LYN swimming thread V3

NicoRobinz
post Mar 6 2017, 05:54 PM

458 posts

Has anyone been to bandar tun razak swimming pool?

Many pro swimmers there? I do not know how to swim at all and feel shy going there just to buat malu.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 9 2017, 08:51 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Mar 7 2017, 05:03 PM)
Brother, there is no such of things feeling shy or malu start from beginner. You pay money, they also pay money come to swimming, so just enjoy it.  thumbup.gif
Can guys wear swimming shirt at public swimming pool?

I have never seen anyone wear one so im still thinking whether to bring along. Im quite thin, nothing impressive to show other than flabby body.

Hope my body will look better after this. How many times do you swim in a week?
NicoRobinz
post Mar 10 2017, 10:56 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Mar 10 2017, 09:14 AM)
Yes, you can wear swimming shirt. I swim 2 - 3 days per week, each day around 1 - 2 hours.

1. Slow swim 200m for warming up body.
2. Doing drills.
3. swim 5 x 200m or 10 x 100m with Finis Tempo Trainer Pro.
4. Slow swim 200m for warming down body.

I swim very very slow, because my focus only for healthy. The point is I don't care about what people looks at me at all, just enjoy my swim.  thumbup.gif
At least you can swim. tongue.gif

I do not know how to swim at all. Watched some videos on youtube so i'm planning to try them out, haha. Last week i asked my friend to go with me so that i dont feel shy but he ditched me last minute mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
NicoRobinz
post Mar 13 2017, 02:26 PM

458 posts

Swimming isn't as easy as I thought. Kept sinking in the pool on my last try.

BTW, bandar tun razak swimming pool seems to be a little too deep for me sad.gif
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 09:16 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(~Joey~ @ Mar 14 2017, 05:40 PM)
To be frank, BTR pool is considered the shallowest olympic pool that I have been to lolz (PJ Palms should be the deepest at 5 meter)...

Try sticking to the side of the pool around deep area so you can hold on to the side when you feel like sinking... Swim at the side all the time and most importantly, don't panic... Everything will be alright if you are able to control your breathing accordingly biggrin.gif
Guess it's never good to be short cry.gif

I was at the side of the pool for the whole time because I can't swim. I stood in the pool with tip of my toes, lols.

Btw, can people stay aloft in the pool without touching the ground?

This post has been edited by NicoRobinz: Mar 15 2017, 09:17 AM
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 09:44 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 09:41 AM)
ya sure ! slowly u will learn this "skill" when u swim more ...
like people playing water polo ...  rclxms.gif
LOL, you know what?

I always thought they were standing in the pool sweat.gif
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 09:53 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 09:48 AM)
hahahha .. i have a same tot before ..
but then after i join swimming club during my college time and join senior for water polo .. then i realize ..  sweat.gif
how long have you been swimming? Must be pretty good in swimming since you can play water polo.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 10:01 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 09:57 AM)
erm ... not really need to be good in swimming to play water polo .. (im not those competition ppl, just fun game) ..
as long u wont sink and able to swim then you are good to go ...

how long i swim ... ermm ... my sister teach me swim when i form 1 (now im 30 years old uncle already ..  cry.gif ).. so till now i know breast stoke jerrr ...
want to learn freestyle very much .. still self learning ... (ya .. still learning .. unable to swim in freestyle also ..  cry.gif )
30 years old is still very young especially for guys.

Well, i'm targeting to learn freestyle for my very first swimming stroke. Actually, what stroke is easiest to learn?
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 10:12 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 10:06 AM)
i will say breast stroke ... cause my sister just teach me how to kick and how to crawl .. then everything self learn ...
ya .. normally i will see how people swim then try to imitate ..  tongue.gif
slowly then can swim ..
but free style ..  till now still not kick well but at least have improvement (ya .. it moving ... slowly .. )

luckily nowadays have youtube .. so can see from youtube .. last time no youtube then need see how people swim at the pool ..
haha, that's what i did looking at others how to swim. when they noticed i was looking at them, i quickly looked away and changed target. It was very awkward.

I have learned some technique on youtube but is yet to try them out. hopefully, it will work.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 10:23 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 10:17 AM)
hahahha ... me too ..
my advice is .. keep practice and keep practice ...
try find more friend and swim with you la .. maybe u can get some idea and he/she might able to help you in swimming ..
and swim with friend is more fun ..
not many friends are interested in swimming. they are more to body building like going to gym which i think is super overrated. Managed to find a friend but he ditched me about 1 hour before we promised to meet at the entrance of the swimming complex. vmad.gif

most probably i will go to swim alone from now on. Very tired of 'begging' others to go.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 11:54 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 10:54 AM)
hahahaha ... i tue, thurs is body building (my company have gym room provided) ...
then mon is cardio, Wednesday is swimming day (manage to "lao" my colleague swim and he only available that day ) .. 

ya ... try to lose some weight ..
Never get the idea of building their bodies to musclemen like The Rock. Not to mention some of them failed and become fat men. doh.gif

IMO, having a body shape like a swimmer is more than enough and look more balance. I'm still looking for friends to go with me but just not as aggressive as before. I will probably ask and if you want to come, you come. if dunwan then nvm.

Wasted two weeks waiting for my friends to go with me and last last none of them appeared.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 15 2017, 12:20 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 15 2017, 12:01 PM)
luckily im not toward "the rock" ..  bruce.gif 
just to build some muscle la cause i was a very skinny type guys .. now have abit muscle look ok abit .. if not kinda nerd ..  smile.gif

hahahaha ... maybe u can meet some friend at pool too ...
cause always saw the same person in the pool then sometime just say hi .. slowly become swimming friend ..  thumbup.gif
where do you swim? so far i have only visited bandar tun razak swimming complex. The facility is quite bad with very poor maintenance. Changing rooms dont even have a hanger and i had to put my bag on the floor

planning to visit chin woo swimming pool.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 19 2017, 09:07 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 19 2017, 10:04 AM)
Haha i been pro swim breastroke and freestyle since standard 4 but retired since 5 years ago laugh.gif doh.gif
4 me breast stroke actually laugh.gif freestyle took me 1 year of practice only can doh.gif
Hahahaha you see how far technology has come then
Ouch doh.gif swimming susah cuz need 2 sunbathing outdoor but gym got air con ma and indoor and so more cun larh doh.gif
sorry to say this, but many malaysians are quite lazy
NicoRobinz
post Mar 19 2017, 09:10 PM

458 posts

sifus out there, any tips for beginner like me who doesn't know how to swim at all?

I'm planning to swim regularly but bandar tun razak swimming complex is a bit too deep for me. I felt anxious whenever I tried to walk in the swimming pool as if i was going to lose balance and fall.

Is there any way to learn in this circumstance?

This post has been edited by NicoRobinz: Mar 19 2017, 09:10 PM
NicoRobinz
post Mar 20 2017, 09:01 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(Chips556 @ Mar 19 2017, 10:23 PM)
Use a board, swim near rope/wall or learn backstroke, for me I swim in PJ Palms and sometimes when I'm out of breath swimming free cannot just stop because the water quite deep so I just lay on my back and slowly kick towards wall or lane rope, but board not that practical, best is learn back/swim near rope/wall so if need to stop can just stop
actually, is it possible for us stay aloft in the middle of swimming pool without touching the ground?

I also heard that fat people can float better than those who are small sized in built like me.
NicoRobinz
post Mar 20 2017, 12:57 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 20 2017, 12:35 PM)
Like me laugh.gif fat and huge size flex.gif
huge size is ok. Fat, at least you can slim down. small sized like me want to get taller sad.gif
NicoRobinz
post Mar 20 2017, 02:08 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Mar 20 2017, 01:42 PM)
Hi, there. If you can go Bandar Tun Razak, why not try go to Kampung Pandan Dswim Academy. If I'm not mistake the pool half 25m depth is 5', the another half will be 6 - 10'. It is enough for you to practice you swim. biggrin.gif
wah, you are very hardcore. it's not wrong to call you sifu because you even know the depths of the swimming pools in different places.
NicoRobinz
post Aug 7 2017, 10:36 AM

458 posts

it's not easy to find a good swimming pool,

Bandar tun razak swimming complex is too crowded sad.gif
NicoRobinz
post Jan 12 2018, 08:11 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 12 2018, 12:53 AM)
How's your progress?

I consider myself quarter-pro. I can swim 30 x 50m freestyle non stop in under 40mins (won't break any record, i know). Believe me, those pros won't even notice you. Their attention is probably set on other pros due to competitive nature.

When i was a noob, i felt shy too. It was like everyone would be looking at me.
I have stopped going for quite some time.

I dont know but i feel that pool is a bit too deep for me. I'm only 165 and it's hardly to find a public pool that is suitable for my height.

At least let me be able to stand on the ground first to learn the basic.

I learnt how to swim a bit but not to breathing technique. Need to take a very deep breathe and swim as fast as i can.
NicoRobinz
post Jan 29 2018, 02:31 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Jan 29 2018, 01:35 PM)
I was like you when I started swimming, in fact I started abit late for my age... but nevermind, although i went for swimming lessons, the most I got out of was actually swimming at a public pool.
Most lessons only taught you some of the necessary skills, but to hone them, you need to visit pool more often. In fact, I decided to stay at deeper pool, just stayed close to the edge before I learned proper swimming. After all many shallow pools were packed with crowds, you couldn't really learn much, oh and I am about your height.. 
Anyway, the more you fear, the slower you learned... so when I learned the basics, I focus only on how to overcome the fear first before thinking about getting good at swimming and breathing technique... When I became comfortable with the depth (at pool of cos), like find out about water treading my own, it was much easier for me to start moving from the edge to middle lanes, that's when you have the time to really think about your mistakes or even spent more time underwater to feel the fluid and how you interact with it etc...
I have stopped for almost 2 years+ after done with the swimming lessons (occasionally did it once every few months in between), only until recently I started to go back to swimming once a week on Saturday night at Matsushita stadium, at time I know most people probably out clubbing or gathering nod.gif 
manage to always get my own lane so I can practice swimming back and forth with no one getting in the way and find out what I did wrong.
Another closest is 3K near USJ Summit... for PJ, only those two you mentioned... the rest is either in KL, Bandar Tun Razak or bukit jalil or even further putra jaya... Anyway, these were the pools I knew when I was learning swimming and out looking for decent pools to train 3 years back, may be there is a new public pool somewhere in Klang valley I do not know of...
I heard there's a pool that is quite shallow (1.6 meter) at bukit jalil.

is it true?

0.0532sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:28 AM