(WTA) Chamber screw

TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:35 AM, updated 14y ago

34 posts

Hi all the sifus here.
I recently got my new car and changed the rim to sport rims near Rawang there.
During allignment time, they claimed that my wheels not in nice position or "lari".
So what they said is to change the chamber screw that provided by them and it cost RM80 for a pair of that screw.
Do I really have to change the chamber screw after changing to new sport rims? The workers there said that the tyre will wear out on one side if I don't use the chamber screw provided by them.
I left the shop without changing the chamber screw at last btw.
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:38 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

rm80 = rip off lol
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:43 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:38 AM)
rm80 = rip off lol
Definitely a rip off for just a pair of screw. LOL
But it doesn't affect much right?
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:46 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 17 2012, 01:43 AM)
Definitely a rip off for just a pair of screw. LOL
But it doesn't affect much right?
if you indeed do not have camber adjustment screws then you will require one (or 2) per side (which makes a pair) to allow camber adjustments.

common prices are rm10-20 give/take per piece, so anything more are basically rip off.
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:47 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:46 AM)
if you indeed do not have camber adjustment screws then you will require one (or 2) per side (which makes a pair) to allow camber adjustments.

common prices are rm10-20 give/take per piece, so anything more are basically rip off.
It's a new car. Of course there are camber adjustment screws right? yawn.gif
The shop people said that their chamber screw are special type and even showed me the different of their screw and the original screw in my car.
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 17 2012, 01:47 AM)
It's a new car. Of course there are camber adjustment screws right? yawn.gif
The shop people said that their chamber screw are special type and even showed me the different of their screw and the original screw in my car.
some cars by default dont have camber adjusting screws.
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:49 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:48 AM)
some cars by default dont have camber adjusting screws.
Ahhhh. Now I know. Thanks for the info smile.gif
WhitE LighteR
post May 17 2012, 01:51 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Just leave it as it is... If it comes out of factory non adjustable then there is ntg wrong with it being non adjustable. Since its a new car just bring back to the car manufacturer to do alignment there. They should have a more accurate setting specific for your car model...
h4dRi
post May 17 2012, 12:38 PM

97 posts

usually when we refuse to use their alignment service after we bought tires or rims from their shop,

they will purposely adjust tie rod screw to make our car's steering become not straight so we will go there again to do alignment.

so make sure after they install the tires back to our car, pay them & go try other shop to check alignmnet
ckseng
post May 17 2012, 02:22 PM

328 posts

Some shop are sux. I encounter two workshop mention my car camber run off. Need to change the screw in order to adjust the camber. I say no need. It okay. After i left the shop i feel the steering not straight. I drive back and told him. He say my camber already lari so the steering not straight. After i get this answer from him i know this workshop is sux. As i know this issue is not related to camber.

I drive to another workshop nearby my house. I told him steering not straight. He do the alignment. The screen on the alignment machine flashing red on the camber. He never mention anything about camber. The steering was straight after this workshop. So from that day onward i always sent my car there to change tires and alignment. I even pretend to be noob asking him why this red color de. He say camber alignment not tat good but my car cannot adjust so nothing he can do.
chemistry
post May 17 2012, 02:51 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ckseng @ May 17 2012, 02:22 PM)
Some shop are sux. I encounter two workshop mention my car camber run off. Need to change the screw in order to adjust the camber. I say no need. It okay. After i left the shop i feel the steering not straight. I drive back and told him. He say my camber already lari so the steering not straight. After i get this answer from him i know this workshop is sux. As i know this issue is not related to camber.

I drive to another workshop nearby my house. I told him steering not straight. He do the alignment. The screen on the alignment machine flashing red on the camber. He never mention anything about camber. The steering was straight after this workshop. So from that day onward i always sent my car there to change tires and alignment. I even pretend to be noob asking him why this red color de. He say camber alignment not tat good but my car cannot adjust so nothing he can do.
Would you be kind enough to share with us the name of the workshop you visited ?
TSkennywee92
post May 22 2012, 12:28 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ May 17 2012, 12:38 PM)
usually when we refuse to use their alignment service after we bought tires or rims from their shop,

they will purposely adjust tie rod screw to make our car's steering become not straight so we will go there again to do alignment.

so make sure after they install the tires back to our car, pay them & go try other shop to check alignmnet
True this. Especially Rawang and Klang tyres shop. I went over to Rawang to change my sport rims btw. I knew they gonna ask me to change to their chamber screw when they are doing allignment for my wheels. But I insist not to change it.
Will be going for 1000km service soon and ask the service center to do allignment biggrin.gif
shinjite
post May 22 2012, 04:09 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Camber and Chamber are two totally different meanings man =.=
bladekiller
post May 22 2012, 07:53 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 22 2012, 12:28 AM)
True this. Especially Rawang and Klang tyres shop. I went over to Rawang to change my sport rims btw. I knew they gonna ask me to change to their chamber screw when they are doing allignment for my wheels. But I insist not to change it.
Will be going for 1000km service soon and ask the service center to do allignment  biggrin.gif
i didn't experience this when i went over to the Klang rim shop to change my rims.
but I did read online about tyre shops charging ppl (alot of $) on the camber screws
TSkennywee92
post May 22 2012, 11:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 22 2012, 04:09 PM)
Camber and Chamber are two totally different meanings man =.=
I'm sorry but what's the different? I'm talking about chamber I guess?

Added on May 22, 2012, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(bladekiller @ May 22 2012, 07:53 PM)
i didn't experience this when i went over to the Klang rim shop to change my rims.
but I did read online about tyre shops charging ppl (alot of $) on the camber screws
Mine was rm80 for left and right screws.

This post has been edited by kennywee92: May 22 2012, 11:12 PM
mADmAN
post May 23 2012, 12:14 AM

10,530 posts

no...ur talking about camber...

chamber usually refers to a room/enclosure of sorts... or long ago...people used to call b00bs "chamber" (street slang kinda thing)

This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 23 2012, 12:15 AM
TSkennywee92
post May 23 2012, 01:20 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 23 2012, 12:14 AM)
no...ur talking about camber...

chamber usually refers to a room/enclosure of sorts... or long ago...people used to call b00bs "chamber" (street slang kinda thing)
Sorry for the spelling mistake. But I was referring to the camber screw in the wheel. So yeah.
taitianhin
post Sep 18 2014, 02:16 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

Yo btw...
Anyone know where to make complain, if we feel we got con my this type of Tyre shop?
Any body and consumer to lodge a report too?
-RIC-
post Sep 18 2014, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 18 2014, 02:16 PM)
Yo btw...
Anyone know where to make complain, if we feel we got con my this type of Tyre shop?
Any body and consumer to lodge a report too?
Bro,

Wad was ur case ?
Mind to share ?
taitianhin
post Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(-RIC- @ Sep 18 2014, 05:05 PM)
Bro,

Wad was ur case ?
Mind to share ?
NOt sure if I have been charge for the right service. I have just got both of my rear Tyre changes recently.
Did alignment, balancing
at end the mechanic say the device (Red laser thingy) show the chamber or something is off....need adjust,
he charge me RM75 * 2 wheel. i could barely remember, is was way out of abt 2-3 in degree,,,

now think back is a bit WTF... and that day i was a bit sleepy
SUSnm7
post Sep 18 2014, 05:55 PM

192 posts

why would changing sport rims cause problems related to camber??? the shocks didn't move also...

as long as left and right wear out evenly... bolehlah....

if you want more camber, then there is no way but to get some camber nuts installed or file out the mounting holes on the absorber to allow the bolt to slide in and out....

even camber nuts have 2 types, one is the cam lobe typed which is very headache if you drive your car through potholes like you own a rally car... the other type is taking the original bolts to a machine shop and grind down the center part of the bolt giving it a slimmer profile so it can move around in the mounting hole...
theonlywolf
post Oct 1 2014, 01:27 PM

Last time the previous owner lowered the car, now after change back normal spring the tyre shop say need change chamber. He charged me rm75 per tyre including allignment and balancing. Is this the normal price? He said if change spring le need change chamber, is it true? Feels like kena ripoff.. =C
Quazacolt
post Oct 1 2014, 02:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(theonlywolf @ Oct 1 2014, 01:27 PM)
Last time the previous owner lowered the car, now after change back normal spring the tyre shop say need change chamber. He charged me rm75 per tyre including allignment and balancing. Is this the normal price? He said if change spring le need change chamber, is it true? Feels like kena ripoff.. =C
for your pricing pretty much rip off can perhaps seek nestum for better advise or visit his shop at Jalan Ipoh KL if you're in the area.
nestum
post Oct 1 2014, 03:08 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 1 2014, 02:52 PM)
for your pricing pretty much rip off can perhaps seek nestum for better advise or visit his shop at Jalan Ipoh KL if you're in the area.
if balancing and alignment cost rm45
and camber is rm30/pcs is consider good price

Quazacolt
post Oct 1 2014, 03:10 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nestum @ Oct 1 2014, 03:08 PM)
if balancing and alignment cost rm45
and camber is rm30/pcs is consider good price
well according to post, 75/tire, so 75x4 = 300 shocking.gif
nestum
post Oct 1 2014, 03:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 1 2014, 03:10 PM)
well according to post, 75/tire, so 75x4 = 300  shocking.gif
rm75/tyre include balancing and alignment

abit confuse but as long as get the job done

This post has been edited by nestum: Oct 1 2014, 03:23 PM
theonlywolf
post Oct 1 2014, 04:40 PM

he charged me rm150 for camber of front two tyres + balancing and alllignment of all four. The price ok? If not next time will tell everyone to avoid such a scammer shop.. @.@
6UE5T
post Oct 1 2014, 09:01 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 17 2012, 01:35 AM)
Hi all the sifus here.
I recently got my new car and changed the rim to sport rims near Rawang there.
During allignment time, they claimed that my wheels not in nice position or "lari".
So what they said is to change the chamber screw that provided by them and it cost RM80 for a pair of that screw.
Do I really have to change the chamber screw after changing to new sport rims? The workers there said that the tyre will wear out on one side if I don't use the chamber screw provided by them.
I left the shop without changing the chamber screw at last btw.
That's an old con trick from alignment shops! New car is also still under warranty so if really alignment not right, can still claim to the service center, no need to spend money on camber screw in the first place! Most cars also comes without such screw in the first place so it's fine. Do they think car manufacturers don't know how to properly align the wheels huh?
ascll
post Jan 30 2015, 02:14 AM

18 posts

I went to replace my 4 tires at Seri Kembangan, and put it champers for my 2 front tires for RM120 :-(
cannible
post May 28 2015, 12:20 PM

489 posts

Does anyone knows a good workshop who can do a good alignment using the mechanical device on the ground in KL? I went to this shop in sri petaling and they claim my camber screw need to be added to my rear wheels which cost about RM90 per pair. I told him my car is already 20 years old and has been doing alignment for years without camber. I dont understand why need one now. I drive off because i have bad experience with camber screws which will lead to more and often realignment of wheels. There are too many con men out there, can anyone tell me where is a good reliable workshop who can do a proper alignment. My car doesnt come with camber screw and i keep it tat way.
B8_GTX
post May 28 2015, 01:33 PM

if u guys dont mind me adding... just sharing some knowledge since i was working in a workshop and so on.... the camber is actually depending on u are a driver if u feel if it is necessary...but thr is also ok to not have a camber screw..... a camber screw is suppose to cost u about RM10 to RM30... anything above is bullshit...

http://www.vikingspeedshop.com/suspension-...caster-and-toe/

just something for everyone to read and get to know so that u would know what u will be up to when u are at a tire shop....
post May 28 2015, 01:38 PM

1,003 posts

Camber, Camber, Camber....Most modern cars are adjustable, but not from where tire shops are used to.
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2015, 08:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ May 28 2015, 01:38 PM)
Camber, Camber, Camber....Most modern cars are adjustable, but not from where tire shops are used to.
highly subjective.

most point a-b road cars are non adjustable fixed bolt.
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2015, 08:44 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(cannible @ May 28 2015, 12:20 PM)
Does anyone knows a good workshop who can do a good alignment using the mechanical device on the ground in KL? I went to this shop in sri petaling and they claim my camber screw need to be added to my rear wheels which cost about RM90 per pair. I told him my car is already 20 years old and has been doing alignment for years without camber. I dont understand why need one now. I drive off because i have bad experience with camber screws which will lead to more and often realignment of wheels. There are too many con men out there, can anyone tell me where is a good reliable workshop who can do a proper alignment. My car doesnt come with camber screw and i keep it tat way.
pm nestum
amad108
post Jun 2 2015, 10:48 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

that camber screw last time i buy from spare part shop only rm10/pc.. suddenly at tyre shop rm40-60/pc, total rip off.. this offered mostly from big tyre shop..
post Jun 2 2015, 11:23 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 2 2015, 08:43 PM)
highly subjective.

most point a-b road cars are non adjustable fixed bolt.
Not many knows that many cars can have the camber adjusted with the top strut.
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2015, 11:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 2 2015, 11:23 PM)
Not many knows that many cars can have the camber adjusted with the top strut.
doh.gif
post Jun 2 2015, 11:59 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 2 2015, 11:49 PM)
doh.gif
Why? My cars have bolts that can be loosened and turned to get whatever camber I want? Yours tak de ke?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOyU6hxCNNs

1.30 something are what my cars have. So why do they want to charge me for camber bolts? Insist on them summore. So I'll go to people who know what to do.

This post has been edited by 6216: Jun 3 2015, 12:03 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 12:20 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 2 2015, 11:59 PM)
Why? My cars have bolts that can be loosened and turned to get whatever camber I want? Yours tak de ke?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOyU6hxCNNs

1.30 something are what my cars have. So why do they want to charge me for camber bolts? Insist on them summore. So I'll go to people who know what to do.
here let me edit my previous message:

most point a-b road cars are non adjustable fixed bolt nor do they have an adjustable camber plate.

at the end of the day still doh.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 12:38 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 12:20 AM)
here let me edit my previous message:

most point a-b road cars are non adjustable fixed bolt nor do they have an adjustable camber plate.
at the end of the day still doh.gif
Mine are just run of the mill Fords....point a-b. Show me a good camber bolt that is cheap keeps it's place going through Malaysian roads, then maybe I'lll agree that they should be changed. Made in China 10-30 bucks ones don't count. They're crap.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 01:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 12:38 AM)
Mine are just run of the mill Fords....point a-b. Show me a good camber bolt that is cheap keeps it's place going through Malaysian roads, then maybe I'lll agree that they should be changed. Made in China 10-30 bucks ones don't count. They're crap.
good that you drive fords smile.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 01:33 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 01:11 AM)
good that you drive fords smile.gif
Jap Fords, 4 of those.

While there may be a need to get camber kits, the ones sold in the majority of tire shops just don't cut it. Too soft and easily lead to the need to do it again. I'd go for proper toes than be unnecessarily concerned about cambers. If I do need my cambers adjusted like when I set up a lowered suspension, I'd go for a good kit rather than a concentric bolt they keep selling. Even then, its a maybe. My tires don't wear out if my camber is out but they will when the toe is not correct.

All my cars are still on their ori bolts, even the Iswara.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 01:35 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 01:33 AM)
Jap Fords, 4 of those.

While there may be a need to get camber kits, the ones sold in the majority of tire shops just don't cut it. Too soft and easily lead to the need to do it again. I'd go for proper toes than be unnecessarily concerned about cambers. If I do need my cambers adjusted like when I set up a lowered suspension, I'd go for a good kit rather than a concentric bolt they keep selling. Even then, its a maybe. My tires don't wear out if my camber is out but they will when the toe is not correct.

All my cars are still on their ori bolts, even the Iswara.
can you take a picture of those strut adjustable camber plates on an iswara that have it's original strut/suspensions? smile.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 01:37 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 01:35 AM)
can you take a picture of those strut adjustable camber plates on an iswara that have it's original strut/suspensions? smile.gif
Iswara tak da la.....but what I'm saying is, you don't need the bolts as much as the tire shop wants you to believe.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 02:03 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 01:37 AM)
Iswara tak da la.....but what I'm saying is, you don't need the bolts as much as the tire shop wants you to believe.
and my message was merely majority of cars do not have anything that can adjust camber.
post Jun 3 2015, 02:10 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 02:03 AM)
and my message was merely majority of cars do not have anything that can adjust camber.
Ok lor....need to adjust, adjust lor using that infernal concentric.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 02:14 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 02:10 AM)
Ok lor....need to adjust, adjust lor using that infernal concentric.
as infernal it may be, how much do you think a custom camber plate will cost? or an adjustable (what? change whole suspensions just to get camber adjustments?) that have camber plates/pillow ball mounts?

how many infernal camber bolts i have to break with Malaysian rally grade road in mind, for me to catch up the cost of what's been mentioned above?
assuming per bolt is just rm15-30ish

and that aside, how many ford owners do you think Malaysia has?

bottom line: please try not to simply misguide people or send out blanket statements thinking it being hard fact.
post Jun 3 2015, 02:28 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 02:14 AM)
as infernal it may be, how much do you think a custom camber plate will cost? or an adjustable (what? change whole suspensions just to get camber adjustments?) that have camber plates/pillow ball mounts?

how many infernal camber bolts i have to break with Malaysian rally grade road in mind, for me to catch up the cost of what's been mentioned above?
assuming per bolt is just rm15-30ish

and that aside, how many ford owners do you think Malaysia has?

bottom line: please try not to simply misguide people or send out blanket statements thinking it being hard fact.
My point is, you don't usually need them. TS has a new car and he only changed the rims rather that geometry, yet those buggers want him to change the bolts. Why? That bad meh?

I agree with posts nos 8,9 & 10.

Bottom line. You don't need them most of the time. And Fords aren't the only ones with plates. Hondas don't have adjustable cambers either and they don't recommend those so called concentrics. I wonder why?
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 02:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 02:28 AM)
My point is, you don't usually need them. TS has a new car and he only changed the rims rather that geometry, yet those buggers want him to change the bolts. Why? That bad meh?

I agree with posts nos 8,9 & 10.

Bottom line. You don't need them most of the time. And Fords aren't the only ones with plates. Hondas don't have adjustable cambers either and they don't recommend those so called concentrics. I wonder why?
May 17 2012, 01:35 AM, updated 4 years ago

you're so concerned about TS?

=edit=
i hope you isn't referring to me, because you hardly know who i am and how i drive laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 3 2015, 02:53 AM
post Jun 3 2015, 02:55 AM

1,003 posts

Then 28, 30 & 31. Why are you so concerned if people don't want to get their bolts changed?
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 03:02 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 02:55 AM)
Then 28, 30 & 31. Why are you so concerned if people don't want to get their bolts changed?
not at all, just concern about you misinforming others smile.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 03:06 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 03:02 AM)
not at all, just concern about you misinforming others smile.gif
How is it misinforming when you don't need the stuff? I also said that many cars have adjustable cambers. Not correct? Even when they do, tire shops still want to change camber bolts. Is that right? Or is that great info or good work? Do they really know what they're doing?
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 03:09 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 03:06 AM)
How is it misinforming when you don't need the stuff? I also said that many cars have adjustable cambers. Not correct? Even when they do, tire shops still want to change camber bolts. Is that right? Or is that great info or good work? Do they really know what they're doing?
but how would you know if someone need or doesn't need 'the stuff'? and no, not correct as not many cars have adjustable cambers. your ford may have, but a huge majority of say, proton, does not.

if a vehicle already have adjustable camber, and a tire shop still want to change it, it is obviously wrong.
however i believe that we do not have such a case here, at least not in this thread until someone decides to take a picture of their strut top to prove your case.
post Jun 3 2015, 03:15 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 03:09 AM)
but how would you know if someone need or doesn't need 'the stuff'? and no, not correct as not many cars have adjustable cambers. your ford may have, but a huge majority of say, proton, does not.

if a vehicle already have adjustable camber, and a tire shop still want to change it, it is obviously wrong.
however i believe that we do not have such a case here, at least not in this thread until someone decides to take a picture of their strut top to prove your case.
Ala......you mean my Iswara needed one in its 20 years? Tarak la and it's been up and down the peninsular. Refer to the posts above. I wonder who misinformed them.

I bet you my Beemers never needed any camber adjustments by changing a bolt either.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 03:18 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 03:15 AM)
Ala......you mean my Iswara needed one in its 20 years? Tarak la and it's been up and down the peninsular. Refer to the posts above. I wonder who misinformed them.

I bet you my Beemers never needed any camber adjustments by changing a bolt either.
my iswara needed camber adjustments, else id be forced to change tires every 10k km smile.gif
good for your beemers smile.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 10:21 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 03:18 AM)
my iswara needed camber adjustments, else id be forced to change tires every 10k km smile.gif
good for your beemers smile.gif
Mine never did. Only things done were changing the abs, mounts and bearing. Its still on its straight bolts. Tyres last years until time to change because they were too old. Only recently had to redo the suspension due to sticking bearing on the right mount.

You might want to find better tire techs.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 10:26 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 10:21 AM)
Mine never did. Only things done were changing the abs, mounts and bearing. Its still on its straight bolts. Tyres last years until time to change because they were too old. Only recently had to redo the suspension due to sticking bearing on the right mount.

You might want to find better tire techs.
still going on with your assumptions doh.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 10:33 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 10:26 AM)
still going on with your assumptions doh.gif
Well, considering you have been changing yours and I have yet to change one in 35 years of driving........it's pretty telling.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 10:47 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 10:33 AM)
Well, considering you have been changing yours and I have yet to change one in 35 years of driving........it's pretty telling.
oh you KNOW i have been changing mine all the time? laugh.gif
what is it telling then? tire mechanics are terribad?

come on now.
post Jun 3 2015, 11:47 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 10:47 AM)
oh you KNOW i have been changing mine all the time? laugh.gif
what is it telling then? tire mechanics are terribad?

come on now.
You did say you need yours adjusting and even one pair is perhaps one pair too many. Unless of course, you keep changing your suspension set up, but even then toe is more important. Never changed mine and my tyres last way longer than 40k. I change tyres when they're old or when they're scrubbed due to exuberant cornering. Other than that I leave my cambers alone and so does my tech.

Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 11:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 11:47 AM)
You did say you need yours adjusting and even one pair is perhaps one pair too many. Unless of course, you keep changing your suspension set up, but even then toe is more important. Never changed mine and my tyres last way longer than 40k. I change tyres when they're old or when they're scrubbed due to exuberant cornering. Other than that I leave my cambers alone and so does my tech.
oh, perhaps you do get a hint.
post Jun 3 2015, 12:05 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 11:49 AM)
oh, perhaps you do get a hint.
Not due to cambers on, to paraphrase you, point a-b cars. Its just my driving style and I still don't change camber bolts and many a-b drivers don't need to either despite what tire shops want them to think and that was the issue.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 12:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 12:05 PM)
Not due to cambers on, to paraphrase you, point a-b cars. Its just my driving style and I still don't change camber bolts and many a-b drivers don't need to either despite what tire shops want them to think and that was the issue.
hahaha you really know everything laugh.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 12:10 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 12:06 PM)
hahaha you really know everything laugh.gif
Whatever. Keep changing for a-b pointers. Let people get fleeced. Not my problem. You see that as necessary and yet want to say so much when I say otherwise. You have your views with others and I have mine also with others. Fact is, I never changed nor bothered about camber setting on my cars and they do just as well.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2015, 12:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jun 3 2015, 12:10 PM)
Whatever. Keep changing for a-b pointers. Let people get fleeced. Not my problem. You see that as necessary and yet want to say so much when I say otherwise. You have your views with others and I have mine also with others. Fact is, I never changed nor bothered about camber setting on my cars and they do just as well.
Notice that I have not mentioned any of my opinions /specifics besides my car has done camber adjustment and majority of our cars (in Malaysia ) does not allow camber adjustment on stock form.

Try not assume everything about me /everyone or worse, putting words /opinions on my mouth. laugh.gif
post Jun 3 2015, 12:41 PM

1,003 posts

OK lor.....
amad108
post Jun 3 2015, 04:12 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

For certain car still can adjust camber, but has it limit.. As i know, kancil vios and alto still can adjust camber..
nestum
post Jun 3 2015, 11:20 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ May 28 2015, 01:38 PM)
teach me how to a stock proton/toyota/honda new car
with stock setup
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2015, 01:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nestum @ Jun 3 2015, 11:20 PM)
with stock setup
nvm la lol
cahayamalamku
post Jun 4 2015, 07:52 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2015, 12:32 PM)
Notice that I have not mentioned any of my opinions /specifics besides my car has done camber adjustment and majority of our cars (in Malaysia ) does not allow camber adjustment on stock form.

Try not assume everything about me /everyone or worse,  putting words /opinions on my mouth. laugh.gif
why by default, we can't do camber adjustment?
and what is the maximum acceptable camber degree we have to look at before we need to adjust?
post Jun 4 2015, 09:43 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(nestum @ Jun 3 2015, 11:20 PM)
with stock setup
Does Honda recommend using camber bolts?
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2015, 10:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(cahayamalamku @ Jun 4 2015, 07:52 AM)
why by default, we can't do camber adjustment?
and what is the maximum acceptable camber degree we have to look at before we need to adjust?
because most vehicles have fixed bolts/do not have strut camber plates.

usually if your car is not involve in accidents/really bad potholes, camber won't run out.
usual tolerance is within +/- 1 degree.
JunJun04035
post Aug 5 2015, 09:49 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(calvinooi1234 @ Aug 4 2015, 10:41 PM)
Today august 4 2015, I put 2 side chamber new screw gold colour RM70.
He say if no change ,my standard  9yrs n 90k km already....
he say if no change will lari sooner
Alignment plus balanc8ng RM35.

Tht screw mahal but include labour
PLATINUM SCREW PUN SAMA CERITA, YOU KENA RIPOFF
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2015, 11:03 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(calvinooi1234 @ Aug 4 2015, 10:41 PM)
Today august 4 2015, I put 2 side chamber new screw gold colour RM70.
He say if no change ,my standard  9yrs n 90k km already....
he say if no change will lari sooner
Alignment plus balanc8ng RM35.

Tht screw mahal but include labour
should have tell him to print out your alignment/camber readings before we determine if the shop is a rip off.

for 2 piece of camber screw, rm70 is a bit of a rip off, however including labor to adjust at the absorbers, it's not as bad as one think ASSUMING you actually do need a camber adjustment.
SUSnm7
post Aug 5 2015, 03:50 PM

192 posts

If i don't mess with my camber. My car scrape it's inner fenders. So sad.

[attachmentid=4696910]

Inilah baru power. Tak payah camber bolt. Just take a dremel and grind away at the bolt holes. If got time, weld a plate with a bolt to control the adjustment and keep the entire setting in place.

P/s: my camber bolts only cost like under rm15 per pair at a hardware shop.

This post has been edited by nm7: Aug 5 2015, 04:53 PM

0.0501sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:49 AM