Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

azbro
post Aug 9 2012, 09:13 PM

4,403 posts

Seriously, I do not trust the FC meter smile.gif

Try filling the car to full....lets say it will show 460km to go. Also, reset one of the trip meter to 0. Now drive...after a few days...check and see whether the km left + trip meter = 460..hehe..mine half tank oledi drop to 420 smile.gif
Bearheart
post Aug 10 2012, 01:37 AM

Hi, letting myself in...

Updated

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black

Booked and eagerly awaiting a black Turbo. Been lurking at this discussion and finally decided to go ahead and make the choice.
AHY20
post Aug 10 2012, 04:53 AM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 9 2012, 08:22 PM)
Will there be any charges on the first inspection?
Totally no charges for first inspection. Next service is 10000km +/- 500km might be charges less than rm400.
jfcheong
post Aug 10 2012, 08:00 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Bearheart @ Aug 10 2012, 01:37 AM)
Hi, letting myself in...

Updated

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black

Booked and eagerly awaiting a black Turbo. Been lurking at this discussion and finally decided to go ahead and make the choice.
Welcome to the board, mine is black Turbo also. With Huper Optik tinted, it looks fierce.
net_mave
post Aug 10 2012, 12:54 PM

One more turbo added here.

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue

Added on August 10, 2012, 11:50 pmDear all,, may I know the engine break in period for 408 turbo? My SA told me it's 3K and someone here mentioned no break in period...???

This post has been edited by net_mave: Aug 10 2012, 11:50 PM
kejusan
post Aug 11 2012, 05:59 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 9 2012, 09:13 PM)
Seriously, I do not trust the FC meter smile.gif

Try filling the car to full....lets say it will show 460km to go. Also, reset one of the trip meter to 0. Now drive...after a few days...check and see whether the km left + trip meter = 460..hehe..mine half tank oledi drop to 420 smile.gif
My previous car (1.6cc, carburetor engine) does not have FC indication. What I did was, when I filled up the tank to RM50, average km it will go is 250. I did the same when driving my 408 as it provide me with a better picture of FC rather than relying solely on FC indication. And guess what, I get around the same figure (220 - 250 km) when my RM50 filled tank on 408NA is empty (not including reserve tank).

But I make it a habbit to view the FC indicator to gauge how my driving style is affecting the FC.
azbro
post Aug 11 2012, 06:08 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Aug 11 2012, 05:59 AM)
My previous car (1.6cc, carburetor engine) does not have FC indication. What I did was, when I filled up the tank to RM50, average km it will go is 250. I did the same when driving my 408 as it provide me with a better picture of FC rather than relying solely on FC indication. And guess what, I get around the same figure (220 - 250 km) when my RM50 filled tank on 408NA is empty (not including reserve tank).

But I make it a habbit to view the FC indicator to gauge how my driving style is affecting the FC.
RM50 = 200~250km?...must try on my 308...I fell my car is freaking thirsty.

thx
SKYjack
post Aug 11 2012, 09:09 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 11 2012, 06:08 AM)

thx
Bro,easy on the pedal la won't be so thirsty. With the turbo,it is easily said than done....hehehe! But like one of bros said, I too have back seat auto siren.....hehehe. In a way good also,if not sure go gila gila with this engine.

Added on August 11, 2012, 9:17 am
QUOTE(net_mave @ Aug 10 2012, 12:54 PM)

Added on August 10, 2012, 11:50 pmDear all,, may I know the engine break in period for 408 turbo? My SA told me it's 3K and someone here mentioned no break in period...???
In general 1k is sufficient. However these modern engines don't need any break in period. As a matter of fact, the manual does not specify any break in period. Manufacturing process has evolved and is quite different from previous methods.
You'll also find on the Internet, hard break in period. It is claimed by driving the new engine hard it moulds into a better fit resulting in better performance.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 11 2012, 09:24 AM
net_mave
post Aug 11 2012, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 11 2012, 09:09 AM)
Bro,easy on the pedal la won't be so thirsty. With the turbo,it is easily said than done....hehehe! But like one of bros said, I too have back seat auto siren.....hehehe. In a way good also,if not sure go gila gila with this engine.

Added on August 11, 2012, 9:17 am
In general 1k is sufficient. However  these modern engines don't need any break in period. As a matter of fact, the manual does not specify any break in period. Manufacturing process has evolved and is quite different from previous methods.
You'll also find on the Internet, hard break in period. It is claimed by driving the new engine hard it moulds into a better fit resulting in better performance.
Thanks Sky for the helpful info.
Pogostik
post Aug 11 2012, 02:54 PM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 11 2012, 06:08 AM)

thx
My 308T fuel consumption is also around that figure. I always re-fuel from the first low fuel warning till the tank is full. That would cost me around RM95 for RON95. I would get around 400 ~ 450 KM of mileage. 100% city driving.
azbro
post Aug 11 2012, 03:13 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Aug 11 2012, 02:54 PM)
My 308T fuel consumption is also around that figure. I always re-fuel from the first low fuel warning till the tank is full. That would cost me around RM95 for RON95. I would get around 400 ~ 450 KM of mileage. 100% city driving.
Trying to get those figures...currently 420km if plus km left and mileage meter...will update when there is a fuel low
warning
KLTEOH
post Aug 12 2012, 08:21 AM

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue

will get my car this coming friday.. biggrin.gif ..do share or get some useful info from u all..

Added on August 12, 2012, 8:21 amOne more turbo added here.

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue

will get my car this coming friday.. biggrin.gif ..do share or get some useful info from u all..

This post has been edited by KLTEOH: Aug 12 2012, 08:21 AM
SKYjack
post Aug 12 2012, 09:17 AM

367 posts

Welcome bro KLTEOH. What other car did you consider. What was the deciding factor for the turbo.
jfcheong
post Aug 12 2012, 09:20 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Aug 12 2012, 08:21 AM)

rclxms.gif
KLTEOH
post Aug 12 2012, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 12 2012, 09:17 AM)
Welcome bro KLTEOH. What other car did you consider. What was the deciding factor for the turbo.
be4 make decision, i search some review about jetta, focus, mazda 3, elantra, civic, altis, cruze and peugeot 408t. There all are good cars. i consider the space, performance, reliable, safety and handling.

space : jetta, elantra, civic,altis, cruze, 408t(largest), mazda3
performance : jetta, focus, 408.
reliable : all
handling : 3 cars i ware tested ( elentra, civic and 408t) best is 408t. other i not sure.
safety(6airbags) : jetta , 408, mazda 3, focus
up to date engine and technology : jetta, 408, focus
value for money : focus, 408.

why no choose :

jetta : expensive. Is a good car.
focus : back sit ( less space)
mazda 3 : dun have skyactiv. 5 speeders
elantra : value of money in america (6 air bags) but in malaysia just 2 airbags. handling too light.
civic : still using SHOC engine tech. 5 speeders. handling light also. less performance(not difference with previous civic)
altis n sylphy: out dated tech. 4 speeders
cruze : 2 airbags.

finally go for 408T. value for money.. with the features offered. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
parasolx
post Aug 12 2012, 10:40 PM

13 posts

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black

Sorry for delayed join this group. mine got already 2 month ago from Bukit Tinggi, Klang. I maybe not totally active in this forum. come back when only looking for sumthing.

but as previous user, nomrad has mention my blog. i log everything regarding 408T there especially research about FC. why I'm so excited in FC cause at the same time i'm owning Honda Civic Hybrid 2009. of course that car is diff segment. but just wanna to get some pictures.

higher efficiency vs higher performance in Fuel Consumption -- lol, can do a degree research.

just to state my blog url for your guys references: http://parasolx.net/kategori/peugeot-408-turbo
jessyeo
post Aug 12 2012, 11:54 PM

can anyone show us how is the silver and grey colour looks like?
SKYjack
post Aug 13 2012, 10:04 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(parasolx @ Aug 12 2012, 10:40 PM)

Sorry for delayed join this group. mine got already 2 month ago from Bukit Tinggi, Klang. I maybe not totally active in this forum. come back when only looking for sumthing.

but as previous user, nomrad has mention my blog. i log everything regarding 408T there especially research about FC. why I'm so excited in FC cause at the same time i'm owning Honda Civic Hybrid 2009. of course that car is diff segment. but just wanna to get some pictures.

higher efficiency vs higher performance in Fuel Consumption -- lol, can do a degree research.

just to state my blog url for your guys references: http://parasolx.net/kategori/peugeot-408-turbo
Hi bro. I had a look at your FC chart, must say it's pretty impressive. Are you achieving these figures after the 1st service (10k) or before.
Can you post city and urban FC on the Honda Hybrid. Was very interested on the Honda Insight. Didn't like the interior, so struck it out of my list. But the future may be hybrid!
kdnfz
post Aug 13 2012, 11:02 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Aug 12 2012, 02:46 PM)
reliable : all
I really do hope this will be truth , although sceptical abt it myt self, i still go ahead with it...i guess what ppl said partially truth, once drive a conti, will always choose a conti... biggrin.gif I am ex owner of Pug 405 sold off in 2004, after 8 years now owned a Pug 408... hmm.gif

SKYjack
post Aug 13 2012, 12:21 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kdnfz @ Aug 13 2012, 11:02 AM)
I really do hope this will be truth , although sceptical abt it myt self, i still go ahead with it...i guess what ppl said partially truth, once drive a conti, will always choose a conti...  biggrin.gif I am ex owner of Pug 405 sold off in 2004, after 8 years now owned a Pug 408...  hmm.gif
I know exactly what you mean. I too was very concerned about the THP reliability. Of course no point asking the SA,they will always say those are old issues and have been solved. Even after booking, I kept researching THP issues. There were many problems in the UK forums. I also found out 6 mods were carried out addressing reliability. Reassuring point for me was that 508 owners were not complaining about the engine. Knowing that and Peugeot's 5 year warranty gave me the confidence to get the turbo.

130 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:20 AM