Wizard Discussion, Come, all ye arcanists

dishwasher
post Jun 5 2012, 03:53 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(antwar @ Jun 5 2012, 03:08 PM)
i'm level 60 wiz with 30k hp and 35k dps..Cant pass act 2 sad.gif..the elite is too strong
With those stats you should be able to pass act 2. What's your build like?
dishwasher
post Jun 6 2012, 07:02 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

You can see the snakes. And if you keep moving they materialize before attacking anyway. As for firebombs... Just have to dodge them. Run speed and seeker missile makes this quite ok.
dishwasher
post Jun 8 2012, 11:58 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I'm on 37k hp and 37k dps, can't use glass canon cos I need temporal flux. Act 3 is fine as long as it's not a stupid reflect dmg mob or a soul ripper elite. Gotta make my way to siegebreaker so I can start farming
dishwasher
post Jun 8 2012, 01:35 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 8 2012, 01:18 PM)
fast/vortex combined with some other dmg like molten n all seems to give me probs as well sweat.gif

I'm pass siegebreaker actually. If you want I could proly create siegebreaker, you head to rakkis crossing, and you'll meet tyrael there, just a very short distance forward then sampai siegebreaker
Yeah, I die to them too, but at least they're killable if you're patient enough and kite well enough. End of the dungeon back to the front back to the end ahahaha. Sad case. Its cool on siegebreaker tho. Almost there myself, so not really a problem.

QUOTE(chitchat @ Jun 8 2012, 01:22 PM)
siegebreaker inferno good farm ? i think of so many elite there i headache liao, need marathon so long some more tight space  rclxub.gif
Tyrone da man will help you kill everything you can't kill.
dishwasher
post Jun 10 2012, 10:23 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I have 38k using only a dingy 850 dps wand, so it's definitely doable. Get more ias.
dishwasher
post Jun 14 2012, 11:12 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

That simply means it does the 'standard' Hydra's damage. I have to disagree about Lightning Hydra being better tho (as would the Wizard forums). Venom Hydra is simply out and out our best spell right now. Once the poison pools stack, hooo boy do the mobs die fast.
dishwasher
post Jun 14 2012, 04:52 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 14 2012, 04:27 PM)
tq for the replies  rclxms.gif

he did some extent of kiting in hell difficulty, but at the same time he also tanked with diamond skin when mobs are near. i'm not sure how well he would coupe with both play styles.

any recommended skill that he should try out? any inputs regarding the skill he uses??

currently the setup he's using is something like

1: diamond skin
2: frost nova
3: some spinning satelite balls/ blizzard
4: some shield
5: i forgot this one D:
lclick: normal attack
rclick: pew pew lazar!!!!!!!!!!!!

thx again  smile.gif
Depends on how your bro wants to play. His built seems to be halfway between a melee wizard and a kiter tho. If he wants to melee, there are some builds a few pages back. But here's what I think:

1. Diamond skin - keep this if you really want to melee, otherwise, teleport with fracture/wormhole is better. Get the illusionist passive skill too.
2. Frost nova - again, a melee skill.
3. Arcane orb shield thingy - really only for melee builds, and even then, not the best you can have. Explosion would be better. Blizzard - this is for kiting.
4. some shield - I hope this is Energy armor with force rune

rclick laserpewpew (aka Disintergrate or Ray of frost?) - These are good skills if you can stand still and shoot. Problem is, inferno is almost impossible to tank, so standing still means dying.
dishwasher
post Jun 14 2012, 05:06 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 14 2012, 05:00 PM)
well, sort of a mix of both

i watched him play most of the time while nagging him to go offline so i can play WoW in peace when he's in hell difficulty. usually he burns his arcane power with the laser beam skill and use frost nova/ diamond skin to escape while activating the satelite balls to aoe mobs

seeing that mobs are indeed crazier at inferno difficulty and earlier corpse running attempt, especially when elites are tagged with stupidly imba perks

so, i should advise him to use other spells other than the beam ones? any advice on spells he should use?
Wizards tend to gravitate towards 2 styles now. Some go Blizzard/Venom Hydra. Drop a Hydra, slow them, and run. The other is Arcane Orb/Venom Hydra with Temporal Flux passive. I prefer arcane orb, cos like Ellimist I think it gives me more control running around shooting stuff.

Round out the rest of your skills with:
1. Force armor
2. Force weapon
3. Teleport

L-click - any signature spell you like. I prefer Magic Missiles with seeker. Being able to shoot around corners is priceless in some situations, and being able to fire behind your character aimlessly while kiting is even better. When I kite my character literally spazzes out turning back and forth, shooting missiles out of her ass.
dishwasher
post Jun 19 2012, 11:24 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Eh, it works as long as you're 60. If it's stopped working all of a sudden it may be a bug.

It was working for me last night up til 2am.
dishwasher
post Jun 19 2012, 11:56 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jun 19 2012, 11:31 AM)
Hm... I played until 2:30 am yesterday. But previously in Hell difficulty all works fine. After switch to inferno act one then no more... hope when I log in back tmmr all are ok. (need to farm gold!)
Yes.... the yellowish one.
I suspect since you're questing in act 1,you're killing named quest mobs. You won't get NV from those
dishwasher
post Jun 20 2012, 09:16 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Had just enough time to check stats and put a few +crit items on the AH. DPS dropped to 39k from 58k, but that's cool. White mobs can barely touch me now even in Act 3, and my damage per hit remains the same (more in fact since I swapped in some gear. Its fun to find an upgrade in your stash. Makes you go derp).

dishwasher
post Jun 27 2012, 09:39 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(achok @ Jun 26 2012, 08:26 PM)
temporal flux + arcan hydra can proc slow?
Since no one bothered to reply: Yes.
dishwasher
post Jun 28 2012, 09:21 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(lthock @ Jun 28 2012, 01:01 AM)
sory..if it already mention but i cant find the answer

thinking of upgrading my weapon to

is it better to buy

a) 986dps weapon with 266-638 element dmg OR
b) 986 dps weapon with 204 min dmg + 301 max dmg

or both the same bcos both is 986 dps? btw both is a wand
What are the other stats on these? 204-301 matching the dps of a weapon with 266-638 means it either has a bonus % to damage, or it has increased attack speed. If you want proper advice it's best to post the full stats.
dishwasher
post Jul 4 2012, 11:46 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Jul 4 2012, 11:17 PM)
walaueh i see u guys  wizzy have 30-40k dps,

i only 18-19k dps with a 1 hand 1k wand. is it by stacking intel and sacrifice resist and armor to achieve that?
You have a 1k wand but 19k dps? That seems odd blink.gif
dishwasher
post Jul 5 2012, 09:21 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Jul 4 2012, 11:51 PM)
yup exactly, tats where i dun understand

even if i use force weapon my dps only goes up to 20k+  yawn.gif

checkout me junk gear icon_idea.gif
Your wand is AMAZING. I want something like that. Gem it for crit damage, not more damage. Overall, your int is quite low, which explains the lack of dps. And your offhand damage could use a buff too. Orbs with 100-250 damage are available for not that much.
dishwasher
post Jul 5 2012, 11:27 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I had a laugh yesterday. A fairly awesome Blackthorn's Medal dropped for me so I tried it on for a bit. It bumped my HP all the way to 45k and I was still doing 50k dps, with 700RA and 6k armor, and 425 LoH. I went out and looked for an elite pack in Act 3, hit Archon, and facetanked them to death.

Who needs a melee build when you can do that?

This post has been edited by dishwasher: Jul 5 2012, 11:28 AM
dishwasher
post Jul 10 2012, 08:19 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

You're a bloody wizard, why'd you facetank mobs? I have 500-600 RA and I farm Act 3 comfortably. Heck, if I really wanted to I can facetank in archon mode and melt most packs before they kill me, even those damned reflect damage packs (of which I got 5 in a row just before server went down).
dishwasher
post Jul 10 2012, 08:54 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Jul 10 2012, 08:27 PM)
what build is the best for a lv 15 wizard? http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/wiza...!a!aZaa anythings to tweak?
Don't worry bout builds at lvl 15. Play as you please since its hard for you to die. Take it as a chance to try out as many of the skills as you can.
dishwasher
post Jul 10 2012, 09:50 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Jul 10 2012, 09:23 PM)
all the wiz more powah than me...

anyone care to donate to the poor aka me?
You have one of the best weapons I've ever seen. All you need is some armor with int and resist all on them.
dishwasher
post Jul 10 2012, 11:29 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Jul 10 2012, 08:57 PM)
survive can la...can take alot of hits like almost 10...with diamond skin...but cannot kill without some kiting...so cannot consider like bawse...
sorry >.< don't angry la...
eeeeee....what skill set u using...archon ? its like they teleport to chii, 5-6 hit chii...then die
I'm full dushatar build. Archon pew pew > all.

0.0863sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:34 PM