LYN swimming thread V3

hianz86
post Aug 16 2012, 06:54 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 16 2012, 06:44 PM)
when you kick, try to put your head down, check if your knee is bending? (a little is ok to support downwards motion), is your hip sinking? are you kick high enuff to create a little wave?

I mean look back with your head down (blow bubble to avoid water entering your nose)
good one. Heheh, neva really look at how my feet look like. gotta try it tomorrow. Thanks for the hint Sky.Live thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Sky.Live
post Aug 16 2012, 08:03 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Aug 16 2012, 06:54 PM)
good one. Heheh, neva really look at how my feet look like. gotta try it tomorrow. Thanks for the hint Sky.Live  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
haha tht's what i do when i do kicking drills, since cheapskate dont have under water camera.. tht's it lor..
samquah
post Aug 17 2012, 09:18 AM

603 posts

swimming bad for health?

http://sovereign-tech.com/home/why-swimmin...a-health-hazard
Sky.Live
post Aug 17 2012, 12:05 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Aug 17 2012, 09:18 AM)
Seating in front of your computer carries even much more health hazard, your body posture, itb, eye sight, possible radiation..

On a side note i just realise the website sells ozonise technology, offcourse they will condemn chlorine pool.. Bukit Jalil pool is using ozonisation filterisation, they still add in chlorine tho, lesser maybe.. at least my skin doesn't feels that dry swimming there

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Aug 17 2012, 12:14 PM
samquah
post Aug 23 2012, 10:20 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 17 2012, 12:05 PM)
Seating in front of your computer carries even much more health hazard, your body posture, itb, eye sight, possible radiation..

On a side note i just realise the website sells ozonise technology, offcourse they will condemn chlorine pool..  Bukit Jalil pool is using ozonisation filterisation, they still add in chlorine tho, lesser maybe.. at least my skin doesn't feels that dry swimming there
wat size normelly to buy swimming trunks? the tight shorts type?

L size fits pretty lose for waist 32

ericling
post Aug 23 2012, 11:33 AM

323 posts

Hi guys, never know there is such thread like this exist before! But I am a swimming lover biggrin.gif
I am finding a new goggles, any Swedish Goggles owner here?
And any good swimming equipment shop near Klang area?
KvinC
post Aug 27 2012, 11:55 PM

103 posts

hi, would like to ask if 3k Complex have locker, and hows the condition thr?
Sky.Live
post Aug 28 2012, 10:04 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

haha i just read 1 article that the best way to improve your swim is to swim as many times as possible. But I have not been swimming for the past 2 weeks =(
ben9103
post Aug 30 2012, 05:44 PM

30 posts

need a swimming lesson..feel free to pm me..im a beginner..=(
wenzhenzhen
post Aug 31 2012, 04:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(KvinC @ Aug 27 2012, 11:55 PM)
hi, would like to ask if 3k Complex have locker, and hows the condition thr?
The condition is good but i didnt put my things in the locker. The swimming pool got cctv camera,so dun worry. I like the pool but hate water which is freezing cold. LOL

Added on August 31, 2012, 4:23 pmAnyone having an idea in choosing goggles? I bought ogival brand 10 yrs agowhich UV protected and it is suitable when i use in indoor swimming pool. If i use it at outdoor pool,it will shine n distract me frm swimming. How? Should i buy another new goggles with protective screen with it?

This post has been edited by wenzhenzhen: Aug 31 2012, 04:23 PM
HelloTan86
post Sep 1 2012, 01:10 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Jun 7 2012, 12:54 AM)
May i knowHow many ppl can u flash in?me n timetraveller would luv to join u swimming in the evening
can I join too? either chin woo or times square... heheh

but, weekend can arr??
timetravelller
post Sep 3 2012, 08:05 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Aug 31 2012, 04:17 PM)
The condition is good but i didnt put my things in the locker. The swimming pool got cctv camera,so dun worry. I like the pool but hate water which is freezing cold. LOL

Added on August 31, 2012, 4:23 pmAnyone having an idea in choosing goggles? I bought ogival brand 10 yrs agowhich UV protected and it is suitable when i use in indoor swimming pool. If i use it at outdoor pool,it will shine n distract me frm swimming. How? Should i buy another new goggles with protective screen with it?
urs 1 should be completely transparent right? try to get those a little dark 1 should be fine.. if u had been to TS pool, u will know what is the real freezing.. 3k pool temperature stil ok..
wenzhenzhen
post Sep 3 2012, 09:49 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Sep 3 2012, 08:05 AM)
urs 1 should be completely transparent right? try to get those a little dark 1 should be fine.. if u had been to TS pool, u will know what is the real freezing.. 3k pool temperature stil ok..
Yeap. Lol. Didnt try TS pool b4. How much is the entrance fees to swim there??
noobiejosh
post Sep 3 2012, 01:45 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Sep 3 2012, 09:49 AM)
Yeap. Lol. Didnt try TS pool b4. How much is the entrance fees to swim there??
When we all gonna go swim ah? ^^
Someone organize an event yo! =)
senyii
post Sep 3 2012, 04:09 PM

519 posts

TS no entrance fee required...but u need access card to go in
GymBoi
post Sep 3 2012, 07:48 PM

1,401 posts

Anyone swim at PJ Palms before ? nearby Amcorp Mall ... wondering how is it there ...
samquah
post Sep 6 2012, 12:52 PM

603 posts

is it ok to just swim breast stroke?
i feel a bit bored and hard to get tired when doing breast stroke after stamina improved a lot

still cannot master freestyle
hawk123
post Sep 6 2012, 05:31 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 8 2012, 10:56 AM)
Izzit good idea to have consistent left and right hand stroke?
I realise that my left arm have better pull although my dominant hand is actually right.
I think it's related to my dominant right side breathing that cause my right hand to pull differently..

Now trying to swim bilateral all the way during training, swim one side during race.
After water entry you suppose to drop your elbow, i always fail to do that, causing a less powerful pull
It's not necessary to hv consistent left and right breathing when you're in competition.
The reason why the coaches encourage swimmers to breath left and right side is to make the swimmers hv a better sense of its body position and hand strokes in the water.
All swimmers will get used to breath one side better than the other, but good swimmers hv at least not so much different in either side breathing skill.

And it's very wrong to drop your elbow after your hands enter the water.
To swim more efficiently, swimmers like to maintain the high elbow positions.
A lot of ppl mistaken that high elbow position is maintained during the recovery.
But, it's not very true.
High elbow position should be kept in the water too.
If you go to Youtube watch those olympic swimmers' video, you're going to notice that their hands are almost perpendicular to their bodies.
This explains why the swimmers hv big latissimus muscle.
Freestyle and butterfly use a lot of energy from this muscle.
PhakFuhZai
post Sep 6 2012, 09:28 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

anyone go Bkt Jalil pool recently?
Sky.Live
post Sep 6 2012, 10:24 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Sep 3 2012, 07:48 PM)
Anyone swim at PJ Palms before ? nearby Amcorp Mall ... wondering how is it there ...
I just went yesterday night, decent pool but public can only use un-laned pool, had 2 times head on collision with someone.. used to swim unidirection in bukit jalil

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 6 2012, 12:52 PM)
is it ok to just swim breast stroke?
i feel a bit bored and hard to get tired when doing breast stroke after stamina improved a lot

still cannot master freestyle
slowly adapter then, everyday a bit soon u will achieve something.
I got bored with free style lately also, doing some breast stroke and back stroke..

QUOTE(hawk123 @ Sep 6 2012, 05:31 PM)
It's not necessary to hv consistent left and right breathing when you're in competition.
The reason why the coaches encourage swimmers to breath left and right side is to make the swimmers hv a better sense of its body position and hand strokes in the water.
All swimmers will get used to breath one side better than the other, but good swimmers hv at least not so much different in either side breathing skill.

And it's very wrong to drop your elbow after your hands enter the water.
To swim more efficiently, swimmers like to maintain the high elbow positions.
A lot of ppl mistaken that high elbow position is maintained during the recovery.
But, it's not very true.
High elbow position should be kept in the water too.
If you go to Youtube watch those olympic swimmers' video, you're going to notice that their hands are almost perpendicular to their bodies.
This explains why the swimmers hv big latissimus muscle.
Freestyle and butterfly use a lot of energy from this muscle.
Thank you for your explanation, i watched a lot of youtube video, sometimes explanation does need to complement with a lot of self exploring also.. I think high elbow simply means palm below elbow all the time..

It's actually quite hard to maintain the perpendicular with body, you need a very flexible shoulder..

I have problem of consistency.. sometimes can catch better sometimes now.. Trying to counter this by swimming a lot times in a week, do drills before swim. break down swim into shorter distance and emphasize on strokes..

My bilateral improved a lot, i can do it non stop now, just cant do in when I sprint tho, will run out of breath after 50m..

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Sep 6 2012, 09:28 PM)
anyone go Bkt Jalil pool recently?
I just went 3 hrs ago..

81 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:13 AM