro is now in Aussie on working pass but couldnt get a job despite a qualified engineer and has banking experience.[I] So, go only with a confirmed job offer.
Heard my friend say in Aus,even you qualified for your field, you noneed to find back some qualification job as you just get normal chef job or what so ever job but get paid like your salary in SG, it is lay back lifestyle in Aus?

yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 12:05 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 4 2012, 12:02 PM)
Hmm looks like a trip south maybe at the end of oct... another question I hope its not too stupid here goes, I'm starting my intern on 1st Nov(ideal situation) till 1st Feb 2013, so do you think if i go and look for a job at the end of oct 2012.. its too far?
Wow, start way ahead before you finish your intern. job hunting is depend on luck, maybe you get it after 2 weeks, maybe you get it after 2 month, maybe you dont get it at all.what do you think? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 02:20 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Sep 4 2012, 02:00 PM)
Thanks for the replies. Anyway, how much salary do you think it is worth to take a master room at this price? I'm not a big spender. Thanks  smile.gif
Even if you are not big spender, if you spend more than 1K just for master room, +-daily expenses, every month you save very less, you are not a big spender, but you still are a spender. might increase when your purchasing power going up. drool.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 4 2012, 05:31 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Sep 4 2012, 04:45 PM)
It is a letter from Mindef just send me a letter on this title "Notification of national service registration", so i guess it is kind of applying for NS. While from other forum some says just apply for it as u might not need to serve NS. So i am not sure bout it. It is an online registration and never stated report to any centre on which date.
What is the risk if you need to NS but you didnt go for NS?? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 5 2012, 08:41 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs @ Sep 4 2012, 07:04 PM)
So do you mean my choice of design engineer (office-based work) is better?
Jurong shipyard is a high pay and high risk workplace,even is design engineer, you might need go onsite? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 6 2012, 08:31 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(superman1056 @ Sep 5 2012, 11:12 PM)
still finding it hard to get job... i think might take the risk and travel down to get a job.. anyone know what are the chances?
Which field are you into ? did you apply alot in the job market? even if you travel down to find job, the most you can look for is either walk in or thru newspapers, and sometimes result might not what you wish for, unless you are financial free then you can come down to look for job, else it going to burn a big hole in your wallet.

Added on September 6, 2012, 8:34 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 6 2012, 12:02 AM)
Hi all, I'm EP holder and need advice here...

I tendered my resignation last week and last day should be end of Sept. I've confirmed with future employer that be starting my new job on 1st Oct.

However manager approached me today and advised me to take layoff package instead but end date will be another month later (end of Oct). I was asked to negotiate with future employer if I can join 1 month later.
If go by layoff package, I will be compensated in terms of $$, but I heard those that took layoff package will not be allowed to re-join current company in future.

And after talking to management, they seems favoring me to take layoff package than standard resignation.

I'm still figuring out whats the logic... have yet to receive terms and conditions regarding the layoff package too...
Perhaps someone here can shed some lights for me...

Thanks in advance.
But you must know how your future employer look at you, and maybe they need manpower asap, so they given you time to settle your current thing, you cannot expect the company to wait you forever, job wait for no one. Must plan for your future career development. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Sep 6 2012, 08:34 AM
yhoong12
post Sep 6 2012, 11:56 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(joeysew @ Sep 6 2012, 11:14 AM)
Hey lads, can anyone shed some light about the state of job markets in singapore? i'm looking to expand my options for jobs within the financial or mgmt consulting sector? And one more thing i'm curious about! Is it true Singaporean employers tend to value their elite grad highly as compared to ranked foreign university? or is it just a myth
According to the few previous post, the market i guess is slow, but there is still jobs for grab. if you are not fresh grad, then they only look at your experience instead of university
yhoong12
post Sep 7 2012, 08:44 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 6 2012, 06:18 PM)
But what quality of experience would you have gained if you did not start out from a quality university?
Is there any different for people start out from quality university and people start out from normal university?
Normal university grad does not possess quality of experience as quality university grad?

Added on September 7, 2012, 8:45 am
QUOTE(catacomb @ Sep 7 2012, 03:16 AM)
smile.gif my parents and my brothers are in Malaysia but I am not married smile.gif. Still single. Hmm too many reasons to list down why I return but I will just jot down some main considerations..

(1) My roots is in Malaysia. Although I have friends in Singapore but I do value friends that I have in Malaysia since my kindergarten time till now.
(2) Malaysians don't have demanding power unlike 10+ years ago. Now there are too many foreigners from other countries which exchange rate is lower than Malaysia. Yes exchange rate now is 1 sing to 2.5 ringgit but there are other countries which is 10x or 20x more so they are willing to take lower pay
(3) You got to constantly upgrading and climb. Yes you can do it at certain age but for someone like me who is turning 40 soon and still stuck in the mid management level, I value personal time more than putting 24hours into a company
(4) If you can save in Singapore, I believe you can save more in Malaysia if you were to use the same lifestyle in both countries
(5) Lastly with pun intended smile.gif, in Malaysia you not happy with the government you can still have voice and rights to choose. In other countries, you just complain and suck it up. Nothing much can be done smile.gif
The only few things I can agree about Singapore being better is the transport system. You can really get to places even the most remote sites without much problem. Security is another thing. You can just walk alone in the street at 3am with your wallet in your hand and no one would come and snatch it from you. Other than that, it's always 2 side of a coin. There are things better in Malaysia and there are things better in Singapore.

If you are getting 4k in malaysia and u get the same 4k sing dollars in Singapore, my advice is forget about going to Singapore. If you are getting more than 5k in Singapore then yes give it a shot in Singapore.

Oh let's not forget, there is not much mamak for you to hang out past midnight smile.gif
Wow, seem like management position and higher salary lure you back.haha

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Sep 7 2012, 08:45 AM
yhoong12
post Sep 7 2012, 02:02 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
is not end of the story yet, he might return back to sg  laugh.gif laugh.gif
well i did the same thing hahaha  rolleyes.gif
I think he proudly say that:"I'm Back !!" one month ago.

rclxm9.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 10 2012, 08:42 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Sep 10 2012, 02:56 AM)
Hi guys, my situation is like this, a young married couple, got job offer in the UK, however due to working permit application is still in process and it takes time, my employer is suggesting me to work from their SG office until my UK working permit is sorted, may be only 2 - 4 months time (im guessing)

Questions:

1. The office is in this post code 169204 , from google map i understand it is not near to JB, but I'd like to know if I travel from JB daily by a car, how much time should I be expecting and money on fuel or tol?

2. How easy to find room for couple (that allows cooking  tongue.gif )? I read many forums and advertisement, most room i saw so far are for single person and do not allow cooking, I am asking this because my wife loves cooking and that is the activity she can do at home while I work.

Any ideas or thought are welcome!! Million thanks in advance!! notworthy.gif
1.You can use this website, (gothere)it is easier to use plus it give you all the information you needed. just put on the search textbox, like woodland checkpoint to 169204, then you will get what you looking for.

2. couple room, that is one of most difficult room to find, but if you willing to paid higher, you can find one. cooking wise you need to find room without owner, but normally they also allow light cooking only, no oily cook, your wife just follow you here and not working? just waiting to go UK with you?but room for rent only 2-4 month quite hard to find. hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 10 2012, 02:16 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Sep 10 2012, 02:01 PM)
I am not sure either. He works from 3.30 pm till 5.30 am.

After settling down, I am sure he will find ways to make his life easy.
if he get caught working illegally and the boss denied everything, will him loss everything,included the salary for how many days he work here until now? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 10 2012, 03:39 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 10 2012, 02:46 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
being taxed is fine if u can see the tax money being put into good use and u reap some of the benefit.
not being taxed, country will go broke sooner or later - greece
being taxed but money kena songlap...sooner or later also will go broke.
Malaysia still alive and kicking!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Sep 10 2012, 03:39 PM
yhoong12
post Sep 10 2012, 04:17 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(TeamEnggsol @ Sep 10 2012, 04:08 PM)
JOB OPPORTUNITY FOR LOCAL MALAY

We from Enggsol are currently working on Malaysia requirement. Below are the details.

Sales Engineer (To be based in KL or Penang, Malaysia)

Role:
• Reporting to the Sales Manager, the incumbent shall be responsible for promoting and/or selling of electronic components products.
• Organizes and conducts presentations to potential and existing customers.
• Attends to sales enquiries and generation of quotations.
• Prepares sales reports and attends to after-sales servicing.
• Explores business opportunities and expands market share.

Requirements:
• Min 3 years experience in component sales
• Min Diploma in Electronics / Technical Engineering
• Good knowledge in electronic component products market
• Possess excellent presentation skills
• Must have good communication & interpersonal skills
• Self-motivated and resourceful with strong demonstrated leadership qualities
• Capable of performing in a high paced environment
• Must possess own car

If you are interested to be considered for the above position, kindly send in your updated resume to recruitsales@enggsol.com
Thanks!
Dont just anyhow posted in the thread, unless you can offer higher salary than the rate in SG!!! doh.gif
yhoong12
post Sep 11 2012, 09:37 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 10 2012, 10:27 AM)
Sabahans, Sarawakians below 35 allegedly barred from working in S'pore
sweat.gif
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/M...910-370595.html
How bout sabahans and sarawakians that already working here and still below 35?

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0463sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:21 PM