RON 95 CAUSED DAMAGES, Rumours has been spreading around.

WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 10:16 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(sotplugDESIGNER @ May 21 2012, 10:13 PM)
it's the knocking problem that caused problems...

95 caused more knocking % than 97 and it can cause serious damage to your piston and block...

however this is depends on luck, some driver no prob at all but some did...
http://oldeloohuis.com/octane3.html

read the part "Knock Sensors And Ignition Retardation"
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 10:55 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

simple to think is like this

less knock = timing more advance = more power
more knock = timing retard = less power

octane is basically how well the fuel resist knocking.

higher the grade the more resistive it is.

just my 2 cents
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 11:06 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 21 2012, 11:04 PM)
Technically speaking, octane grade is how much the fuel can be compressed before detonating without a spark, which causes knocking. The higher the grade, the more it can be compressed before combusting without spark.

This is why the 1.6 Campro CFE engine has less compression ratio than the normal 1.6 Campro, to accomodate lower RON petrol in other countries.
yes.. i lazy type so long ma tongue.gif

actually abt the cfe is not really accurate. turbo car has less compression ratio coz you pack more air in the same amount of space. so you cant compress it too much without it giving you other issues...
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 11:35 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ May 21 2012, 11:15 PM)
beats me, i have the same thought too. But this really happen and even 2 of my friends car. merc forgot which model and the other one is vios
very no make sense wei...

Added on May 21, 2012, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(theanswer @ May 21 2012, 11:34 PM)
yep..turbo already have high pressure. so the compression ratio must be lower compared to na engine. thats why if want to bot na engine..need to use low compression piston(if the boost is high). smile.gif
if u dont boost that high dun need to change low com piston. thts y ppl wit BOT feel more power. u got more air + high com NA piston

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: May 21 2012, 11:36 PM
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 11:38 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 21 2012, 11:34 PM)
According to the Lotus Proactive Magazine  tongue.gif

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.c...ssue_43_web.pdf
But you are perhaps correct as the fact that it is a turbocharged engine was probably also taken into consideration.
abt the same story oso. if u put a high com piston and put a low octane like ron 88 of cuz knock lo.

Added on May 21, 2012, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(carrera_gt @ May 21 2012, 11:37 PM)
I loled when know City must drink ron97..

imho, my neighbour uses Honda City...always fuelled Ron95...

so far no probem at all..

agreed.. there is fundamentally smtg wrong with TS car...

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: May 21 2012, 11:38 PM
WhitE LighteR
post May 21 2012, 11:51 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 21 2012, 11:49 PM)
And how the heck does fuel damage the throttle body? How can the fuel damage any parts that it does not come into direct contact? Might as well say that by just driving the car on the road the paint is being worn off by using RON95 petrol.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Yeap.. something else is wrong the TS car.. and not the fuel.
laugh.gif i think his ecu or knock sensor got problem.

TS better go to another honda sc and get them to poke in pdt or watever they use to check it out....

0.0153sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:56 PM