Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V3, S III event 28th May - 3rd June @ LYP
farscope
May 20 2012, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ May 20 2012, 04:08 PM) Saw this, very bold Samsung! http://installornot.com/news-2/phonestable...amsung-gs-line/SIII has this feature too? Face unlock? Yes, face and voice unlock. This post has been edited by farscope: May 20 2012, 04:27 PM
farscope
May 21 2012, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(lost123 @ May 20 2012, 11:54 PM) I want this fone so bad!!! why is it taking so long.. im still waiting to upgrade from my SGS1.. i'm worse.. i'm upgrading from my SE k810i..  but i do have my tab for those apps n stuff.. now need a phone as my current one showing age.
farscope
May 21 2012, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 21 2012, 12:11 AM) K810i is a legend now you're upgrading to a phone which will be a legend as well few years later  yea man.. k810i is like the must phone to buy.. been using it for 4 yrs plus ady.. QUOTE(Junior_150982 @ May 21 2012, 12:18 AM) yea still remember those day when ppl crazy about this sony k810 ( red colour ) but now Sony ( legend ) is gone was hoping to see this samsung S III to be the next coming legend  i almost get that red colour one last time, too bad no stock.. now looking forward to s3 after poisoning so many ppl to buy samsung smartphones. it's time for me to get one too bcz my colleagues always complain say i hardsale promoter but didn't own one.. i convert almost the whole department i'm working in to use samsung smartphone, poisoning them to change..
farscope
May 21 2012, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ May 21 2012, 08:56 AM) how much will be ? so s2 price will be cheaper rite ?  s2 ady cheaper prior to the launch liao.. now street price around 1450..
farscope
May 21 2012, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ May 21 2012, 09:32 AM) Remember Nexus have face unlock too? My fren n his fren can unlock the same phone cos they have the same eyebrow.  Not sure if SIII improve this feature. Alah, ambik satu simkad adapter can use on other phone. Added on May 21, 2012, 9:33 amhi hanieyf~ So u want SIII too~  lol.. cant blame the phone. sometimes even us as human will recognise ppl wrongly, don't expect yr phone to be so intelligent. it's a cool feature, but i wont be using it. i wanna play with water ripples instead.  sim card adapter is for those micro sim to be used in normal sim phones ma, no? normal sims need to be cut into micro sim size, with risk of course.
farscope
May 21 2012, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ May 21 2012, 09:52 AM) btul jugak, i use s3, she use s2... so romantic  no no.. both must use s3.. then can bump and use the S beam to transfer stuff.. photo share etc etc.. use S3 and S2 bump, nth happen.. This post has been edited by farscope: May 21 2012, 10:25 AM
farscope
May 21 2012, 10:50 AM
S beam requires hardware support. Which is the nfc chip. Even with galaxy nexus only can use Android beam, not S beam.
farscope
May 21 2012, 10:55 AM
S beam is different from Android beam bcz S beam can transfer much larger files than Android beam. Android beam can transfer small files like contact, Web page and map info etc.
S beam can do more than that, while aneroid beam features still remain.
S beam works by setting up a wifi direct connection via standard nfc contact.hence, able to transfer larger files.
farscope
May 21 2012, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 21 2012, 05:05 PM) if really like that really not called as phone already and 1st custom ROM for s3 @@ http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1663656ROM available even without the device to test it. this is madness.. lol.. it's like driving blindly.
farscope
May 21 2012, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(wayneraul @ May 21 2012, 10:56 PM) http://www.huzoorbux.com/samsung-galaxy-s3...black_1022.htmlis this true? samsung are planning for a black version of galaxy s3??? unlikely.. pink maybe..
farscope
May 22 2012, 08:15 AM
QUOTE(silentser @ May 22 2012, 01:00 AM) sound nice but of course the accessory must be screen wiper, case, and screen protector yea man.. that's what i get for my galaxy tab during the first day. a screen wiper and a recycle bag..  no case, no screen protector. asked for the usb extension, they even wanna rip me off with RM129 (RRP RM109) claiming other place no stock, this is cheapest. disappointed with the so called free gift, but i got my tab @ RM999 la..  but with data plan..  QUOTE(firstknight @ May 22 2012, 07:00 AM) screen protector?? why??? its gorilla 2....... the gorilla glass hardness is not the hardest anyway, there are still things that are able to scratch it.
farscope
May 22 2012, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(firstknight @ May 22 2012, 08:20 AM) What u do to scratch it? Ppl use key also cant scratch it.... My area no complain ler... Been using it like 10 years.... I go to places maxis ppl swear cos no network... Lol lol, that's for "just in case" scenario. the mohs hardness for GG is around 7, while there are things that are harder than it, usually gems and stones. also, conservative mindset makes ppl think that, having a screen protector on their devices gives them peace of mind and sense of security.
farscope
May 22 2012, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 22 2012, 10:05 AM) you means the front material is made by hyperglaze ? confuse  what he mean is, the back cover for both devices are made of same material, the difference is s3's back cover is coated with hyperglaze.
farscope
May 22 2012, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(davidmak @ May 22 2012, 10:51 AM) Actually polycarbonate is compound name for plastic in layman term = same lor...  yr statement is true up to a certain content.. yes, with the prefix poly-, it is still plastic. but different plastic has different properties.. cannot lump them up and say it's the same..  just like gorilla glass, tempered glass and normal glass.. all oso silicon based, also glass.. but different properties..
farscope
May 23 2012, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(silentser @ May 23 2012, 01:38 AM) this is sure for all latest phone, google threw out the mass storage mood, because to do that it have to unmount the sd card, meaning cutting all connection to the phone, and this will cause unstable, you can still drag and drop using the MTP, no problem with that, and people confirm it will work on any windows computer. the only problem i see so far, you cant drag something that is not consider as multimedia such as .apk. you have to rename it to .mp3 then drag it, and rename it back in the phone izit? is the MTP in galaxy tab (HC 3.2) different from the MTP in S3? i can transfer .apk straight to the tab in MTP mode connected to pc.. Added on May 23, 2012, 8:27 amQUOTE(Tookia @ May 23 2012, 08:11 AM) Any special offers at launch? Wikipedia says, " USB On-The-Go, often abbreviated USB OTG, is a specification that allows USB devices such as digital audio players or mobile phones to act as a host allowing a USB flash drive, mouse, or keyboard to be attached and also connecting USB peripherals directly for communication purposes among them." Can ah? Will be awesome if SG3 can do all these things! S2 also can do so.. in fact, in one of the video i watch during the S3 launch, someone plugged in the OTG cable to control his 5D mark III camera as remote function, no issue.. This post has been edited by farscope: May 23 2012, 08:28 AM
farscope
May 23 2012, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 23 2012, 02:47 AM) 2199 is 16gb 32gb should be 2399 aiya just bring debit or credit card  but duno why i have a bad feeling that only 16gb will be available at launch.... btw, if use CC to purchase during the launch, will they charge additional 2% or 3% fee?
farscope
May 23 2012, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(ice666 @ May 23 2012, 11:28 AM) so not having mass storage mode is a good thing or not? i prefer to have this function like before on my S2, can drag n drop. so now need Kies to transfer file? i dont like worr. QUOTE(disasternero @ May 23 2012, 11:40 AM) sounds like dat..but dnt know yet..anyone can xplain bout it..? not true.. referring to the MTP in my GTab 10.1, i can still transfer files via drag and drop OR cut and paste.. no issues so far except for trying to edit information e.g. edit song title in properties. it will show as a device instead of a mass storage like USB pen drives. I don't see any major effect on the usability as i can still do the things i want with it. anyway, i only use it to transfer big files like movies or when transferring many songs into it. other than that, i will just use normal wireless transfer, ftp or cloud storage. So, no issue. not to worry.
farscope
May 23 2012, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(game4life @ May 23 2012, 11:52 AM) but still at acceptable speed. not significantly slower.
farscope
May 23 2012, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(silentser @ May 23 2012, 11:58 AM) u sure about that? cause all i been reading it say MTP faster http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1023153lol.. then i need to go back and do proper testing first.. cz maybe i'm using a better pendrive.. i will a phone to compare then..
farscope
May 23 2012, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(aBcD-| @ May 23 2012, 02:46 PM) If it's 2099,perhaps telco will sell cheaper than 2k just like xperia s. Anyways,do we get wireless charging kit ? wireless charging kit not available until sept.. wont be included and have to buy separately.