Trading Card Games Magic the Gathering, a TCG by WOTC

Holi^oNe
post Jul 26 2006, 02:41 AM

169 posts

Hi guys ,

New around here.

Used to play magic from (4th ed - Mercadian Masques Block)

Quit since Oddessy came out , Looking forward to starting magic again. I sold off my whole collection to a friend a couple of years back , so I'm starting over from scratch.

Currently sourcing for players and cards around Klang Valley area.

Can anyone point me to some active drafters / constructed players ? Perhaps active FNM or something.

Also anyone looking to offload whole collections of cards kindly drop me a pm.

This post has been edited by Holi^oNe: Jul 26 2006, 02:49 AM
Holi^oNe
post Jul 26 2006, 08:52 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jul 26 2006, 09:38 AM)
Welcome Holi^oNe ... I also started back Magic since I recently got 4x Blood Crypt. I stopped Magic since Onslaught.

Im also starting off from scratch. Im currently looking for a place to play or hang out. FNM at a few shops here seem like a good place.

Anyway ... do u use MSN, perhaps we could catch up on Magic.
yeah you can add me on my MSN : victor_gan84@hotmail.com

I used to be a mainstay at ComiXtra section 14 up until a couple of years back. That place has since been defunct. Looking for places around PJ to hang out now.
Holi^oNe
post Aug 16 2006, 02:33 AM

169 posts

Fwahhh ~! I checked out his auction and his previous sales.

HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS.

Too many mint condition old-school duals. I really doubt that such a collection of cards could be unscathed for so long. The other thing is that the seller is selling them way below market value , and I think he has over 100 of them on sale or sold.

The only other person I knew off who had that many dual lands at any one time was Khoo Wei Wren who sold all of his in the 2000 KL Grand Prix to a japanese guy. But of course that was 6 years ago and his were all real.

Honestly kinda sucks man having people like that in Malaysia , giving our community a bad name. sad.gif
Holi^oNe
post Aug 16 2006, 12:54 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 16 2006, 12:11 PM)
Lol i am a beginner. but ill take into account your cards.

4  Sakura-Tribe Elder
4  Drift of Phantasms
1  Maga, Traitor to Mortals
4  Sensei's Divining Top
4  Remand
4  Muddle the Mixture
1  Boomerang
4  Heartbeat of Spring
4  Early Harvest
4  Kodama's Reach
1  Compulsive Research
1  Recollect
1  Weird Harvest
1  Invoke the Firemind

Or

2 x weird harvest
1 x savage twister
1 x gigadrowse

So ermm..anyone with these cards, jst PM me smile.gif
I honestly don't advise you to build a type2 deck with Kamigawa. As you know local scene mainly place emphasis on type 2 and Kamigawa block is to phase out in around 2 months time once Time Spiral ( the upcoming set ) becomes legal. If you really build up on Kamigawa block then you'll find yourself with quite a few dead end cards until extended season hits. Evenmore so since Kamigawa block focuses mainly on legends and chances for legends to get reprinted are very slim.

Just my 2 cents from my experiences , then again I might be just speculating.
Holi^oNe
post Aug 28 2006, 01:06 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Aug 27 2006, 10:45 PM)
just want to ask, the grand prix trials on 10 sept, is a limited format or constructed format?
R-G-D Sealed Deck.

I'm not sure about the prizes. Should be same as the PTQ Kobe minus the air plane ticket as first prize.

Entrance fee is RM50
Holi^oNe
post Aug 29 2006, 07:28 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Aug 29 2006, 04:04 AM)
its good to see that magic is still alive and strong unlike other collectible cards. i stopped magic along time ago when i created the tolarian academy deck and then my entire deck got banned from any competition. i know my post will have no relevence but reminds me of the good old days.
Drop me a pm if you still have any cards for sale. Urza block was and still is the most broken expansion to date. I know of 2 infinity loop combo's which came from the block , Tolarian Stroke + Memory Jar / Yawgmoth's will (which got banned even before legal for competition play). I'm looking for lots of things , don't be shy if you still got anything for sale thumbup.gif
Holi^oNe
post Sep 8 2006, 03:11 AM

169 posts

Updated as of : 20/7/2007

NEW~! From July onwards we have FNM's , Everyone and anyone is welcome to join us.

Hello everyone,

Would just like to inform that our store Manawerx has successfully relocated. We are now situated in Millenium Square PJ which is very close to our previous location. Here's a map to our new location :

For those who have not heard of us , we are one of the stores with a table set up at Micheal Toh's Pre-Release tournaments. Some may remember us as "the magic store in the cyber cafe" as our previous location was located within Alfa One Cyber Cafe , Section 14.

We currently carry most Magic the Gathering products and card supplies (boxes , sleeves , folders , etc). We also have a HUGE inventory of cards from Time Spiral Block , if you're looking for cards from TSB , chances are we will have them in stock.

We also organize drafts at RM25 / person ( 3 boosters ) within the store. We can also sanction the drafts to boost player reward event count.

For those who might be interested or have any inquiries , please feel free to contact us at :

Operating hours are from 1pm - 10pm (most days till late) daily except on certain tournament Sundays (please call first).

e-mail : manawerx@gmail.com

Mobile Phone :
012-6663500 (Victor)
012-6700156 (Zu Yong)

This post has been edited by Holi^oNe: Aug 8 2007, 12:41 PM
Holi^oNe
post Sep 15 2006, 11:10 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(carlsuen @ Sep 15 2006, 09:49 AM)
lol.. if that's the guy.. lol..

he's a damned conmen.. years ago when i started playing.. me and my friends invested alot of money in it and bought tonnes of packs and stuff.. so he scoured nearly everything that was worth something that time.. and even encouraged us to play truant indirectly..

but we were stupid back then.. like what? 14?

sigh..
Umm to an extent I agree with you. You addressed a problem which I felt was one of the major causes to why our local magic community dwindled in recent years.

Scenario:
Let's assume someone new starts magic , buys a couple of tournament decks and maybe a dozen boosters. He doesn't know the price nor has he decided what colour he wants to play. But even before that happens , the veteran active players around him are already asking him for his good stuff , trying to buy on the cheap or give a high imbalanced deal in their favour. After he trades / sells his good cards due to the constant pestering / bugging. He then later realises that he has made a mistake and oh boy , some of these mistakes can be REALLY costly. Some of the cards he had traded away could according to regular market rate have gotten him almost a whole simple deck in terms of trading value.

Thereonafter, two things might possibly happen. One, this player after a while will slowly turn into the kind of people who had "conned" him before. Two , he learns how not to trust people in the community as he basically labels a majority of them as a pack of hungry wolves , his interest in the game then slowly wanes.

Since the retail prices in our local stores haven't really increased over the years , I don't feel that finance is really a problem to magic players. Apart from the local valuation for cards are slightly higher than in the international scene , the other main reason I personally felt for the reason why our community has shrunk is because of the issues mentioned above. Oh, there's also an issue on the complexity for the rules , but that normally comes in more advanced playing. General rulings are quite easy to follow.

That's just my take on the issue which you had raised.

p/s : I used him instead of him/her because I rarely see any girls/ladies playing mtg locally. So please don't pick on me for being politically incorect smile.gif
Holi^oNe
post Sep 18 2006, 01:51 AM

169 posts

Any casual players in the KL / PJ are who are interested in playing typeless / type 2 / extended to kill time or make new friends are welcome to join us at our new store smile.gif

Holi^oNe
post Oct 19 2006, 01:06 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(fat_lip2525 @ Oct 18 2006, 06:42 PM)
Wah shocking.gif  4 char and 4 Blast is gonna cost you a lot tongue.gif

BTW, how does sudden death/shock works ah? Pardon my n00bness for I have stop since Torment sweat.gif
The Char's won't be too expensive. The Psi Blasts *ahem*.

Sudden Death / Shock works like this.

If any split second cards are played. They have upmost priority and will resolve first. You can't play instants or non-mana abilities in response to a split second spell.
Holi^oNe
post Nov 2 2006, 03:52 AM

169 posts

Just like to inform those around KL/PJ area that our store will be hosting weekly booster drafts on Friday night @ 8pm onwards.

Pricing for the booster draft is RM25 for 3 packs of Time Spiral. (We are indirectly advocating booster draft as it is the quickest way to refamiliarize with M:TG as well as the best way to build up skills thus the pricing for our draft is very competitive)

Those who are interested can kindly give us a ring or drop me a pm in order to book a spot in the drafts.

We are also promoting sales of boosters packs with a buy 10 free 1 @ RM10 / pack.

For more information kindly refer to my previous thread located >> HERE <<

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Holi^oNe: Nov 2 2006, 03:57 AM
Holi^oNe
post Nov 15 2006, 12:42 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Nov 15 2006, 07:43 AM)
Anyone plays Extended tournies at Subang?
Yah they had one last week for GPT Singapore I think. Didn't attend , so not sure what deck won.
Holi^oNe
post Dec 8 2006, 12:15 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Dec 8 2006, 12:07 AM)
How much is a booster from Comic Corner?
Booster from Comic's Corner retails for RM11 at both DJ and SJ outlets. Bangsar outlet retails for RM12.

Anyone interested in buying booster packs/boxes can feel free to contact me wink.gif
Holi^oNe
post Dec 8 2006, 12:18 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Dec 6 2006, 06:30 PM)
Extended tourny at Comic Corner this Sunday and Super Cup (Standard format) the next Sunday also at Comic Corner.
I have a friend who was a former hobby shop owner. He might be able to get products cheaper, but how much is the booster pack in your area?
Comic's Corner Super Cup @ Mid Valley has been postponed indefinitely due to problems with hosting venue.

Instead Christmas Magic @ Tournament Centre SS15 will be held . Standard constructed and with a prize structure similar to GPT's .
Holi^oNe
post Jan 4 2007, 09:56 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(blu3chip @ Jan 3 2007, 09:56 PM)
there used to be a wide fanbase of MTG a few years back. guess many have moved on, including me. sad.gif
Magic did have a large fanbase a few years back but I think it really took a dip with the introduction of Kamigawa , actually some older players are coming back with the Time Spiral block and from what we are about to see , the new Time Spiral block WILL rock all of the current playing formats (Type 1 / Extended / Type 2 / Sealed ) . I personally think that the dawn of the new combo age has befallen us again. Black having a Wrath of God , white having a shock , red having a morphling and lots of other nostalgic cards returned in new flavours (blastoderm / whirling dervish / drop of honey ~! ). Watch out for them in the upcoming Planar Chaos expansion.

Pre-release at Mid Valley on the 20th and 21st of this month ~!

See some of you guys there smile.gif
Holi^oNe
post Jan 16 2007, 02:47 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jan 15 2007, 03:36 PM)
lol Planar Chaos is damn interesting..like back during Invasion block where there's lots of decks color's combination..this one,totally chaotic..it was like what happen??creature pumpers at red,counters at white and black,green has its draw-go and hasters..now when creature decks against non-white quite a relief but now,think again when against white or black biggrin.gif i sense strong R/G on its way..new version of Morpling deck perhaps?hopefully Fires comeback with 1GW biggrin.gif
Darn right that Planar Chaos is damn interesting. I've got friends who've quit for like 5-6 years come to me and say , "Wah , I saw in newspaper got Black Wrath". I think this set will shake all the formats with some of the cards previewed. The set as a whole is not really as good as I expected earlier , but nonetheless it is still darn interesting to see old cards come back not "modified" like in Time Spiral but direct copies just in different colours.

Pre-Release is this coming weekend at Cititel Mid Valley from 8am onwards ~! Those who are interested can call Micheal Toh - 012 2608438 or E-mail him at ccgorganizer@myjaring.net .

p/s : Micheal not as bad as most of you remember him to be. He has to have good rappot with players to be Klang Valley Tournament Organizer sweat.gif .
Holi^oNe
post Jan 17 2007, 01:01 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Jan 16 2007, 01:14 PM)
Holi^one, u got Teferi to let go or not ?
I have almost all Type 2 cards in stock with the exception of core set cards. Drop me a pm with your offer and I'll see if I can help. Cheers ~! smile.gif
Holi^oNe
post Feb 1 2007, 12:25 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Feb 1 2007, 12:53 AM)
wow..can play in mamak merh.. no ppl stare stare ar... maybe i havent been there so dont know lerh...
The more people stare the better. If you haven't noticed physical Magic was experiencing a downward trend up until Time Spiral. Alot of players leaving or left the game. If the good old days of the open area Grand Prix and Pre-Release was brought back (Those days Pre-Release were held in shopping complexes , I remember BSC, Sunway Pyramid and also Atria) , the game will have more exposure and you will definitely see more and more new faces.
Holi^oNe
post Feb 1 2007, 08:32 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Feb 1 2007, 12:49 PM)
I'll be sure to come once i graduated... now??? so far meh...

BTW do any of you know what are the promo cards given in the release event?? any leakage?
Planar Chaos Release Party Card is none other than the Timeshifted version of Sedge Troll.

You can check it out. >>>>> Click Here <<<<<
Holi^oNe
post Feb 3 2007, 11:31 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Feb 3 2007, 09:38 AM)
Wuddya mean offerin'?? Im gonna buy one too... hahaha but they say itll arrive next week.... damn... so hard living in iypoh
Klang Valley shops already carrying. We also have them in stock now smile.gif . BTW , tommorow extended PTQ in Ipoh got 1 group of singaporeans going hmm.gif . I got some first hand information haha.

0.0477sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:34 AM