Anyone live in Sun-U residence?, Questions

TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 1 2012, 06:53 PM, updated 14y ago

41 posts

Hi, I will start my MUFY in Sunway soon and I would like some Ex-student or currently student to tell me something about the course (I have read most of the posts about MUFY, but found that they are quite old).

Anyway, to make a long story short. I'm looking for accommodation (maybe Sun-U residence).
According to website(college), they show only the appearance of the accommodation.
They didn't show much details about the interior, so are there anyone who are living (or lived) in there could tell me how's the interior looks like (any pictures?)? And what is your experiences when you live in there?

Your help would be greatly appreciated!! smile.gif
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 2 2012, 12:54 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jun 1 2012, 11:51 PM)
hi i am now staying in sun u residence, yes its a  bit 'old n dont looks so good despite its name condo'.let me clear all your doubts

1)Environment quite ok, there will be 'kakak' coming to clean the unit NOT your room every few days. Security yeah its quite ok with the access card system. comfortable or spacious err its ok but if you got tons of stuff then its gonna be very small space left

2)that i have no idea since i have no idea what kind of people they will put you with. from my experience, i have been getting mostly good housemates/roomates. only once i got smoker housemate n end up all the laundry got smoke smell

3)yes there is water heater

4)there is a water machine which dispense hot n cold water and its filtered

5)supposedly its not allowed according to official rules but shhhh ..... induction cooker yes,but dont get caught LOL

6)yes free 128 kbps slow dao ........, however there is an option 1mbps rm70/month or 512 at 60 or 50 cant remember. PPS is not block BTW lol

7)yes there is washing machine some unit got new nice ones from samsung or panasonic while some unfortunately got the old toshiba one(not really old erm 2008 model)

8)sunway shuttle bus n taxi is available at main entrance.taxi mostly dont use meter or depend on where you want to go then they may use meter,most importantly try to runding the price

let me add some more
9)there is a fridge pretty old one
10)some or perhaps all unit have TV dont expect LCD with astro just normal tv
11)convenience store downstairs as well as poolside cafe

well on the other hand sunway monash residence is wow stark difference perhaps coz its new
inside the room you get a small fridge n TV so according to some of the people that stay there most of the time you stay in your own room,unlike in sun u residence where we often sit in the living room n chat
with regards to internet monash residence provide 1GB yes4g free,if you want xtra pay more or use starbucks wifi
aircond is metered up to 180hr per month, excess usage charge more n free laundry up to 5kg i think 1wk since SMR no washing machine
Thank you for answering my questions (Share with me of your/anyone experiences, if there are anymore) thumbup.gif

At first, I thought about Monash residence but wow..the price so I think I will pretty sure end up with Sun-U residence(Twin Sharing).

I have read the rules and regulations, and it seems pretty strict, ouch. rclxub.gif

1. Enviroment - I think as long as it's quiet enough, that will be alright. Since, I'm not living in a fancy house here too.

2.Housemates/roommates - This is the thing that I most concern about.

3.water heater - Checked!

4.Water filter - Checked!

5.Cooking - I would like to cook too if I am allow to, but rules and regulations said it no, so better just follow. Checked!

6.Internet - As long as I can use to do research, and not too slow(like 1mb for an hour) that's fine for me. shocking.gif

7. Laundry - Uh, after you washed your clothes...How do you guys dry it? From the floor plan that I saw, I can't see any places to dry the clothes. rclxub.gif

8.Transportation - I think that will be fine, good to have some walk except during night.

EXTRA icon_question.gif
-How's the air condition, can only switch on in a certain time?
-Are there any library around or you just stay in the room whole time to do your study?
-There are more facilities provided in Monash residence, can you guys use it if you are not from there?

This is the first time I study in sunway college, really hope I could get a good details of it.
At the same time, I also have contacted and emailed to the admin and staffs there but I think they got annoyed by me already. whistling.gif

Thanks, guys thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MsiaStudent: Jun 2 2012, 01:04 AM
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 2 2012, 07:15 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Happy Student @ Jun 2 2012, 06:38 PM)
Agree from my personal experience. They are here to enjoy and play but not study

Added on June 2, 2012, 6:44 pmStudy is important but don't forget to enjoy too!
After hearing from you guys, the only thing came to my mind...(Gonna be a tough year..)

Same old joke; I used to be a hardworking student, then I met a bunch of friends.
(Hope this won't apply in me this year, I love to make friends but study still needed to be focus on too) rclxub.gif

By the way, did you guys say Korean, Indonesian....
(No offence, I never expect foreigners to study in our country due to those stereotypes of the country) blink.gif

Anymore advise or guidance? Got to prepare myself to face the worst case scenario.
(After PKLN, I can face everything..lol whistling.gif )
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 3 2012, 12:46 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Happy Student @ Jun 2 2012, 08:46 PM)
Hehe. my advice is just be yourself, don't gaduh with others, be decisive  biggrin.gif  don't exactly follow what others say, you have to come up with your own ideas too!

Added on June 2, 2012, 8:47 pm

yup, if get bad ones then alone is better lol
Thanks guys, thank you for all the advice and guidance!! thumbup.gif

-By the way, are you guys allow to bring any outside food back to the dorm?
-And are there any gender segregation in the dorm (I used to study in boy school only and live with bunch of girls in home, very tired of them when come to toilet/bathroom problems). doh.gif

Cheers~! laugh.gif
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 5 2012, 08:22 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Jackgusta @ Jun 5 2012, 02:31 AM)
EX MUFY student here...
So, what you want to know about mufy?
lecturer? or?
Nice, another Ex-Mufy student.

Here are some questions for you then,
-What do you think about Mufy?(Overall, is it hard? Same old question)
-Have enough time to do all the assignments?
-How's about the exam?(Difficult?)
-How's the lectures?
-How's the Mufy student behave? (Like the secondary school, hyper?)

Or you can just tell me anything that you know about Mufy. Feelings, your days in Mufy, friends and so on. sweat.gif

Cheers~! thumbup.gif
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 6 2012, 04:37 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Jackgusta @ Jun 6 2012, 01:14 AM)
1. Yea, it is kinda hard, if you dun study at all and playing fools around and no pay concentrate in class smile.gif It is getting harder and harder right now smile.gif

2. YES! THEY GIVE US LOTS OF TIME TO FINISH THE ASSIGNMENT EXCEPT YOU ARE BAD IN TIME MANAGEMENT PEOPLE tongue.gif

After A-level, is MUFY. smile.gif so *heeee*

The lectures... is small class group smile.gif
another thing is, what units you going to enroll?

how they behave? it's more depend on your batch people.

OH YA. NEVER THINK THAT MUFY WILL LIKE CIMP THAT FUN. SERIOUSLY, MUFY NO COLLEGE LIFE. IF YOU WANT TO PLAY, THEN DUN JOIN MUFY.

Mufy, more or less is the same la. smile.gif
mufy lecturer rocks LOL

i mean good/linean lecturer
English lecturer - Ashley Grieg, Eidth, Hanis, Karen
Math - Miss K, Miss Has
Accounting - Miss Sham
Econs - Miss RAJA MANEY. if pratiba also not bad, but will die during her PMS period
You help me a lot, thanks buddy! thumbup.gif

I never did well in business, so I'll go for science. biggrin.gif

I have started to do some revision on sciences and maths here already, hope that could help me get an easier understanding for the classes later.

This year got to be very serious. (But still it's all depends on the situation) sweat.gif

I think I got all the answer that I have been looking for, so the questions are solved.

Thank you soooooo much, love you guys! wub.gif

This post has been edited by MsiaStudent: Jun 6 2012, 04:38 PM
TSMsiaStudent
post Jun 7 2012, 08:50 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Jackgusta @ Jun 7 2012, 04:17 PM)
curfew is 12am for weeksdays while 2am for weekends smile.gif

Added on June 7, 2012, 4:19 pm

warning warning tongue.gif
the MUFY chemistry very the hard tongue.gif
chem, then i dunno those goo lecturer smile.gif
for Math,
just revised probability, differentiation, lol, all your add math stuff la tongue.gif
After hearing from you about the Chemistry, CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

But for math, calculus parts may/not pawn me at the end... sweat.gif

0.0191sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:28 PM