PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V23 - Dead or Alive!

dnax
post May 25 2012, 03:27 PM

Dear Sifus,

I have been reading a few of the past forums to see if I can locate info/answers on the following:

1. Why does the FL/FLX not have an engine cover?

2. Is it possible to fix one?

Apologies if this has been answered - but I cannot find the answers through Google - if you would know where, please direct me.

Thanks again,
D
dnax
post May 25 2012, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 25 2012, 03:30 PM)

Dear Sifus,

I have been reading a few of the past forums to see if I can locate info/answers on the following:

1. Why does the FL/FLX not have an engine cover?
-ask proton.

2. Is it possible to fix one?
-huai not?

Apologies if this has been answered - but I cannot find the answers through Google - if you would know where, please direct me.

Thanks again,
D
If I could get a straight answer from Proton why would I bother asking here?

This post has been edited by dnax: May 25 2012, 03:35 PM
dnax
post May 25 2012, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 25 2012, 03:35 PM)
u tot that im making a fun of u now la? hmm.gif
Apologies - but it kind of sounds that way.
dnax
post May 25 2012, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 25 2012, 03:39 PM)
not everyone in lyn is a troll. mind u if u wanna ask here, u better not shoot all the way before u get the proper answer. i so baik ati reply u, u macam shoot me for trolling u. shakehead.gif
Like I said, apologies if I came off rude - but the answers you provided (though baik ati - Thank you very much) are not answers at all.

Of course I asked Proton - most SC and Sales people don't seem to know - I heard all sort of things like cut cost - reduce heat etc - cover design tak cantik. Not a lot of it makes sense. Their helpline - waste of time. So asking here is almost my last resort as I expected over here there are the experts that know much much more.

dnax
post May 25 2012, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 25 2012, 03:48 PM)
so if we were to conclude, maybe that time shortage of cover, or cut cost. just that particular model or batch doesnt have that cover. even the cvt i think also dun have. we do not know how come as we also are end-users. members go to SC to buy their own covers too. ur question should particularly forward to the designers of proton, not us. if u ask why got airbag or not, that we might get to guess the answer, but for engine cover, still have to ask proton. no?

if my answers are not the answers u want, then nvm. notworthy.gif
notworthy.gif
Like I said, thanks for providing answers. Unfortunately, I was trying to get something more concrete. I will continue to look and if I find anything concrete worth sharing with everyone here, then I will also add it here.

Thanks again.
D
dnax
post May 25 2012, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2012, 04:20 PM)
i thought so too, but campro I smile.gif AFM+ also refers to the whole engine setup. As far as I know, for 1.6, the IAFM+ variant has reprofiled cams, so it gets higher torque at lower RPM, but lower max hp compared to 1.6 IAFM. Not sure about 1.3 IAFM+.

So its not just a simple rev cut as you said  smile.gif

Added on May 25, 2012, 4:22 pm

Engine cover is unnecessary, unless you want your engine to look good, otherwise it is functionally negligible.
Thanks - so there is not reason whatsoever for it to be removed by Proton, and therefore I can fit it with no issue on an FLX?

dnax
post May 25 2012, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 25 2012, 04:49 PM)
No one will ever gib you an answer. Howvever, here is something worth think about. Plotong start to plonk in prasstic cober since FIRA SE, then FAJA maCAMPRO, folo by latest batch of FERDANA V6. After that Plotong seems enjoying putting injin cober eberywhere.

So, if u r Tan Sri's relative, just started a prrrastic moulding komany and got bad business, u go ask Tan Sri favor. Then Tan Sri gib instraksyen to factory to gib business to your prrastic factory. Now ebibody got an engine cober regardless its applicable or not. FYI, rocker cover itself IS already the engine cover. With an extra prrastic cober, u warm up your rocker cover faster. With prrastic cober u able to kolek dust, so u can draw VTEC wordings on it eberyweek. More dust u kolek, more stable your car is.

Lately, Tan Sri dun fren u no more. Cut order & cut costs. No more dust koleksyen for FLX.

Ask me opinion, I'd rather Plotong offer opsyenal DISKAUN. Car price 45k, if dun wan prrastic cober instant rebet 1k! icon_idea.gif

1 fine day
Thanks - that is a very very interesting take on the topic. I am not sure what is a rocker cover. My concern is, without this plastic cover, the spark plug cable and points (where it connects to the plugs) are exposed. I don't see anything else cover that part.

Added on May 25, 2012, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2012, 04:50 PM)
Dunno wor, does the cover touch the IAFM module?

You come TT we cabut david mia "VTETEC" cover and try on your engine  brows.gif

Hahahah - Thanks for the offer - will definitely join when I can. How often do you guys meet up?

This post has been edited by dnax: May 25 2012, 05:03 PM
dnax
post May 25 2012, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ May 25 2012, 04:52 PM)
chill guys..

base why flx no cover ?

does want to differentiate the FLX and FL or CVT purpose or looks sporty or FLX engine produce more heat or the new iafm+ cover so big so they need to take out that thing, perhaps..

can we fix it ?

should be can..  you try buy from proton spareparts cover at shah alam.. and try fix it.. i dont think.. they must be something why proton take out that cover.. suspicious...

wonder why....................................................... hmmmmmmmmmmm
Just to be sure we are talking about the same thing (because some sifu mention rocker cover and I am not sure what is that) - the part circled red is the exposed part that concerns me. And the parts circled green I believe that can screw the cover. Not sure.

Thanks,
D

dnax
post May 25 2012, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ May 25 2012, 05:34 PM)
dnax,

are you mention the outside cover or rocker cover.. what you circle is rocker cover correct?

hahaha.. i blurr liao.. with flx masalah and work masalah.. really rofl...

orang tua tua cakap.. bukan saya cakap juga...

isi minyak and angin tayar kereta pagi or malam.. so tak panas kot!
Sorry I don't know whats it called - it's that big square plastic thing that cover all of it. Is that call rocker cover?

dnax
post May 25 2012, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(r3apers @ May 25 2012, 05:38 PM)
the rocker cover is the top mount cover for the engine.. u go google it if u still dont under stand..

rocker cover = valve cover = rocker boxers

correct me if i'm wrg~!

Cantik lah - that's the one I am refer to I guess - i know it's cosmetic but makes the car look "undressed" without it lah. OK now I know it called rocker cover. That one don't have, the part that I circle is exposed.
dnax
post May 25 2012, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2012, 05:54 PM)
Of course you have a rocker cover, that black cover on top of your engine is the rocker cover. The engine cover is a piece of plastic that goes on top your rocker cover.
Adoii I am wrong again - that means I am referring to Engine Cover and not rocker cover, correct?

0.0488sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:44 AM