LYN swimming thread V3

MasBoleh!
post Jun 28 2018, 11:48 AM

3,599 posts

Help! I need advice.

I have been learning for swimming for more than 6 months.

I know how to swim breaststroke (not very good, docy leg part got problem) and freestyle.

But my coach told me that my body is very stiff and the bottom half of my body is sinking downward. Hence making me keep on like trying to float out and grasping for air.

I am do gym and train karate on weekday and swimming on weekend. Is this the reason why my body is stiff and caused my bottom half to sink downward?

Other than that, I also find that my stamina aka breath is not that good, very fast run out of air...

Need advice. Thank you
MasBoleh!
post Jun 30 2018, 01:58 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Vincentccw @ Jun 28 2018, 07:21 PM)
Yeah it is always the case the body being stiff when u just starting to learn proper breastroke. It is normal for ur leg to sink, especially if u are an athletic.
Ur bottom half sink is because of your leg muscle, that being said the more muscular you are you sink is higher.

You can further prove this by kicking ur leg away from the pool wall and without doing anything ur leg will sink but upper body remain afloat, and you ask another chubby person to do the same their whole body will float even without any kicking. Another good example is baby, their whole body will just float by itself.

For people who have sinking leg you have to counter it by kicking it from time to time, which is the hardest part in breastroke. Once you master it the rest should be easy.

You run out of breath is mostly because you panic while you are in the water, as time goes you will get use to it. Partly because you are not use to the water pressure when your body is surrounded by water.
1. How to make my body less stiff?

2. Mind elaborating this part? “For people who have sinking leg, you have to counter it by kicking it from time to time?

3.i see. Because I noticed when I open my mouth to breath, I didn’t actually suck in much air.

Nevertheless, thank you so much !
MasBoleh!
post Jul 16 2018, 12:06 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Vincentccw @ Jul 1 2018, 03:13 PM)
1. This is more about getting used to and relaxing your body in the water. It is mostly about the techniques as time goes you will get the hang of it.

2. Yes you will have to kick your leg from time to time to keep you floating. What I normally do is is whenever I just wanted to stay afloat and on the water and not swimming, my leg would eventually sinks and whole body will be in a slanted position, to avoid this i will kick my legs so that my body returns to horizontal position, and keep repeating it. If you are swimming from one end to another you have to kick your leg anyway.

3. That have to do with timing yourself, if you timed yourself to have 0.5s to catch breath then make sure you suck in as much air as possible and exhale slowly in the water, when you ran out then repeat the same. One advice is do not hold your breath while you are in the water. The extra CO2 will drain your body and also have less time to breath in. The breathing out phase is always in the water and not outside. Let's say you allocate yourself 0.5sec to breath in, but if you are holding your breath and only breath in and out while your face is outside the water within 0.5 sec then is even harder for you to catch more air into your lungs.
1. You are right ! I spoke to my coach.. and he told me that because i am not used to the water, hence my body stiffness.

2. Noted.. but then i realize that when i swim.. my lower legs muscle kept on cramped. Sometime the feet also... how to solve this?

And what to do during muscle cramping? Don't wanna drown sweat.gif I asked my coach.. he can't answer that doh.gif

3. Noted.. Thank you very much sifu.

4. 1 more question, my office hour until 6pm. I plan to go swimming after office hour, so the question is shall I eat 1st bfore i start swimming? Because after swimming normally 7-8pm.. then only eat.. or even worst.. reach home 9pm then only eat.. a bit late hmm.gif What do you think? any advice?

Thank you
MasBoleh!
post Aug 3 2018, 04:49 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Aug 3 2018, 04:12 PM)
As I know - yes. Actually wearing swimming cap is good, try it and become a good habits.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(johny2k @ Aug 3 2018, 04:27 PM)
For question 4:

- I do suggest swim after having your dinner about an hour later, do not swim with empty stomach, this will harm your body.
- Just eat some protein food (whole eggs, fish, chicken breast, boiled potatoes....) after your swim.

wish you happy swimming,  cool2.gif
Thank you so much 😊

But why wearing the cap is good?

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Aug 3 2018, 04:50 PM
MasBoleh!
post Aug 5 2018, 03:29 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Aug 4 2018, 09:07 AM)
1. Hygiene.
2. Less water drag on your head position.
3. Looks like more professional,  tongue.gif
Thank you biggrin.gif
MasBoleh!
post Sep 3 2018, 02:18 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(waikit86 @ Sep 1 2018, 03:28 PM)
I think one of the reason is that you may not engage your core muscles (abs).. many ppl thought your leg must constantly kicking so that it won't sink, but that's half.
Engage your abs all the time to straighten your body posture, and keep your hips high.
We don't just kick with legs, it often starts from our hips... and butterfly it may start all the way from chest (f not mistaken), and hips definitely.
So don't forget to engage your abs and hips!
My thought only la, i'm not a coach, and I have been swimming only for 2 months, but able to do all the  strokes. Somemore I may have mild asthma or near to asthma, but I don't have asthma!
i see. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Let me try to google and see what does engage my core muscles means. Sorry that I don't really get it..in this context.

Still thank you notworthy.gif
MasBoleh!
post Sep 6 2018, 09:35 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Sep 6 2018, 10:04 AM)
For core muscles engage, there is one trick can do - extend your armpit move forward, not extend your hand move forward. Try it out,  tongue.gif
wah..interesting. Extend my armpit.. hmm...i try and see although i got no idea what is it.

Thank you so much notworthy.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 20 2022, 02:37 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Keong95 @ Oct 19 2022, 03:40 PM)
Do more stretching before and after swim.
its normal for your body to be stiff because u said that u do gym.

Swimmer have flexible body. have you see any pro swimmer are as fit as those that workout at gym ?
Thank you so much for the kind insight

0.0459sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:21 PM