Wizard Discussion, Come, all ye arcanists

paogiv3r
post May 16 2012, 01:50 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Becabal @ May 16 2012, 10:58 AM)
Wizard can use both hand weapon or not?
can, u can use any weap and shields, that's why DIII dynamic built is not on stats but on weapons, and their items are all auction markett, DIII planned this so they can earn $$ from real $ auction not old ways of pay to play like WoW. Trend changes
paogiv3r
post May 16 2012, 02:07 PM

395 posts

wiz can have few various of build:
u can be dmger or tanker, cooperative player.
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 09:58 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(my-logitech @ Jun 13 2012, 08:51 AM)
anyone is playing melee wiz ?
what item to aim if going for melee wiz

thanks guys
i advise you melee wiz is good for normal,NM,Hell only. Inferno you can't do that until you have super uber equip.
1) use spectral 8% on cri HP leech
2) go for crit and speed attack gears.
3) equip a emerald gem on your weap socket

you'll bash all easily, use diamond rune no.1

look forward for anyone's view on this, btw im lvl 60 act 3-4 inferno wiz

Added on June 14, 2012, 9:59 am
QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 14 2012, 08:45 AM)
The real problem here is meeting those extra health, molten, invulnerable minions, shielded and mortar mobs. When i see that = kiss floor.  cry.gif

And kiting is taking a lot of time. I mean a lot a lot of time. What is the best way to increase my dmg as of now? Very difficult for me to get it up to that level also. And that is also with assistance of magic weapon.
what level are you now? why struggling? wiz should be easy 1-60

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jun 14 2012, 09:59 AM
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 10:06 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ Jun 13 2012, 09:37 AM)
IMO= in my opinion?
correct.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 13 2012, 11:09 AM)
you need crit chance for critical mass to refresh cooldown of your that crystalize thing, and life on hit.
yeah this is good too.

QUOTE(joeong @ Jun 13 2012, 11:17 AM)
meelee wizard needs crit chance, crit damage increaase, critical mass,
veeery fun to play. but veeery hard in later modes of inferno.
the price of gear crazylah...
the fairest prices that i've found so far are in hardcore mode.
where people dont sell for stupid prices and the market actually has good affordable items. (affordable meaning u can buy them with normal play through at your level)
100% agreed, later difficulties need to change combo can survive one but need good tanker only.

QUOTE(achok @ Jun 13 2012, 04:18 PM)
tried melee wiz, just dun go well... maybe my item sux sad.gif
as i advised, check earlier post.

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Jun 13 2012, 05:52 PM)
I been playing melee since inferno, tanking almost act 1

Here the combo
MOuse left : Spectral blade - deep cut
MOuse RIght : Meteor - reduce AP
1 - Diamond SKin - Increase absorb
2- FrostNova - Reduce Cooldown
3 - Hydra - Poison
4 - Energy Armor - Increase All Res

Passive
1. Critical mass
2. Astral
3. Reduce cooldown

See mobs/boss, cast diamond skin, run up, hold right click, spam inbetween frost nova or diamond skin whenever possible.

Stat to look out
At least 25% Critical Chance
At least 600 HP per hit
At least 15 AP gain per critical hit to ensure continuous stream of meteor
At least 20k hp, 15k dps, 600 all res and 6000 armor.

You wont be killing every elite or boss, but most are managable, need lot of button spamming and microing depending on bosses smile.gif

Goodluck
Inferno Act 1 is still like hell mode la, easy.
You'll need more HP and DPS, at least 40kHP, 20-50k dps and more resist and armor. when u proceed further and u'll find per hit 600 is pretty useless soon, % HP leech better.

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jun 14 2012, 10:09 AM
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 10:19 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 10:06 AM)
If you refer his posts just 2 post above the one you quoted, he's in inferno.

How's melee build in act3/4 btw? If it's working decently, can share your stats (the detailed one)/equips here? smile.gif Done with Diablo, thought if this is fun and doesn't cost too much, I could try regear to this for the heck of it tongue.gif
Hi ellimist, solo is still pretty easy and manageable, myself find it really hard melee with 2< players in inferno.

May i know what's your built? There's alot of ways you can play any characters, but i so far only tried Wiz highest level.

Added on June 14, 2012, 10:22 am
QUOTE(Vorador @ Jun 14 2012, 10:12 AM)
whoa thanks to you guys' suggestion. Yesterday i went AH, spent around 70k golds bought an yellow katana with 750 dmg. (and plus 200-450 arcane dmg). My output jump from 8.4k to 21k. Woo hoo now Hell Act 1 became piece of cake...
(except my hp still 5.6k, any elite/ champion touch me then gone case again sweat.gif)
Get more vit then switch to force shield deduction HP 35% and use mirror spell, and illusionist passive.
keep hitting mirror when hit, you won't die that easy smile.gif

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jun 14 2012, 10:22 AM
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 04:43 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 14 2012, 04:27 PM)
tq for the replies  rclxms.gif

he did some extent of kiting in hell difficulty, but at the same time he also tanked with diamond skin when mobs are near. i'm not sure how well he would coupe with both play styles.

any recommended skill that he should try out? any inputs regarding the skill he uses??

currently the setup he's using is something like

1: diamond skin
2: frost nova
3: some spinning satelite balls/ blizzard
4: some shield
5: i forgot this one D:
lclick: normal attack
rclick: pew pew lazar!!!!!!!!!!!!

thx again  smile.gif
like ellimist & alexdino said, diamond skin is no longer useful unless you have lots of def and resist and armor.

D3 is really like a piece of puzzles game where how you want to strategize your built.

Based from his play style i think he likes to play AOE spells. with range?

pew pew lazer? the channeling spells works great if you do not increase your attack speed, else your arcane power get drain even faster. IAS dont' work on channeling spells.
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 04:52 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 11:25 AM)

My most generic build:

L. Magic Missle (seeker)
R. Arcane Orb Tap Source
1. Tele (wormhole)
2. Force weapon
3. Venom Hydra
4. Force armor

P1: Glass cannon
P2: Temporal Flux
P3: Illusionist
I am testing out this method, good? need your advise

L. Magic missle no.1
R. Arcane Orb (20 AP reduced)
1. Magic Weap, Venom (15% ea attack)
2. Mirror 10%
3. Teleport, Facture
4. Force Armor, 35%

P1. Glass Canon
P2. Illusionist
P3. Arcane Presence

Crit hitter and ArcanePower return, my mirror attack can stacks on the venom 15% per sec..
can help me confirms this?
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 04:56 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 04:49 PM)
Channeling in inferno is suicidal, unless you have unbelievable gears I guess tongue.gif
Yay nice, wizzies around here can use the calculator, and update values accordingly so you know what your purchase is gonna do for you in terms of DPS :claps:

Added on June 14, 2012, 4:50 pm

Allows you to 3 hit kill any elites? Y so imba? tongue.gif

Or you're talking about being 3 hit killed by an elite

Wah saved up so much, deff enough to regear decently notworthy.gif
Think about channeling for a sec, use really low IAS weapon (avoid AP drainage with same dmg), use arcane return on crit hit, and HP steal per hit.

do u think it will work?
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 04:58 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 04:49 PM)
Channeling in inferno is suicidal, unless you have unbelievable gears I guess tongue.gif
Yay nice, wizzies around here can use the calculator, and update values accordingly so you know what your purchase is gonna do for you in terms of DPS :claps:

Added on June 14, 2012, 4:50 pm

Allows you to 3 hit kill any elites? Y so imba? tongue.gif

Or you're talking about being 3 hit killed by an elite

Wah saved up so much, deff enough to regear decently notworthy.gif
QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jun 14 2012, 04:52 PM)
not 3 hit kill

3 hit killED~ tongue.gif

yea, planning to get around 20mil before 1.0.3 , then waiting 3 days after 1.0.3 while farming myself and get the gear that i dont have
QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jun 14 2012, 04:52 PM)
Depends on how your bro wants to play. His built seems to be halfway between a melee wizard and a kiter tho. If he wants to melee, there are some builds a few pages back. But here's what I think:

1. Diamond skin - keep this if you really want to melee, otherwise, teleport with fracture/wormhole is better. Get the illusionist passive skill too.
2. Frost nova - again, a melee skill.
3. Arcane orb shield thingy - really only for melee builds, and even then, not the best you can have. Explosion would be better. Blizzard - this is for kiting.
4. some shield - I hope this is Energy armor with force rune

rclick laserpewpew (aka Disintergrate or Ray of frost?) - These are good skills if you can stand still and shoot. Problem is, inferno is almost impossible to tank, so standing still means dying.
can someone confirms this? does damage return on melee "reduce incoming attack" upon hitting you?
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 05:17 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jun 14 2012, 04:59 PM)
damage return? i don't really quite sure what you meant.... is it stat or skill?
a stats in equipment, melee attackers get dmg : xxx dmg
paogiv3r
post Jun 14 2012, 05:28 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 14 2012, 05:00 PM)
well, sort of a mix of both

i watched him play most of the time while nagging him to go offline so i can play WoW in peace when he's in hell difficulty. usually he burns his arcane power with the laser beam skill and use frost nova/ diamond skin to escape while activating the satelite balls to aoe mobs

seeing that mobs are indeed crazier at inferno difficulty and earlier corpse running attempt, especially when elites are tagged with stupidly imba perks

so, i should advise him to use other spells other than the beam ones? any advice on spells he should use?
channel spells need tanker in inferno, you can't solo through that with channeling spells.
paogiv3r
post Jun 25 2012, 02:48 PM

395 posts

actually i've confirmed that armor and all resist is important but not as important as being a DPS wizard in inferno. cannot tank seriously.

Wiz is not built for tank like monk / barb.
monk and barb have like and self sustain spells. not WIZ JUST NOT WIZ!!

I have around 7500 armor and 800+ All Resist, use crit mass in passive with diamond armor, also still get pwned in crit / hp leech / tanking set.

SERIOUSLY cannott... anyone help give advise on tanking?
paogiv3r
post Jun 25 2012, 03:14 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(joeong @ Jun 25 2012, 02:59 PM)
^ canot mehhh. im using similar stats but can tank in act 3-4, with critical mass/ frostnova

just elites u have to adjust a little bit (desecrator mobs u have to move a little bit then frost nova, keep on moving +nova when u see fire under u)

arcane u have to time your diamondskin presses when the bar is coming. more than 2 bars, u have to move out of range from 1 of them.

invlunerable minions also we can tapau cos can freeze the minions so no difference.

others all should be able to tank. if u dont have enough mobs/ run to side mobs and lure them in so ur critical mass will proc more.

vs range tanking, since i used time bubble i have no problems with range tanking d.

some u have to feeze, and kite them a little bit then should be able to!

glass cannon wiz very pain on pocketlah this patch...
i did i can tank with freeze and all sort, but when comes to elite = GG
paogiv3r
post Jun 27 2012, 11:36 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(joeong @ Jun 26 2012, 01:59 PM)
^^ bros tried the wicked wind build.
fantastic. multiple casts of twister on 1 spot do stack. but the critical numbers for some reason are white in color so u cant see them proc very clearly. but confirmed that they do proc kaukaukau. Wixked wind is like blizz dmg 280% over 6 seconds but just imagine the damage like stacking 5 blizzard on 1 spot lol. my dps only 13k and act 3 with 4 players in party no problem for me to go jalan jalan exploring alone! (except some elites still abit tough) gargoyles kite me kaukau...

using this exact build recommended by myriel.
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/wiza...;gab!YZccYa
only diff is i changed Evocation -> Temporal Flux

^wow very nice dps items. I recommend finding a high life on hit weapon (800+ LOH) but it will be superduper expensive....
not sure what other things you should change. the biggest change will be if u change your weapon.
others all minimal changes only.

btw bros heres a super useful link my fren gave me
http://www.d3rmt.com/guides/diablo-3-item-...maximum-values/
This is a really good guide
http://www.d3rmt.com/guides/diablo-3-item-...maximum-values/

Ask admin pin it up please?

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:39 am
QUOTE(JAYworm @ Jun 25 2012, 06:24 PM)
Seems we cant go for both glass cannon or tanker wizard unless we are ultra rich.
Imagine a item with
150int
150vit
+70 resistance to all
+ crit chance by 5%
+ crit damage by 50%
these kind of item normally cost 100m atleast  :sweat

Btw im a tanker wizard with 7k armor, 800 physical resists, 650+ all resists, 30+% damage reduction from melee.
Nice stats oh.

Im also a DPS and tanker wizard.

8.5k armor, 800+ All Resist, 31% block 3k-4k dmg. No problem can tank elite in act 2-5 already.
Finally i understand it need shield to block if u have +block% in ur items. such as helm of command.

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:41 am
QUOTE(fizyboy @ Jun 26 2012, 09:10 AM)
Re-geared my wiz for more def now

HP 30k
Armor 5k
All Resist 800

DPS
- 31k unbuffed
- 35k + Force Weapon
- 39k + FW + Sparkflint

act 1 & 2 is easy mode for me now but still can't make the transition to act III D:<

I think I will drop the all resist to 500 (so that it will be 1:10 ratio) and get more DPS but I just not sure where to start!
I'll post my gears later so you guys can halp me on which item to upgrade.  icon_question.gif
get string of ears for belt biggrin.gif 20% damage reduction from melee or get a shield u can tank already.
but u need crit mass passive with diamond skin.

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jun 27 2012, 11:41 AM
paogiv3r
post Jun 27 2012, 03:46 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(present me @ Jun 27 2012, 03:35 PM)
Inferno act 1 ,I farm like hell just repair. My all armor almost 31k,my wizard damage13k armor 7600 within energy armor i was press hp20k regeneration per second life 1550 do u all think i inspect any problem?
Inferno you farm like hell O_o ??
why so hard bro...

DPS = 15k is good
Armor = 5k is good already
AResist = 500-600 is good already

probably is ur skill settings? and your built play?

Added on June 27, 2012, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(Dinodino123 @ Jun 25 2012, 11:59 AM)
i got 1 900+ dps weapon lvl reduced 14 so it will help u to boost ur dps to make ur lvling easier offer me a price if u are interested i can sell it to u...
900 DPS 1H O_O ??

Added on June 27, 2012, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(Szzz @ Jun 21 2012, 02:50 PM)
if i use bliz/hydra, my mana is almost everytime full...1 crit with magic missile gives me 20 arcane...i can almost spam blizz with unrelenting storm
then switch ur primary mouse1 to a spell attack.

Added on June 27, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(Chobits @ Jun 25 2012, 02:10 PM)
Ok...Build check

What is the trend now for wiz ?

Chii is still stacking Attack speed as #1 priority for DPS....is that good ?

Currently using 2H 1379 Blue weapon.

have 41k dps (force weapon)
30k hp
600 all resist (prismatic armor 800)
armor 3.7k (energy armor)

btw, force armor or prismatic armor better ?
for your case prismatic better.
force armor do no good like that

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jun 27 2012, 03:53 PM
paogiv3r
post Jul 9 2012, 05:57 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Jul 6 2012, 01:03 PM)
keyboard warrior  tongue.gif, not sure that can we use 3rd party software that bind the frost nova and diamond skin together, meaning i button for 2 skill..   biggrin.gif
QUOTE(present me @ Jul 6 2012, 02:39 PM)
Walao if got 2in1 button make easy lol..not like now press the button like crazy somemore need focus mob enemy n my ap....third party must say u ply insane... Haha..biggrin.gif
QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 6 2012, 02:41 PM)
razer keyboard use macro
ahahaha
Can i teach you, put frost nova + diamond skin on mouse scroll [scroll up & scroll down] so you just need to scroll up and down while ur hand holding mouse 1. 1 hand = 3 combo already.

remember add me if u guys wanna go 2-4 wizard with this kind of build we can perma farm in act 4 without anyone dying, i tried already 2 wizard also very powerful, 90% all elite no chance to move. --> healthyfood#1315 battle tag, pls state u from lyn.

I change my diamond skin shield to the one upon wears off give 150% dmg one, very good. as you recast again it hit again and again

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jul 9 2012, 05:59 PM
paogiv3r
post Aug 30 2012, 12:16 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Aug 29 2012, 02:58 PM)
i used to be stucked in act 2 inferno at the beginning.

but gradual upgrades of gear lets me get pass it, now i can play finish act 4 even with average gear .
keyword = 103 (wicked wind)  104 (storm chaser)
what is stormchaser?
paogiv3r
post Aug 30 2012, 12:27 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Aug 30 2012, 12:09 PM)
Have a very dumb question
My wiz almost ding 60 and now scouting gear.
I wonder the LOH does it work with spell?
Or only if u are a melee wizard with spectral blade?
LOH is needed in any combat 1 hit = X life return.
so it's useful to help u sustain some hp when u hand in hand combat / spell with mobs.

also good for fighting mobs with reflective damage return.
paogiv3r
post Aug 30 2012, 02:29 PM

395 posts

Can please test, will that work while u use spectra blade 8% dmg return as HP? 1MIL hit 80k HP regen wor.

QUOTE(Becabal @ Aug 25 2012, 09:55 PM)
Its not my skill problem but its the weapon....wait i ss the weapon and let u see.

edit: i havent really test how it could happen so if u buy sever dont blame me lol.

user posted image this weapon deal those dmg

user posted image this weapon which more dps than sever but never get this kind of number

The ss
paogiv3r
post Sep 3 2012, 01:10 PM

395 posts

those who havent add me, add me leh
healthyfood#1315 for perma frost team. smile.gif