Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 15 2012, 12:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 11:25 PM)

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:29 pm
err things like unexpected family matter is hard to predict.. always need to keep a backup, can't leverage too much.  The calculator only provide half of the answer, you need to 'guess' your future cash flow and reserve level.
depends lor, whether to live, invest or speculate... more risk of course more return...
QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 14 2012, 11:52 PM)
when will be the next gathering? kinda bored at SG..
hi. welcum to d club.. siapa lu?
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM)
My colleague gave me a freelancer that he used. He'll compiles and present the features of all the loans from major banks and any specific banks you ask. Yes, he'll be biased towards the bank with the highest commission but simply to get a single report listing all the loans with common denominators is damn useful already. Much easier to shop around. Then for courtesy, listen to the guy's pitch for 15 minutes lor.
freelancer? hmm.gif those independent financial planners?
QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 15 2012, 10:12 AM)
Thanks all sifu for your valuable advice. I will make a thorough survey before any decision to be made.

I'm currently working in the west, any recommendation which area should I look into to get a decent unit should I decided to get one in SG? Be it new/used. I would prefer 2-3 bedrooms unit, around or below $800psf. Any informative websites will be appreciated.
800psf? private? or hdb ec bdss?
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 01:11 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 15 2012, 10:12 AM)
I'm currently working in the west, any recommendation which area should I look into to get a decent unit should I decided to get one in SG? Be it new/used. I would prefer 2-3 bedrooms unit, around or below $800psf. Any informative websites will be appreciated.
Google for propertyguru's website. It's got a pretty comprehensive database and search tool that can accommodate selections from price range, psf to distance from MRT. Or you can select your favorite MRT station and it'll search for developments around it etc. Even the agents use it on their iPads to show stuff to their clients.

Added on July 15, 2012, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 15 2012, 12:34 PM)
freelancer?  hmm.gif  those independent financial planners?
No, this guy only does property loans. More like a loan broker.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 15 2012, 01:12 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 15 2012, 02:04 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 13 2012, 09:06 PM)
Normally after the interview, you need to ask or they will tell you when they will get back to you.
I didn't ask them, and they didn't tell me when they will get back to me. So now I'm waiting. Sigh. Don't know how long should I wait.
Thanks anyway smile.gif
Shinichi
post Jul 15 2012, 02:47 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 14 2012, 11:19 PM)
yeaps... i think $5-10... and yes, have to wait... usually have to pay only during sales... regular times it is free
http://www.sendspace.com/file/yql54h
Thanks bro smile.gif
Now I know where I should buy my pants tongue.gif
keelim
post Jul 15 2012, 03:37 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 14 2012, 10:40 AM)
Look for 3/4/5/etc box layouts. Stay away from corridors, bay windows, store room/utility room/bomb shelter/study, wet/dry kitchens, immovable islands (eg. counter tops, decoration cabinets, room dividers, indoor gardens etc) etc. Smallest possible aircond compressor 'balcony' and washing machine/dryer area.

And these days, they sure whack you with a useless balcony. So I look for the narrowest, shortest one or one with unblocked view so that you can open the sliding doors and actually extend the space abit. But on the other hand... think of the dust.
Now it makes sense. These are not design flaws but safety and supplies necessities. It also explains why corner units garner a "privacy" and "better square" premiums.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2012, 12:15 PM)
I would imagine the limiting factor for most people isn't the monthly repayments, but the amount of cash you need to save up for the downpayments for each property. I mean, like a HDB, I'd say most couples could easily afford the 1.5k or whatever monthly repayment. It takes a lot more discipline and financial planning to save up the (close to) 100k to actually buy it in the first place, though.
Agree. I could imagine after paying the 20% down payment, I would have to impose austerity on my spending and be hell sure there is no one to bail me out. Taking into account agent fees (1% for buyers? 2% for sellers?), stamp duty, and legal fees, one needs to factor in a 5% buffer on top of the downpayment. For those creative interior designs that I have, those can wait.

This post has been edited by keelim: Jul 15 2012, 03:38 PM
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 04:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 15 2012, 03:37 PM)
Now it makes sense. These are not design flaws but safety and supplies necessities. It also explains why corner units garner a "privacy" and "better square" premiums.
When the bomb shelter is the stair well, you're not charged. When it's your "utility room", you pay the psf. When the corridor is the lift lobby, you're not charged. When they put a corridor inside your flat (instead of say, having all the bedrooms open directly into the living room), you pay the psf.
megadisc
post Jul 15 2012, 10:15 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 15 2012, 05:24 PM)
When the bomb shelter is the stair well, you're not charged. When it's your "utility room", you pay the psf. When the corridor is the lift lobby, you're not charged. When they put a corridor inside your flat (instead of say, having all the bedrooms open directly into the living room), you pay the psf.
wah ...like that also have ah ...

is it not unfair ..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 15 2012, 11:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 15 2012, 01:11 PM)
No, this guy only does property loans. More like a loan broker.
i see, how independent are they? or they just wanna push u to the package they can make the most $$$?
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 11:35 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 15 2012, 10:15 PM)
wah ...like that also have ah ...

is it not unfair ..
If it wasn't in the floor plan when you signed and handed over the cheque, yes. If it was in the floor plan from the beginning... then no.

Added on July 15, 2012, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 15 2012, 11:29 PM)
i see, how independent are they? or they just wanna push u to the package they can make the most $$$?
Of course. Everyone pushes something. It's up to you to tell the chaff from the wheat and make the decision what's best for you, no? They either push you in the direction of what's good for you or what's good for them. All people do. Let's not be naive. They are trying to broker a loan and make a living. Not provide free market research and educate the masses.

Their value lies in the fact that they've done all the groundwork for you.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 15 2012, 11:48 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 16 2012, 08:35 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 15 2012, 02:04 PM)
I didn't ask them, and they didn't tell me when they will get back to me. So now I'm waiting. Sigh. Don't know how long should I wait.
Thanks anyway smile.gif
Erm...Since you didnt ask and they didnt tell you, i guess maybe you can email them after one week and ask them about the status, if not, u just have to wait, normally one week shud be enuf to determine if you are hired onot.
bradshaw6861
post Jul 16 2012, 10:59 AM

47 posts

hi,
was wondering about the safety issue if I stay in JB area...possibly very near to JB custom...
thx for advice.

arold88
post Jul 16 2012, 11:07 AM

499 posts

hurm..thinking about looking jobs @ SG..
how can i started ha?
yhoong12
post Jul 16 2012, 11:56 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(arold88 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:07 AM)
hurm..thinking about looking jobs @ SG..
how can i started ha?
Erm, start to apply job through all the job market. that is the best way to start. thumbup.gif

Or if you got any friend in the same field as you, you can ask them to help forward your resume to their HR.
boboy880927
post Jul 16 2012, 12:35 PM

107 posts

anyone know any agent for singapore job, i wanted to sg for work.
ff7yta
post Jul 16 2012, 01:07 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(boboy880927 @ Jul 16 2012, 12:35 PM)
The best method to look for jobs is online search, jobstreet, jobst etc
yhoong12
post Jul 16 2012, 02:08 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(boboy880927 @ Jul 16 2012, 12:35 PM)
Erm, the most efficient way for a agent to help you, i guess directly go to the agency there and register with them would be better, such as people profiler, recruit express.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 16 2012, 03:00 PM
johnnywzm
post Jul 16 2012, 03:37 PM

116 posts

haihzz... 2nd week. no news..

why no news?? Hire me leh..
rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by johnnywzm: Jul 16 2012, 03:37 PM
shanelai
post Jul 16 2012, 03:56 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jul 16 2012, 03:37 PM)

rclxub.gif
only 2nd weeks, wait patiently.. I have been waited for 7 months.
yhoong12
post Jul 16 2012, 04:00 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

rclxub.gif
Haha, you only can keep on applying and wait for the news.Good Luck !! thumbup.gif
jasonkwk
post Jul 16 2012, 04:06 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

rclxub.gif
what kind of job you are applying? or expected salary too high? laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:18 PM