Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V25, Excitement Embodied

StarGhazzer
post May 29 2012, 05:46 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Looks like the body of the Fatum can be extended horizontally so that when it flips upwards the two beam cannons would not hit the tips of the V-fin.

The redesigned shoulder boomerangs look quite ugly though, and the extended wing tips appear very tacky.
StarGhazzer
post May 30 2012, 08:45 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2012, 12:56 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2191130
HGUC Banshee set of Unicorn Mode + Destroy Mode for Rm90 only! free shipping some more!  drool.gif
what an awesome offer... too bad I'm not in Msia sad.gif but the other gunpla on that site don't come cheap.

Marasai's articulated fingers and palm looks sweet. If it could grasp the weapons securely there's no need for swapping to the fixed fingers. Still not a fan of interchangeable fingers like the MG W series.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 1 2012, 05:25 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jun 1 2012, 03:55 AM)
there somethin i realli gotta ask..about the dry transfer decal in MG...i juz pluck it out and stuck it in..but in the booklet there written (in japanese) that there a protection film on it? i tear it so many time..the decal itself came off...

P.S i dont own alot of MG..so yea...
How do you even "pluck" out a dry transfer decal? It is supposed to be rubbed on.

For dry transfers, cut it out and stick the top surface (glossy and smooth) onto a piece of transparent tape. Place the bottom surface (rough) onto the gunpla, hold it in place with the sticky tape, then rub the top surface with a blunt tip. I usually use the non-cutting edges of the hobby knife blade. The dry decal will be transferred from the top film onto your gunpla with the friction. Carefully peel off the tape together with the glossy left-over top film, and the decal will be applied.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 1 2012, 05:32 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 4 2012, 06:36 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Parcel...

has arrived...

StarGhazzer
post Jun 7 2012, 09:30 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(D-y @ Jun 7 2012, 08:41 PM)
guys, I will be moving out from my current place and I was wondering if anyone can suggest a quick & easy way to pack gunplas without using too many boxes?  sweat.gif
Remove the V-fins and Zeon commander antennae from the heads of your gunpla. Pack them in a separate container with bubble wrap.

Oh glorious Banshee.
Lots of touch-ups yet to be completed...
StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2012, 06:52 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jun 9 2012, 10:20 AM)
like this? whistling.gif

Like this:

Oh glorious Banshee... almost done...
StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2012, 09:42 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Banshee completed !!

The anime version weapons look somewhat ridiculous... gonna switch it to the standard rifle and shield combo soon.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 9 2012, 09:47 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2012, 11:02 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Jun 9 2012, 09:53 PM)
the OVA version does include the standard issue Beam Magnum and shield, similar to the white Unicorn right?
Yes. I wouldn't have bought it if it only came with the goofy OVA weapons.

And the HGUC Banshee Unicorn mode also comes with the Unicorn face and horn, although I can't see why anyone would choose those instead of the more elaborate Banshee headpiece.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2012, 11:13 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Jun 9 2012, 11:04 PM)
MG Unicorn Ver. Ka got 4 beam saber hilts but only got 2 beam effect parts. that is, unless I lost the other 2 sweat.gif

not really sure about ver. OVA though laugh.gif
Same thing. Only 2 beams. Cheapskate Bandai whistling.gif

Will post some thoughts on the Banshee soon... need to sleep first...zzzzzzzz
StarGhazzer
post Jun 10 2012, 07:54 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Some thoughts on the HGUC Banshee:
1. Very, very awesome looking kit. I thought the yellow psychoframe might look dull, but on the contrary it does pop out from the black/blue armour better than expected. I suppose if the psychoframe were transparent like the Unicorn's pink ones, they would be overwhelmed by the dark shade of the armour pieces. I coloured my Banshee's moustache red, just like a typical Gundam rather than keeping it in the original yellow.

2. Lots of caution required for assembling this kit. There are a lot of tiny pieces which a little extra force would be enough to break it - beam sabre holders on the backpack, mouth piece, the tiny armour pieces over the forearms, and the small front horn. I broke the beam sabre holder on the left side, and it seems that many other modellers did too as seen in youtube and forums.

3. The V-fin is actually much sturdier than expected due to its size, but it takes quite an effort to clean the nub marks and sharpen the edges. The two innermost ones look too thick, and their position makes it very difficult to sand down.

4. The black stickers for the front horn and the two shoulder sensors are utterly useless. They don't stick tightly due to the angular shape of the pieces. I'm leaving the front horn yellow, and will paint top of the shoulder sensors once I get a black marker pen. The golden stickers for the leg and skirt thrusters on the other hand ended up looking fairly decent, but they are very tiny and easy to fck up if you're not paying attention.

5. The proportion of the HGUC Banshee is spot on; in fact much better than the MG whose legs are too skinny and long.
In comparison, the HGUC Sinanju looks stubby compared to its MG counterpart, although to be fair the latter is near-perfection.

6. Articulation wise, it's actually pretty good for a HGUC kit. It doesn't have huge and bulky armour pieces like most Zeon units do, and somehow its joints move better than simple EFSF kits such as GMs. Great effort from Bandai here.

7. Some pieces are held in place by mere friction hence it may be a good idea to glue them. Examples being the rear skirt armour thrusters and the crotch piece which hold the front skirt armours. For the former, it's easy to push them out of place when you're posing the kit; and for the latter the top blue piece tends to dislodge easily, causing the skirt armours to drop out. Same problem goes to the beam tonfa holders but you wouldn't want to glue these.

8. Thank you Bandai for including the beam rifle and the shield. The VN is better proportioned than the MG's crab-pincer lookalike, but it is non-functional and clips onto the forearm loosely. The BS however, clips together tightly. Speaking of these weapons, you do not have to use the new forearm armours. I stuck with the original Unicorn ones which don't come with the extra male joints at the bottom so it wouldn't look weird without the VN/BS. However, you will need to cut off two small pieces on the inside of the BS parts to fit onto the Unicorn forearm.

Now come to think about it, the OVA weapons do look pretty badass, but still out-of-place in the UC world.

9. The Banshee can actually perform a fairly decent looking crouch, but the knees need slight modifications to achieve that.

You can see the modifications below... I only did a simple one for the knee and left the ankles alone.

I used the green beams from the GP02 as it fits the yellow psychoframe better than pink beams would, although they are somewhat longer than the usual HGUC beams. The hands sadly, will not be able to grasp the beam sabres tightly.

This pose will be the one I'll be using for now.

Overall, this is a seriously awesome kit, and it's only 1800yen... very cheap for such a detailed kit. For those who doesn't like the OVA version, you could also choose to use the original Unicorn chest and neck piece to build the novel version Banshee. You'll need purple paint for the eyeliner and moustache though. And now it makes me want to buy the Unicorn mode just for the bazooka.

And a quick view of my detolf:

Justice, Destiny, Blue Frame, and Deathscythe are at home back in Msia... T_T

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 10 2012, 08:03 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 23 2012, 07:52 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Jun 22 2012, 11:23 AM)
just took this from Vampy's facebook, it's not everyday we get to see chicks making gundam video reviews  wub.gif
doncha all wish for a girlfriend like her?  wub.gif, too bad my girl nags so much lol =..=;;

What gundam review? unsure.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Jun 23 2012, 04:41 PM)
Oh good. They got Hajime Katoki to snort cocaine and try to draw Heavyarms...
Heavyarms without gatlings is not Heavyarms dry.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 23 2012, 07:53 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 23 2012, 10:49 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 23 2012, 08:07 PM)
the cross thingy is a gattling gun lol
If it ain't spinnin' it ain't a gatling.

Overboard... Katoki san, just plain overboard.

QUOTE(golbeza @ Jun 23 2012, 08:49 PM)
naughty stargeezer is naughty  brows.gif
btw the giant cross tat Heavyarm's carrying is the gatling lol, look at the multiple nozzles ;p
why isn't anyone getting this kit yet lol, smexy Marasai is smexy lol, finally a MG monoeye for UC fags like me ^o^.
the color's a lot more vibrant than Char's Zaku 2.0 ;DD not light up the monoeye yet cuz i gotta search for the LED from my MG OOR's box @_@
one thing i dun like about it is the fixed hands, it can't seem to carry the beam rifle intact  sweat.gif, i wish Pandai would just give the MG 2.0 hands instead lol

Bandai should just stop mucking around with MG manipulators. The detachable ones used for W gundams are not practical despite their original intentions, whereas the Marasai ones don't seem to be any better than the 2.0s.

Just bloody stick with the 2.0 ones please.

MG Marasai looks sweet, but I'm actually more keen on the HGUC Unicorn version... olive green looks more military-like than bright orange, and there's the better-looking Feyandeen rifle in addition to the puny pew pew pistol.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 24 2012, 07:35 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(dead_psycho @ Jun 24 2012, 02:34 AM)
hi guys need help...

has anyone created gundam unicorn destroy mode HGUC version before?

I m stuck at step 10... where i need to attach part C7 (part of the wrist) into part 9. It seems that the part C7 is too small for part 9 to enter. i tried pushing it in but its just too tight...i m afraid i might break it.

i hope someone can help asap.. if anyone still has the instruction manual as reference it will be great..else i will post up some photos here soon...thanks!!
Make sure you've trimmed the leftover nubs from the psychoframe parts E14-15. There are two nubs at the distal end of the pieces (near where PC6 goes) which could obstruct C7 as you slide the former into the latter.

Also check the polycap piece PC9 as it might displaced if you couldn't clip E14-15 together tightly.

And since we're on the topic of the Unicorn's forearm, be cautious of the beam tonfa holder. It's held loosely in place between C2 and the tip of C7 solely by friction, and a little nudge is enough to dislodge it especially when it's extended forwards. You might accidentally flick it off if you're not paying attention.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 7 2012, 03:40 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(aliqueamyrei @ Jul 7 2012, 02:12 PM)
Hi all,
I am new with gunpla and recently try to buy my first gundam. But I confuse with the scale and type. Is all 100/1 are MG? I found Blue Astray Second L with 100/1 label on the box but no MG label. Then I found MK-II Titans with MG label but no 100/1 scale on box. Both price almost the same. So is Blue Astray MG (got inner frame etc)?
If someone is trying to sell you a 1/100 blue frame at the price of an MG MkII, he/she is getting to rip you off.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 14 2012, 11:29 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 14 2012, 12:04 AM)
surprise birthday present from my gf  wub.gif

awesome gf is awesome.

By the way, the missiles of the marine zaku can't be stored in the shoulder armours. You need to swap parts.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 14 2012, 07:31 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Package has arrived....
StarGhazzer
post Jul 15 2012, 04:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(ascentic @ Jul 14 2012, 10:26 PM)
spotted something different tongue.gif

What scale?

Come on Bandai... HGUC Nightingallllllllleeeeeeeeeeeee !!!!!!!!!!!

QUOTE(golbeza @ Jul 15 2012, 11:03 AM)
MG Aegis Gundam anyone?  wub.gif
http://gundamguy.blogspot.com/2012/07/mg-1...type-image.html

Looks like a very crude prototype where all the pieces are molten.

Hope they reduce the size of the side skirts though, it's going to get in the way of posing.

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jul 15 2012, 03:03 PM)
also what are the differences between the older SEED HG and their recent re-releases? aside from some decals?
Slightly brighter "HD" colours, decals, and extra effects pieces. Duel gets missile launching effect part, Buster gets smoke effect for the cannons, Blitz gets thruster effect for the rocket claw, Strike gets wind effects for the Aile pack, Aegis gets penis beam for the Scylla cannon.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 15 2012, 04:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jul 15 2012, 04:24 PM)
that nightingale is the 1/144 scratch built one
and the side skirts on the Aegis looks fine IMO.. otherwise it would look too small in MA mode
plus i think the newer kits don't all have those extra parts, i think.. seems like some are on promotion only or something? not sure.. i think my friend bought Aegis but he didn't get the Scylla beam
Maybe it is some kind of special promotion then...

HG Aegis... super super fragile kit...
StarGhazzer
post Jul 16 2012, 05:18 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Jul 15 2012, 08:32 PM)
afaik, they reuse back MG strike frame on the blitz, but since aegis(though also a strike variation unit) is a transformable, i think they would use a totally new frame
and here i was planning to get the HG if MG or RG not coming out...
thanks for the tip smile.gif
Since the MG is going to be released in Oct, you might as well wait for it then. If you don't like the MG then you could still opt for the HG version.

The HG is just too old in comparison to today's HGUCs. Nevertheless due to Aegis's unconventional design it's still an interesting build. I was in awe of how the transformation works and wondered why no one came up with this design in the past.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jul 16 2012, 05:19 AM

0.0267sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:41 PM