5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V25, Excitement Embodied

TheAdmiral
post May 17 2012, 06:05 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 17 2012, 05:54 PM)
new Wing series MG coming soon??!!?!!!!?!

Bandai, MG Tallgeese & MG Wing Zero TV i beg u!!!!!
hmm it could be just the release of custom version of the EW kit which has been predicted ages ago. But its abit misleading since its accompanied by the display from the frozen teardrop novel. They could go frozen teardrop route as well since those is not much diff then the ver ew kits, but i hope to god no cuz of the weird mecha design. (3 legged white epyon, hell no).

Added on May 17, 2012, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 17 2012, 05:15 PM)
SPAM pic time

A challenger appears!

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 17 2012, 06:47 PM
TheAdmiral
post May 17 2012, 10:15 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ May 17 2012, 09:50 PM)
Of course they will pump up AGE kit since it still airing and slowdown after the series ended anyway and then wait 10 years later to get the rest of the suit like wing and seed.  whistling.gif
The problem of wing and seed is that too many characters each piloting unique gundams. As such it is expected that the side characters got the short end of the stick in terms of air time and popularity since many would just root for the main guy anyway (heero and jesus yamato). Thats why wing and seed took so long to release the other suits; its sales is unconfirmed to be a success at the time. Because this is Bandai, they will release things that will confirm sells (case in point, wing zero and freedom) way ahead of others in their series and hold out others to gauge its popularity b4 making a kit.

In the case of Age, we have many gundams but most of them are similar to one another (change arm and leg) plus there is only 3 gundam pilots each with its own arc, thats why Bandai could churn out so many Age kits all at once. For the reason that main character kit sells, they are not afraid to make so many of them. I dont foresee Bandai leaving some gundams from Age unreleased for a prolong period of time, they are already halfway to complete all Age gundam at this point anyway.
TheAdmiral
post May 18 2012, 12:15 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ May 17 2012, 11:27 PM)
Now you say that yeah i don't recall any other grunt in AU have MG but then again the grunt suit that i like other than GN-X was Flag aka "Nyamuk" tongue.gif but we don't even have the main enemy on MG 00 either

Agree that it not much change on the AGE kit but i was more on MG lineup which wondering that if we will get the lead enemy unlike 00 which don't have any.
Other then UC, there has been close to none main antagonist suit in MG. This is mostly because most AU series have alot of badly developed antagonist, almost all of them are unmemorable or their back stories does not justified their actions or their objective/plan are so convoluted that it makes their character unsympathetic almost idiotic.

In UC due to having so many stories in that universe, Zeon and their struggles are flesh out in more details and are more believable, plus there are many sympathetic characters from Zeon. Alot of actions in that universe are justified in their own right (except for Titans but batshit insane antagonist is ok, they are bad guys and u expect them to do that anyway), as such its not surprising that there are many Zeon fanboys out there as oppose to lets say Zaft fanboys or Alaws fanboys. Thats why you dont see many lead antagonist be made into kits; its either their mecha design or the guy behind it are not popular.

The only antagonist MG kit from AU that i could think of from the top of my head is Master gundam (cuz hes awesome), Epyon (only because Bandai decide to make all other wing kits, i have no doubt that if the other 4 are not in plans, Bandai would not even touch epyon with a 10ft pole), and Destiny (i rank it antagonist though destiny is such a clusterf..k that i dont even know who he fights for tbh but it has to be made cus its the title suit).

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 18 2012, 12:16 AM
TheAdmiral
post May 23 2012, 03:33 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(afsarudy @ May 23 2012, 02:35 PM)
Guys, sorry to ask it here but I DAMN lazy to go to other thread (plus I dont know where to ask anymore).
I wanna ask where can I find (either online store @ physical store @ LYN member here) that sell relatively cheap paint for airbrush?
I need from primer, thinner to the paint itself.
Sorry MOD, OT a bit. icon_rolleyes.gif
Most paint are roughly the same price cuz there is no local distributor, all import either via plane or ship. So in terms of price there are all relatively the same.

I mostly buy from AFHobby but he dont sell MR Color anymore, all his paints are Gaia Notes. In terms of thinner, im not sure whether you can mix between gaia notes and mr color as i tend not to mix different brand thinner and paint, but the paint itself you can spray over one another as both are lacquer base

Physical store; Time Machine have quite a large range of MR Color but they dont restock often.

The rest of the shop are abit sporadic in terms of their stock + dont have large range of color even if they do restock.
TheAdmiral
post May 23 2012, 04:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(afsarudy @ May 23 2012, 03:56 PM)
TQ for your reply bro. thumbup.gif
Only lacquer base paint need thinner rite?
And how many types of paint got ha? (like lacquer, water etc) *sorry NOOB at painting.  rclxub.gif
All paints need thinner, if dont put any ur AB will clog. Ratio 50/50 but i tend to put slightly more thinner then paint bout 60/40

3 types of paint; lacquer, enamel, acrylic.

Lacquer has their own thinner, enamel has their own thinner, acrylic has their own thinner but for acrylic u can thin it using plain water. But i dont like to use acrylic with water, too runny and takes too dam long to dry.

In terms of "power", lacquer -> enamel -> acrylic. Which means that u can paint enamel and acrylic over lacquer but not the other way around as lacquer will eats enamel and acrylic causing the surface of the base paint to lift up and crack.
TheAdmiral
post May 24 2012, 03:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(youjingng @ May 24 2012, 02:39 PM)
RX-0 Unicorn Gundam (MG) or GUNDAM (MG) > RX-0 Unicorn Gundam Ver.Ka (Titanium Finish) which model is worth buying?
Your sentence doesn't make sense. Typo?

Are you comparing Unicorn with GUNDAM as in RX-78 the original grandaddy? Cannot compare bro different price range and different build complexity.

Or are you comparing Unicorn with Unicorn titanium finish? If so, which ver are you comparing it to? normal ver ka? ova? cage? At any rate, not gonna recommend titanium. Not worth your money
TheAdmiral
post May 24 2012, 11:31 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 24 2012, 10:40 PM)
if only Bandai makes a MG Sazabi 2.0 with that articulation

+1000.

Also Nu 2.0, GP02A 2.0, ZZ 2.0 and Kampfer 2.0. But among all these, GP02A is the one that deserve a 2.0 the most. It came out around the same time as GM, MKII and Gelgoog, if those got a 2.0 why cant GP02A? Come one Bandai give us some 0083 love.
TheAdmiral
post May 25 2012, 05:32 PM

49 posts

If the color is official, then this would be the first antagonist gundam with red white blue and yellow color scheme. That color has always been reserve for protagonist only, so this might be the first to break that tradition. Unless ofcuz Bandai decided to pull one on us and turn it into protagonist midway through.
TheAdmiral
post May 26 2012, 11:32 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 26 2012, 10:26 PM)
lack of panel line detail? Unicorn is still acceptable because of that
1. I think its the combination of lack of panel lines and its monotone color. It needs to have some details mayb some decals would make it look better.

2. Which unicorn mode are we talking about? You can make comparison with age2 white to unicorn normal mode as both are rather monotonous in colors, infact i think age2 has more white then unicorn (at least unicorn foot and backpack are dark blue/black). But its not a valid comparison if you compare it with destroy mode cuz it broke the monotone scheme with some red (or green) and yellow.

If you comparing to unicorn normal mode, the reason unicorn still looks better is due to all its extra details coming off from the transformation parts. You dont really need panel lines for it because the separation of those parts automatically create details, shadows and depth. Even then, normal mode is still rather dull in comparison to all other gundams just because of its monotonous color scheme. In the case of age2, not only is it even more monotonous then unicorn normal mode, its lack panel line details accentuate its dullness to an already dull color scheme.
TheAdmiral
post May 28 2012, 08:54 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ May 28 2012, 01:34 AM)
Edit: Another question for you guys. If I could get a MG 00 Raiser for 79 US Dollars(501 RM) shipped, would I be crazy not to get it? I can't find it any cheaper online.
1. 79 USD does not equates to RM501. If you do find someone crazy enough to trade 79 bucks to RM501 pls tell me cuz i'll gonna change all my money to usd right that instance and convert it back to RM, then repeat the conversion ad infinitum. I'll be rich in an instance. laugh.gif

2. Base price for 00 raiser would be 6500 yen so thats roughly 81 bucks. If you could get it at 79 bucks + shipping then yeah good buy. If not, i think ur local hobby store could offer better.
TheAdmiral
post May 31 2012, 08:50 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Ghost_XIII @ May 30 2012, 10:44 PM)
hi everyone..
not sure if this the right place to ask..
is there any way  to prevent the panel lining and painting we did on gunpla fade?top coating can solve that?
Top coat will help, but for white color, it'll turn yellowish regardless of what u do. The problem of white is the pigment itself and there is nothing we can do about it even white cars turn yellow after several years.
TheAdmiral
post May 31 2012, 01:44 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(nizam80 @ May 31 2012, 01:21 PM)
Hi, I would like to ask anyone's opinion here. Do you all think Bandai will ever release an HGUC Nightingale? They had released a big-a$% Dendrobium and Psycho... but not a Nightingale...  sad.gif Why oh why?
1. Price, even though they had made dendrobium, how many of us actually own ones? If only 1 out of 50 modellers purchase it, how long do you think it would take Bandai to break even on developing nightingale?

2. Even for a brick like dendrobium, it still need some diecast parts to keep it in place, which contributes to the 1st point.

3. How many of us actually know about Nightingale? It only appear in the novel Beltorchika's Children (which is not even official anyway since it clashes with CCA story). Compare this to dendro which appear in 0083 and psycho which appear in zeta, nightingale is only recognizable by hardcore UC fans. From a business sense, why should I make something that is expensive as hell and only attract selective hardcore fans when I can spend my time, money and effort to develop something that appeal to majority of my market? More buyers = more sales = more $$$.
TheAdmiral
post May 31 2012, 02:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 31 2012, 02:00 PM)
1.bro, if compare size Nightingale would be a bit bigger than HGUC Kshatriya so i think there is no problem release HGUC Nightingale too
about the price, i would say around RM200 is just fine..
now im wait if got HGUC Full Armor Unicorn as EP6 of Unicorn OVA will come out next

2.Nightingale dont need fancy parts lo

3.HGUC mostly consist most MS from MSV and side story of series(novel,game,manga) so i think no problem for Bandai to release one.. in fact HGUC is mostly for older collectors
1. 200 is still abit steep for a hguc dont u think so. With 200 most ppl would rather go for a mg instead, which goes back to the point of out of 50 modellers how many would actually buy 1? The mold they use to produce the kits dont come cheap and it has a certain limit to how much u can reuse the mold b4 faults appear and has to be change. If the kits turn out to be a bomb, all the time and money invested in it will be wasted. Its a big commitment to produce something like a nightingale and if it fails, it's gonna hurt.

2. Diecast parts are not for fancy purposes. In the case of dendro, without it the kit would fall apart because there is too much plastic, too heavy for the plastic to hold itself. For nightingale, i dont think its back skirt/backside/ass can support itself. The shoulder also may cause some problem. Not to mention its big ass shield and tiny arms.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: May 31 2012, 02:35 PM
TheAdmiral
post Jun 7 2012, 08:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Jun 7 2012, 01:46 AM)
http://imgur.com/aQ37i

Sorry for the picture spamming, but here's the completed torso with a head attached. smile.gif
Sticker eyes? Those eyes rather dull or mayb its just the camera angle. Nevertheless great weathering you got there but i was wondering were you gonna do the same to ur gn shield that you were showing us earlier? Since those had been decal-ed, it'll be a shame to have to destroy it.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 9 2012, 10:37 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Jun 9 2012, 09:40 AM)
You are a jerk.  cry.gif

In other not-important news, an update on 00 Raiser: http://i.imgur.com/ihJkW.jpg

When I get him fully completed and aerial on an action base, i'll post some better pictures.
looking good, but the lower half seems abit underwhelming. Mayb u should damage it abit more to match the upper half.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 13 2012, 08:47 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jun 12 2012, 11:18 PM)
been lurking around this thread for ages ... lol .. anyway decided to post ..  just completed  recently .

Turn A most underrated model kit, most ppl hated it cuz of its looks but its actually a great kit. Too bad Bandai didnt include moonlight butterfly effect parts.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 13 2012, 09:41 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jun 13 2012, 09:17 AM)
the lack of the effect for moonlight butterfly was one of the turn offs for this kit, IMO
it's mainly what was stopping me from getting it.. i'm hoping he gets some love like SF FBM or Destiny EBM, and come repackaged with some extra parts
I doubt it'll get any more love from Bandai. Its not a very popular kit nor is Turn A a popular series. If it were to be release during the Turn A series running, it mayb more well receive but Turn A has been off the air for a very long time now (more then 10 years) teens at that time has grown up and change taste while teens of current gen prefer flashy stuff from seed or 00 so the market for Turn A is quite diluted. Im actually surprise they release it as their 100th MG.

Turn A series is also not very popular due to it not having many flashy battles, its more of a character driven show which is abit different from other gundam series. I think its Tomino's way of saying "screw u Bandai" and deliberately make something that is completely different and also deliberately ask Syd Mead to design something that is completely different from previous mobile suit design.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 14 2012, 05:54 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(armymanzero @ Jun 14 2012, 04:55 PM)
hi,

all the tai ko here i want to ask your opinion. I wanted to buy ZAKU II, but i cannot decide to buy which one. the MG 1/100 or RG 1/144. hope you guys can give me opinion. my skill level is beginner and i not going to paint. just paintline only.
From the given choice go for the MG, its less fragile then RG and much more forgiving if you made any mistakes. If you have big hands and large fingers like me, building RG is a pain in the ass. Even some small parts from MG is a pain in the ass for me.

As a general rule if you are really really new into model kit (as in nvr had any experience what so ever in stuff like ikea or lego) go for HG. You can start up from MG but you must know what to buy and what not to buy. There are some beginner lvl kit in MG, zakus is one of em, but there are quite alot of em require a little more advance skills. If u wan to start from MG stage, avoid flashy stuff (Unicorn, Wing kits, Seed kits except for strike, 00 kits, etc) and big ass kits (FAZZ, Sinanju, EX-S, etc).

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jun 14 2012, 06:03 PM
TheAdmiral
post Jun 15 2012, 12:08 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jun 14 2012, 08:13 PM)
FUUUUUUUUUUUUU dat details dayummmm
Seems like the trend has gone back to the old 90s detail overload style ala hg 1/100 gundam x kits and hg 1/100 wing kits.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 21 2012, 04:16 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(dead_psycho @ Jun 21 2012, 03:43 PM)
thanks sifu!!...but erm..if u refer to this old article...

They said that the 'official' gundam markers are rather thick, is this true?

If I am going to do panel lining, i will use eraser to clean up, is this possible?

Hehe...need clarification first because I am a little nervous doing this for the first time...
yes gundam marker is abit thick and yes u can erase it with eraser.

But if you can avoid, dont use black to panel line a white kit though, it'll make the kit look unnatural. Grey is preferred or a slightly darker tone then the surface would be best. Since panel lining is just to imitate depth and shadows and since shadows are not pure black, panel lining with black would make it look cartoony.

Also dont overdo it, too much details would ruin the kit

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jun 21 2012, 04:39 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:32 PM