Nokia Lumia 800 V2, The first real Windows Phone!
DavidWKW
May 26 2012, 10:16 AM
Thank you for making the new thread^^ QUOTE(minghao @ May 25 2012, 09:31 PM) I was too stupid uggghhh my fault  Added on May 25, 2012, 9:32 pmCheck whether they give you the rubber case,earphones. What do you mean by "you are too stupid"? You should have hardreset instead of holding the power button and restart? The latter one would be a better option? Btw, how do you do a hardreset? Is it necessary to send to Nokia store for that purpose? Rubber case and earphone? Is it a must for them to give me that? Or it's only for promotion purpose? Thank you^^
DavidWKW
May 28 2012, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(khalis7 @ May 27 2012, 02:27 PM) Yes,the price is rm1499.00 at midvalley pc expo.i went there yesterday and they are vigorously promiting lumia...sadly though,the price is the same when i bought my lumia 800 in 1st Apr 2012... Ya, I think it's overly priced la since lumia 900 is coming soon. And I remembered one lowyat forumer got lumia 800 + monster earphone + backpack + casing during another pc fair at only RM 1399 one or two months ago.
DavidWKW
May 28 2012, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(pokchik @ May 28 2012, 06:36 PM) Nokia store in AEON Bandaraya Melaka offers: RM1399 - phone only and whatever's inside the box. RM1499 - phone + anything in box + car charger + Nokia bluetooth (forgot the model) they even offer RM60+~RM100 for screen protector, not the film thingy but some kinda laminate stuff yada yada yada which I don't really care to ask so much since I'm not buying anyway.  even told that the monster headset stuff is only during promotion but not available anymore now (asked on Saturday. 26th May) but I am really interested, will revisit again once got budget. Awww but it's in Malacca >< So far from me >< Congratulations for getting it at such a good price. Try bargain and cut down the price some more^^ And you may consider my option, which is to wait for the price to drop after lumia 900 is released. Added on May 28, 2012, 7:01 pmQUOTE(Ah Fai @ May 28 2012, 04:21 PM) Bought mine in PC expo too for 1399. Lumia 800 + monster earphone + rubber casing + screen protector + lumia workshop + some IT discount voucher :envy envy: Haha, it's the pc fair last month at lowyat (or some other places) there right? I should have gone to the pc fair!!!! Congratulations for getting such a good price and promotion^^ This post has been edited by DavidWKW: May 28 2012, 07:01 PM
DavidWKW
Aug 1 2012, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 1 2012, 09:42 AM) Yes, if you cut the micro-SIM, there can be sharp edges and uneven edges; For those slide in SIM type, you're sliding the micro-SIM in and out.... so it might scratch and damage the reader part in the phone. There's also problems like the micro-SIM was slightly bent due to cut and malfunction one day, happens on the Nokia N9 for several users. The advice is to get a proper new micro-SIM. Simple concept, cut-and-join wire is better or get a proper new wire? When you cut, it's not a proper way and there is risk involved. Of course, because most people never have problem they may not feel it, some may have cut and use many many micro-SIM and have no problems, while some first time already bad luck. But reality is, many people, only when the thing happen to them, they will feel it and start to warn others. Hi, may I know if we buy a new microsim. Does it mean I have to subscribe to a new mobile data? A new hp no? Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 2 2012, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(v1900130 @ Aug 1 2012, 06:00 PM) No. Just a new sim card with a smaller size. Oh, that means I will be having one new microsim for lumia and my old sim for my old phone at the same time? How much will be a microsim a? Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 2 2012, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(v1900130 @ Aug 2 2012, 08:39 PM) 1 number cannot have 2 sim card working at the same time. There are 3 ways to own a Microsim. 1. You go to "phone shops" and they will help u cutting your current sim card with a special cutter. Normally, this is free. 2. You go to ur Telco centre (eg. DiGi Centre, Maxis Centre, Celcom Centre, UMobile Centre) and claim a new one. This will cost you around RM10. 3. Your old sim card will not be working. OR You bring ur current sim card to the telco centre and let them cut for you. Normally this is free. QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 2 2012, 09:26 PM) normal sim card is RM10. Microsim alittle more expensive. Maxis charge RM25 for microsim. Just for your info usually it doest come with any adapter. So for those want to convert to normal sim size need buy adapter So, from the previous comments in this post, it will be better NOT to have the sim card cut right? So, it will be better to buy an adapter? Adapter just seems like the cut-out part of normal sim card? So, the advantage of using an adapter is less chances of damaging the microsim? How much does it cost for an adapter a? I have another "sim card" sticks on my phone's sim card. It is for bank usage. So, if I'm going to have a microsim, I wouldn't be able to get the bank service on my phone right? Does it mean I should opt to cut the sim card? Or cutting it wouldn't help either? Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 2 2012, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(v1900130 @ Aug 2 2012, 10:38 PM) Cutting the sim card out has higher chance to damage the chip on the sim card. let's get this straight. Microsim is the smaller sim. In order to use microsim for "normal sim card phone", we need the adapter. We dun have adapter to make Normal sim card to microsim card. What bank service ? Do you mean those requesting security codes or TAC ? If yes, that's following your phone number not the sim. So, it doesn't matter I cut or I buy a new sim card, I will still need to buy an adapter to use it as a normal sim? Or I can actually use the cut out part of the normal sim card and fix it back to use as a normal sim card (Just reread the comments and I think this is possible but it is risky right)? For the bank service, it's actually like a sticker which has the same size as normal sim card. Only when I stick the "sticker" on my sim card, the service will be available, which means I can access my bank account using just my phone. And I was told that the sticker is only for one-time usage, which means I can't take out and stick to another sim card. So, will it be bbetter to have the sim card cut in my case? Or cutting the sim card would not help either? Thank you This post has been edited by DavidWKW: Aug 2 2012, 11:25 PM
DavidWKW
Aug 2 2012, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(lisahasan @ Aug 2 2012, 10:40 PM) dun understand. y u no buy microsim adapter ? put the microsim in it then put some taper round it so dat it wont slip out of the adapter. dats so easy. i used it in my bold4, tab like dat. no stuck at all. the adapter cheap only. > rm10. smartphone can buy, cheap adapter kenot buy ? aiyooo  Thank you for the opinion. LolXD FYI, I haven't own a smartphone yet, so I'm just asking. Erm, btw how do you tape it and why do so? I thought it would be safe if we apply a new sim card and use an adapter? Or does it mean using adapter also risk getting stucked? QUOTE(v1900130 @ Aug 2 2012, 11:20 PM) In that confusing case, I suggest you that to check with your bank and the telco, whether cutting the sim will cause damage to the "sticker" or not... Kk Thank you so much  But I prefer applying a new sim card to reduce the risk. The bank didn't offer me the choice for a normal sim card or a microsim sticker when I create the account, so I doubt the bank will have microsim sticker. QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 1 2012, 04:08 PM) Wait, can the adapter damage the micro-sim? Or the risk is just on the phone that u put the adapter in which is the cikai fon? Same questions here  Thank you^^ This post has been edited by DavidWKW: Aug 3 2012, 12:12 AM
DavidWKW
Aug 3 2012, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(lisahasan @ Aug 3 2012, 12:27 AM) I tape it so dat the microsim wont slip or move out from the adapter. Yes it will save if apply new sim. But i have 2 smartphone which use non microsim and microsim. Added on August 3, 2012, 12:29 amIf apply nes sim no need to buy adapter lor. Adapter use to put microsim in it and use as normal sim. Dats the purpose of microsim adapter. Easy. No need to got maxis celcom digi or wat so ever to charge. Just buy the adapter through online in lyn. O.O If I apply for a new microsim, I will need an adapter if I want to use my microsim on phone thatuses normal sim right? Hope that my understanding is right >< Thank you ^^ QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 3 2012, 11:45 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « If really damaged, then your phone will not be able to read any sim card.
If sometimes fail to read, then you need to check and test whether it's the sim card or the reader problem. Maxis is RM25 if not wrong, but not sure how my friend got it for FREE, possible because he took up the plan with phone which require micro-SIM.
Adapter won't damage the micro-SIM, UNLESS maybe you bent the micro-SIM when trying to fit in the adapter? Another issue you need to worry is those phone which use SLIDE-IN and click type SIM, if you're using adapter which does not hold the micro-SIM properly (usually DIY one using tape), your SIM card might get stuck and risk to scratching the reader part if you force it in or out. No need. Just go to Telco and request to change to micro-SIM, will charge you a little.
Telcos in shopping malls opens everyday including weekend. (e.g. Sunway Pyramid) Yes, definitely. CUT means not proper, just like if you cut-and-join wires. Though, not everyone face problems, only those unlucky ones, similarly, cut-and-join wires also not everyone have problem. But why cut when you can replace easily and at very little cost? Unless it's emergency or temporary. So, the better advice is surely to use a proper one than cut, after all, cutting involves risk. Some people, after they cut, they keep the left-over to be use as adapter, but it's not advisable IF you're using the micro-SIM on those SLIDE-in-out and click type SIM phone. Nonetheless, even you cut the micro-SIM, you notice that the edges may be sharp and unevent, so there's also risk when you slide the micro-SIM inside the Lumia or those micro-SIM phone which requires sliding the micro-SIM in and out. Another problem is the micro-SIM may be slightly bent and eventually the micro-SIM failed. It may not happen immediately and don't know when will happen. If you're really unlucky, and the micro-SIM fail when you have something really important... then how? E.g. emergency situations, the micro-SIM failed! I know not many people are unlucky people, so they may not able to imagine these situations, but for those who often faces unlucky situations, they will understand and easily imagine all sorts of conditions.  Thank you for the info. I think i wold rather spend a small amount on a new microsim and adapter rather than cutting it and face the risk.
DavidWKW
Aug 4 2012, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(lisahasan @ Aug 4 2012, 12:02 AM) dun understand, wat risk u guys talking bout lorI Risk of damaging the sim card I think... And the risk of getting stuck ><
DavidWKW
Aug 21 2012, 10:20 PM
I have never seen photos taken by lumia featuring of a group of people. Since this phone requires us to get the best lightning and make few adjustments to get a decent photo, I wonder how could it be possible if one is taking group photos.... Since you can't really tell your friends to hold their smile for so long until you get the settings right? What if I'm shooting something that appears for only a short time and yet getting a quite decent photo? Is there any "auto lightning option" that can be used for quick shooting? Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 23 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 23 2012, 01:16 AM) To tell u the truth, I'm only a secondary skl student. The credit card all those I just pinjam my dad's 1.  I ask him about debit card he also dunno. Sifu u using wat leh? Since you are under 18, you may want to consider Hong Leong Debit card ^^ http://www.hlb.com.my/promo/pfs/dep_kitty/index.jsp?s=promohttp://www.hlb.com.my/promo/pfs/dep_bankwide_jfd/tc_en.pdf Added on August 23, 2012, 11:08 pmQUOTE(DavidWKW @ Aug 21 2012, 10:20 PM) I have never seen photos taken by lumia featuring of a group of people. Since this phone requires us to get the best lightning and make few adjustments to get a decent photo, I wonder how could it be possible if one is taking group photos.... Since you can't really tell your friends to hold their smile for so long until you get the settings right? What if I'm shooting something that appears for only a short time and yet getting a quite decent photo? Is there any "auto lightning option" that can be used for quick shooting? Thank you  Any sifu can answer my questions? Thank you ^^ This post has been edited by DavidWKW: Aug 23 2012, 11:08 PM
DavidWKW
Aug 24 2012, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 23 2012, 11:29 PM) So in terms of safety, it seems Big card > Debit card > Credit card.  Added on August 23, 2012, 11:30 pmLOL @ the hello kitty debit card. But thx for sharing the 2nd 1.  LolXD the second one is also the hello kitty one hahaXD QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 23 2012, 11:36 PM) There nothing much to set if too dark increase EV too bright reduce EV thats all. Here some random shots i took of people Nokia Lumia 800 @ Haruhi Syaoran by JTproductions, on Flickr Nokia Lumia 800 @ Cosplay by JTproductions, on Flickr Nokia Lumia 800 @ Ai by JTproductions, on Flickr Ya, I saw the photos before. However, there are all model shooting. I mean those photos during outing with friends. I hope that the quality won't be too bad without adjusting the setting. Haha, it seems so simple when you mentioning about adjusting EV. LolXD I wonder newbie like me gonna use how long to get the right setting. Anyway, thank you for the tips
DavidWKW
Aug 24 2012, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 24 2012, 10:22 PM) Dint realize  , why the fak they wanna put hello kitty?? LolXD But many people opt for this card because of hello kitty... Perhaps, it's a junior card and they are targeting children  My friend (male) has one too lolxd You may try to request for a non-hello kitty one lolxd But do note that you will need to have at least RM1000 in your account (if I'm not wrong), so it might not be safe if you want to use it to buy apps ><
DavidWKW
Aug 24 2012, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:42 PM) isnt that same? All my shots are taken very fast its like dragonfly and butterfly they dont stand there for 30 minutes for me to capture. it happens within seconds. Haha true (I always wonder how do you manage to get so many shots on dragonfly LolXD as if you stick the dragonfly there Haha). You are too pro lolxd Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 24 2012, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:47 PM) thanks i am just learning anyway here some of my photos from pureview http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...9003272/detail/OMG those photos are nice!!!!! I'm especially amazed by these 2:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...157631119003272o.O I thought you mentioned you are not getting pureview? So they decided to give you at last?  Pureview works quite similar to camera right? Since it can control shutter speed ^^ Really want a combination of Pureview + Lumia This post has been edited by DavidWKW: Aug 25 2012, 12:05 AM
DavidWKW
Aug 24 2012, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:55 PM) You cant control the shutter speed you can only trick the camera to use lower shutter speed. Nokia Malaysia didnt give me they gave me tons of reasons. Its Nokia oversea that loan the unit for me to review. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wau, recognised by nokia international pro wei! LolXD How to trick?
DavidWKW
Aug 25 2012, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:58 PM) U suppose paste the bbcode under flickr > share Anyway i bet u missed this » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Woa they are nice and thank you for the tips
DavidWKW
Aug 25 2012, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 25 2012, 12:09 AM) Current Lumia series tak boleh buat. I tried di if light is insufficient there goes everything. 808 Pureview got ND Filter so you can turn it on to stop like at least by 2 stops so the phone thinks it needs lower shutter speed.  Great^^ Thank you
DavidWKW
Aug 27 2012, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(thefallengrace @ Aug 27 2012, 08:33 PM) ok i will my lumia battery drop till it warns me, then i full charge again. just now i checked my phone, 85%, 10 hours. haiyaaa,,, so worry You might want to send it to Nokia Care for checking ><