Worklog: Project UV-CMA64, Updates: Finished (failed)... pic bomb

SUSAcey
post Dec 31 2005, 02:01 AM, updated 20y ago

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

I made up my mind on the measurements but been busy with my work lately which is ending on January 2nd. Will be getting the acrylic then. Here is my old P4 1.6 system (remember Project Murderdolls). Currently still having a few problems: funding for acrylic, funding for more CoolerMaster stuffs, and tools.

Since I'm upgrading almost the whole PC, I find it no point to stick to ready-made casing as..ahem.. they dont appeal me at all. So I'll just show a few pix first before I post new ones after I get the $$$ and acrylic by the first week of January flex.gif Will be based on something like Antec P180's idea which is no cooling fan will be sticking to the exterior panels at all.

This is my mod. No, not my laser printer.

A lot of stuffs are still missing frm my plan. Especially the fat box of Athlon 3000+ / 3200+ processor (wait for market price to stabilize). Getting more CM stuff soon (CoolViva, RAM Heat Spreader, Front Bezel, DualStorm, IDE etc etc).

Finally, an introduction to the one-man-gang tool I will only use through out the whole project (except for drilling holes that is heh)

Will update this as soon as I start cutting the acrylic. Hope I have the time and faith to finish this project a.s.a.p possibly a week after Chinese New Year cos I'll be fn busy with my double module final project then. Check for updates soon.

This post has been edited by Acey: Mar 3 2006, 08:57 PM
Awan Afuqya
post Dec 31 2005, 06:09 AM

=)
1,796 posts

Good luck for your project. Looking forward for regular updates, hehe. Love acrylic.
SUSAcey
post Jan 3 2006, 07:56 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Found a piece of black reflective acrylic (a broken signboard) its badly scratched but still very reflective. Using it for my PSU's Ugliness vs. Warrantee issue. Its gonna be bent to cover my PSU. Lemme introduce you to my friend, mr. candle, whos gonna help me melt the acrylic a bit.

This is just a test mode cos this is my first time bending acrylic. Well, the candle is useful cos I saw before how it cracked a glass window when I placed the candle underneath it. And the big piece cut out following 3 sides of my PSU's measurement.

And the final result... cheap-as$ candle from RM5 shop (around 20 bijik of them) gets the job done on 3mm acrylic.

And it fits. Too bad my cheque havent been cleared, that means another few days without updates cause I cant purchase any acrylic now. Maybe after 2-3 days I'll update this worklog again. Stay tuned.
ccy1989
post Jan 3 2006, 08:41 PM

2,415 posts

wow your PSU really looks cool just like a person wearing a tuxedo. smart and clean look .Acey keep up the good work dude..looking forward to see ur completed project.hehe
SUSAcey
post Jan 3 2006, 09:53 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Thanks... Im doing cheap modding cos very tight budget now... cant afford those nice tools others have
shocker
post Jan 4 2006, 06:41 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 3 2006, 07:56 PM)

good job done on the PSU modding thumbup.gif ...looks clean, nice and neat flex.gif ....cant believe that a candle can do such a nice bending drool.gif ....awaiting for u to finish off ur whole case modding rolleyes.gif ...hehehe...good luck biggrin.gif !!!

edit: just would like add if u would like to put a 120mm fan over the black arcylic, would provide a better cooling for ur PSU...but u need to make a 120mm blow hole upfront.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Jan 4 2006, 08:18 AM
Torniquet
post Jan 4 2006, 12:30 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

question : how did u bend the aryclic just nice to ur PSU size...
did u place it on ur PSU then heat it to bend?
SUSAcey
post Jan 4 2006, 09:43 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

^ nope... i measure the top n side panels of the PSU, cut out the acrylic, leave/add 0.4cm free for bending, slice 2 thin lines to mark the boundary and bend...the top got a bit of space left cos the PSU corners wont be able to fit into the bending curves

btw, its just an "on-top" cover for the psu, im not gonna replace the psu cover cos its brand new n under 2 yrs warantee from CM... hehe.. but I can consider taking off the cover on second thoughts...

This post has been edited by Acey: Jan 4 2006, 09:45 PM
ccy1989
post Jan 5 2006, 10:19 PM

2,415 posts

any more update on ur project ?
Torniquet
post Jan 5 2006, 10:37 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

wanna ask how long does it that for the aryclic to bend....i mean heat up to bend,.....
SUSAcey
post Jan 6 2006, 01:10 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

@ccy1989 - Not for now, bankrupt from the bills n expensive food at part-time workplace... will try to resume a.s.a.p... oh ya, acrylic price rising... RM11 to RM13 for 5mm

@Tourniquet - I use those candle the acrylic can be bent after 4-5 minutes... but not almost-perfectly-square corners cos the heat spreads over large areas...

Update: 20-Jan-06

This post has been edited by Acey: Jan 20 2006, 07:07 PM
SUSAcey
post Jan 20 2006, 07:27 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Long time since the last update. Just brought in a piece of 2x3 acrylic yesterday and start cutting out the panels today. Casing gonna be 45cm (H) x 21cm (W) x 52cm (L)

Dont have the right tools and time now to cut the inside so leave that to after CNY. Just big enough for 4 panels and some extra stuffs. Front, back, bottom, PSU holder and mobo panel.

Went to look for a clamp in Giant but cant find one. Too lazy to go Carrefour so I used my XL (Xtra Long) leg to clamp the acrylic. Mr Plastic Cutter one man show flex.gif Lucky can get straight cuts after looking and learning more at how DY's employee cut n break 5mm with cutter.

Thats all for now. Not much. Gonna bring in another 2x3 after CNY (goin back to hometown for 10 days), its with my friend in Selayang now. Got it at much cheaper price (RM8 per sq ft) while I bought in SS15 for RM11. Side panel will be using 2.5mm acrylic. What I'll be updating in one shot after CNY is:

- Get PSU sleeved and molex changed.
- Cut the next 2x3 acrylic and start drilling/cutting inner holes for the back and mobo panel only
- Sanding the sides and putting up the back, bottom, and mobo panel first.

So I guess there'll be a bigger update with more pix after CNY. Now no money sad.gif

This post has been edited by Acey: Jan 21 2006, 09:13 AM
ikan_semilang
post Jan 20 2006, 07:33 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 20 2006, 07:27 PM)
Acey, where u bought acrylic cutter and how much for it? tongue.gif
SUSAcey
post Jan 20 2006, 07:36 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

^ RM19.. bought it at one of the hardware shops opposite Darusalam mamak in SS15 Subang. Dont really recommend it. Cos I saw DY guys using a red color one, the front hook is of different build, he drag 5-6 times on 5mm can break d, mine need around 10-20 drags.
ikan_semilang
post Jan 20 2006, 07:42 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 20 2006, 07:36 PM)
^ RM19.. bought it at one of the hardware shops opposite Darusalam mamak in SS15 Subang.  Dont really recommend it.  Cos I saw DY guys using a red color one, the front hook is of different build, he drag 5-6 times on 5mm can break d, mine need around 10-20 drags.
Thanks. Actually i want to find acrylic cutter but afraid if wrong tool maybe make my acrylic broken. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ikan_semilang: Jan 20 2006, 07:42 PM
SUSAcey
post Jan 20 2006, 07:43 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

as long as its plastic cutter can already lar, depends on how straight u drag the line only and how u break it
ikan_semilang
post Jan 20 2006, 07:45 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 20 2006, 07:43 PM)
as long as its plastic cutter can already lar, depends on how straight u drag the line only and how u break it
Yaya..err.. red colour like this ar? blush.gif

sherren
post Jan 20 2006, 07:46 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

woah how long did it takes to cut one straight line with that plastic cutter?
SUSAcey
post Jan 20 2006, 07:47 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

not that type, semilang... whole thing red in color, looks very paria but very good in cutting 5mm...

@sherren... 3-5 minutes for me to cut n break one panel
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 20 2006, 08:26 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

good luck on ur projects !!!!!!

anyway, i think u need to cut ur toe nails. pretty long nails de tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Jan 20 2006, 08:27 PM
SUSAcey
post Jan 20 2006, 08:37 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

haha paiseh paiseh got ppl notice... too busy nowadays until no time
SUSAcey
post Jan 21 2006, 09:15 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Some drawings.. changed the look a bit, dowan the fans to suffocate. The front panel

A drawing of the left. Not gonna show the right till i finish it tongue.gif

And i got this 15cm long, 2cm thick, 5cm wide... still wondering what I'll do to it... I got sth in mind...

This post has been edited by Acey: Jan 21 2006, 09:27 AM
Gamer
post Jan 21 2006, 12:15 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

we still waiting for ur more pictures to come. smile.gif
SUSAcey
post Jan 22 2006, 04:11 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Anyone knows where to get chloroform? I doubt if hardware shops will sell to me just like that. This is basically what me n my friend's conversation is like:

Me: Oi, your father plastic business got chloroform ar? If got bring 1 liter for me.
Fren: Sure got lar, my father use those big big tong chloroform, got one, no problem.

After few days

Fren: Eh sorry ah, my father told me never use chloroform in a long time liao, now use silicone only. Sorry ar.
Me: KNNCCB.

Basket mad.gif
gmail
post Jan 22 2006, 07:19 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 22 2006, 04:11 PM)
Anyone knows where to get chloroform? I doubt if hardware shops will sell to me just like that.  This is basically what me n my friend's conversation is like:

Me: Oi, your father plastic business got chloroform ar? If got bring 1 liter for me.
Fren: Sure got lar, my father use those big big tong chloroform, got one, no problem.

After few days

Fren: Eh sorry ah, my father told me never use chloroform in a long time liao, now use silicone only.  Sorry ar.
Me: KNNCCB.

Basket mad.gif
u go to those advertisment shop maybe they will sell 2 u!
SUSAcey
post Jan 23 2006, 11:16 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

So far the front panel has been lined for cutting... can someone give me tips on what tool to use to cut the window out? Rotary or jigsaw?

Now this gives me headache...
*scratches head*

How the focka am I gonna cutta thisa hola? Gotta cut them for 2 parts...
sherren
post Jan 24 2006, 12:47 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

woah thats a hard job cutting that vent holes,anyway good work thumbup.gif
blackshirt
post Jan 24 2006, 03:14 PM

Goodwell Car Detailer
1,313 posts

WOw have to cut away so many lines.. Faint!
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 24 2006, 04:17 PM

4,561 posts

use rotary tool......dunt use jigsaw coz the acrylic u use is thin and might crack to the nearby holes if u use jigsaw
SUSAcey
post Jan 24 2006, 04:19 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

rotary tools... *scratch head again* how does it look like? Im technical tool noob... hehe biggrin.gif
ikan_semilang
post Jan 24 2006, 04:32 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 24 2006, 04:19 PM)
rotary tools... *scratch head again* how does it look like? Im technical tool noob... hehe biggrin.gif
Tadaa... laugh.gif

SUSAcey
post Jan 24 2006, 05:28 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

oooooooooo... grind the lines into dust right? thanks for the pix and info guys... will proceed after cny.. will be goin back this friday and wont come online for about 9 days...
ikan_semilang
post Jan 24 2006, 05:38 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 24 2006, 05:28 PM)
oooooooooo... grind the lines into dust right? thanks for the pix and info guys... will proceed after cny.. will be goin back this friday and wont come online for about 9 days...
Ok. We will wait ur next mod and Happy Chinese New Year.
SUSAcey
post Feb 7 2006, 08:53 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Got my Vantec sleeving kit and molex kit from 8balls' bulk.. started sleeving just now with green sleeves and blue molex... bad news, heatshrink tak cukup, damn pek chek so no pix for now as its still not finished yet... after i finish sleeving then take pix of it under UV ccfl

Remaining acrylic and chloroform coming on 12th this month when my fren come back to Subang. Rotary tool im still scratching my head donno what to buy cos of budget.
sidewinderz
post Feb 7 2006, 09:27 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

oh god...hehe....shouldn waste it ma....i use very lil heatshrink also cannot sleeve up everything...laugh.gif
iZuDeeN
post Feb 7 2006, 11:13 PM

3,466 posts

I dont think it is advisable to cut anything that close using rotary or jigsaw...

i believe the safe way is to use laser which is not common...

think twice before you cut, can you afford the damage?
SUSAcey
post Feb 8 2006, 01:03 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

changed my mind... screw the vent, i'll just cut a big hole, take a smaller but equal height 4mm acrylic to put on the front and glue mesh to the front piece...

*typo

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 8 2006, 01:03 AM
iZuDeeN
post Feb 8 2006, 02:40 PM

3,466 posts

good idea. thumbup.gif
Torniquet
post Feb 8 2006, 08:46 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

haha those vent too troublesome liao....so change ur plan???
SUSAcey
post Feb 8 2006, 09:28 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

yep... the first layer of front panel the hole will be larger, the second layer of front panel the hole is about 5mm smaller so can glue the mesh to the back of the second layer... using sanding mesh the diamond shaped one...
SUSAcey
post Feb 12 2006, 12:41 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Im gonna bring in PVC for my next mod... my fren seludup from his company lol... if he can get it in time i'll use it for this project... damn expensive... 2ft by 3ft costs RM700.00 doh.gif
Torniquet
post Feb 12 2006, 11:13 AM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

PVC really that expensive meh.....
SUSAcey
post Feb 13 2006, 01:35 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

yep... its tinted one.. they use it to pao radiators cos the thing can stand very high heat, easy to cut and less fragile compared to acrylic
SUSAcey
post Feb 14 2006, 06:24 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

delayed... fren kena chicken pox vmad.gif so no acrylic n chloroform now vmad.gif nabeh...
SUSAcey
post Feb 16 2006, 03:00 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Some minor updates.

1. Got the front panel cut by DY (the place I get all my acrylic).. quite a bad job to me cos that new staff looks like he's in a hurry to kahwin 4 instead of working.. but its a "fck it" issue for me... Hey, its free after all and I know very well Im good at hiding flaws...

2. Some stuff I got from Ace Hardware. The last rotary tool (B&D RTX = RM280) was bought by the customer who entered the shop like 5 SECONDS EARLIER than me... damn... So I end up buying this crappy drill since I wont be using it much

3. Cut another 2ft x 3ft acrylic (2.5mm) for the side panels.

4. Sleeved the PSU as said b4 CNY. But ran out of heatshrink. Just ordered some UV reactive ones from Vamp cause the black 10mm i bought from hardware shop looks like crap.

Tas all for now, i think the case will be assembled by next Tuesday after I'm done with the back panel and the second layer of the front panel (drive stealthing purpose). Still waiting for my friend to reply my SMS cause I need my 2-by-3 5mm acrylic, mesh, and chloroform very urgently now cause my timetable is freakin packed.

Edit: FCUKED UP... my fren go back again coming back only on Sunday. Still got chicken pox which means I dowan to go anywhere near him as I havent got mine and now crucial moment for my final year project I dont wanna get my body fcked up. ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 16 2006, 03:15 PM
sherren
post Feb 17 2006, 12:01 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

Nice Work Going there thumbup.gif waitin for ur updates tongue.gif
SUSAcey
post Feb 17 2006, 12:06 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

sherren, we = biggest delay in case mod projects lol
sherren
post Feb 17 2006, 12:12 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

Yea So As mine tongue.gif doh.gif ,so whats the spray paint for?
SUSAcey
post Feb 17 2006, 12:18 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

"vector panel" kasi hide the wires... tmr go find plastic sticker to cut out the design then spray...
mADmAN
post Feb 17 2006, 12:49 AM

10,530 posts

relax la....take ur time man.... dont take the delay as something bad... if u rush into things u might screw things up.

took me over a year to complete muh mods on muh rig man... even though its just UV, 2 top windows and some wiring work. but i managed to get it right...just the way i wanted it to be.

so be patient...and more importantly..be careful biggrin.gif

good luck thumbup.gif
kent20
post Feb 17 2006, 03:06 AM

AMD Supporter
1,150 posts

why so hard ?! tai kor.....give me a call la so long time brother with u....
give me 8 hour...kao tim full casing for u...

any way,just carefull on the card slot hole...
the the mansurement accureta...

the 4 L ship holder that carry up ur whole casing,
use as tick as u can...if not later ther whole casing will goyang

This post has been edited by kent20: Feb 17 2006, 03:08 AM
SUSAcey
post Feb 17 2006, 03:13 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

^ brother... long time no see d... see how if free this sunday find u yum cha... what 4 L shape holder u mean?
SUSAcey
post Feb 18 2006, 02:41 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Some little update. Was about to spray the graphics on the second inner panel before the sky go kaboom kaboom like the previous 2 days so have to hold until tmr (today) morning baru spray. Cut out the design on vinyl sticker.

The design. One of my tattoo collection that I like. Gonna make it black and white with some part transparent. Went to DY and got 1ft x 4ft black sticker since its just cut-spray-throw for me. The lady boss wanna charge RM3 per sq ft. Was actually gonna be RM12, I have no small change so I give the kid 52 and he went:

Kid: Koo jeh, RM12 he 'throw' me one RM52 so i collect RM2 can ar.
Lady boss: RM2 ar... can lar...

Save 10 bucks lol

I noticed something wrong with the cap of my spray paint this morning so went and check n noticed I bought 'mechanical grey' and 'misty blue' instead of black and white. So i took a piece of unused acry and spray it on to test the drying time and reflectiveness of the paint.

And after I finished it started to rain vmad.gif

Just woke up and got the piece from outside to see the reflectiveness. The white part does nothing. But the black part is reflective.

Fd up camera. Will start spray painting the panel later this morning. Its saturday, time for a lot of cuttings tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 18 2006, 02:44 AM
SUSAcey
post Feb 19 2006, 04:09 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Follow up on spray painting. Actually was spraying on a larger panel, but then makes no sense why the panel larger than mobo tray so I chuck the first work (since its totally fd up & smeared anyway). Went for a second piece. I lay the sticker on it, and cut directly on top of the acrylic. This time I sprayed white first then the gray

Then comes the mechanical gray.. turns out quite black n reflective.

I found out stickers do a bad thing to acrylic under the sun. When you rip them off they tend to leave the sticky part behind. So Mr. Thinner and Mr. Cotton Buds are going to help me clean up. Eventually I accidentally smeared some white part and the grey spray ended up not sharp at all sad.gif Here's after the thinner work (stung my eyes rather badly for 45 minutes) and some relining with black marker.

A close up look

** cleaned the front part with thinner so blurish with stains. Wash it later to remove the smears.

Im very unsatisfied with the work, but will have to make do with it cos running out of time. From the pix you cant see much details, but if you look closely some parts are scratched and some parts are a little smeared. Sigh. But at least I did something for today (9am-12pm first panel then threw it away, 1pm to 4pm second panel and then it rained heavily so I slept lol) vmad.gif very very unhappy right now vmad.gif

Edit: fk.. my drill bit broke... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 19 2006, 10:07 AM
SUSAcey
post Feb 20 2006, 04:36 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

hmmm.. how do you use chloroform? i got mine ady but the thing like go dry very fast and not really sticky... *scratch head* any idea?
ianho
post Feb 20 2006, 08:02 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Feb 20 2006, 04:36 AM)
hmmm.. how do you use chloroform? i got mine ady but the thing like go dry very fast and not really sticky... *scratch head* any idea?
U take the bottle, unscrew the cap, sniff it. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Seriously now, it's actually like water. It's not sticky coz it's not like glue. U hafta sapu the thing onto the acryl n quickly join the 2 surfaces together.

Forgot to add, the 2 surfaces must b absolutely flat for it to bond. So make sure u file them nice n flat.

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 20 2006, 08:07 AM
SUSAcey
post Feb 20 2006, 12:30 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

oooooo.... yap like water... but when i sniff it like no smell one tongue.gif ... almost finish spraying my top panel.. quite messy also haihhh no talent n patience in spray painting...
ianho
post Feb 20 2006, 12:36 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Feb 20 2006, 12:30 PM)
oooooo.... yap like water... but when i sniff it like no smell one tongue.gif ... almost finish spraying my top panel.. quite messy also haihhh no talent n patience in spray painting...
Woi! Don't sniff it lar. After u pengsan oredi no more worklog to read from u. Whahahaha.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 20 2006, 01:22 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Feb 18 2006, 02:41 AM)
The lady boss wanna charge RM3 per sq ft.  Was actually gonna be RM12, I have no small change so I give the kid 52 and he went:

Kid: Koo jeh, RM12 he 'throw' me one RM52 so i collect RM2 can ar.
Lady boss: RM2 ar... can lar...

Save 10 bucks lol

Basket!! small kid also you go and yam kar? laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway...cool stuffs...turning out better than what we discussed earlier.
SUSAcey
post Feb 20 2006, 03:22 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

basket i damn pissed right now... my top panel looks like shiet after paint job... vmad.gif oredi no acrylic still wanna cause me trouble... imagine i spray black paint suddenly got WHITE SPECKS!!!!! niamaaaaa vmad.gif
SUSAcey
post Feb 20 2006, 04:29 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Top panel spraying. Again, my "genius" hands screwed up another panel sad.gif

See from far, you'll be happy with the color and reflectiveness... if you stick your nose 3 inches away from the panel you can see there's tonnes of problems with the spraying especially the white layer sad.gif

Sanded the white specks, and sprayed a god-knows-how-thick layer of paint at one shot... desperately pissed.

** those white streaks are not paint but water, effect from the cam's flash

Lookie my sexy waist lol tongue.gif If i'm a girl...

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 20 2006, 04:30 PM
mADmAN
post Feb 20 2006, 04:31 PM

10,530 posts

HEY!!! i almost used that image for my UV mod... wahahhahahaha

good taste dude! thumbup.gif
SUSAcey
post Feb 20 2006, 04:34 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

thanks man... good taste but bad handwork... sad.gif ... very unhappy with these 2 days' mod cos of the spraying's result.. anyways FYI all panels are cut but their sides are not polished yet (tonight), gonna send my rom holders to DY Signcraft for 2mm hole drilling, back panel for I/O - PCI slot - PSU cuttings, and the second layer of front panel for cuttings of rom windows (stealthing). If everything goes smoothly n the chloroforming dont screw up should finish by tuesday. Hope all goes well cos very disappointed now.
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 20 2006, 06:52 PM

4,561 posts

that design is really nice.....do u have the original copy ? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

blardy hell, i only got 6 in 1 packs and it's 5months pregnant in there doh.gif

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Feb 20 2006, 06:53 PM
Torniquet
post Feb 20 2006, 07:21 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

that is the case got water on top????? nice waist line btw??
y no clean the water only take the pics???
sherren
post Feb 20 2006, 07:43 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

whats that white spot izzit white paint or .... blink.gif
SUSAcey
post Feb 23 2006, 10:16 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

sorry for late reply... my modem got struck by lightning 3 days ago and my LAN port burned... so waiting for tmr or saturday to get my processor and set up my new rig then can come online... now in INTI's lab... the white spot is water, caused by the cam's flash tas why looks white... later around 2-3pm gonna go get my panels from DY Signcraft and start assembling tonight.. hopefully tmr can post some pix and by Saturday whole thing can get done... here are some stuffs i did for the past 3 days

1. cut out ROM support base (14.6cm x 5cm)
2. sanding and polishing sides of all the panels that are still with me
3. "siliconed" mobo holder screws to the mobo tray
4. polishing the PSU cover (the black one in the first page)
5. taped the PSU cables that don have heatshrinks with wiring tape
6. cutting out mesh (the one they use to 'tapis' sand)

Gonna re-spray the vector panel, mesh, and 2nd layer of front panel later.. maybe need some cut-offs for the first front panel as it seems longer. Hopefully tonight can start assembling.

La Nina = Ka Nina

This post has been edited by Acey: Feb 23 2006, 10:39 AM
SUSAcey
post Feb 24 2006, 11:41 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Just got my panels back from DY Signcraft... took 2 days as yesterday they were rushing for Carrefour's lucky draw boxes... very very very well cut for the 2nd layer of front panel thumbup.gif ... stupid INTI lab doesnt let me access the digicam connection (INTI punya technology all practice dictatorship one)... hope can get to my friend's place tonite and post the pix... DY charge me RM20 only for the cutting job, comparing to the shop behind them which was gonna charge RM5 FOR EVERY HOLE!!!! Cutthroat shop...

- Drill eight 6mm holes into my 20mm thick acrylic
- Cut 5 ROM windows and 2 vent windows
- Two 120mm fanhole
- Around fifteen 3mm screw holes

The lady boss was in a good mood when she saw I have that 20mm piece. Taught me how to buff the sides with steel pan instead of sandpapering which she said is very wrong and even offered to use flames to buff them up for me next time i send my acrylic over thumbup.gif

Then taught me how to properly use chloroform. Gonna get back there in another 2 days to get the back panel cut. Hopefully can get the new rig up and running in 2 days' time. Now gotta go back for the spray painting (a new vector panel) and glue up all the panels. Wish me luck, gonna need it since been very suey this week (lightning strike, saw ppl banged down by car etc etc).
SUSAcey
post Mar 1 2006, 01:13 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

yeehaaa back online... too bad while bringing the case to my friend's shop to get the processor placed in the top panel cracked... sad.gif have to reglue everything but im thinking of redoing it all... post pix tonite... now wanna have fun wit my "open air" AMD 64 tongue.gif
sherren
post Mar 1 2006, 01:34 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

cant wait soo long edi blink.gif drool.gif
ianho
post Mar 1 2006, 02:33 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Mar 1 2006, 01:13 PM)
yeehaaa back online... too bad while bringing the case to my friend's shop to get the processor placed in the top panel cracked... sad.gif have to reglue everything but im thinking of redoing it all... post pix tonite... now wanna have fun wit my "open air" AMD 64 tongue.gif
All the panels shud use L brackets to screw together mar. U glue all together next time cannot open d.
SUSAcey
post Mar 1 2006, 05:14 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

tas what i was thinking last nite lol... later i post pix... wanna rip everything off and re-build after end of this month... longest delay in case mod section lol
SUSAcey
post Mar 2 2006, 05:18 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh........... any idea where to find ABIT KN8-Ultra's USB port driver???? The CD only comes with instruction on how to install the driver and say must use SP1... but Im using SP2... no USB port cant connect my cam aihhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
SUSAcey
post Mar 3 2006, 08:55 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Pix pix pix pix pix... the case is actually finished, but the top panel cracked and now the whole thing not stable so im not using it. After handing up my final project and the presentation then start ripping it off for a remake.

Mobo tray (screws siliconed to drilled holes):

Second layer of front panel (2.3mm acrylic):

Front panel (after gluing):

Back panel cutting from DY Signcraft:

Support/side panel screw holders:

Bottom panel with kaki:

The kaki (big) can get in Carrefour damn cheap only:

SUSAcey
post Mar 3 2006, 08:56 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Assembly:

One last view

..... and then the god damn thing CRACKED when i was taking it to Subang Parade's Digital One (my friend's shop there) to get the processor installed..... vmad.gif

So this is where my new rig is staying now until i fix UV-CMA64

No cooling fan? I got bigger than urs LOL

So this project is a failure.... guess need to take a closer look at the market's acrylic casing... baaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... but my rig's CPU's running at 32 celcius and NB at 35 celcius max during subang's afternoon torturous weather biggrin.gif
sherren
post Mar 3 2006, 09:32 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

your arcylic casing is nice drool.gif thumbup.gif ,guess u bettter redo abit make it strong rather keeping:p
eBola
post Mar 5 2006, 03:49 AM

blah
1,928 posts

ah sucks. use thicker acrylic maybe? i see you;ve sleeved your PSU tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Mar 5 2006, 04:04 AM

10,530 posts

damn dude.... it looked real good... guess ur gonna have to use thicker acrylic for it....

and i think u should change the rear exhaust from 8cm to 12cm.... helps with the airflow and noise.
DaRkSyThE
post Mar 5 2006, 03:15 PM

4,809 posts

dude may i noe what was the thickness of ur acrylic? seems VERY think to me...
wonder how it cracked man huh.gif
SUSAcey
post Mar 5 2006, 06:45 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

5mm... actually the "crack" doesnt mean retak or what... the gluing cracked adn the top panel gave way cos I havent glue the cubes to support them... besides a lot of measurement are very wrong... i've reserved a casing *YUCKS* from my fren to hold my rig temporarily until i'm free to fix the whole UV-CMA64...
SUSAcey
post Mar 5 2006, 06:50 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Mar 3 2006, 09:32 PM)
your arcylic casing is nice  drool.gif  thumbup.gif ,guess u bettter redo abit make it strong rather keeping:p
Yours nicer lar, at least ur measurements tak lari cos default... haihzz... faster finish urs ler i wanna see...

QUOTE(8balls @ Mar 5 2006, 03:49 AM)
ah sucks. use thicker acrylic maybe? i see you;ve sleeved your PSU tongue.gif
Lol, thanks for the bulk on the sleeves n molex man. I sleeved my cooling fans as well kekekeke

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 5 2006, 04:04 AM)
damn dude.... it looked real good... guess ur gonna have to use thicker acrylic for it.... and i think u should change the rear exhaust from 8cm to 12cm.... helps with the airflow and noise.
Planning to get some 10mm acrylic for the bottom panel next time

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Mar 5 2006, 03:15 PM)
dude may i noe what was the thickness of ur acrylic? seems VERY think to me...
wonder how it cracked man huh.gif
5mm thick.

P/S to readers: I'll start Project UV-CMA64 Senior after handing up my final project. Bigger, taller, and well, more accurately measured lol
DaRkSyThE
post Mar 5 2006, 06:54 PM

4,809 posts

owh good luck dude...
darn 5mm think acrylic.
vickyrao
post Mar 5 2006, 06:58 PM

1,531 posts

bro can update ur pics ar???if possible use imageshack??cos the pictures out of bandwidth la bro....i wanna see.....sob sob...
SUSAcey
post Mar 6 2006, 12:57 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

haha vicky... PM me ur MSN i send to u there...
SUSAcey
post Mar 6 2006, 03:53 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Everyday when I walk past the case (its in the living room, untouched) I feel sick looking at it cos its a fd up project. Now, right after end of this month and my finals (im graduating, finally) i'm gonna kickstart Project UV-CMA Senior.. this time i'll look for 7.5mm acrylic, or 10mm if i have to.. fn pissed with this project.. this time oredi got a few offers from the UV-CMA64 working period...

- Airbrush spraying from classmate (father do plastic business but no acrylic *apara*)
- Flame buffing from DY Signcraft

Gonna buy my own jigsaw and a more powerful drill

This post has been edited by Acey: Mar 6 2006, 03:57 PM
ianho
post Mar 6 2006, 10:39 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Mar 6 2006, 03:53 PM)
Everyday when I walk past the case (its in the living room, untouched) I feel sick looking at it cos its a fd up project.  Now, right after end of this month and my finals (im graduating, finally) i'm gonna kickstart Project UV-CMA Senior.. this time i'll look for 7.5mm acrylic, or 10mm if i have to.. fn pissed with this project.. this time oredi got a few offers from the UV-CMA64 working period...

- Airbrush spraying from classmate (father do plastic business but no acrylic *apara*)
- Flame buffing from DY Signcraft

Gonna buy my own jigsaw and a more powerful drill
Lidat oni syiok mar dude. Go get ur own jigsaw n cut ur own stuff. Always ask DY to cut in the end u dont feel the full satisfaction that u modded it every step of the way. Gogogo. Our Acrylic expert comin soon. That's if Kent ko ko dont come back in lar. kekekeke.
sherren
post Mar 6 2006, 11:15 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

Thats good getting black and decker jigsaw? drool.gif
SUSAcey
post Mar 7 2006, 01:49 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

see budget first... now really everyday body feeling boh song everytime look at the piece of garbage sitting there...

haih sometimes wish got those machines like Defyant (casemodgod staff) got... so nice can mod whatever shape he want...

This post has been edited by Acey: Mar 7 2006, 01:53 AM
SUSAcey
post Mar 7 2006, 08:58 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Just added CMG's plexiglass God, Defyant, to my MSN... time to learn tricks and stuffs from the plexi guru... tongue.gif
ianho
post Apr 1 2006, 07:10 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

All Worklogs bumped to the top for easy reference by all.
Daywalker
post Apr 28 2006, 08:04 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

Yeah..... i agree that, share r worklog how to build until done....... drool.gif drool.gif

0.0372sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:53 PM