Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

joeaggas
post Nov 14 2012, 12:40 AM

363 posts

Contemplating to buy Peugeot 408 Turbo. At the moment still considering the Hire Purchase interest rates. Can all owners or future potential owners share share the interest rates approve, bank and if ok % of deposit (10,20,30)?

The last round I got from Affin Bank (bef announcement of Bajet 2013), was 2.35%. Anyone got lower?
joeaggas
post Nov 14 2012, 11:24 AM

363 posts

Thanks jfcheong and skyjack. Wow summons! The road will be more dangerous, now. It is this pug408 vs ford focus. Too bad Ford Focus didn't come with ecoboost, else my choice will be it. Yeh test drove pug at Bangsar branch and went on mahameru on a public holiday (long weekend). SA allowed me to flat it, it was exhilirating. The power kept on coming at the will.of.my foot and cabin space is impressively the signature of a peugeot + 6 airbags, for that price..unbelievable. the drawback.is service maintenance which I read will be 3.6 to 4k per year whereas Ford offers Parts &Labor free maint.

Current Pug specifically 408, how's ur maint total so far?
joeaggas
post Nov 16 2012, 01:55 AM

363 posts

Yes, in terms of spaciousness and big torque of course Pug408 wins.
It was just a guess for me. I used to own a Pug 405 SR, therefore I roughly can feel the pinch on maint. However that time, petrol price was around 1.28 I think.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Nov 14 2012, 01:05 PM)
I tested Focus yesterday. Can says like abit disappointed. The front driver and passenger space still OK, but rear is totally out. Power wise is quite OK for 2.0 car and very smooth. But dont expect sudden pick up like 408T, is a NA engine. Handling is great, stylish compare to 408.
The interior built in quality so so only.  Lot of blind spot while reversing. Lots of accessories only come with premium spec.

The service for Pug is only half year once. The the price is around Rm400 each. How possible 4k per year?

Added on November 16, 2012, 2:20 amhttp://ahw308.blogspot.com/search/label/Maintenance%20Cost
Is the blog owner a forumer here?
Although is a 308 maintenance account up to 50,000KM OTR, this can serve a general guide until some good soul can share theirs actual 408 acc if any.

He also accounted HP installment as expenses which likely may not apply to others.

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Nov 16 2012, 02:20 AM
joeaggas
post Nov 21 2012, 04:18 PM

363 posts

Argh....got a call this morning from SA, another 5K off the price for 2012 model. Wow desperate to meet quota or plenty of stock ups? Pulling hair now.
joeaggas
post Nov 23 2012, 05:00 PM

363 posts

Cybermaster98
I'm not sure about your claims here. I thought car dealers usually look at the manufacturing year of the car not the year car registered. Correct me if wrong.

For eg.
If car is made 2012 but registered with RTD Nov/Dec 2012, sell in 2016 considered 5 y.o car.
If car is made 2012 but registered with RTD Jan 2013, sell in 2016, dealers still considered 5 y.o car, isn't it?

Same goes for CBU units, the AP will detail out the manufacturing date. I think Peugeot 408T is CKD right?

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 22 2012, 04:28 PM)
Usually when you trade in cars year end after Sept, the price given by dealers is actually based on following year prices because of the risk of not being able to sell the car within the same year.

But its common knowledge that, if you buy a 120K in Nov/Dec 2012 and sell in 2016, your car value is based on 5yrs. If you buy in Jan 2013 and sell at the same time in 2017, your car value is based on 4 years. There will be a slight difference in the selling price of the 2nd hand dealers when dealing with cars of different months of the same year but this difference is rarely passed on to the person trading in.

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:11 pmAgree with Mr.Cheong,

I've test driven the Hyundai Elantra 1.6 at Jalan 222, feels sluggish. IMPO. After that I went to Bangsar to try out the 408T 1.6, the turbo makes it really different and the interior space, it's like going into Harry Potter's friend Weasley's tent.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Nov 22 2012, 09:05 PM)
Minor prob:
- High FC due to the gear change
- Rat sound on the door
- Left align steer
- Blue tooth not auto connected

If you dont mind, try to read back our post.  nod.gif

Elantra not a bad car also, just if compare the performance
ofcoz 408  icon_idea.gif

Elantra has its selling point

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:14 pmMyVi 1.5SE, powerful and very notorious on highways. Few times I got blink at on PLUS.

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 23 2012, 07:20 AM)
Sigh... Still missing the point. If u want good FC ,good resale value and low maintenance. Buy perodua
This post has been edited by joeaggas: Nov 23 2012, 05:14 PM
joeaggas
post Nov 24 2012, 11:14 PM

363 posts

Just like that? Alamak....any discount with catch phrases as tq token can encourage more sales, no? LoL like macam i bought the car oredi. Anyway i did use sierra glow for my fiesta. So far so ok la.

QUOTE(sierraglow @ Nov 24 2012, 07:00 PM)
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT
Sierra Glow (M) Sdn. Bhd. would like express our gratitude for all customers support.Almost all of our business comes from people like you telling your friends. 

We want to say "thank you" for believing in us and our Sierra Glow.
To make our services more convenient we wanted to announce that starting on December 2nd, we will be open on Sunday!  Our new schedule means you or your friends can choose any day to make a booking for our Sierra Glow application.  We ask you to spread the word...Thanks!  You can contact me at 016 217 0312 / 016 345 2913. Thank again,. Choong
joeaggas
post Nov 28 2012, 07:49 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Nov 28 2012, 07:11 PM)
anione cruising this car at 180km/h to 200km/h for a long time?
like from melaka going to JB...
just wana make sure whether the turbo can handle for this long period?
How many AES speeding ticket you intend pickup in one journey?

joeaggas
post Nov 29 2012, 02:45 AM

363 posts

true true....in that case you'll need something very reliable and can go very fast. Cost no issue, yes?

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Nov 29 2012, 12:16 AM)
it's not about how many ticket i get...
It's about sometimes we nid to rush to 1 place...
as my job require me to travel always...
i dun wana end up being towed back to SC...
joeaggas
post Jan 9 2013, 12:26 PM

363 posts

Got call this morning from SA @Bangsar branch. Thanks 4
This post otherwise won't realise the initial pricedifference. Damn they bump up the price
then give over trade. In the end pay more rm3k. Chehhh....
Smart la marketing ppl of naza.
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 5 2013, 11:12 AM)
wink.gif  Not me to be frank.... For the look of the so called "BK", I would only paid Rm1.5k for the whole blush.gif

Added on January 5, 2013, 11:15 am

No more rebate on the 408. New price Rm128,888 with euro kit.
Rm125,888 without euro kit.
Havent got into PBB to ask for details, but so far we know, the different is only the "Euro Kit"
According to Peugeot FB, no installation of euro kit for 408 at the moment.
joeaggas
post Jan 10 2013, 08:52 AM

363 posts

I really cannot tell the difference with euro kit or without.
jialat if car is silver, the black kit?

QUOTE(onlokkia @ Jan 9 2013, 05:14 PM)
408 1.6T with Euro Kit

Euro Kit is black color, no matter what color u take, the Euro Kit will be black, only the spoiler will follow your car color.
joeaggas
post Jan 11 2013, 08:11 AM

363 posts

Finally decided and took the plunge. Booked a unit, silver color. Going settle the HP. Opting for the over trade instead of the other options. Guys, can provide link to post regarding maintenance cost up to 60000km.
joeaggas
post Jan 15 2013, 07:01 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 11 2013, 08:43 AM)
I have 2012 but not 2013 for 2.0 NA but 1.6 turbo don't have
Thank you guys and gals. Excited since this will be my reborn to drive peugeot cars
again, used to own a 405sr but it was a used vehicle. can y'all recall your first day getting ur car? was there urge to drive it as much can? Genting?
joeaggas
post Jan 15 2013, 09:55 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 15 2013, 07:28 PM)
First day owning 408T? Straight pump full tank at Caltex, excited ya. Slowly slowly drive back to home, was wonder how can I drove so carefully. Yet, no time to explore much after reach home as it was already night time. Just take my wife and son for a ride near my house.

Took leave on the next day, touch here touch there, read trough the owner manual: p
Wah took leave summore, not MC ah? Did u flat/fly it on first day? Top speed can reach?
joeaggas
post Jan 17 2013, 06:47 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(sctang408T @ Jan 17 2013, 01:45 AM)
Start to feel bad of soon parting with my Honda City where it serve me so well for the last 7 years and still doing well. It hardly give me a single problem where I have a very peace of mind for the last 7 years. The mileage meter clock at 97,000+ only (low mileage).

Start to feel like I am 'Chan Sai Mei', see another nice car (chick), and dumb the old car (wife) where it treat me so well the last 7 years.
Bad.
I have no problem parting with my current 2009 Persona but it was sad day when I had to part with my old Peugeot 405SR. I had it for 7 years since 2002. The carburator was failing and very difficult to find spare parts. Searched in SG and Thailand also yield no results. Got someone offer me RM2.3K for that carburator, so I decided to let it go.

By the way have you read this? http://paultan.org/2013/01/17/nasim-launch...subang-skypark/

I wished it was free complimentary 24 hours shaded car park facility. cheh.

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Jan 17 2013, 06:51 PM
joeaggas
post Jan 23 2013, 09:02 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 23 2013, 01:57 PM)
Hi I also drive NA and agree it is more or less 300km to 350 km full tank for 100% city driving. The 8.6L/100 Km is combined drive cycle indication under lab test, so combined means some percentage of highway driving and some percentage of city driving, but how much percentage each only Peugeot knows.
Wah Ahui, u really drive u car kow kow? mine only 7.7k KM but I got my car late Sep 2012, ur car 2 month old only woh, oredi 6k, ho-liao!
Here is a little tip, don't put full tank. Just half will do in city drive. If long distance then full tank 9 9. I don't think it'll be a significant saving but it should be a slight difference.
joeaggas
post Jan 24 2013, 11:44 AM

363 posts

Guys any of you install in-car camera for your pug? If yes did u install a permanent wiring from fuse box or use cigarette lighter socket? Any tips on this?

another idea to throw in the hat, I'll going to ask for more insurance premium discount for this extra security feature. Wonder will insurer bite?

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Jan 24 2013, 11:47 AM

0.0486sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:58 PM