Planted Aquarium V9

Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 11:05 AM

15 posts

Hi sifus, got a simple planted tank. I got many dust lying on the leaves of the plants, how to get rid of them? Filter is running very well.
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 11:34 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jul 2 2012, 11:23 AM)
THIS
thumbup.gif
those light come with the aqua set is not enough for planted tank.
unless you plan for moss or fern.
but later you will regret because the growth is so slow....
Brother kim, my auqarium got shrimp. You say change water, but I worry shrimp die.
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 11:48 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jul 2 2012, 11:42 AM)
blush.gif
not change water la..
use the hose to siphon the dust out.

but again, you still need to do WC right although you having shrimp inside..
hmm.gif
aiyo, sorry i thought u say change water.. i dont know where dust from, too much food i think.. siphon out the dust, water will also need to replace because water out right? i worry siphon out shrimp also.
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 12:04 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jul 2 2012, 11:50 AM)
use air hose to siphon out water slowly. add anti-chlorine in new water before you use it.
How to siphone water out slowly? I must use a small hose for that? Thank you, I will add anti-clhorine to the water first but I using drinking water, good?
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 12:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jul 2 2012, 12:06 PM)
but the glosso already creep.
as per the calculation from your blog, seem i need a 20w light
and mine is 36cm tank..
cant imagine doing scaping in 36mm
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
laugh.gif  sweat.gif  tongue.gif
use the air hose and monitor it carefully.
and replace the siphoned water with aged water
Aged water is water from aquarium?
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 12:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 2 2012, 12:19 PM)
what shrimps you keep?
cherry shrimp i think, light red color and half transparent.
Goldiger79
post Jul 2 2012, 01:38 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 2 2012, 12:40 PM)
cherry very hardly, should be able to survive the ordeal, if you want to siphon the soil/sand, use a proper tools, not those water hose. For the dust on the leaf, you can try use air hose to suck it out.
like this -> http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Aquarium-Fish-T...a-/260752977451
can get at local fish shop , less then RM30, depend on size.
Okay, thank you smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Goldiger79
post Jul 5 2012, 10:23 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 5 2012, 10:20 AM)
my offices tank...hehehe...still soak my DW, maybe next week will start "throw in DW and do planting...

[attachmentid=2930401]
Hi flipmode brother, your light is how many ft vs your tank? I see the light have no stand because it is short
Goldiger79
post Jul 5 2012, 10:31 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 5 2012, 10:27 AM)
4ft according to LFS. lol. i think thats good enough for me as it throw 108W out. need to add another piece to make it become high light setup
I see, thnk you. Your design very nice!
Goldiger79
post Jul 6 2012, 09:49 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jul 6 2012, 09:35 AM)
sorry to tell,
but i already ordered a bunch of LED light. gonna start DIY soon for my 2feet tank as trial.  icon_idea.gif lol~
10W LED, 8000k, 10000k, 12000k, 14000k
3W LED, 6500k, 8000k, 12000k, 14000k.
if this project is successful then i will make for 3feet or even bigger tank.

During my research, i found out that we only need 30-50% LED watt power to get similar light output as florescent.
This is very helpful since TNB charges is increasing every year. and climate change also increase our room temperature.
I hope i can get 25-27C for 2feet tank with LED lighting smile.gif
I want ask. why 3watt led got 8000k, 10w led also got 8000k? Then got what different? Why dont only take 10w 8000k?
Goldiger79
post Jul 6 2012, 02:55 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jul 6 2012, 02:42 PM)
dunno la... i got 3 trilineatus, 2 sterbai in my tank... that fat trilineatus is the biggest n fattest in my tank... other so-so only the tummy... if only i can get a decent pic of the cory... the fish wont stop moving!
maybe pregnant???
Goldiger79
post Jul 13 2012, 09:41 AM

15 posts

@flipmode, I want to make a tank like yours. But I want use soil outside the stone, plant hc or glosso. Inside I want to make a big forest of flame moss. If I follow your stone placement but make round shape, what should I put inside for flame moss? Since flame moss dont require soil to grow, what to put inside?
Goldiger79
post Jul 13 2012, 10:05 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jul 13 2012, 09:59 AM)
why you want to put something inside the moss???
blink.gif
its better for you to put all soil instead of make an island for that.
1. the green algae problem
2. the mix up between the sand and soil.

just my humble opinion
icon_rolleyes.gif
I not putting anything inside moss, sorry confused. I want to put the rock in one circle, then put flame moss in the middle. I don't want to use all soil because expensif. The rock circle area I plan to make is quite large area. But you say green algae problem, this can be controlled. For number 2, I want to ask you all what to use best thumbup.gif

Thank you for your opinion notworthy.gif
Goldiger79
post Jul 13 2012, 11:32 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Jul 13 2012, 10:55 AM)
@goldiger, moss is usually tied to Driftwood (DW) or rocks. its light as u aware, so it will float around if not tied properly.

maybe you can get a stainless steel mesh and make it like a big semi ball shape... then you can tie a lot of moss on it. smile.gif

i think you want to make a "tree" in the middle is it?
QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 13 2012, 11:04 AM)
imho, stitch it to plastic mesh, tied with rock to make it stay at bottom, u can use lava rock under the plastic mesh
Thank you for reply notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

@jctasoga, I want to do like the picture below, but the flame moss all in centre of rock surround. Then outside will plant HC or glosso. I think of using mesh, cut a round shape inside the rock.

@flipmode, after tie to mesh, I think need to tie to rock like you say, otherwise worry it float up.

Goldiger79
post Jul 13 2012, 12:37 PM

15 posts

Can someone give sisaiko full address from google map, i cannot pinpoint at all.
Goldiger79
post Jul 21 2012, 08:11 PM

15 posts

40cm high tank for plant HC need how many watt? I check nilufar 366rm 40w x2. This 4ft tank.
Goldiger79
post Jul 22 2012, 02:07 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Jul 22 2012, 12:37 AM)
I using GLO T5 2 set, each set is two tube
how much is the casing? Should be expensive.. 500 range?
Goldiger79
post Jul 24 2012, 09:40 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 24 2012, 08:19 AM)
now im regret adding white sand as base. fish poop everywhere!  vmad.gif
post photo see hmm.gif
Goldiger79
post Jul 25 2012, 09:18 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 24 2012, 11:04 AM)
tank only have 10 otto only. but the poop... shocking.gif  sweat.gif

[attachmentid=2963290]
IME, you need to clean up the sand regularly.
shocking.gif This photo will give a lot caution to us before decide use sand in future. Haha, now I change mind don't want use sand. But I think it also depends on the amount of sand you using and the way you scape.

All sifu, I want setup my tank with layout picture below. I have tight budget, so I plan to build the tank by 3 part. Can I plant hc on the right part today, then later continue with middle and left 1 month later? What should I think before making action. 4ft tank, if cover all with ADA soil at 1 go very painful.

This post has been edited by Goldiger79: Jul 25 2012, 11:31 AM
Goldiger79
post Jul 25 2012, 12:42 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 25 2012, 12:05 PM)
that mean you gonna put in ADA soil portion by portion. But once your tank submerged you have to drain out all the water before you can put in soil
for another portion, won't that too time consuming for a 4ft ? and tank cycle maybe disturbed with every new soil pour in, fauna is no-no at those moments too.
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jul 25 2012, 12:11 PM)
^+1.

why dont you just wait for another 1 month to buy the soils?
better do it in 1 shot..
QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Jul 25 2012, 12:28 PM)
I don't think he can wait. His mind is drugged. I had same feeling before, can't even sleep... smile.gif
I no intention put fauna while planting is not complete. But kimimaro_kun bro, I got think like that too, but I not sure what plants to put at the other parts yet. Hehe, mroys bro is correct, but still I am in control.

Then I think I better wait all soil come in first, this idea is big no sweat.gif

Thank you notworthy.gif

0.0431sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:27 AM