Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V5, Panasonic & Olympus Mirrorless System!

Lazyboy
post Jun 7 2012, 03:08 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ Jun 7 2012, 12:34 AM)
OMG...
ur OMD...
Do let me know how it goes as I am currently considering the Pana 100-300 vs Oly 75-300.

Thanks!

Added on June 7, 2012, 3:18 pmAll, I am looking to part with my EP-3 Silver kit set with original Oly brown leather half body case. PM me if interested. Bought late last year and still have a few months warranty. In like-new condition. Just upgraded to OM-D.

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Jun 7 2012, 03:18 PM
Lazyboy
post Jun 15 2012, 09:36 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jun 15 2012, 08:44 AM)
voigtlander?
plenty sharp!
drool.gif

but sadly i din get the files...i testing using someone else's OM-D....
I tested both the Sumi 25mm 1.4 and Voig 25mm f0.95mm......I went with the Voig. No regrets. Super sharp when you nail the focus. Wide open at f0.95, the DOF is very very very thin.....everything else will be very soft at the f-stop.....giving the subject a dreamy feel....and that is what I like about the character of the lens...when stop down to 2.0 and beyond.....it is the sharpest m43 lens I have ever owned and tested (I have the 20mm, 12mm and 45mm). The Sumi is good...fast focus lock..sharp.....and good. To me, it is just very clinical lens....you get the shots you want with assurance...sharp and detail...but just too clinical for me.
Lazyboy
post Jun 15 2012, 10:47 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jun 15 2012, 10:04 AM)
full metal.
as big as the 12-50 but heavier.
Yes. Full Metal, including the hood is also metal.

Heavier than your usual Oly lens and premium panny lens..but nothing compared to DSLR kit if you come from that.

I can still use it comfortably on an OM-D body without the grip...but I would say that is the max weight ratio one would probably use on an OM-D body without extra grip support. (like the 100-300 panny).

Added on June 15, 2012, 10:49 am
QUOTE(xandman @ Jun 15 2012, 10:04 AM)
full metal.
as big as the 12-50 but heavier.
+1....soul was the word i was looking for tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Jun 15 2012, 10:49 AM
Lazyboy
post Jun 15 2012, 02:38 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ Jun 15 2012, 01:08 PM)
Hi guys, it comments & criticizing time again.

This time around, I've taken two Macro shots of a same flower and I would like sifus sifus to view it and choose which is better. The two shots were taken using the same 12-50mm kit lens in Macro Mode with similar Settings other than Shot I has the Aperture Wide Open while Shot II has the Aperture Stepped Down. I'm basically just altering the Depth of Field.

Question I: Which Aperture Setting makes the Flower more "attractive"?
Question II: Are the photos too dark?

Personal preference here....so take it with a grain of salt smile.gif

I prefer the second one for a macro short...if the subject is the ENTIRE flower...then my preference would be the whole flower is in DOF range or focus.....and to me, it is a tad underexposed.
Lazyboy
post Jun 15 2012, 08:06 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ Jun 15 2012, 02:54 PM)
Thanks guys.... more Commenst & Criticisms please. Thats the only way I'll learn.

Lazyboy: I agree on the reason of choosing the 2nd shot. Kinda feel the same way too. The Shot brings out the whole flower to focus. Only thing is, does the background post as a distraction now that its also clearer?

Yea, n I have some serious eye problem with exposure. My eyes tend to see things brighter when they r actually darker. Astigmatism maybe.
jloi: Thanks for the positive review. =)
Keep them coming!

Added on June 15, 2012, 2:56 pm
Now, was wondering when u'ld comment on the pics... lol
Bulu2? lol. Both kan ade bulu?

Macro lighting? *poison shield MAXimum!*
To me the second pic background not too distracting compared to the first.....again, personal preference and opinion. When I do take macro of still life or bugs etc....I like to keep part of the environment they are in into perspective.....if the point is just shooting the flower alone with no distraction or bug similarly, then take it in a studio and blow up gau gau tongue.gif To me, the picture then loses it's perspective.....but shooting portraits then I would like to isolate as much of the subject as possible....but for still life and nature macro, I like to keep a part of the bigger picture/environment to keep things in perspective.
Lazyboy
post Jun 15 2012, 10:36 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sioe @ Jun 15 2012, 08:10 PM)
Needless to say, a lot more learning n practise has to be done on my part. Lol.
But I love macro. Brings a whole different world into play.
Enjoy smile.gif
Lazyboy
post Jun 22 2012, 11:30 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Jun 22 2012, 04:12 PM)
it's diagonally opposite the North Bridge Road exit of City Hall MRT station.  basically the building before you cross the traffic lights to Funan Digital Mall.

right next to that exit (on the left) is a church.  if you turn right, it's heading towards Raffles City mall.
Cathay Photo is one of the fav. of photo enthusiast in Singapore. I've been there many times when in Singapore and have gotten quite a number of my stuff there. I just recently went to and got a Gitzo Carbon Fiber Monopod. I got my D300 there many years ago.

0.0240sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:26 AM