QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 14 2012, 10:43 AM)
The biggest bangla in our SG office lives in a bungalow in Sentosa Cove. Rental S$26K a month. Want to buy S$30 million.Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting
Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting
Aug 14 2012, 11:01 AM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
Aug 14 2012, 11:07 AM
Aug 14 2012, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:08 AM) Haha, maybe my friend just jealous that we able to work in Sg, so that trying to say all those bullsh*t to me, like cannot drive la, no mamak, thing very expensive la and so on, hence also saying i am a bangla in singapore getting lower salary compare to same level of experience of people in malaysia. With friends like that, who needs enemies?But well, if you willing to work hard, you can, YES YOU CAN !! Anyway, just ask your friend to go out to a group dinner in Malaysia. Go to a nice, expensive restaurant, like Western, Japanese, Korean, hotel etc... then when the bill comes - ask him to pay. Then say if he cannot afford, you can pay. See S$ or RM salary endures more wallet pain. |
Aug 14 2012, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 14 2012, 05:43 PM) Not really. The basis/denominator of the 20% and 16% is capped at $5000.Once you're past 5K, anything above that is CPF free (except for bonus which has a different formula). This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 14 2012, 06:42 PM |
Aug 16 2012, 11:21 PM
Aug 18 2012, 06:03 PM
Watching the NDP parade repeat on Channel 5. Tony Tan's inspection of the honor guard was super careful and calculated. He stopped to talk to 4 soldiers... one Chinese, one Malay, one Indian and one female.
Aug 19 2012, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(newx @ Aug 19 2012, 08:28 PM) Not sure if this has been asked before, but is it reasonable to expect similar salary figure (in SGD) if one were to maintain his lifestyle in SG? Of course not. What your employer pays you is related to what you can do, not what your lifestyle is. |
Aug 19 2012, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(newx @ Aug 19 2012, 08:59 PM) What I can do in KL is exactly what I can do in SG, NY, HK or even Timbuktu for that matter. Yes,.. but what SG, NY, HK or Timbuktu will pay you will vary greatly according to how much the employers there need it / value it.QUOTE(newx) The question was asked to understand how much one should expect before making the switch since cost of living in different cities are not the same. You should be asking about expenditure / cost of living to maintain a lifestyle. Not about expected salary which has nothing to do with lifestyle.And a single level of salary can maintain a range of different lifestyles... depending on who it is. For Singapore... you can maintain the same lifestyle S$1 for RM1... as long as you don't drive in SG. And you should be aware that your lifestyle in KL is that of a local-born whereas in SG, you are a foreigner. There will be things you need to pay for in SG (at least initially), which you probably for take for granted in KL like parents' resources (housing, transport, childcare support etc), citizen's resources (like govt subsidies) and existing social & support structures eg. family, friends, social activities, hobby haunts, knowledge of the best deals etc. This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 19 2012, 09:43 PM |
Aug 20 2012, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(keelim @ Aug 20 2012, 12:45 PM) Argh..recently went through a painful house hunting experience. Inexperienced and contemplating over trivial things resulted in deal closed before I was able to put an offer! Sounds like you went for your first "open house" organised by the agents. That usually deteriorates into a bidding war. But you're right. You have to be quick. You need to be firm on your budget (ie. pay right to limit of your budget without having to think, think, think) and you need to target a location, not a flat. If you're going for HDB and mass market condos - know that no flat will be perfect for your family/circumstances, and you can always compromise/improve once you move in. So don't fuss over small stuff like room layout, wall colour, slightly small size of this room/that room etc.These people brought their cheque book along and in no hesitation to write big equity cheque. Lesson learnt: (1) If you like the unit; act fast! (2) Do not fall in love with ANY property! My last 2 flats... I took it the moment I walked in the front door. The living room was bright, inviting and it felt comfortable to come home to (no hantu, damp, dark, lonely feeling etc). Location and budget was right,.. so other stuff can be managed. |
Aug 20 2012, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(keelim @ Aug 20 2012, 09:15 PM) According to my agent; it was a middle age uncle who took less than 3 mins viewing the unit and wrote the cheque. All the while, I was busy asking around about the consequences of having front door facing the kitchen. Unless you're buying very high end, there's no use fussing over too much feng shui for SG properties. They are built at such high density that there's ALWAYS something that will be at odds with one feng shui covenant or another. IMO, as long as the very basic principles are okay, it's a go.QUOTE(keelim) Few days before, I was joking with colleagues on how properties are transacted in Singapore like vegetables in wet market. Now this is first hand experience. All new launches are purchased sight unseen, on the basis of some pictures and a Lego building. So, that's even worse than wet market. So, at the end of the day, it's all about location, amenities and facilities. That's the primary basis for the rental as well. Don't sweat the small stuff.This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 20 2012, 09:38 PM |
Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM
Aug 22 2012, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:29 AM) izit? i thought the extraction from JPJ will cancel your malaysia license? they will cut of a corner of license? If they cut the corner of your Malaysian driving licence after giving you the extract, does that mean that you cannot drive yourself home from the JPJ office? Need friend to drive you home since you don't have the SG licence yet? |
Aug 25 2012, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 25 2012, 12:08 PM) but dont forget If everything you do is kacang putih, then the things that you learn faster is also kacang putih. MNCs won't pay you for the kacang putih that you've learnt.smaller firms make u ...pao kah liao so u do everything and learn faster still can sondierer? So even if you justify joining a small company to "learn faster", make sure whatever you learn is worth money to your future career. I've had interviewees coming to us with a good degree but a few years experience with a no name company where they are currently have a managerial position. When we offer them an exec's salary instead of a manager's, they will start talking about how they managed "Purchasing, HR and Admin" on top of accounting. But the fact is that I am not going to give you a MNC manager's role because you bought Milo from the pantry, banked in the payroll/CPF and supervised the secretaries and tea lady. Without fail, they were expecting a big jump in salary when they move from small firm to MNC. But that never happens because the pao kah liao they did previously is worthless to the MNC. |
Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM
Sep 6 2012, 06:18 PM
Sep 6 2012, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(plplpl @ Sep 6 2012, 07:16 PM) I dont like employers who take advantage of their workers. Like exploiting Malaysian to work harder than locals and complain less. This is unfair. Wah, super reverse logic. You want to work hard because you want money. They don't want to work hard because they already got money. So, are you being unfair to them? |
Sep 6 2012, 11:18 PM
Sep 10 2012, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 10 2012, 09:38 AM) I suggest you to currently stay put as where u r...then make your move to UK....just skip SG...too short a stint and too much of hassle Absolutely agree. Unless the company is paying for and organising everything, don't bother coming to SG for only a few months. Take a few months break... freelance, do pro bono / charity or something.This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 10 2012, 10:12 AM |
Sep 10 2012, 04:21 PM
The retard is spamming multiple threads.
Sep 11 2012, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(catacomb @ Sep 11 2012, 04:46 AM) Malaysians from Peninsula can never withdraw their CPF. The rules govern will be the same as Singaporeans unless you migrate to somewhere and surrender your Malaysian citizenship and never return to Malaysia. Even you surrender your PR still same thing. If they give up their PR, West Malaysians can withdraw all their CPF at 55 years old. All other PR holders can withdraw immediately after giving up their PR.If you don't give up your PR, you can't withdraw everything regardless of which side of whatever country you're from. |
| Change to: | 0.0483sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:01 AM |