> Calculate how much you spend to sign up, new plan with new telco for new phone Chat

TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 02:47 AM, updated 14y ago

348 posts

I made this spreadsheet out of curiosity when trying to compare rates from all telcos for Samsung Galaxy S3.

Thought you guys might want to know:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key...d=0&output=html

Edit: I added a new item New subscription per month after less proceeds, accidentaly removed it prior.
Edit2: Added a new note, how much you will pay depends on your existing plan
Edit3: Corrected inherited bug in Telco with cheapest contract due to previous edits.
Edit4: Anyone in the field of micro-economics can model this further to explain Consumer Equilibrium to maximize and maintain their Marginal Utility.
Edit5: Corrected an error spotted by randyhow, changed 24 months to 12 months for 12 months contract.
Edit6: Added numberings to segregate between selling the phone to subsidize the plan and knowing the actual cost of phone when subscribing.

TL;DR section
- Maxis is neither most expensive nor the cheapest, they probably got it right
- Digi contract gives you the cheapest cost of phone at the end of the contract
- Celcom could be the most expensive but they provide you with a shorter contract period
- The savings between all of these plans range from between RM100 all the way to RM400, which is just a savings of RM5 - RM20 per month (sell phone take plan)
- All in all, it really depends on your existing plan

How this spreadsheet works:
- This spreadsheet is trying to calculate what you are paying extra when you sign up a plan
- Current plan - New plan = Extra you pay every month
- Extra you pay every month + telco's subsidized phone cost = Actual phone cost

When consumers make choices about the quantity of goods and services to consume, it is presumed that their objective is to maximize total utility. In maximizing total utility, the consumer faces a number of constraints, the most important of which are the consumer's income and the prices of the goods and services that the consumer wishes to consume. The consumer's effort to maximize total utility, subject to these constraints, is referred to as the consumer's problem. The solution to the consumer's problem, which entails decisions about how much the consumer will consume of a number of goods and services, is referred to as consumer equilibrium.

Source: http://www.cliffsnotes.com/study_guide/Con...cleId-9753.html

Summary
From here we can actually deduce that Maxis actually structured their plans directly comparable to Digi by giving the options of 24 & 12 months contract and to Celcom by giving the 18 months option. Vice versa you can say both Digi and Celcom are doing the opposite. This argument also hold true regardless of whoever came out with the contract first.

We can also see that Celcom's contract does not provide the benefits of economies of scale to users who subscribe to their longer 18 months plan comapred to their 12 months plan. As you can see, actual cost of phone actually becomes more expensive for 18 months 3GB plan vs 12 months 3GB plan and no change in terms of device cost when contract ends for the 18 months 1GB plan vs 12 months 1GB plan. So if you want out asap and not to be tied down, choosing a 12 month contract with Celcom seems to be the better option. As for Celcom, this means that contract structured this way actually makes jumping ship easier to their subscribers which is not the actual intention of tying up subscribers with contracts at all.

The opposite can be said for Digi where they provide the lowest for subscribers who choose to sign up with their highest data plan with longest 2 years tenure subscription.

What was interesting though is that Maxis never seem to appear anywhere as cheapest for all contract type be it 24, 18 or 12 months. They just seem to be in between of everything. I actually regard this to Celcom's plan that turn out to be expensive base on the assumed current plan. Had Celcom structured their plans to be more competitive, Maxis could have appeared at least once along one of those 3 type of contracts. Nevertheless, I think Maxis have positioned themselves well in this market (they know their strength and the value people are willing to pay for wider coverage - statement debatable) but the same must be said to Digi since in my opinion Digi is the one with the least popular when compare with the top three telco of Malaysia. Thus, coming out with an unbeatable contract to entice more subscribers to join them is the right strategy.

Then again, I think they are the most creative to make up for being the least popular due to coverage issue. Digiman ftw! Follow follow.....

From the post below on our saturated telco industry, it makes sense for telco to come out with plans to entice user to stay with them as long as possible. I am not sure what to say for those otherwise. Nevertheless, it is telco like Celcom providing contracts that is shorter for subscribers seems to give the best value albeit being the most expensive one out there. I suppose Celcom's strategy has weight too. In short, pay more and you end the contract fast. You can call this the quick exit strategy. Opting for short term revenue exit rather than a long term..... whatever it might be.

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 2 2012, 01:18 PM
C-Fu
post Jun 1 2012, 03:08 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

this. is. awesome.

although it further clarifies that their shitty deal is actually just you paying for the full price of the phone, instead of actually subsidy/discount taking place.
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:11 AM

348 posts

It also helps you to know if it is worth selling off the phone to subsidize yourself a better plan. Not to mention now you also know how much the phone cost to the people who sign up and then reselling the phone depending on the contract they have sign up (but you also need to know what's their existing plan to really know their actual cost of device)

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 1 2012, 03:12 AM
SUSjayqc
post Jun 1 2012, 03:21 AM

23 posts

damn i hate seeing spreadsheet. so sum it up. which telco provider has the cheapest price among all?

This post has been edited by jayqc: Jun 1 2012, 03:26 AM
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:25 AM

348 posts

Still typing my summary bro, in the mean time, up can read up while I continue typing.

By the way, to really know the best saving is to key in two things in the spreadsheet; your current data plan and (average) call & sms plan.

Then scroll all the way down for the summary savings.

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 1 2012, 03:27 AM
SUSjayqc
post Jun 1 2012, 03:27 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Jun 1 2012, 03:25 AM)
Still typing my summary bro, in the mean time, up can read up while I continue typing.
okay. but i prefer to read the summary. biggrin.gif
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:28 AM

348 posts

You can't compare unless you key in the data plan and (average) call & sms plan into spreadsheet.

The rest I already key in base on telco website.
SUSjayqc
post Jun 1 2012, 03:30 AM

23 posts

tq ts. very informative.
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:31 AM

348 posts

You are welcome.
Jackie-Cham
post Jun 1 2012, 03:39 AM

189 posts

I just buy the phone.
Then I apply for postpaid sim card (I use internet a lot so I took internet plan)

If I feel like upgrading phone, no problem.
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:41 AM

348 posts

I admit I did over analyse this but it's always interesting to see how companies position their product especially in an already saturated environment like our telco industry.

From the spreadsheet we can see that the savings are only between RM100 to RM400 to an individual and amortized over 24 months it only brings about savings of RM5 to RM20 a month which is not much.

Then again, you can apply the same principle to other products with higher profit margin and quantity.

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 1 2012, 03:44 AM
Eguy1314
post Jun 1 2012, 03:44 AM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

Wow, thank you for doing this hard work smile.gif

How i wish you will posted it in my forum as well smile.gif
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 03:46 AM

348 posts

I eat spreadsheet for a living.
Eguy1314
post Jun 1 2012, 03:52 AM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Jun 1 2012, 03:46 AM)
I eat spreadsheet for a living.
Haha ok smile.gif Thank you again smile.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 1 2012, 04:35 AM

stars for what
12,412 posts

nice work there

will share this on S3 thread

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 1 2012, 04:35 AM
funnyTONE
post Jun 1 2012, 08:41 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Can i use your spreadsheet for different phone model, say iPhone plan?
xixo_12
post Jun 1 2012, 08:55 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

btw, which telco give good coverage in term of data usage?
btw, great info
fantasy1989
post Jun 1 2012, 09:01 AM

4,706 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Jun 1 2012, 03:44 AM)
Wow, thank you for doing this hard work smile.gif

nod.gif
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:06 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 1 2012, 04:35 AM)
nice work there
will share this on S3 thread

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jun 1 2012, 08:41 AM)
Can i use your spreadsheet for different phone model, say iPhone plan?
Yes you can, just make sure you update the values for the cells highlighted in red. Appreciate if you can keep things in order and make it for public too.

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jun 1 2012, 08:55 AM)
btw, which telco give good coverage in term of data usage?
btw, great info
Not sure bro, this one I think you mean need to do speedtest.net everywhere you go and compare all three telco to see if their 3G speed holds up and see which is most consistent. In my opinion depend on area too, some telco are better at urban, some sub-urban, some in the shopping area including the lift itself is good too!

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 1 2012, 09:01 AM)
nod.gif
Thanks!
kamisama
post Jun 1 2012, 09:32 AM

130 posts

fuiyo thumbs for ts
feekle
post Jun 1 2012, 09:37 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

so digi is found to be the cheapest?

This post has been edited by feekle: Jun 1 2012, 09:38 AM
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:38 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(kamisama @ Jun 1 2012, 09:32 AM)
fuiyo thumbs for ts
I can usually only find comparison from other blog that doesn't really give you a true picture of how much you need to pay extra in order to come out with the true price of the phone at the end. What happen after that is people paying more for the phone instead of the savings they thought they had for signing up.
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:40 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 1 2012, 09:37 AM)
so digi is found to be the cheapest?
You will need to plot in your current plan in order to come out with the better picture. So far base on the default plan I have put in, Digi seems to be the cheapest at the end of the 2 years contract.

The same does not hold true depending on what contract suits you. Some people feel that it's worth it to pay more and get out of the plan asap. THen Celcom seems to be the best plan here.
gastacopz
post Jun 1 2012, 09:40 AM

4,928 posts

SOS
SUSedwardstevens
post Jun 1 2012, 09:41 AM

366 posts

2 years tied for just a mere phone. no thanks
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:44 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jun 1 2012, 09:40 AM)
Thanks for sharing.

The total price indicated does not exclude what subscribers currently already pay for their existing plan.

I think we will arrive to the same amount if you minus off the amount you currently pay per month for the period of the contract.
sudustyle
post Jun 1 2012, 09:46 AM

18 posts

kalau tak mampu jangan beli phone mahal2....end of story
alrasla
post Jun 1 2012, 11:25 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jun 1 2012, 09:40 AM)
RM1778+ (RM88 x 12)= RM1778+RM1056 =RM2834
this mean if we get celcom Exec basic for 12 month contract, total amount we going to pay is RM2834 ?

if we want to sign up this contract 1st payment how much we going to pay?
Upfront payment RM300 + 12 mth Contract phone price RM1778 =RM2078

lostasylum
post Jun 1 2012, 02:01 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

sorry yeah, i am a noob.. but i don't understand how getting a phone for RM999 only gives you a savings of RM400? granted you take a more expensive data plan, and it's a 2 year contract, but the upfront amount gets credited back to you by way of your bill right?

This post has been edited by lostasylum: Jun 1 2012, 02:02 PM
squareballs
post Jun 1 2012, 02:11 PM

4,331 posts

Feels so stupid being tied up to Telco for 2 years.. Can't fork out 2.2k cash? Oh Mai
lostasylum
post Jun 1 2012, 02:25 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jun 1 2012, 02:11 PM)
Feels so stupid being tied up to Telco for 2 years.. Can't fork out 2.2k cash? Oh Mai
why is it stupid?
jason18689
post Jun 1 2012, 08:57 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Yeap, i dont see why it is so stupid...

Probably if i am using the S3, at least i am going to use it for a long period..

So unless you are changing your smartphone once per half a year then its another story.

TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:25 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Jun 1 2012, 02:01 PM)
sorry yeah, i am a noob.. but i don't understand how getting a phone for RM999 only gives you a savings of RM400? granted you take a more expensive data plan, and it's a 2 year contract, but the upfront amount gets credited back to you by way of your bill right?
The savings only exist when you buy the phone for resell to subsidize you for the new plan without paying more than what you are paying compared to existing plan.

Ever wonder why you keep seeing people put WTS You take phone i take data in garage sale?
TSj45on
post Jun 1 2012, 09:28 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jun 1 2012, 02:11 PM)
The same principle applies when people apply loan for house. Some people make use of this advantage by using the least capital to make the most profit.

Example, pay 10% deposit to buy a property assuming you know the price will rise and later on resell it for a profit without paying the full amount of the house to do the same business.

If that's stupid I don't know what works for you.
kona|kona
post Jun 1 2012, 09:33 PM

arsengal u jelly【ツ】
759 posts

pay monthly for a phone ? dafuq

pay cash ler
Iscream
post Jun 1 2012, 11:05 PM

184 posts

hi,for example i take digi smart plan 48 and the monthly fee is rm48,so the fee does it include free calls/sms or the calls/sms are calculate separately???
lostasylum
post Jun 1 2012, 11:19 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

- deleted -

got my answer in the SIII thread already.

This post has been edited by lostasylum: Jun 2 2012, 12:43 AM
freedom4me
post Jun 1 2012, 11:25 PM

now so many liao...i wan buy samsung sIII plan smile.gif
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 10:57 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(Iscream @ Jun 1 2012, 11:05 PM)
hi,for example i take digi smart plan 48 and the monthly fee is rm48,so the fee does it include free calls/sms or the calls/sms are calculate separately???
Telco rate for call and SMS are together, if you are not using a monthly commitment plan, then you use use your average. Same applies.
SUSrandyhow
post Jun 2 2012, 11:32 AM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

got error lar... how come ur Digi 12 moths contract is 2 years?
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 11:39 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Jun 2 2012, 11:32 AM)
got error lar... how come ur Digi 12 moths contract is 2 years?
Corrected! Thanks for spotting the error!
SUSrandyhow
post Jun 2 2012, 11:55 AM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

there's something i like to add.... For data plan, Maxis charge u extra if u exceed data quota,.. Digi don't, they just lower ur speed... i think Digi still economical...
Yuki Ijuin
post Jun 2 2012, 12:42 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

Thanks for creating something convenient for us to calculate our actual cost for the phone. I have pre-ordered the Samsung Galaxy S3 @ 1150 with a 2 year contract. According to the spreadsheet, these are my numbers.

Current Plan: $50 commitment. No data.

3GB (24 months)
RRP: $2,199.00
Device Subsidized Cost: $1,149.00
Sales Proceeds: $1,050.00
Proceeds Amortized: $43.75

Call and SMS: $15.00 (I have an average use of RM10 under Digi 1plan, RM15 is adjusted for different call/sms rates)
Data plan: $63.00
Total/Month: $78.00
New Charges/Month: $34.25

Savings/Month: $15.75
Savings/Contract :$378.00
Cost of phone: $1,821.00

I believe I have found some errors and corrected them, like my current plan information. Above are the new numbers generated from the spreadsheet. Does this mean that depending on the amount that I call and SMS, my cost of phone would vary from 1461 (ZERO Call/SMS usage), to 2661 ($50 Call/SMS usage)?

So this means, the actual cost of phone would be the amount you have paid for the phone, as well as the amount that you paid extra per month for your new plan?

In a theoretical situation, if one's main data is as such:

Original Plan: $50
New Total Charge per month: $93.75.
Contract Period: 24 months
Total amount paid over Ori.Plan for 24 months: 1050.
Price of phone: 1149

Actual cost of phone = 2199.

Is this way of thinking correct?

This post has been edited by Yuki Ijuin: Jun 2 2012, 12:58 PM
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 12:52 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Jun 2 2012, 11:55 AM)
there's something i like to add.... For data plan, Maxis charge u extra if u exceed data quota,.. Digi don't, they just lower ur speed... i think Digi still economical...
To keep the calculation simple, I have to negate extra charges from over using the data plan from Maxis so they are comparable to Digi and Celcom.

If you are a person who subscript a lower data plan but tend to over use, I advice you to either plot in a higher data plan or put in a higher number of the monthly average charges for your data plan.

That would enable you to calculate base on that scenario.
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 01:10 PM

348 posts

Hi Yuki Ijuin, can you do it again? I just did some major update on the description to make the formula clearer.

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Jun 2 2012, 12:42 PM)
So this means, the actual cost of phone would be the amount you have paid for the phone, as well as the amount that you paid extra per month for your new plan?
This is exactly what I am trying to show.

The assumption is that you are paying extra because you want the phone, and in doing so the extra you pay will go into the actual cost of the phone which is not the subsidized phone cost.

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 2 2012, 01:15 PM
Yuki Ijuin
post Jun 2 2012, 01:25 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Jun 2 2012, 01:10 PM)
Hi Yuki Ijuin, can you do it again? I just did some major update on the description to make the formula clearer.
This is exactly what I am trying to show.

The assumption is that you are paying extra because you want the phone, and in doing so the extra you pay will go into the actual cost of the phone which is not the subsidized phone cost.
The formula annotations made it easy for me to understand. smile.gif

So Digi really has got it covered huh, I don't think there's actually a logical way for someone to save more than 500 bucks on the phone without cutting 90% of their call/sms charges. Still I'm getting the phone cheaper I guess. doh.gif
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 01:27 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Jun 2 2012, 01:25 PM)
The formula annotations made it easy for me to understand. smile.gif

So Digi really has got it covered huh, I don't think there's actually a logical way for someone to save more than 500 bucks on the phone without cutting 90% of their call/sms charges. Still I'm getting the phone cheaper I guess. doh.gif
Assuming my existing plan with Maxis of what I pay every month is as per the spreadsheet, I can actually see that I make the most saving from choosing the 24 month 3GB plan from Maxis. I save RRP RM2,199 - RM1,959 = RM240
barca96
post Jun 2 2012, 01:30 PM

980 posts

Thanks for making the spreadsheet.
It will really be beneficial to those who are still contemplating.
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 01:31 PM

348 posts

You are welcome. It helps me to make better spreadsheet next time.
Yuki Ijuin
post Jun 2 2012, 01:31 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

In my case. Pretty much motivates me even more to follow my friend's advice. Use data to substitute for everything, whatsapp/fb instead of messaging, skype or whatever VOIP for calls. Just minimize call charges for maximum savings. Cause every 5 ringgit/month I save on my call/sms charges I theoretically pay 100 less throughout the contract period.

This post has been edited by Yuki Ijuin: Jun 2 2012, 01:32 PM
TSj45on
post Jun 2 2012, 01:36 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Jun 2 2012, 01:31 PM)
In my case. Pretty much motivates me even more to follow my friend's advice. Use data to substitute for everything, whatsapp/fb instead of messaging, skype or whatever VOIP for calls. Just minimize call charges for maximum savings. Cause every 5 ringgit/month I save on my call/sms charges I theoretically pay 100 less throughout the contract period.
Haha, I actually wanted to add one more thing into the spreadsheet.

Invest a certain amount of cash into something else like 2 years Bank Deposit, buying Gold or Silver to negate the effect of having to pay extra for the phone.

Though the savings you make is only about RM100 throughout 2 years. The same theory can be applied into other things like how to pay less interest for your home loan, car and things like that.

In the long run when the investment matures or that the contract ends, you will find yourself reaping a lot of Durian for your self to continue the whole cycle again.

This post has been edited by j45on: Jun 2 2012, 01:38 PM
xtylish
post Jun 18 2012, 12:49 PM

593 posts

will it be cheaper if I buy rrp phone and use umobile 28?
TSj45on
post Jun 18 2012, 02:04 PM

348 posts

This spread sheet calculates how much you pay extra when you sign up for a plan which eventually gives you the real price of the phone after your contract.

It depends on how much you are paying for your phone bill every month.
xtylish
post Jun 18 2012, 02:39 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Jun 18 2012, 02:04 PM)
This spread sheet calculates how much you pay extra when you sign up for a plan which eventually gives you the real price of the phone after your contract.

It depends on how much you are paying for your phone bill every month.
so how to i know the exact amount that i am paying for phone?
this?

Telco with cheapest contract base on your existing plan Cheapest Telco Most Exp. Telco

1GB 3GB 1GB 3GB 1GB 3GB 3GB 3GB

Contract period (months) 24 month 24 month 18 month 18 month 12 month 12 month 24 month 12 month

Telco Digi Digi Celcom Celcom Digi Digi Digi Digi

Actual Cost of Phone -$1759 -$1779 -$802 -$482 $95 $235 -$1,779.00 $235.00

~~~~~~~~~~~

-1759 is my profit? or the amount that i paid for the phone?
ekestima
post Jul 4 2012, 09:28 PM

930 posts

Very helpful comparison..
ayamxxx
post Jul 5 2012, 03:20 PM

4,040 posts

can u include UMOBILE please.
for S3
TSj45on
post Jul 5 2012, 04:57 PM

348 posts

Will try to reply to you guys this weekend.
ayamxxx
post Jul 5 2012, 05:14 PM

4,040 posts

I think i better wait another 6 month, then the S3 price might be around 1.5k.

then bundled it with U28 from Umobile
Kimichi
post Jul 20 2012, 10:15 AM

140 posts

good job TS!

TSj45on
post Jul 20 2012, 10:21 AM

348 posts

Thanks! Pai seh so long never update you guys.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 22 2012, 04:51 PM

4,456 posts

i also would like to see umobile package added into the excel plz.

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/index.php?option=...d=6986&Itemid=2

Dark_Angel85
post Jul 30 2012, 10:22 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

Hi... Was wondering if I am right now on a 24 month contract with maxis with a call plan of 80 and data 68 - 3GB plan, will they allow me to downgrade my 80 to a 50? I know I can't downgrade the data plan which I don't intend to anyway.. But can I downgrade the call plan?
barca96
post Jul 30 2012, 11:14 PM

980 posts

Good work.
I did a similar thing for a Maxis post paid plan;
Value Plus 80 & 150 and Value Plus Internet.

Have you come to a conclusion?
LiMi
post Jul 30 2012, 11:22 PM

735 posts

wow this is hardcore economics tongue.gif rclxms.gif
TSj45on
post Jul 30 2012, 11:26 PM

348 posts

Just returned my laptop to my company as I'm going to new company. So no laptop to update the spreadsheet sad.gif

Sorry guys. Trying to buy my new laptop this week xD

This post has been edited by j45on: Jul 30 2012, 11:26 PM

0.0276sec    2.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:01 PM