4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

crazy25kid
post Jun 26 2012, 05:56 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

din sean mentioned the tac thing before a few days ago?
crazy25kid
post Jul 9 2012, 02:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 12:50 PM)
No, HR ditn reply me yet, today i just check status from MOM by using application no. given by HR  tongue.gif

The EP need take photo? on the spot or give them passport size photo?

sp means medical checkup must done in this week?  sad.gif

ur passport photo not usable in sg.
sg photo is white background, m'sia is blue.
just follow what rexona suggest below.
best is u take ur photo there...cause the officer later forgot take med say your photo not up to standard, u might end up taking photo there also. laugh.gif laugh.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2012, 01:50 PM)
when you enter singapore you get a 30days white card. by the end of this 30 days you need to do the medical checkup, get HR to sign your IPA, and complete your formalities at EPSC. photo taking, just turn up at EPSC 15 min early, next to the office got photo taking service if u no have your own photo
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2012, 12:34 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 12:27 PM)
of course i won't take the offer if that is too low.
but i was just thinking.
let's say our expected salary in malaysia is RM4,000. do you ask for $4,000 or $2,000 in singapore?
i asked for number to number without considering the exchange rate.
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2012, 02:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 12:39 PM)
i did that!
and they said too high sad.gif
well...maybe it is a strategy by companies to try paying less...i had that also.
or maybe u are just overpaid in m'sia and i am underpaid. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2012, 02:34 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
guys a quick question.

i signed my new employer offer letter already. they already gave me the letter to go for medical check up etc.

they applied for my pass. i checked online just now, and it says my pass is approved. so does this mean all is well and done? so technically its completed right?

im just really excited for my new job. and dont wanna put my hopes so high up if its still not really time to celebrate biggrin.gif
all is well and done when u pass your medical.
until then, all is not well yet.
a failed medical can cause a reversal in pass approval which can cause the offer letter to be invalid.
that is the worst case scenario..but nothing to worry about. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2012, 02:45 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 02:37 PM)
what do they usually check for?

they practically answered u

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 11 2012, 02:39 PM)
based on the checkup letter provided by my company.

xray
hiv
urine test

i might have missed out 1 more thing ...but this is what i remember seeing.

my last checkup ...didnt require the HIV test.

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 11 2012, 02:42 PM)
blood test (HIV test to be exact), & lungs.
the chest xray is for lungs scanning for tb.
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2012, 05:51 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Jul 11 2012, 05:37 PM)

4 months on and you think of subletting?
good that you see far ahead, but bad you do not see the present.

like what yhoong mentioned, PR allows better work opportunity.
on top of that, CPF by employer.

to buy a HDB flat for PR, you need to be PR along with your spouse.
furthermore, the initial payment for buying a hdb is ...
until you have enough dough to cough up for the initial payment, it is still a few years down the road (well, unless you are loaded..but if you are loaded, go condo)

edit: forgot this is sublet
cannot sublet hdb, sublet condo lo. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 11 2012, 05:56 PM
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2012, 09:57 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jul 12 2012, 09:49 AM)
Yup seen that in the website too. But the check-in confirmation didn't list 'laptop' as a small item though. Called up the call centre and was told I am allowed to carry a luggage and laptop. Would like to know if anyone actually took the flight before and seen anyone doing so?
for cabin baggage, u can carry 1 small luggage (cabin size of course) + 1 laptop bag.
jetstar is a bit more particular.
they might ask you to open up ur laptop bag if it looks bulky.
they might warn you or fine you (worst case) to not include non-computer related stuffs in the computer bag.
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2012, 10:36 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 10:16 AM)

i agree with u that it has nothing do with luck
u just got enlightened and took action earlier than the majority
i am just starting my path of enlightenment. laugh.gif laugh.gif

crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2012, 10:52 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 12 2012, 10:51 AM)
Where is the best place to get a good exchange rate from sgd to myr? I can only find the highest of 2.85 at jurong point (boon lay mrt)
2.85 so nice????!!!!
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 06:25 PM)
Haha.. calculation got problem la dude. Don't forget CPF need to split among 3 acc. being equally spli 1 month is only 1/3 of the calculation i.e. 37.5k/3 - 12.5k. Somemore haven factor in COV and admin fee.... with a hdb $250k, i think is barely can get too.  blush.gif

Edited * Long long way to even save for your first hdb without getting loan/sponsor from fama bank.  biggrin.gif
you can be pessimistic, or you can be optimistic...your choice.
if you want to keep sticking to your calculation (maybe you will claim it is being realistic), go ahead but life is never as you expected.
others showed u that it is actually quite possible.

or if u follow what chessgal says, you will never get rich just by being employed. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2012, 09:42 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2012, 09:39 AM)
Anyone wonder why there is no Chatime in SG?

Who wanna partnership with me on opening the first Chatime outlet in SG?
amk also got
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2012, 03:30 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2012, 03:21 PM)
I'm paying $2.3k/mth for my HDB rental now. It's worth maybe 450k on open market (guesstimate). 30 year loan on 390k at 1.5% (which is crazy high) is $1.345/mth. THAT much difference? hmm.gif Or am I miscalculating somewhere hmm.gif ...
well, i did not go calculate ur scenario
but i did try calculating before
rent at the moment is way higher than monthly installment.
crazy25kid
post Jul 18 2012, 02:06 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:02 PM)
yes yes..that is the standard procedure. until u get ur EP then onli will sign offer letter.
not really
sometimes u sign the offer letter first before they proceed to apply the pass.
but in the end, it is the same..even if u signed and pass rejected, offer is void.
crazy25kid
post Jul 19 2012, 11:28 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:44 AM)
any suggestion where to do medical checkup when applying for ep? (prefer places near cck ave 4, woodlands)
there is 1 in causeway point lvl5
raffles medical or something...just remember it is raffles. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 19 2012, 11:28 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 19 2012, 05:50 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 19 2012, 04:33 PM)
Why nowadays room with full furnish does not include bed ?seriously no idea why would this happen...
cause some ppl think it is not hygienic? hmm.gif hmm.gif
i duno...just speculating. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 20 2012, 05:00 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 20 2012, 04:48 PM)
but u need to pay utilities, transportation, etc.. right?

Normal fresh grad only offered SGD 1800-2200; spend half of it 900-1100 for rental+transport+wifi+utilities+washing machine (in return of time-saving), I think worth it. Share a room with 2 frens means a room rented at $300. Have u considered the above expenses? Add together would it hits $600 per month? (But u cant invite ur parent or sibling to stay in ur singapore house).

If live as ur condition, no doubt can save money.

Not everyone works in CBD. sweat.gif sweat.gif
you are comparing using different objectives.
if one wants to save, he needs to sacrifice some things for others.
this just how it goes.

PS: why do you all go entertain wintersun? he is a proven troll.

crazy25kid
post Jul 23 2012, 09:56 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 09:54 AM)
hi, sifus.

wanna ask if my employer applied EP for me but my salary doesnt hit the requirements. will MOM EP online automatically apply S Pass for me instead ? waited for 6 days here and i think gg already

no.
salary requirement is not the only stick to measure.

crazy25kid
post Jul 23 2012, 10:08 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 10:04 AM)
no. means mom will not applied S PASS for you but reject your EP application instead ?

according to new rules effective from 1st July 2012, i guess i am not able to make it since i am fresh graduate and earning 2300 SGD only.
correct. no automatic downgrade application.
which part of "salary requirement is not the only stick to measure" do you not understand?
crazy25kid
post Jul 23 2012, 11:32 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 11:09 AM)
i checked the EP online status since day 1... until now day 6 ... i wonder it will be dragged until .......... endless

Added on July 23, 2012, 11:10 am

i very appreciate the chance of working in sg. i tend to leave my msia job this week and wait for the EP.
just a heads up.
unless u are worth their time and effort, some company HR do not appeal after rejection of pass.
they just give up.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0455sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:43 AM