Wizard Discussion, Come, all ye arcanists

fizyboy
post May 23 2012, 12:06 PM

280 posts

Below inferno level, spend all your money to buy good weapon..
Other than that, find rings/amulets with +Damage .. for everything else just stack up int..
Also don't forget to use Glass Canon + Familiar + Magic Weapon skills.

I'm lvl 38 and my damage is around 2k now... Using 2h weapon with 101 dps.. int 905..
Still a lot of room for improvement, using a crappy belt and havnt put topaz on some sockets, still a work in progress i guess..

I did some weapon shopping yesterday.. Bought a lvl 42 staff that has 261 max damage.. I believe this will pretty much double my damage output..
Also, can't wait to level to lvl 50, because I got extremely lucky to buy a crossbow with 477 dps for only 2.5k gold lol, which if I could equip now, would add extra +6~7k to my current damage output.. My damage will be decent pretty soon! biggrin.gif

Having no problem solo-ing nightmare but has low survivablity during party play.. I only have vit 133.. some elite and bosses could 1 hit me and down to the ground I goes x_x Tonight I wanna experiment the Energy Armor + Diamond Skin combo.. but I heard they secretly nerfed it recently.. damn havnt even got the chance to try it out sad.gif Anyone can confirm on this?

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 23 2012, 12:48 PM
fizyboy
post May 23 2012, 06:46 PM

280 posts

damn just realize force armor is only available at lvl 54.. guess i wont b able to experiment tonight. anyone can confirm that the build is still working? if so, im going to collect life regen gears while im my on way to lvl 54 smile.gif

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 23 2012, 06:46 PM
fizyboy
post May 24 2012, 10:27 AM

280 posts

Energy Armor
Skill Rune - Force Armor
Amount of damage absorbed from a single attack will now cap at 100% of a player’s maximum Life

--

Before this, regardless of ur armor, it doesnt matter how much damage is inflicted to u, the max damage u can receive in 1 hit is 35% of ur HP and the rest will be nullified by the force armor.

So ppl have been exploiting this even in inferno act IV by having very low HP (4k) and very high life regen (3k per sec) so that their hp will always stay above half, adding mirror images or diamond skin to the formula will render them immortal.

After the hot fix, the force armor will only absorb damage up to 100% of ur HP per hit, so that means the above exploit no longer works.

Even though we got nerfed big time, I'm happy with it because VIT was actually bad for us, it doesnt make any sense at all. With this change, FA will still be useful in inferno, given that u have decent HP (30k) and armor.
fizyboy
post May 24 2012, 12:08 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(chitchat @ May 24 2012, 11:11 AM)
Ermm sorry i a bit noob, does this mean those with 4k HP build now if mob dmg is 5k (over 100% of max life) then is 1 hit KO ? but if mob dmg is only 4.5k then it stay the same right ?
I believe this is how it works..

Case 1: Damage higher than your HP

HP: 4,000

1) Mob Hit for 9,999
Force Armor unable to help u, so you dieded 1 shoteded

Case 2: Damage lower than your HP

HP: 10,000
35% of HP: 3,500

1) Mob Hit for 9,999
Force Armor reduce the damage taken to 35% only, your new HP is 10,000 - 3,500 = 6,500
2) Mob Hit for 9,999
New HP 6,500 - 3,500 = 3,000
~Activate Diamond Skin ~ 21,000 extra HP for 6 seconds (Crystal Shell)
3) Mob Hit for 9,999
All absorbed by Diamond Skin
4) Mob Hit for 9,999
All absorbed by Diamond Skin
5) Mob Hit for 9,999
If you still getting hit for 5th time, you need to learn to kite lol

So its still useful given that you have decent VIT..

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 24 2012, 12:15 PM
fizyboy
post May 26 2012, 06:56 PM

280 posts

16.6k DPS at level 52
Using 655 DPS 2H Sword

Anyone wanna buy my 450 DPS 2H Staff for lvl 48? =)

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 26 2012, 06:56 PM
fizyboy
post May 26 2012, 07:40 PM

280 posts

Just started Act 2 Hell.. its easy to kill mobs but easy to die too haha >_>
fizyboy
post May 26 2012, 10:13 PM

280 posts

fizyboy
post May 27 2012, 01:02 AM

280 posts

Lol sorry you guys are just a few min too late, reserved the staff to someone for 100k..
fizyboy
post May 28 2012, 03:47 PM

280 posts

If you are having a tough time on Hell, make your life easy with these new weapons nao! biggrin.gif

Lvl 50 2H XBOW with 450dps
selling for 85k~

Lvl 52 2H Sword with 665dps
selling for 250k~
(this is the weapon that I use to get the damage on my sig)

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 28 2012, 03:48 PM
fizyboy
post May 28 2012, 03:55 PM

280 posts

Ok jenniferjen, noted.. add me up! smile.gif
fizyboy
post May 30 2012, 11:05 AM

280 posts

Last night woke up at 3:30am and play start of Inferno Act 1 until Skeleton King and I thought the game is fairly easy than expected so far.. Blue and Elites mob pack hardly gives me any problem but still die a few times la due to own mistake / lag tongue.gif Probably it will get more interesting as the game gets harder later on..

This is my skill build:

Offensive:

1. Arcane Orb (Tap the Source)
I don't have any signature spell so I use this for my main attack instead of my usual magic misile seeker + blizzard combo. Its important that you use this rune and a slow 2H weapon so that you won't run out AP so quickly.

2. Hydra (Venom)
Awesome for kiting... just summon it in the middle and u run in circle around it and everything that chase u will fall down like flies~

Defensive:

3. Teleport (Fracture)
Got Jailed or Walled? No problem, teleport your ass out of danger! I think its very underrated in D3 and if you can use it properly, it will make ur life so much easier. Try to teleport over an obstacle so that you can buy sometime for yourself / free shot at them. I chose the rune because the 2 decoy always seems to distract them lol.

4. Diamond Skin (Crystal Shell)
I find that its important to have 2 defensive spell in inferno.. so if you already used up your teleport, u still have a backup plan to save urself from dying. Get Crystal Shell rune for protection up to 21.7k damage.

Buff:

5. Energy Armor (Force Armor)
Get your HP in the range of 20k and all hits will be reduced to 35% percent of ur life. Must have.

6. Magic Weapon (Force Weapon)
Up your DPS by 15%. Must have.

Passive:

Glass Canon for more DPS. You need it.
Temporal Flux to slow them down with your Orb.
Astral Presence because u really need a lot of AP & regen with this build.

Comments:
If I feel confident, I could swap Diamond Skin or Energy Armor for Familiar + Sparkflint for even more DPS. Also, I think Galvinizing Ward is no longer useful in inferno because you now have high HP.. Too bad the regen amount doesnt scale with your level sad.gif Just find some EQ with life regen instead of wasting a slot for it.

Thoughts?
fizyboy
post May 31 2012, 11:13 AM

280 posts

ellimist..
reserve me that 2H staff please.. pm'ed u! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fizyboy: May 31 2012, 11:21 AM
fizyboy
post Jun 1 2012, 09:43 AM

280 posts

weapon B is better because the bonus aspd is already taken into account to calculate the shown dps of the weapon whereas the +190 int shud give u extra damage.
fizyboy
post Jun 1 2012, 11:22 AM

280 posts

When I play solo, I can easily keep my 5 stack of valor buff, even kill Butcher in my first try..
But when I join a party/group, its so freaking hard to kill one blue mob pack :-s
What am I doing wrong?

DPS 41k (without Flint)
HP 25k
VIT 750
Resist 150~188
Damage Reduction 38%

Should I reduce my DPS to up my defense or should I just solo and farm by myself for now?

This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jun 1 2012, 12:43 PM
fizyboy
post Jun 11 2012, 12:11 PM

280 posts

Get

Movement speed 23~25%
35k-45k HP
> 30k damage
1H : 900+ dps with high attack speed, bonus int/vit
Orb : 80 - 350 damage, bonus int/vit

I dont really care about all res but it certainly helps when you calculate your effective HP ..
I'm still using 2H until I have more gold to spend..

IMO the cheap way to get 25% attack speed without sacrificing too much damage/hp:

boj angers (11% ms, 13% as) - got it for 150k
inna's (7% ms, 15% as) - got it for 500k
lacuni prowlers (7% ms, 13% as) - still trying to find < 1.2m

IAS is bugged until 1.0.3 is released but i think its better to buy now before inna's become more expensive.. hope they don't nerf too much attack speed though :/ but if you can afford it, u can buy Flavour of Time amulet / Unity ring or even Blackthorne's Medal..
fizyboy
post Jun 11 2012, 11:19 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 11 2012, 10:39 PM)
And thanks to FIZYBOY, I have gone and bought mahal lacunis for more attack speed, and now buffed dmg is 50k. Thanks fizy i is poor now. And bought something blizz is gonna nerfs lol
lol after u told me that, I went ahead and bought one for myself too biggrin.gif so technically u also made me poor! laugh.gif

@Doggystyle
try to get 25% movement speed.. its the 'in' thing to do now apparently biggrin.gif
fizyboy
post Jun 14 2012, 01:47 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 09:41 AM)
Some affixes are just retarded, like invul minions, would suggest to just skip those.

In regards to dmg, generally improving weapon is the easist way to increase dmg.

Roughly speaking:

((((Weapon Avg Dmg + Other avg dmg) * Int multiplier) * skill increases ) * Total attacks per second) * (1 + (crit chance * crit dmg).

If you don't use signature spell, attspeed may not increase ur real dmg though
I made a little calculator out of this formula:

Guess the value is still off..
is it because of the additional lightning damage on the weapon hmmm..

anyone wanna test it?

fizyboy
post Jun 14 2012, 02:02 PM

280 posts

@xbbshampoo
Na, 43k is not high its average tongue.gif Anyhow its because I was farming Act 1 last night.
If I go Act 2 or 3 my DPS would be a lot lower to make room for max movement speed & VIT/RES gear.
but anway my dps n gears are shit n crappy biggrin.gif

And thats EHP Calculator, I don't think it calculates DPS.
There's another website that does, but I can't remember the URL.

@ellimist
There's this Wizard DPS Equivalence on Google Doc but when I enter my value there, its off also, or perhaps I enter it wrongly.
I'm lazy to understand all the stuff, maybe I'll spend more time during the weekend laugh.gif
fizyboy
post Jun 14 2012, 02:26 PM

280 posts

In my example before I did not use Sparkflint, only Force Weapon & Glass Canon so is the 30% skill increase value in character sheet correct?
I'll try to debug more when I have time but for now feel free to download D3WizDpsCalc and try it!

My code goes something like this:

This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jun 14 2012, 03:31 PM
fizyboy
post Jun 14 2012, 03:31 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 14 2012, 02:42 PM)
I believe that's why you kenot tie, the 30% tu salah. Or rather that should be how it is, but it seems like magic weapon applied twice. Instead it'll be 1.3 * 1.15 (magic weapon reapplied lolz) = 1.495. You quickly plug that in tgk betul tak laugh.gif

Ok will download your calculator n give feedback smile.gif
OK, added skill options and now terlebih pulak tongue.gif

but much closer than b4.. getting there!
*updated the download link

0.0405sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:07 PM