Questions about Proton Saga FLX 1.3

dares
post May 19 2012, 07:32 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(SarahZurkanain @ May 19 2012, 07:23 PM)
My father bought a Proton Saga 1.3 FLX 2 months ago.
So far, not much problem had occured.
But anyhow, I'll list down the problems I encountered throughout my driving
- Check engine light is on sometimes and then goes off after a day or two (Sent the car for the checkup, and the guy said he can't find any problem though the light is still on and said they will checked more thoroughly during 1000km service.
- Noisy brakes at slow speed

But the main question is, does anyone know how to enable auto-luck function? (The doors will lock automatically if the lock button is not pressed within 30 seconds after you leave the car)
- Earlier, I remember the car has this function. But the Proton Guy told me that Saga FLX does not have this function. So I was dreaming before this? Idiot.
- I read this in the web somewhere that if you manually lock the car, it will disable the auto-lock function.
So how can I enable it back? Steps by steps please, I'm not good in cars.  tongue.gif

And there is SAT (Stepped Automatic Transmission) function for this car. All I know that it gives 6-gear feeling when the button is pressed.
May I know what is this button for? Will it help to save oil consumption? And WHEN should I use it?
Some said I should use it at the highway to save oil. Is this true?
On the issue of the alarm auto rearm, it does not auto arm after you leave the car, lest you leave your keys in the car.

The alarm will only auto rearm when you disarm it, but never open any of the doors, then it will auto rearm 30 seconds later. As son as you open any of the doors, it will not auto rearm.

The SAT does exactly what you described and nothing more. It does not improve fuel consumption or help you go uphill easier. Just stick with D.

Pls drop by the saga blm/flx thrad for more info.

This post has been edited by dares: May 19 2012, 07:33 PM
dares
post May 19 2012, 08:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(SarahZurkanain @ May 19 2012, 07:59 PM)
Thank you so much for the replies.
So I learned that SAT does nothing except that it is just to switch to 6-gear mode.

But guys, about the auto lock function, yes it is correct that it will auto lock after 30 seconds if you leave the car and the key is not in the ignition switch.
The problem is that, that auto lock function does not function anymore. When I get out of my car with my keys, closed all doors and waited for more than 30 seconds, it does not auto lock.

Any way to enable this? The Service Guy said that SAGA FLX does not have this function ==
Haiizz, pls read carefully again.

The alarm DOES NOT AUTOLOCK AFTER YOU LEAVE THE CAR.

It will only autolock if you disarm your car with your remote, but did not open any of the doors, then only it will autolock after 30 seconds.

If you open a door afte disarming the alarm, it will not autolock after closing the door.
dares
post May 20 2012, 08:30 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(SarahZurkanain @ May 20 2012, 05:07 AM)
Ohh, sorry that I didn't understand on that first answer, because I believe all this while the function works like that. But after neo1point3 and redshark_999's good explanation, I finally understand it.
Thanks neo1point 3 and redshark_999

And dares, chill! =)

Thanks to all who replied.

Salam 1Malaysia!
smile.gif smile.gif
dares
post May 21 2012, 01:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ May 21 2012, 10:32 AM)
about the check engine light, is it check engine@cvt light(the circle light like tyre)?

If u owned standard flx that non abs version, go reflash the tcu coz punch already updated the tcu software for non abs module. Previous, some being install with abs module causing some faulty signal sense by the sensor. Only branch sc provide with reflash service. The newer batch already updated with current version.

If not related, they shud check the trouble code for ecu but i think it is the tcu software. I think prtn already issue official letter to the owners. Hope this help.

About the brake, its depend, if the front, then the pad, if drumbrakes, they already doing countermeasure with vendors supplying the drum brakes n if finalised, the letter will be issue on that matter to replace the drum brakes on flx n flx se. Not all are effected but more than acceptable rate, so, futher investigation from rnd dept n send it to vendors to investigate. Normally on vendors part is the reason for the delay.
That's good to know, I'll be eargerly waiting for their letter...

QUOTE(mat79 @ May 21 2012, 10:32 AM)
the question will raise why is the action is slow? Well, not talking behalf of anyone, but the thing works like this. The new policy in prtn, when a batch is affected, the whole batch will be called back n being replaced the parts even to those that not having the problems. So, vendors have to bear all the cost, so, the will investigate thoroughly to prove that it is in tolerance. Not the whole batch. Every tiny things will be inspect to search for the fault, n make sure it wont reoccur again.

Previously, the changes is only for those affected@have problems, but since exora onwards, the whole batch will be replaced with new one even those are not effected as safety measure the things wont reoccur, even its only involve the sound.

Thats why it is important to service at branch sc if can coz the data will be send to hq and will be cumulated. If send to 3rd party like dealers, it wont be in the systems, so, only a minor report on affected unit.

I service at outside authorised SCs, but all my claims (my 3 set of drumbrakes, headlamp etc.) are done either at Branch or COE. That shouldn't be any problem right?

This post has been edited by dares: May 21 2012, 01:17 PM
dares
post May 21 2012, 01:43 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ May 21 2012, 01:38 PM)
sorry dares, not explains details enough. What i mean is when u do complaints, normally during service, its better at branch sc coz the complaint will directly link to hq. And easier to claim parts coz dealers, they are quite limited authorithy in claiming parts coz there have been some cases before where dealers claim for customers, but not change it, but sell it to others. So, customers run amok coz thought part being replaced with new one, but stated given part rosak where the irresponsible sc doing the ....

For servicing, its ok, just remebered to get the stamp everytime servicing as proof.
So as long as I claim my warranties at branch and not authorised SC, then it is OK right?

Cheers, DSZ thumbup.gif
dares
post Sep 25 2012, 10:46 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Sep 25 2012, 10:27 PM)
dont they have the checklist what items need to be checked? then the customer need to sign to verify that everything is okay?
IME those checklist are very basic, eg. Engine number, chassis number, accesories, etc. etc.

You might also wanna check the engine and gearbox fluids, power steering fluids, brake fluids, radio (bring pendrive and bluetooth device if supported), power windows, lights, power wing mirrors, handbrake, alarm, wipers, bootlid, fuelcap lid, battery terminals tightened etc. etc.
dares
post Sep 25 2012, 10:53 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(M_T_J @ Sep 25 2012, 10:51 PM)
wow.. Thanks.. I really didn't know that.. Just now I was talking to one of my friends and he told me that you have to check exactly the same way you check when buying a used car sad.gif.. What's the point of buying a new car if can't trust sad.gif
Not all new cars are made perfect. Let alone a Proton car.

WHen I was collecting my FLX SE, I brought a 2 page long list in my tablet and showed it to my SA. Can't decide his reaction was "surprised" or "displeased" laugh.gif
dares
post Sep 26 2012, 12:24 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(M_T_J @ Sep 25 2012, 11:02 PM)
I would love to have a look at that list.. I may use it as well smile.gif
Delete jor already blush.gif

The one suggested by megat works as well smile.gif blush.gif
dares
post Sep 7 2016, 11:49 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(simon4924 @ Sep 7 2016, 11:16 PM)
Help ... My saga blm when I driving engine light sometime come out and sometime no light .. What is the problem .. Any sifu can help me.
Send to service center to check the fault code.

The engine light only indicate something is wrong, and there a hundreds of possibilities.

0.0198sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:51 AM