Nokia Lumia 800 V2, The first real Windows Phone!
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 02:27 PM

I have successfully update my lumia 800 to wp7.8 What I notice is: 1. New start screen 2. Xbox live apps 3. Wifi still running when sleep. But gps connection still the same like wp7.5 4. New boot animation 5. Internet explorer can set search provider to either use google or bing 6. Bing wallpaper 7. More theme colours 8. Nokia Music app 9. No twitter app Other nokia app like ringtone maker and etc.. still not appear in this update
billygoh
Dec 17 2012, 02:35 PM
wow..can change to wp 7.8 alrd??
This post has been edited by billygoh: Dec 17 2012, 02:55 PM
Qale
Dec 17 2012, 02:37 PM

This is great man! Is it official update?
killdavid
Dec 17 2012, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 17 2012, 02:27 PM) I have successfully update my lumia 800 to wp7.8 What I notice is: 3. Wifi still running when sleep. But gps connection still the same like wp7.5 Other nokia app like ringtone maker and etc.. still not appear in this update Can you elaborate about the GPS ? Potential new user so I'd like to know.
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 03:05 PM) Can you elaborate about the GPS ? Potential new user so I'd like to know. Example when you use nokia drive app, when you off the screen the gps will lose it connection. After you turn on back the screen it will reconnect. Because of that we cannot hear voice navigation when off the screen, need to always on. But if on in long run, I scared it will burn the screen
killdavid
Dec 17 2012, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:15 PM) Example when you use nokia drive app, when you off the screen the gps will lose it connection. After you turn on back the screen it will reconnect. Because of that we cannot hear voice navigation when off the screen, need to always on. But if on in long run, I scared it will burn the screen This is bad. Isn't the GPS suppose to work hands free ? If we are driving and the screen time out then it will basically make the gps unusable. Any work around ?
billygoh
Dec 17 2012, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 03:57 PM) This is bad. Isn't the GPS suppose to work hands free ? If we are driving and the screen time out then it will basically make the gps unusable. Any work around ? the screen time will not out when using the gps app This post has been edited by billygoh: Dec 17 2012, 03:59 PM
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 03:57 PM) This is bad. Isn't the GPS suppose to work hands free ? If we are driving and the screen time out then it will basically make the gps unusable. Any work around ? No time out when using Nokia drive, what I mean is, if I off the screen, it will lose connection with gps, hence cannot hear voice navigation. Let say I need to drive straight next 25km, I don't want to keep my screen on because that will drain much battery and I scared it will leave burn mark on screen. But if I off screen, the app will not functioning. Like my previous xperia phone, when I turn off the screen, it will still stay connected to gps and give voice navigation
killdavid
Dec 17 2012, 04:17 PM
OK, now i get it
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 17 2012, 04:17 PM) OK, now i get it  Enjoy your lumia bro
Sib
Dec 17 2012, 06:02 PM
kinda miss my lumia, glad that the update finally arrives for every1
minghao
Dec 17 2012, 06:29 PM
Mind to give me the link for manual update to 7.8?I cannot wait to play the resizeable tiles
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(minghao @ Dec 17 2012, 06:29 PM) Mind to give me the link for manual update to 7.8?I cannot wait to play the resizeable tiles http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2045106http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1e3xAZCzZYI refer both sites....lumia 800 is RM-801..the video is lumia 900 But same steps You will lose all data tho This post has been edited by neo1point3: Dec 17 2012, 08:17 PM
lgks360
Dec 17 2012, 09:35 PM
if it possible to use nodo trick?
billygoh
Dec 17 2012, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 17 2012, 08:16 PM) http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2045106http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1e3xAZCzZYI refer both sites....lumia 800 is RM-801..the video is lumia 900 But same steps You will lose all data tho if the lumia 800 is alrd unlocked, once it updated using the method above, will it lock back the lumia 800?
neo1point3
Dec 17 2012, 10:35 PM

QUOTE(lgks360 @ Dec 17 2012, 09:35 PM) if it possible to use nodo trick? What is that? QUOTE(billygoh @ Dec 17 2012, 10:28 PM) if the lumia 800 is alrd unlocked, once it updated using the method above, will it lock back the lumia 800? I'm not sure I just migrate from android to windows phone two months ago, and I dun understand anything about wp...it is so complicated
edwinlcw
Dec 17 2012, 10:38 PM
just flashed my l800 to Europe 7.8...
minghao
Dec 17 2012, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 17 2012, 08:16 PM) http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2045106http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1e3xAZCzZYI refer both sites....lumia 800 is RM-801..the video is lumia 900 But same steps You will lose all data tho Thanks,trying out right now
billygoh
Dec 17 2012, 10:47 PM
i guess i will wait till got available cab file to update
lgks360
Dec 17 2012, 10:57 PM
just backup your data with zune?sorry noob question.