Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V5, Panasonic & Olympus Mirrorless System!

carbonytte
post Jul 30 2012, 03:34 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kennypotatoes @ Jul 30 2012, 10:15 AM)
yeah! i got my 45-200mm for my gf2...

and d@m it.. the lens is bigger then body...

but thinking to let it go already, upgrading in process..
do you happen to have 14-140mm? I've been asking at several stores, damn they're expensive.
carbonytte
post Jul 31 2012, 11:21 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(kennypotatoes @ Jul 30 2012, 04:10 PM)
yes... it is expensive... but very light and small to jalan jalan...

45-200mm is a bit bulky, but still consider OK for me!

thinking to letting go my at RM1100, interested kindly drop me an PM lah..
if you still got my end of August , i can consider hehehe

Added on July 31, 2012, 11:22 am
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jul 31 2012, 09:13 AM)
Trust me later you forget about the pancake 20mm liau.

Added on July 31, 2012, 9:25 amuser posted image
GX1 14mm

Pls don't jelly ok
is that a Metz flash I see behind? What model, and can you do a quick review?

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Jul 31 2012, 11:22 AM
carbonytte
post Aug 2 2012, 11:22 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 2 2012, 11:14 PM)
sometimes EVF not important. That is why all P&S this day dont have it anymore. The screen of the LCD now is enough for you to frame the picture.
EVF is needed as you start taking long range pictures, or probably macro, just so that you don't feel really weird taking picture. As far as potrait pictures, LCD is quite enough actually.

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Aug 2 2012, 11:22 PM
carbonytte
post Aug 5 2012, 08:56 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Aug 5 2012, 07:01 PM)
some says putting filter on the lens is just some placebo effect...some says its a must...any advice?
Depends on filter price and build quality. ie, I find less use for my UV filter compared to CPL filter. But then again, at the end of the day, I still use the UV filter as my cheap protective layer , since I bought the vivitar one pretty cheap over amazon.com
carbonytte
post Aug 12 2012, 10:30 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Aug 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
i sold my gx1 to buy omd, Heres my reaason.

1) i need a camera that has a viewfinder. i have optional evf but i need to remove it if i want to use extternal flash.
2) i need a camera that has built in image stabiliser so i can use all the lenses for m43 (pana, olympus, voigtlander, etc) and still have IS. with gx1, ull only have it if u use ois lens.

well thats about the major reasons. minor reason

1) design
2) battery holder accessory is awesome.
3) tiltable lcd display.

iguess thats it.
better sensor? You've got to be kidding me. Pana/Oly all uses same 4/3rd sensor. If you want better sensor, wait for EOS M. But alas, they don't have built in EVF (although I really hope they release one with EVF, but then that might affect their entry dSLR market so not sure if they'll do that).

For major reason 1 and minor reason 3, you could actually go for Pana G or GH series.
carbonytte
post Aug 13 2012, 10:32 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Aug 12 2012, 11:59 PM)
If I'm not mistaken. The sensor in OMD is actually made by Sony..
Heard of it, but Sony building four-thirds sensor, I can't really brain the rumour though. As long as it is still using Four Third format, I still think it would be a mod version of Panny rather than Sony's smile.gif
carbonytte
post Aug 13 2012, 11:56 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(kennypotatoes @ Aug 13 2012, 11:50 AM)
walao.. all changing...

me still stick with my GF2...

where is a good place to sell camera... thinking upgrade to GX1 tim..
if you want better price, better go through garage sales or lelong. i doubt you can get good prices if you sell back at 2nd hand stores.
carbonytte
post Aug 13 2012, 12:32 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Aug 13 2012, 12:21 PM)
Yahoo Jp published the interview with Olympus President...and it is consistent with Sony's prowess in making sensors...
Oh. Cool. Will we get to see Sony putting up their MFT camera instead soon. Sony has been using APS sensor for mirrorless camera right?
carbonytte
post Aug 24 2012, 06:31 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(L.A.C @ Aug 24 2012, 06:02 PM)
Hi all, I've been looking around for EVIL cameras and after days of research, I narrowed down my choices to Sony Nex-5N and Panasonic GX1.

First of all, after my research, the image quality of Sony Nex-5N seems unbeatable in its class and price range, especially in low-light condition.

However I don't really like the way how Nex-5N looks, GX1 looks much cooler...

So, (1) solely based on the image quality and nothing else, can you guys tell me does Nex5-N really win over GX1 hands down??

(2) Any other suggestions/opinions/critics are most welcome!!

Thanks! smile.gif
Honestly.. if I'm comparing image quality, I'd go Nex due to better sensor. However, I don't think "Nex"es has as many lenses as a MFT would have, hence the lenses price might be a bit diff (well I dunno how much is Nex lenses price anyway but I'm guessing it is a bit high since only Sony make those, while MFT are made by Oly/Pana/Sigma [I think some other made MFT lenses as well but not sure of the names]) .If you're going to change lenses from time to time, that should be in your consideration as well.

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Aug 24 2012, 06:33 PM
carbonytte
post Aug 25 2012, 12:26 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(L.A.C @ Aug 24 2012, 07:05 PM)
Well but for me, I'm new to photography so I'm not sure whether lenses are going to be a big factor in my considerations.

Oh!!! How I wish that Nex-5N can look better than how it looks right now  yawn.gif
Well, I've already got 3 lenses right now, kit (usually used with macro filters), pancake f1.7 for bokeh and 45-200mm for range shots. And I'm still saving money for macro adapter and 14-140mm lens. And I only started going deep into photog since the time I bought my G3 (Oct-Nov 2011 timeframe)

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Aug 25 2012, 12:27 PM
carbonytte
post Nov 13 2012, 11:12 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 10 2012, 09:01 AM)
Just place order for 35-100mm F2.8. Really really expensive.
how much? I see old Pana 14-140mm price is starting to drop, price at 619 usd at amazon.
carbonytte
post Jan 1 2013, 02:56 PM

659 posts

video wise, nothing beats GH series. I would still prefer GH2 coz it has the external mic. if you're really into video, i believe external mic always wins over built-in.

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Jan 1 2013, 02:57 PM
carbonytte
post Feb 8 2013, 10:34 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jan 27 2013, 11:56 AM)
hi guys smile.gif
i am not sure if this is the right place to ask.
but i would like to know, the offer below is worth for money or not?
consider i am beginner smile.gif

Panasonic DSLR 44% Offer
G2 is actually very good for videography, since it (if I'm correct) has the audio jack, so you can jack in external microphone for the best audio performance.

0.0465sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:17 AM