125 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V23 - Dead or Alive!

V12Kompressor
post May 21 2012, 11:16 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(mr_boonez @ May 21 2012, 09:32 AM)
hi guys, any suggestion for good SC around Kota Kemuning/Shah Alam area? Is there any other good SC around besides COE? 

my FLX already 1100km. need to go for 1st service..hehe
Intan Matang at Sri Muda

cheap and friendly.

Added on May 21, 2012, 11:18 am
QUOTE(zeone @ May 21 2012, 10:13 AM)

Added on May 21, 2012, 10:21 amps. Me sympathise with all Bros hving drum brake probs.
Drum brakes are "ancient" tech. Frankly there shld b NO probs watsoever being very ole tested tech.
So only obvious reason is low quality item supplied by vendor!! For FLXs! Cos no such probs faced by BLMs/FLs.... sad.gif
BLM also facing drum brake jam issues so there's no escape from it.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: May 21 2012, 11:18 AM
lhwj
post May 21 2012, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 11:04 AM)
well, lhwj, this makes lot of senses. thumbup.gif
Don't get your hopes too high, it's merely a rumour tongue.gif

Here

DRB-HICOM has been cutting costs in all areas and has indicated that it would further rationalise vendors that Proton outsources from.

"That said, we see a long gestation period as this will involve revamping a supply chain of more than 250 vendors, with an estimated 32 of the Proton vendors being Tier 1 suppliers/system integrators, and the rest, tier 2 or tier 3 suppliers, supplying more than 4,000 components.

"We reckon the rationalisation of the vendor network alone could take at least a year, considering that new production lines also need to be set up," OSK said.

But this is contrary to the above article. Bummer.

This post has been edited by lhwj: May 21 2012, 11:31 AM
zeone
post May 21 2012, 12:20 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ May 21 2012, 11:16 AM)
....BLM also facing drum brake jam issues so there's no escape from it.
Oh?
So, a worse vendor for FLXs? sweat.gif sad.gif

ps. Sincerely hope there's hope (with better luck, too?) for some, if not most, of us.... tongue.gif
davidke20
post May 21 2012, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 09:57 AM)
nice one davidke20. rclxms.gif
davidke20 mentioned the brake issue happen every now and then shakehead.gif , which is a very annoying problem if i am on the car.  vmad.gif
this is the best comment/advice i've been looking for. not trying to complain proton, jz want to know the solution or new batch of saga with no such issues, of cos prefer the latter.
want to clarify something here: is releasing the hand brake tension able solve the drumbrake issue?!
what if i tend to own CVT auto which uses P to park & lock car tyre, so i wont very much relying on hand brake, right?
can the handbrake cable replaced? roughly how much it cost? will this solve the whole problem then?

again, thank davidke20 for comment.
lhwj got me right. cheers, bro. it just kinda annoying whenever u press the brake, sound come. isnt it a function of horn, instead of brake?!!! hahaha.... tongue.gif
Auto gear stuck at P to engage clutch brake. If you're at slope, great chance u spoil the clutch, and if it spoilt, you may find our car across the street, or worse if u @ Bt Ferringhi. Henbrek is utilize rubber to "giap" the metal, inorder to stop vehicle from moving,lease harm can do to the car. Even if u pull the car by force, the most it harm your tyre but that's it. So, don't try silly thing by apply "P" without henbrek brows.gif

The problem I encounter is NOT a case to case issue. Henbrek cable came in massive production, the designed is slightly over length(or the mounting of cable end not at the right place). To overcome this, redesign the cable/remount to the correct length. Will Plotong correct this in the long run? I don't think so. Their engineer rather keep their job to admit this tiny overlooked ERROR. Heard the brake cable actually share with PERSOGA also rclxms.gif but no problem with PERSOGA bcoz the length is correct. To customize a correct length cable will cost a bomb for any end user like u & me. Go ask those people who modify EG6 rear disc brake to ISWAGA, they have the exact same problem as us.

Previously I was so convinced with the brake pad issue, until my mech open up the drum found there are still very thick rubber in it, only we decided to release henbrek tension. Was originally thinking of add washer ring to the cable mounting to cheat a correct length, but thinking of after awhile when the brakepad makan nipis ady, the washer become loose & dancing, the metal rattling noise would make thing worse rclxms.gif For now, just go back to my mech & adjust henbrake, that will be next time when the brake start to make noise again icon_rolleyes.gif

On the side note, I think the brake thing really has to do with the driver. Numbnuts like me that always emergency brake tend to had it. Meanwhile, my colleague drove a FLX SE like makcik go pasar also kena blink.gif but the uncle at canteen driving a BLM like a lorry jual nasi lemak have no problem with his brake so far blink.gif 4 years now, 2nd set of brakepad. NEVER service at Plotong since new car. What can I say? If yong suey, be it Honga Aggord also got problem geh
kongjong
post May 21 2012, 12:38 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 21 2012, 12:22 PM)
Auto gear stuck at P to engage clutch brake. If you're at slope, great chance u spoil the clutch, and if it spoilt, you may find our car across the street, or worse if u @ Bt Ferringhi. Henbrek is utilize rubber to "giap" the metal, inorder to stop vehicle from moving,lease harm can do to the car. Even if u pull the car by force, the most it harm your tyre but that's it. So, don't try silly thing by apply "P" without henbrek brows.gif

The problem I encounter is NOT a case to case issue. Henbrek cable came in massive production, the designed is slightly over length(or the mounting of cable end not at the right place). To overcome this, redesign the cable/remount to the correct length. Will Plotong correct this in the long run? I don't think so. Their engineer rather keep their job to admit this tiny overlooked ERROR. Heard the brake cable actually share with PERSOGA also rclxms.gif but no problem with PERSOGA bcoz the length is correct. To customize a correct length cable will cost a bomb for any end user like u & me. Go ask those people who modify EG6 rear disc brake to ISWAGA, they have the exact same problem as us.

Previously I was so convinced with the brake pad issue, until my mech open up the drum found there are still very thick rubber in it, only we decided to release henbrek tension. Was originally thinking of add washer ring to the cable mounting to cheat a correct length, but thinking of after awhile when the brakepad makan nipis ady, the washer become loose & dancing, the metal rattling noise would make thing worse rclxms.gif For now, just go back to my mech & adjust henbrake, that will be next time when the brake start to make noise again icon_rolleyes.gif

On the side note, I think the brake thing really has to do with the driver. Numbnuts like me that always emergency brake tend to had it. Meanwhile, my colleague drove a FLX SE like makcik go pasar also kena blink.gif but the uncle at canteen driving a BLM like a lorry jual nasi lemak have no problem with his brake so far blink.gif 4 years now, 2nd set of brakepad. NEVER service at Plotong since new car. What can I say? If yong suey, be it Honga Aggord also got problem geh
still the best comment/advice, davidke20.
conclude: the auto P must acts together with handbrake. cheers.
agree that if the core problem is the design of handbrake cable, most probably proton wont go for designing a new one to suit saga flx as designing could cost a lots. unless DRBHCOM want it solved or it simply cos by quality of the drumbrake.

want to know any of you face dashboard making noise problem other than drumbrake issue? this is another common problem to saga flx. (from my research: drumbrake and dashboard sound occur to many saga). sweat.gif
zamanjaafar
post May 21 2012, 01:22 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

well, almost 3 weeks using my 1.3 flx and so far so good. but....

just one thing : sometimes when from P to R the gear stalk snaps in place proper, but the Reverse gear is not engaged. When i release the brake and press the accelerator it goes forward, likely in neutral or forward, but not R.

After reset to P and then R for either once or twice, only then it reverse as usual

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: May 21 2012, 01:23 PM
V12Kompressor
post May 21 2012, 01:25 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ May 21 2012, 01:22 PM)
well, almost 3 weeks using my 1.3 flx and so far so good.  but....

just one thing : sometimes when from P to R the gear stalk snaps in place proper, but the Reverse gear is not engaged.  When i release the brake and press the accelerator it goes forward, likely in neutral or forward, but not R.

After reset to P and then R for either once or twice, only then it reverse as usual
samalah, one FL also have this issue, I also had this issue sometimes. Only thing is cant claim from SC coz it only happens once in a blue moon.
kongjong
post May 21 2012, 01:29 PM

31 posts

just one thing : sometimes when from P to R the gear stalk snaps in place proper, but the Reverse gear is not engaged.  When i release the brake and press the accelerator it goes forward, likely in neutral or forward, but not R.

i experienced the same on the R gear while i tested drive the saga few weeks back.
i was thought i didnt shift the gear nicely that time, while the salesperson touched the gear (not sure he re-shifted or wat), then only i can reversed the car.
now only i know this is also a problem to saga. sad.gif
zamanjaafar, was it happen most of the time or jz 1 or 2 times?
dares
post May 21 2012, 01:31 PM

834 posts

Some interesting tidbits pilfered from another tered about Saga FLX drumbrakes

QUOTE(mat79 @ May 21 2012, 10:32 AM)

About the brake, its depend, if the front, then the pad, if drumbrakes, they already doing countermeasure with vendors supplying the drum brakes n if finalised, the letter will be issue on that matter to replace the drum brakes on flx n flx se. Not all are effected but more than acceptable rate, so, futher investigation from rnd dept n send it to vendors to investigate. Normally on vendors part is the reason for the delay.

Added on May 21, 2012, 10:44 amthe question will raise why is the action is slow? Well, not talking behalf of anyone, but the thing works like this. The new policy in prtn, when a batch is affected, the whole batch will be called back n being replaced the parts even to those that not having the problems. So, vendors have to bear all the cost, so, the will investigate thoroughly to prove that it is in tolerance. Not the whole batch. Every tiny things will be inspect to search for the fault, n make sure it wont reoccur again.

Previously, the changes is only for those affected@have problems, but since exora onwards, the whole batch will be replaced with new one even those are not effected as safety measure the things wont reoccur, even its only involve the sound.

Thats why it is important to service at branch sc if can coz the data will be send to hq and will be cumulated. If send to 3rd party like dealers, it wont be in the systems, so, only a minor report on affected unit.

This post has been edited by dares: May 21 2012, 01:34 PM
zamanjaafar
post May 21 2012, 01:32 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 01:29 PM)
i experienced the same on the R gear while i tested drive the saga few weeks back.
i was thought i didnt shift the gear nicely that time, while the salesperson touched the gear (not sure he re-shifted or wat), then only i can reversed the car.
now only i know this is also a problem to saga.  sad.gif
zamanjaafar, was it happen most of the time or jz 1 or 2 times?
i would say 1/4 or 1/5 of the time....not always

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: May 21 2012, 01:32 PM
lhwj
post May 21 2012, 01:35 PM

Bahaya ni ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: May 21 2012, 01:36 PM
zamanjaafar
post May 21 2012, 01:38 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(lhwj @ May 21 2012, 01:35 PM)
Bahaya ni ohmy.gif
lucky im the type that reverse in creep mode, if terus tekan accelerator maybe drink drain water
coolkwc
post May 21 2012, 01:46 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 12:38 PM)
still the best comment/advice, davidke20.
conclude: the auto P must acts together with handbrake. cheers.
agree that if the core problem is the design of handbrake cable, most probably proton wont go for designing a new one to suit saga flx as designing could cost a lots. unless DRBHCOM want it solved or it simply cos by quality of the drumbrake.

want to know any of you face dashboard making noise problem other than drumbrake issue? this is another common problem to saga flx. (from my research: drumbrake and dashboard sound occur to many saga). sweat.gif
Believe me, in Proton car, everything that can be dismantled. rotatable, open-able things will have possibility to vibrate and making noise, just depends on your luck.

This area including plastic door trim, dashboard, steering, center console, power windows, seats.....etc

This post has been edited by coolkwc: May 21 2012, 01:47 PM
kongjong
post May 21 2012, 02:00 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 21 2012, 01:46 PM)
Believe me, in Proton car, everything that can be dismantled. rotatable, open-able things will have possibility to vibrate and making noise, just depends on your luck.

This area including plastic door trim, dashboard, steering, center console, power windows, seats.....etc

coolkwc, perhaps u mean everything. hahaha....
the dashboard problem is stated in "dares"'s blog: http://myflx.blogspot.com/.
but i jz aint sure whether the problem resolved...
zeone
post May 21 2012, 02:07 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 21 2012, 01:46 PM)

IINM & frankly, the above point is TRUE for ALL vehicles...
Pls chk out similar (even worse?) complaints in other car makes forums... tongue.gif

However, hv 2admit the possibility of such happening in Proton cars might be slightly higher... rolleyes.gif
Why?
Lower cost of production...and consequently, poorer tolerance ratios in manufactured parts.
An unavoidable effect in such a scenario. smile.gif

So, Proton buyers need 2hv Lady Luck more on their side... brows.gif

dares
post May 21 2012, 02:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 02:00 PM)
coolkwc, perhaps u mean everything. hahaha....
the dashboard problem is stated in "dares"'s blog: http://myflx.blogspot.com/.
but i jz aint sure whether the problem resolved...
Eh? that one turned out to be the exhaust ma, you refering to something else?
kongjong
post May 21 2012, 02:24 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 21 2012, 02:14 PM)
Eh? that one turned out to be the exhaust ma, you refering to something else?
hi dares, yes, it turn out exhaust problem as stated in ur blog but other also mentioning the dashboard sound which was your initial suspecting on something once upon a time.
may i know is the problem has been fully resolved by exchange the exhaust pipe?
can change at SC instead of COE? cos i stay in johor, no COE here.
TSr3apers
post May 21 2012, 02:27 PM

225 posts

Reminder~!

Teach Celaka Said Sh!t
Dated : 26/05/2012
Time : 9.30-10.30pm
Place : Asia Cafe, Puchong

Attendance :-
i) r3apers - Can't FFK, if not all *** 7 me~! (n00b student - will arrive there around 10-10.30pm)
ii)
iii) Dares - Definitely will come~! (Half-Bucket Technical Sifu)
iv) V12K - Surel come~! (All-Around Sifu)
v) Mahihi - Sure come~! (All-Around Sifu)
vi) Kenjilew - Dai Dai also will Come~! (Talk Cock Sing Song Sifu)
vii) david - unsure?? (Showing/Teaching Sifu)
viii) c2k - uncle choy ( the old man) rclxub.gif
ix)
x)

who ever wan to join plot ur name in.. TQ
dares
post May 21 2012, 02:33 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 21 2012, 02:24 PM)
hi dares, yes, it turn out exhaust problem as stated in ur blog but other also mentioning the dashboard sound which was your initial suspecting on something once upon a time.
may i know is the problem has been fully resolved by exchange the exhaust pipe?
can change at SC instead of COE? cos i stay in johor, no COE here.
OK first thing is IF it is an exhaust sound, the sound is very distinct and only comes at a certain RPM regardless of speed. If it is the exhaust, I'd advise you to take some time and drop your car at COE for a speedy replacement. In my case, the sound went away after replacing the exhaust.

I did have some dashboard rattle (I didn't mention this in my blog, because if you car no rattle sound, it is not a Saga) which came from the left hand aircon vent. It was fixed when I replaced my CVT GB mounting.

This post has been edited by dares: May 21 2012, 02:34 PM
TSr3apers
post May 21 2012, 02:51 PM

225 posts

TS wan to thanks to dares, V12K, david, zeone, coolkwc & SiuYi to keep the Thread moving.

Thank You Very Much~!

P/S : Ts dunno anything, so don't mad at TS~!

125 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:54 AM