SONY MDR-EX1000 In-Ear Monitors

tunertoobe
post May 28 2012, 11:53 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(jwcy @ May 28 2012, 11:41 AM)
Picked up a pair of MDR-EX1000 from Sony in KLCC last weekend.

user posted image  user posted image  user posted image  user posted image  user posted image

According to Sony KLCC staff, overall supply is very limited - only 2-3 units allocated to them.

For a Sony flagship item, these were retailing for a not unreasonable RM1499 before discount and also Made in Japan no less, so I said "what the heck"...
How does it sound?
It's metal innit? Magnesium IINM? I wonder about the price tag though, considerably higher than the XBA-4, a 4 driver BA. Either Sony has found a way to make a very cheap BA (considering it's a 4 driver) or that Sony has done so much work into making the best dynamic driver they have to offer that the price is ridiculously high.
tunertoobe
post May 28 2012, 02:19 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ May 28 2012, 01:50 PM)
Reviewer in headfi claimed that they preferred this unit than the XBA-4...and it build more solid and nicer than XBA-4
One thing's for sure, this thing looks BADASS!! I mean, if you wear it out and about, it will definitely be a conversation starter. People will stare at it, friends will ask about it and want to hear it. I'm not surprised if your friends who haven't came across such an IEM will want to take a pic of it and post it on Facebook! laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post May 28 2012, 03:55 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(wilzc @ May 28 2012, 03:09 PM)
The Ex1000 sounds better than the XBA-4s definitely. To my ears and preference at least.

The dynamic driver of the EX1000 is made of some light yet strong crystal matrix polymer, developed by Sony.

This is one of the best ever dynamic driver IEM available. IMHO.

1500 is not a bad price indeed, considering everything else in Malaysia is overpriced due to some phantom tax.
If I have the money, I may just forget my "that brand is over-hyped" kinda approach when looking for IEMs and might just dive in and get a Sony MDR -EX1000. laugh.gif
That is, If I have the money. Or else I might just settle for a top-tier single BA or high-mid market dual BA.

Removable cables too IINM? For RM1500 I think no other 3-way BA has that feature nor as well equipped accessory wise as the EX1000.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 28 2012, 03:57 PM
tunertoobe
post May 28 2012, 04:41 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(jwcy @ May 28 2012, 04:37 PM)
Sorry, no SQ impressions yet coz I picked these up on Sat nite and Sunday was a heavy workday for me *sigh*.

These days, Sony is seen more as a casual "consumer" brand rather than a "audiophile" brand when it comes to headphones but they have a good track record in high-end headphones and the EX1000 has been pretty well-regarded among the head-fi crowd.

I've generally been spoilt by Jaben - heh! - where I get the chance to audit headphones with my own gear till I'm truly satisfied before I buy so this was not normal for me to just "buy without trying." But I have good vibes for the EX1000s.

Packaging, as par for Sony flagship products, is very stylish & presentable - you'll still sayang & jaga the box nicely after taking out the 'phones  sweat.gif

It comes with 10 - yes, TEN - earbud sizes: 7 normal silicone tips and 3 noise-isolating tips.

Comes with two cables; the default 1.2m cable with L plug and a much shorter 0.6m cable with straight plug.

Okay, will be back with some solid sound impressions after I've had a chance to do some critical evaluation against my library of 24/96 HD flacs  laugh.gif
Alright! biggrin.gif
I'd be watching this thread closely. State what equipment you use to listen it with, that'll help in giving a general idea of what it is best matched with.

Loyalty card ay? Interesting...makes it an even better buy.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 28 2012, 04:42 PM
tunertoobe
post May 28 2012, 06:04 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(jwcy @ May 28 2012, 04:50 PM)
One year direct from Sony themselves.

In other words, biasa lah

Added on May 28, 2012, 4:56 pm

Bro, this link:

https://store.sony.com.my/CustomerService/termCondition.aspx
Dang...when was this launched? I bought an EX300 and EX500 in a single purchase and this should've made me eligible years ago. doh.gif laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post May 31 2012, 01:17 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(jwcy @ May 31 2012, 12:53 PM)
@tunertoobe: I think they've had this since the day they launched ! In one form or another.
Dang....I should've asked them about it. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Jun 2 2012, 08:40 AM

9,309 posts

Can we ask the dealer to bring an EX600 in?
tunertoobe
post Jun 6 2012, 10:34 AM

9,309 posts

I wonder when they're gonna produce another flagship dynamic?
Just, not a 20+ mm driver IEM...that's just silly. laugh.gif

With a size that big (EX1000), they should've tried and compete the Radius DDM. Two dynamic drivers, with 2 ports. Oh god, if only I work there.
But knowing Sony, It'll cost as much as a custom. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jun 6 2012, 10:48 AM
tunertoobe
post Jun 6 2012, 02:05 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(wilzc @ Jun 6 2012, 11:40 AM)
Why bother competing with Radius on dual drivers?

Sony's single dynamic crystal matrix polymer driver takes RAdius' dual driver out of the equation completely. Its not even close.
Yeah you're right. The DDM is in a lower price segment.

But I can't help but feel that the R&D cost was spent more towards 'fiddling' around. The little things like that 'crystal matrix polymer' diaphragm, 'magnesium casing', 'bigger drivers' and stuff. A lot like what the Japanese likes to do in their cars. Trimming the edges of the rear view mirror to save weight, have the radio antenna retract halfway down at high speeds to reduce drag. Actually the Japs do that to a lot of things really. All little improvements add up to one big one, but this costs a lot to do. For a company that makes so much, I can't help but feel that they're ripping us off a bit compared to other small companies out there.

Still.....having the bragging rights of having the world's largest IEM driver shoved in your ears, and have that bass punch that can envy your fellow friends does have its merits. laugh.gif They do have that 'oh that's got to be Sony' look, crazy, dramatic, futuristic. Personally, I like it, A LOT! thumbup.gif If only I have the money. Then again, I wish that was money well spent because RM1500 is halfway into getting a custom IEM. It's at that price point where it's a fine line between indulging yourself in new IEMs, or suffer just a little longer and go for the ultimate. For anyone who's as budget stricken as I am at least. tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Jun 14 2012, 12:09 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jun 14 2012, 02:43 AM)
IMHO, Radius DDM is tuned not for studio monitoring, it is tuned for "fun", with a lot of airy soundstage which some may say "too wide to be unreal". Studio monitors stick closely to the source and remain as neutral as possible.

Btw, DDM, or other dual dynamic drivers, are new technology which isn't really stable yet. There are durability issues, as this technology may be susceptible to problems compared to single dynamics. I can say DDM is a wonderfully tuned iem to me personally but then, was very disappointed because it broke down too soon (>1 year) and also, I was told that that's the reason why many stores do not carry DDM anymore.

Hence, as good as Sony over DDM, we are talking about two different sound sig. Sorry for sounding defensive, maybe lack of sleep maybe? tongue.gif
The DDM sure does have a very weird soundstage. I can hear instruments and vocals scattered everywhere, and not even at the same altitude as our heads!
tunertoobe
post Oct 10 2012, 02:10 PM

9,309 posts

Too bad both EX600 and EX1000 have been discontinued. sad.gif
I have tried looking for the leftover stock but to no avail. I even went as far as Penang. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Oct 10 2012, 02:37 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 10 2012, 02:23 PM)
Slevin Sent is selling his EX600 i guess

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2525582&hl=
No source, and no money. tongue.gif
Nah I don't think I'll be buying anytime soon, too distracting.

I sure hope Sony is coming up with something to replace them though. It's been a while since I've appreciated Sony's range of dynamic IEMs. The highest I've had was only the EX500. Pretty nice, but dunno why it's a tad over sibilant for me.

0.0200sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:46 AM