Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

lowpro
post Oct 23 2012, 01:59 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(sct @ Oct 23 2012, 12:19 PM)
Tis car so big & spacious, so long & wide, have a solid d-segment car feel. Price is good for 2.0, but too bad only 4-speeder.
better to have a reliable 4-speeder than a screwed up 6 or 7 speeder.
lowpro
post Oct 29 2012, 11:34 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Oct 29 2012, 10:37 PM)
Oic. I am wondering what should we do or what will happen to our car if our car break down after office hour? I know we are still covered under the Peugeot towing service but where do they tow the car to?
the closest nasim or authorised service centre. if you want to select another, the additional cost will not be covered

lowpro
post Nov 7 2012, 08:17 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(pakwong @ Nov 7 2012, 01:30 AM)
Actually wat is the actual tyre pressure? I when to tyre shop they said 220psi enough but on car hav sticker indicate 2.5bar... So how?
the actual/correct pressure is always what you find mentioned on the car but it is your choice to experiment with what's comfortable to you. some even over inflate a little just to get that extra little more on their mileage. so, the manufacturer's recommendation is there but the choice is yours. by the way, peugeot usually recommends higher than japanese tyre pressures as they rely more on the suspension to do the job.

by the way, tyre shops usually know nuts about peugeot and will always say that the recommended pressures are too high.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 7 2012, 08:18 AM
lowpro
post Nov 14 2012, 12:32 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 14 2012, 11:24 AM)
Thanks jfcheong and skyjack. Wow summons! The road will be more dangerous, now. It is this pug408 vs ford focus. Too bad Ford Focus didn't come with ecoboost, else my choice will be it. Yeh test drove pug at Bangsar branch and went on mahameru on a public holiday (long weekend). SA allowed me to flat it, it was exhilirating. The power kept on coming at the will.of.my foot and cabin space is impressively the signature of a peugeot + 6 airbags, for that price..unbelievable. the drawback.is service maintenance which I read will be 3.6 to 4k per year whereas Ford offers Parts &Labor free maint.

Current Pug specifically 408, how's ur maint total so far?
they have changed the service schedule. no need to fear the 60k km already. it has been evened out to other intervals. for those who have not reached their 40k km service interval, you should be able to go under the more affordable service schedule... actually it is moving some items earlier so you don't pay the full force at one interval but spaced out to 3 intervals.

sounds better? more acceptable?
lowpro
post Nov 16 2012, 08:19 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 16 2012, 01:55 AM)
Yes, in terms of spaciousness and big torque of course Pug408 wins.
It was just a guess for me. I used to own a Pug 405 SR, therefore I roughly can feel the pinch on maint. However that time, petrol price was around 1.28 I think.

Added on November 16, 2012, 2:20 amhttp://ahw308.blogspot.com/search/label/Maintenance%20Cost
Is the blog owner a forumer here?
Although is a 308 maintenance account up to 50,000KM OTR, this can serve a general guide until some good soul can share theirs actual 408 acc if any.

He also accounted HP installment as expenses which likely may not apply to others.
he was quite active in the past in autoworld. very quiet these days.

Added on November 16, 2012, 8:22 am
QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Nov 15 2012, 11:11 PM)
Hi guys, Pugbunny here smile.gif

I got my Pug 408 2.0NA last month and already clocked 1,000KM

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
9. Matsukatsu - aster grey
10. EnergyAnalyst - silver
11. ATEC - aster grey
12. ahui - aster grey
13. Pugbunny - Bourrasque Blue

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
21. cityofdevils - Aster grey
22. Skysiow - blue
23. pakwong - white
24. Puggie - Aster grey
25. Anfieldrock - White
26. baha5699 - Black happy.gif  happy.gif
welcome to the group pugbunny

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 16 2012, 08:22 AM
lowpro
post Nov 16 2012, 10:21 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(genojk @ Nov 16 2012, 09:58 AM)

Got my Pug 2.0 NA last week. Enjoying the drive.

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
9. Matsukatsu - aster grey
10. EnergyAnalyst - silver
11. ATEC - aster grey
12. ahui - aster grey
13. Pugbunny - Bourrasque Blue
14. genojk - black

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
21. cityofdevils - Aster grey
22. Skysiow - blue
23. pakwong - white
24. Puggie - Aster grey
25. Anfieldrock - White
26. baha5699 - Black
welcome to the group genojk... hahahaha, today i feel like saying welcome to all the new owners biggrin.gif
lowpro
post Nov 19 2012, 10:12 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 19 2012, 01:22 AM)
lol you guys really crazy. The EP6DT  engine most unreliable and problematic engine ever created, period. yet you guys still want to buy
you said it, the EP6DT. these guys are running with the EP6CDTM

best thing for those running the old engine is to trade up to what these guys are driving.

Added on November 19, 2012, 10:12 pmby the way, if you guys want to mix with some other pug fans, they're having a drive. check it out here:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=440...&type=1&theater

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 19 2012, 10:12 PM
lowpro
post Nov 20 2012, 12:56 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Wanky15 @ Nov 19 2012, 11:51 PM)
If for example, a Jetta with value of rm130k( a pre register), comparing with new 408T, which one is better? I kinda worry about maintenance cost of conti cars, when comes to major..

And thank to those helpful opinions from frens here.
they're both conti. if you're worried, better buy japanese. no point buying and then getting shocked and start complaining and writing to tribunal, complaining on their FB, complaining in forums etc. best to stay away if you're not prepared for a few shocks.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 20 2012, 01:05 AM
lowpro
post Nov 21 2012, 11:57 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 21 2012, 11:37 AM)
Can it the same design???
nope. not same. the turbo 4 speed uses the EP6DT, the turbo 6 speed in the 308 uses the EP6CDT, the 408 turbo uses a new version of the engine called EP6CDTM. please see my reply one page back:

"you said it, the EP6DT. these guys are running with the EP6CDTM

best thing for those running the old engine is to trade up to what these guys are driving."

lowpro
post Nov 21 2012, 01:02 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 21 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hello boss the design of the engine might come from the same person.
the 'm' engine is improved over the earlier engines in many ways and an engine is not designed by one same person. they may belong to the ep6 family but the engine has been steadily improved in time. anyway, no point explaining so much since you are not willing to learn. it is just splashing water on a waxed leaf.
lowpro
post Nov 21 2012, 05:29 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 21 2012, 04:18 PM)
Argh....got a call this morning from SA, another 5K off the price for 2012 model. Wow desperate to meet quota or plenty of stock ups? Pulling hair now.
2 words; desperation, targets!

good time to get your friends to consider the 408. by the way, those 408 were tested for more than a year in a fleet of more than 10 cars in malaysia just to make sure that they are ok. all of them passed the 20,000km point before the french gave the cars the ok.
lowpro
post Nov 22 2012, 12:08 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(dchan126 @ Nov 22 2012, 11:58 AM)
WOW..  should i buy now or wait till early next year... very hard to decide.. hmm.gif
these campaigns are usually only valid at year end.
lowpro
post Nov 24 2012, 10:27 AM

180 posts

here's an album in fb for you 408 owners to enjoy. it is the south american racing version of the 408:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=457...&type=1&theater

they race with civics and corollas over there.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 24 2012, 10:29 AM
lowpro
post Nov 25 2012, 11:05 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Nov 25 2012, 10:12 PM)
+1  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 25, 2012, 10:24 pm

Yeah, we notice that indicator before servicing. Its showing -700km.. You can just leave it aside as it doesnt affect anything.
Just be assure your car have enough oils to work things out normally.
you can service your car at 10k or at 6th month mark or within 2 weeks after you 6th month mark.
In my case I do it earlier at 7k coz my 6th due mark on 8th Dec. Im going for a long trip as I mention earlier and I hope my car are in good conditions for peace of mind plus better FC.
within 2 weeks or 500km. please don't forget. this is crucial and automobiles peugeot france is very sticky with the servicing schedules as it involves your warranty. if you can't get your regular service centre, go for another even slightly further away. as they are usually busy, try to make an appointment when you are even about 1,000km away from your scheduled service.
lowpro
post Nov 26 2012, 08:36 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 26 2012, 08:03 AM)
Generally i find Peugeot engines loud. The 408T is no exception but its probably due to the turbo. But then again, it might be a similar case to the Optima K5 which has a loud engine during cold starts but once warmed up, its relatively quite when idling.
generally, peugeot engines are a bit loud due to the fan. i think even the 405 was a bit loud. my uncle had one.
lowpro
post Nov 26 2012, 09:35 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Nov 26 2012, 09:11 AM)
I am going thru the pug threads at autoworld.com.my. I see owners of 308t with issues. Having said that, the 308t and 408t share the same engine and GB together with an incompetent SC which concerns me.
different engine, please. the 'm' engine is, i dare say even better than what you find in the flagship 508.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 26 2012, 09:37 AM
lowpro
post Nov 26 2012, 10:44 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 26 2012, 10:21 AM)
Yes slightly different engine which is why power output differs. The 508 hp is 156 while the 408 churns out 163Hp. Torque output same. Similar case to the Kia Optima K5 2.0L. The latest version launched last month gives out 170Hp as compared to the earlier version which gives out 163Hp only.
the key differences are not just the horsepower. it is what's inside the engine that matters and how the ecu is mapped to take in poor fuel quality and not foul up. internal components are beefed up as well to cope with higher stress.

lowpro
post Nov 26 2012, 12:43 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 26 2012, 12:36 PM)
yours is the facelifted 408t with the new box right?
408 has not been facelifted here in malaysia and the transmission is still the same as when it was introduced a short while back in may this year.
lowpro
post Nov 27 2012, 08:39 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Nov 26 2012, 10:59 PM)
Could you share what is the 'm' engine difference between the 308t and 408t. Is the 508 using the same engine? Are the gearbox the same across the range?

I test drove 308t, halfway thru the engine check light appeared, SA said it's normal and given its a test car, they have not serviced the car.  rclxub.gif

Added on November 26, 2012, 11:02 pm
Which car is giving out 170hp, 508,408t or Optima?
nope, it is not the same engine as the 508. it is iMproved in many ways. there are as far as i remember 6 key improvements which are the turbo, the mapping, the piston design, compression ratio... hmmm, i can only remember 4 lah. but apart from the 6 key improvements, there are also other enhancements. and no, you cannot 'fix' the older engines with these parts. if you want a car with the M engine, the only way is to get the 408 turbo.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Nov 27 2012, 08:39 AM
lowpro
post Nov 27 2012, 02:09 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 27 2012, 10:05 AM)
EP6CDTM (408t) carries the following mods: 

1)  Engine tuned to run on RON 87 petrol
2)  Remapped ECU
3)  New designed piston with lower compression
4)  New designed catalyzer.
5)  New engine oil filter housing with heat exchanger
6)  New turbo charger
7)  New fuel tank gauge unit with lower pressure pump to handle lower    grade petrol.
8)  A fuel filter to cater for hash atmospheric condition ( third world country).
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:04 PM