Safe to drive on a 2004 tyre?

TSjepakazoid_82
post May 29 2012, 10:50 PM, updated 14y ago

830 posts

Fellow forumers,

I have a friend who currently drives his car with front tyre which is made in year 2004. The car has low mileage and usually he drives around his neighborhood but sometimes he takes the car to KLIA or further. I believe that the tyre is no longer safe to be used on his car and I have told him this. One day he took the car to his mechanic (not tyre shop) and the mechanic said the tyre is ok no problem.

What do you guys think?

If you guys think the tyres are not safe how can I politely tell him that the tyres are not safe since he is quite older than me and I want to respect him also.

Appreciate your comments.
stormlcc
post May 29 2012, 10:57 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

any tires that is more than 6 years old is considered unusable. any tires that are more than 7 years old is considered suicidal. his mechanic of course told him it's still ok because it still has threads, i'm sure he won't know the condition of the rubber, it will be rock hard and in high speeds it will crack easily. if your friend drives more than average 140kmph then he should prepare his will and own funeral

fyi, i'm an expert 2nd hand tire user, i don't use new tires because they are a total waste of money. been using 2nd hand tires for almost 10 years now

This post has been edited by stormlcc: May 29 2012, 10:58 PM
TSjepakazoid_82
post May 29 2012, 11:09 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ May 29 2012, 10:57 PM)
any tires that is more than 6 years old is considered unusable.  any tires that are more than 7 years old is considered suicidal.  his mechanic of course told him it's still ok because it still has threads, i'm sure he won't know the condition of the rubber, it will be rock hard and in high speeds it will crack easily.  if your friend drives more than average 140kmph then he should prepare his will and own funeral

fyi, i'm an expert 2nd hand tire user, i don't use new tires because they are a total waste of money.  been using 2nd hand tires for almost 10 years now
Thanks stormlcc, by the way i read somewhere on the internet that 6 years is the shelf life. Let say if I buy a 4 years old new tyre.. does that mean that I only have 2 years to use the tyre?
dogbert_chew
post May 29 2012, 11:15 PM

1,561 posts

I always insist the shop gives me stock that is less than 6 months old, and I won't use a tyre beyond 36 months (due to constant high speed runs). But a 2004 tyres is really some sort of record for

suicidal tendancies - your friend
homocidal tendancies - your friend's mechanic.

Show your friend this link and ask him to get his stuff sorted out & update his will and beneficiaries if he continues to use those tyres.
dinwaja
post May 29 2012, 11:35 PM

421 posts

if ur fren do not value his life...or his family,then continue using the tire...when it explodes suddenly or can't stop the car during emergency brake,then it is too late to regret edy...i believe that the rubber is quite hard edy...i won't ride any car if the tire is too old...dun want to risk my life....
stormlcc
post May 29 2012, 11:35 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ May 29 2012, 11:09 PM)
Thanks stormlcc, by the way i read somewhere on the internet that 6 years is the shelf life. Let say if I buy a 4 years old new tyre.. does that mean that I only have 2 years to use the tyre?
nope, it means u'll have 1 year left, safest period is within 5 years. 6 years is stretching it. remember this: be a cheapo to save money, but don't be a stupid cheapo
dinwaja
post May 29 2012, 11:36 PM

421 posts

even tire manufacturer also recommend to use their tire for certain mileage or duration...
TSjepakazoid_82
post May 29 2012, 11:49 PM

830 posts

Thanks for the comment guys, the challenge for me is to convince him to change the tyres, which I know is not easy.
amad108
post May 30 2012, 12:53 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

If me buy new tyre n use it only for 2-3 years max.. Coz alwz speeding, so tyre must be tip top..
SUSadvocado
post May 30 2012, 09:31 AM

2,948 posts

Where can you get 2nd hand tyres that still in good condition?

Normally people change when less than 30% thread.

QUOTE(stormlcc @ May 29 2012, 11:35 PM)
nope, it means u'll have 1 year left, safest period is within 5 years.  6 years is stretching it.  remember this: be a cheapo to save money, but don't be a stupid cheapo
askm3
post May 30 2012, 04:57 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ May 30 2012, 09:31 AM)

got alot actually.

my aunty were asked to change her 8months old (mileage 8k) Honda City tyre by SC. blink.gif

SUSadvocado
post May 30 2012, 04:59 PM

2,948 posts

So where to go find these tyres? Tyre got print year of manufacturing?

QUOTE(askm3 @ May 30 2012, 04:57 PM)
got alot actually.

my aunty were asked to change her 8months old (mileage 8k) Honda City tyre by SC.  blink.gif
stormlcc
post May 30 2012, 05:22 PM

1,954 posts

i searched everywhere (in tire shops and also online) for those really really good condition ones, they are hard to come by. usually I will start the search 6 months before my current set of tires are due for replacement. and my friend in Ipoh opens a tire shop, he is also one of my "suppliers". I won't buy those tires that are more than 4 years old, my goal is to find 3 years old or below and use them for 1 to 2 years
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 05:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ May 29 2012, 10:50 PM)
Fellow forumers,

I have a friend who currently drives his car with front tyre which is made in year 2004. The car has low mileage and usually he drives around his neighborhood but sometimes he takes the car to KLIA or further. I believe that the tyre is no longer safe to be used on his car and I have told him this. One day he took the car to his mechanic (not tyre shop) and the mechanic said the tyre is ok no problem.

What do you guys think?

If you guys think the tyres are not safe how can I politely tell him that the tyres are not safe since he is quite older than me and I want to respect him also.

Appreciate your comments.
You are right. And I bet that mechanic is either a liar or one who never finished his Primary 6 education to say what he did.

Tell you friend. Driving at 90kph with that old tires is like playing Russian Roulette. He may get away with it or may be he will not.

Driving 50 kph around neighborhood may not cause death but broken bones. If he doesn't mind broken born, go ahead.

Added on May 30, 2012, 5:30 pm

I have seen this with my own eyes so not urban legend.

Some tire shop will use sharp knife to deepen the thread to make the tire look newer. You have been warned.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 30 2012, 05:30 PM
dinwaja
post May 30 2012, 06:50 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 30 2012, 05:27 PM)
You are right. And I bet that mechanic is either a liar or one who never finished his Primary 6 education to say what he did.

Tell you friend. Driving at 90kph with that old tires is like playing Russian Roulette. He may get away with it or may be he will not.

Driving 50 kph around neighborhood may not cause death but broken bones. If he doesn't mind broken born, go ahead.

Some tire shop will use sharp knife to deepen the thread to make the tire look newer. You have been warned.
yeah...same here...after tht,i decided not to buy any tire from tht shop again...
stormlcc
post May 30 2012, 07:08 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 30 2012, 05:27 PM)

if u r experienced enough, u will spot them immediately
mADmAN
post May 30 2012, 07:14 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ May 29 2012, 11:49 PM)
Thanks for the comment guys, the challenge for me is to convince him to change the tyres, which I know is not easy.
as mentioned above... give him the link to this thread.

hes not only risking his life...but the life of his passengers as well as other users on the road

if hes gonna drive... he needs to be more responsible than that
maverickng
post May 30 2012, 07:19 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ May 30 2012, 04:59 PM)
So where to go find these tyres? Tyre got print year of manufacturing?
yes...u carefull see the wall side got cop year of manufacturing and week
eg:0412,week 4 of 2012,2411,week 24 of 2011

This post has been edited by maverickng: May 30 2012, 07:19 PM
dinwaja
post May 30 2012, 08:00 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(maverickng @ May 30 2012, 07:19 PM)
yes...u carefull see the wall side got cop year of manufacturing and week
eg:0412,week 4 of 2012,2411,week 24 of 2011
not cop la...but stamp...hehe...
TSjepakazoid_82
post May 30 2012, 08:02 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 30 2012, 07:14 PM)
as mentioned above... give him the link to this thread.

hes not only risking his life...but the life of his passengers as well as other users on the road

if hes gonna drive... he needs to be more responsible than that
Yes, my daughter sometimes ride in the car. The car actually belongs to my in laws, hence, I need to be smooooth.

0.0284sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:29 AM