The Hardcore Enthusiast Thread, Up for the challenge?

TSJer
post May 18 2012, 06:21 PM, updated 14y ago

138 posts

I presume most veteran players from the Diablo franchise know of this mode.
I've yet to see a Hardcore discussion thread hence I'm creating one for discussion.
Feel free to post your thoughts, builds, tips and strategy on how to conquer the game in all difficulty modes without dying even once. Players who are new to Diablo may not even know about Hardcore mode. If you're curious and ready for the ultimate challenge then read on..

What is Hardcore?

A player may create a Hardcore character - the true test of the player's skills.
A Hardcore character is the same as a normal character except for the following:

When a Hardcore character dies, the game ends and you cannot simply reload your last save point because the character is gone forever.
When a Hardcore character dies, they are not removed from the Character Selection Screen, instead remaining there as a robed figure (as pictured) to remind players of their loss until the character is deleted by the player.
Only the Items the Character has worn can be looted by other players (if the player has allowed this before the character died). In effect, the game treats you like a mortal human being rather than the semi-immortal non-Hardcore characters, accordingly called Softcore by Hardcore players.
Hardcore characters are displayed in a more aggressive pose in the Character Selection Screen, depicting their tense state of play.
Hardcore characters get different Titles for beating the game.
Other than these, there are no other differences in gameplay terms. Dead hardcore characters will even retain whatever position on the Hardcore Ladder they may have achieved (albeit with their names in gray) until they have been surpassed by enough other players to knock them off of the Ladder. Hardcore mode is regarded by many as a more realistic playing experience.

Hardcore mode
Diablo III gives players the choice to make hardcore characters, similar to Diablo II. Players are required to first level up a regular character to level 10 before they have the option to create new Hardcore characters. Hardcore characters cannot be resurrected; instead they become permanently unplayable if they are killed. They also do not have access to the real-world money auction house. Hardcore mode is intended for experienced players who enjoy the additional thrill of having only a single virtual life. Hardcore characters are separately ranked, their names are highlighted with a different color (red) and they can only form teams with other hardcore characters. After dying, the ghost of a hardcore character can still chat, the name still shows up in rankings, but the character cannot return to the game.

cr: diablo wiki

jeremy_yee
post May 18 2012, 06:28 PM

175 posts

Sudden drop in your intenet ping your character is dead forever. Should wait till the server is more stable?
TSJer
post May 18 2012, 06:34 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ May 18 2012, 06:28 PM)
Sudden drop in your intenet ping your character is dead forever. Should wait till the server is more stable?
I know that dying in HC due to lag is not the most awesome feeling but for now it's still fun nonetheless. Gotta agree that most people would wait until the server stabilizes before even venturing into Hardcore. I'm not sure if the US people are experiencing the same inconsistency in latency as us though.
Instant_noodle
post May 18 2012, 06:39 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Jer @ May 18 2012, 06:34 PM)
I know that dying in HC due to lag is not the most awesome feeling but for now it's still fun nonetheless. Gotta agree that most people would wait until the server stabilizes before even venturing into Hardcore. I'm not sure if the US people are experiencing the same inconsistency in latency as us though.

server stabilized doesn't mean internut stabilized

one drop in your internut ping due to certain maintenance done on other area that doesn't relate to your area (say u in kl, and the reported maintenance is in Kuching) your character is dead forever. Should wait till the internut service provider is more stable?

OH WAI-
TSJer
post May 18 2012, 06:52 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ May 18 2012, 06:39 PM)
server stabilized doesn't mean internut stabilized

one drop in your internut ping due to certain maintenance done on other area that doesn't relate to your area (say u in kl, and the reported maintenance is in Kuching) your character is dead forever. Should wait till the internut service provider is more stable?

OH WAI-
We are all aware this might happen at some point during our gaming. Sadly, this could just be the main reason that deters most players to even try HC. It's nice to know how many achievements you can obtain in HC.

memphiz_zero88
post May 19 2012, 04:22 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

i will play HC when the server is more stable. last night die multiple times just because of lag shakehead.gif
TSJer
post May 19 2012, 04:42 PM

138 posts

Same here. I've stop HC for awhile. The lag is just unbearable now.
Hornet
post May 19 2012, 04:52 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ May 18 2012, 06:28 PM)
Haha, I was going to say the same thing

Just died again just now when the pot did not activate in time due to lag. Ping bar was red sweat.gif

0.0167sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:24 AM