Gearbox 1.8, 1.6, 1.5 for Wira, Solved

TSk3v_84
post May 14 2012, 02:03 PM, updated 14y ago

69 posts

As title, I'm gonna convert my g/b to manual by end of this month... Therefore, wanted to ask... Is it any different in performance? Btw, I'm currently driving a stock 4g91... Will upgrade performance later on, so am asking for the right gb so that I don't have to change it again later... My expecting upgrade is to change to 4g93 n/a camshaft + adjustable cam pulley... And MIGHT bolt on turbo later... So please give some advice on which g/b to plant in... Thx in advance... smile.gif

This post has been edited by k3v_84: Aug 11 2012, 04:42 PM
amad108
post May 15 2012, 12:02 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

the ratio is different bro..
try check its ratio at gbx manual.. i think can find at google, it in pdf file if i;m not mistaken..
the price also have a big gap for each gbx, 1.5 got 2 type, cable clutch and hydraulic clutch, this 2 have diff price where cable clutch is cheaper.. price from rm700-1.2k, depend on market..
for 1.6 gbx only have hydraulic clutch.. i'm not sure about the advantage over 1.5 gbx, but most likely it has better top speed.. the price range from rm1k-1.5k..
for 1.8 gbx also available only hydraulic clutch, the price not sure (already retire from modding cars coz have family now), about the ratio i cant comment coz no experience about this gbx..
all gbx clutch plate size is diff, but it depend on ur engine flywheel.. i last time using 8.5' clutch plate at 1.5 gbx (normal size is 8') so far no issue..

more info need to wait our sifus here reply.. i'm just sharing a bit info that i know... hehe..
TSk3v_84
post May 15 2012, 12:12 AM

69 posts

Noticed bout the ratio different, but dunno what is the different (in driving) with it... The mech say can help me convert 1.6 ratio if I want... (coz earlier I was asking bout the 1.5 gb, clutch pump type...) So just curious what's the different, or should I get other gb... Thx anyway for sharing... smile.gif
mADmAN
post May 15 2012, 12:22 AM

10,530 posts

simple rule of thumb is u should not use the ratios of a higher cc engine and mate it to a lower cc engine. unless of course the ratios are the same..

but the other way round is ok if u want close ratio gearbox

eg.. 1.8 gb into a 1.3 engine is a nono...

higher cc engine tend to have longer ratios as the higher cc has better power n torque to push those long ratios

lower cc dont have much power to push those long ratios and ull see that u lose pickup n slow.. n mebbe have higher fuel consumption too.

so find the gearbox that for ur engine... or at most.. a lil smaller cc
TSk3v_84
post May 15 2012, 12:27 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 15 2012, 12:22 AM)
simple rule of thumb is u should not use the ratios of a higher cc engine and mate it to a lower cc engine. unless of course the ratios are the same..

but the other way round is ok if u want close ratio gearbox

eg.. 1.8 gb into a 1.3 engine is a nono...

higher cc engine tend to have longer ratios as the higher cc has better power n torque to push those long ratios

lower cc dont have much power to push those long ratios and ull see that u lose pickup n slow.. n mebbe have higher fuel consumption too.
so find the gearbox that for ur engine... or at most.. a lil smaller cc
So it is better to use 1.5 gb even if I bot on turbo in it? Thx too... smile.gif anyway, mine is 1.5 engine...

This post has been edited by k3v_84: May 15 2012, 12:28 AM
mADmAN
post May 15 2012, 01:32 AM

10,530 posts

if ur talking about BOT.. then yeah, slightly longer ratios would be beneficial so u can pulll ur boost kow kow

close ratios are something NA wants.
jaesern
post May 16 2012, 02:47 AM

257 posts

i have a fren's wira which is a 1.5 auto runs on 1.3 auto GB, u might thinking why there's a 1.3 auto GB, it's a halfcut. 110km/h at 4krpm, 160km/h at ~6krpm. it's not really about performance, it's ratio. in another word, it's the ratio change the performance. his car is very nice to drive in the city, but not highway especially long distance.

cheers!
jason c.
Yong_5290
post May 16 2012, 03:26 AM

152 posts

This is what i did to my old 4g91 auto which i converted to manual since day 1 of transplant...before the engine goes into the hood,i switch the cams with those from 4g93 NA...after that i use 1.3 manual gearbox which is using cable type which cost around 700 that time. Remember to weld a thick steel plate on the firewall because mine cracked twice. So this kind of matching makes very nice to drive around town but not highway as i only get like 90km/h at 3k rpm on highway. Mine was a pretty healthy engine which when i bought clocked around 20k km mileage...later on i added a 4-2-1 and a 1.8" piping with a 2" inlet muffler s-flow type because i want the sound to be down and quiet
Dynoed at GT auto 106hp on wheel....doesn't seem much but with only a 4g93cam and 4-2-1 as upgrade i would say its pretty good....add back 15-20% transmission loss and its about 130+hp on the crank
TSk3v_84
post May 16 2012, 02:29 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ May 16 2012, 03:26 AM)
This is what i did to my old 4g91 auto which i converted to manual since day 1 of transplant...before the engine goes into the hood,i switch the cams with those from 4g93 NA...after that i use 1.3 manual gearbox which is using cable type which cost around 700 that time. Remember to weld a thick steel plate on the firewall because mine cracked twice. So this kind of matching makes very nice to drive around town but not highway as i only get like 90km/h at 3k rpm on highway. Mine was a pretty healthy engine which when i bought clocked around 20k km mileage...later on i added a 4-2-1 and a 1.8" piping with a 2" inlet muffler s-flow type because i want the sound to be down and quiet
Dynoed at GT auto 106hp on wheel....doesn't seem much but with only a 4g93cam and 4-2-1 as upgrade i would say its pretty good....add back 15-20% transmission loss and its about 130+hp on the crank
Can I ask is it car more powerful after changing the camshaft? And do u use any piggyback with it?
hkh_88
post May 16 2012, 10:32 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(k3v_84 @ May 16 2012, 02:29 PM)
Can I ask is it car more powerful after changing the camshaft? And do u use any piggyback with it?
Interested? I got a pair of 4g93 cam lying around. biggrin.gif
Yong_5290
post May 17 2012, 01:23 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(k3v_84 @ May 16 2012, 02:29 PM)
No...i didnt use piggyback ecu... After that added adjustable fuel pressure regulator,adjustable cam pulleys,ported head , 60mm throttle body and
change the ecu to a 4g92 dohc ecu which revs to 8k rpm. With this then u have to change to 4-1 extractor which suit high rpm more
TSk3v_84
post May 19 2012, 03:33 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ May 17 2012, 01:23 PM)
No...i didnt use piggyback ecu... After that  added adjustable fuel pressure regulator,adjustable cam pulleys,ported head , 60mm throttle body and
change the ecu to a 4g92 dohc ecu which revs to 8k rpm. With this then u have to change to 4-1 extractor which suit high rpm more
Wow, so many things you've changed... Think I'll stick back to camshafts and cam pulleys 1st la... I scare if those things need to be paired with piggyback, that's why ask 1st... Haha... tongue.gif
Anyway, isn't 4g91 comes originally 113bhp? And why yours 109bhp after so many things modded? Correct me if I'm wrong... Quite a noob here... tongue.gif
Yong_5290
post May 19 2012, 03:29 PM

152 posts

That amount is on wheel....which makes around 130hp....and that is only by changing a 4-2-1 and a 4g93 cam.
Most importantly is the exhaust diameter....1.8" will be enough

0.0183sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:30 PM