Nokia Lumia 800 V2, The first real Windows Phone!

neo1point3
post Oct 15 2012, 01:55 PM

174 posts

TS add me to user list biggrin.gif

Just bought lumia800 3days ago, so far its better than android in terms of performance, not lag at all smile.gif

What I like
-the smoothness
-sexay metro UI
-The Display (seriously nice)
-Phone design
-14.4 mbps download speed biggrin.gif
-strong wifi receiver
-camera ( better than my 8.1mp Xperia neo)

What I dislike
- not support ussd
- wifi and gps off when screen is asleep (unless during charge)
- everytime go to home, need to re start back the recently used app
- marketplace not much apps
- zune
neo1point3
post Oct 15 2012, 10:11 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 15 2012, 05:05 PM)

"wifi and gps off when screen is asleep"

If I'm not mistaken, u can solve this by not using battery saver.

Thank you very much thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
neo1point3
post Oct 15 2012, 11:55 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 15 2012, 10:17 PM)
Did it work? unsure.gif
YES biggrin.gif
neo1point3
post Oct 23 2012, 10:16 AM

174 posts

Any user here knows how to change wifi DNS on your phone? The dns maxis provide block those kind of site
And maxis cannot help the user change at router setting because instructed by skmm to block those site
neo1point3
post Oct 28 2012, 09:58 PM

174 posts

Which screen protector is the best for our nokia lumia 800?

Suggest me good one like cannot get scratches easily and if can doesnt attract oil if my hand is oily

If can share the link also smile.gif
neo1point3
post Oct 29 2012, 03:48 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 28 2012, 11:02 PM)
You need find the screen protector with anti fingerprint but it will reduce visibility.
That one not nice, make screen like smudge sad.gif

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 29 2012, 09:06 AM)
There is one type of "made in Japan" screen protector in garage sale that has a clear type with anti finger print, something like a anti-oil fluid they sprayed on the screen protector, pretty neat!  laugh.gif
Cant find the link..share please biggrin.gif

Do you guys use screen protector? Our lumia comes with corning gorilla glass but I still dont trust it can prevent scratches.
neo1point3
post Nov 10 2012, 11:06 PM

174 posts

Flight mode or in aeroplane?

Added on November 11, 2012, 7:27 pmAnyone here have tried wireless sync?

I cant because I got error c00d07c9 during wireles sync setup. I googled about it and found out many other users including l900 and htc wp also have this problem

This post has been edited by neo1point3: Nov 11 2012, 07:27 PM
neo1point3
post Dec 3 2012, 11:13 PM

174 posts

Restart the phone

Been there done that
neo1point3
post Dec 11 2012, 08:41 AM

174 posts

Anyone here have developer unlock their lumia 800? Many things we can do if dev unlock our lumia

I want to do it but I scared if I cant update to official wp7.8 rom next year

neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 11:23 AM

174 posts

Windows phone 7.8 already available at nokia care suite app biggrin.gif

Check at xda dev on how to flash smile.gif im flashing it right now

Added on December 17, 2012, 11:24 am
QUOTE(blackorange @ Dec 16 2012, 07:09 PM)
anybody did manual update to win 7.8?
Im doing it right now smile.gif but no Malaysia rom region yet, so I just use the Europe one

This post has been edited by neo1point3: Dec 17 2012, 11:26 AM
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 02:27 PM

174 posts

I have successfully update my lumia 800 to wp7.8 smile.gif

What I notice is:

1. New start screen
2. Xbox live apps
3. Wifi still running when sleep. But gps connection still the same like wp7.5
4. New boot animation
5. Internet explorer can set search provider to either use google or bing
6. Bing wallpaper
7. More theme colours
8. Nokia Music app
9. No twitter app

Other nokia app like ringtone maker and etc.. still not appear in this update
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 03:15 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 03:05 PM)
Can you elaborate about the GPS ?
Potential new user so I'd like to know.
Example when you use nokia drive app, when you off the screen the gps will lose it connection. After you turn on back the screen it will reconnect. Because of that we cannot hear voice navigation when off the screen, need to always on. But if on in long run, I scared it will burn the screen
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 04:15 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 03:57 PM)
This is bad. Isn't the GPS suppose to work hands free ? If we are driving and the screen time out then it will basically make the gps unusable. Any work around ?
No time out when using Nokia drive, what I mean is, if I off the screen, it will lose connection with gps, hence cannot hear voice navigation.

Let say I need to drive straight next 25km, I don't want to keep my screen on because that will drain much battery and I scared it will leave burn mark on screen. But if I off screen, the app will not functioning.

Like my previous xperia phone, when I turn off the screen, it will still stay connected to gps and give voice navigation
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 04:35 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 04:17 PM)
OK, now i get it  smile.gif
Enjoy your lumia bro thumbup.gif
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 08:16 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Dec 17 2012, 06:29 PM)
Mind to give me the link for manual update to 7.8?I cannot wait to play the resizeable tiles
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2045106
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1e3xAZCzZY

I refer both sites....lumia 800 is RM-801..the video is lumia 900
But same steps
You will lose all data tho

This post has been edited by neo1point3: Dec 17 2012, 08:17 PM
neo1point3
post Dec 17 2012, 10:35 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(lgks360 @ Dec 17 2012, 09:35 PM)
if it possible to use nodo trick?
What is that? sweat.gif

QUOTE(billygoh @ Dec 17 2012, 10:28 PM)
if the lumia 800 is alrd unlocked, once it updated using the method above, will it lock back the lumia 800?
I'm not sure blush.gif

I just migrate from android to windows phone two months ago, and I dun understand anything about wp...it is so complicated rclxub.gif
neo1point3
post Dec 18 2012, 09:02 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Dec 18 2012, 08:56 AM)
hmm... is weird.. after i updated to wp7.8.. now zune can't show the space on my phone and when i connect it to my pc, zune always prompt out " connection error".. is mentioned can't create a connection from my phone to internet... hmm.gif

btw, i'm using the Euro GB wp7.8
Same here, Zune can't read how many space have we use.
But file transfer is still okay smile.gif

Added on December 18, 2012, 10:03 am
QUOTE(lgks360 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:54 AM)
im hardly to download the nokia care suite because of my university internet connection limitation can u help me by reupload it to mediafire?really appreciate it if you can help me in that issue.
Nokia Care Suite
http://www.mediafire.com/?53p57abu1ih8yuj

Nokia Data Package Manager
http://www.mediafire.com/?ejwxbku2605ta0n

This post has been edited by neo1point3: Dec 18 2012, 10:03 AM
neo1point3
post Dec 18 2012, 11:52 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Dec 18 2012, 10:26 AM)
why there is an official wp7.8 update for india, but still not for malaysia... hmm.gif
Nokia have many customers in India, but not malaysia sad.gif
neo1point3
post Dec 27 2012, 01:50 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Dec 26 2012, 10:57 PM)
I realize battery life improved after using 7.8,but wifi issue is still there but not eating up the battery while idle only.Some cons like no counter app is really a turn down. sad.gif
How come you no counter app? hmm.gif I got mine working on 7.8 Euro region
neo1point3
post Dec 28 2012, 11:56 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Andy72 @ Dec 28 2012, 04:44 PM)
Can anyone who has updated to 7.8 confirm if there is USSD support?
So far USSD still not support for 7.8 sad.gif hopefully later update can

0.0493sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:28 PM