Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 1 2013, 12:25 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Dec 31 2012, 01:28 PM)
wow, interesting articles. thanks for sharing. just fyi, my friend just shared with me that he had his dsg equipped fiesta change its gearbox under warranty and the bill came up to something like rm15k. lucky it was under warranty. the thing is, with any euro car that is not premium in nature, there will be a few instances here and there that cause worry. the good thing about oriental makes is that while they are slower to intro new tech, they always ensure that there is no issue at all when it is introduced. this is my personal observation only. imho, the europeans rush to intro new tech (since they are known to put on market new tech first) and sometimes, there are still hiccups which will only be cleared in subsequent evolutions of the tech. hope the m series engine is truly sorted out.
The turbo engines of any make is facing the same challenges despite the tech is not new.
Below are links for Ford's Ecoboost. Problem still persist
http://www.examiner.com/article/ford-1-6l-...pands-to-europe
http://m.usatoday.com/article/news/1743203

But do that stop anything . NO as it is pretty standard to offer turbo engines nowadays. Why?

The world needs greener and fuel efficient/ saving engine yet none want to loose the vroom vroom power . Turbo technology hence get revisited and re-R&D-ed. Some of the early populariser of Turbo happens to be Japanese like Toyota, Honda, Mazda and Suzuki. Think Motor sports.

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2012/06...d-problems.html

Korean Hyundai Kia is already jumping to the turbo engine bandwagon as seen above and below
http://paultan.org/2012/10/30/hyundai-anno...-and-1-2-turbo-

So car makers only created what the world demands and hence if we chose turbo, we will need to live with it. For me, I scale down my need for fuel efficiency. I therefore chosen NA and live with scaled own vroom power and higher road tax but definitely none of turbo engine potential issue.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 1 2013, 12:40 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 01:06 PM

4,117 posts

Time will tell!
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 01:09 PM

4,117 posts

Like it has ...just like before

Added on January 2, 2013, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(Termibait @ Jan 2 2013, 01:09 PM)
At Peugeot glenmarie now. Car front left passenger door is not aligned. Came for inspection 2 weeks ago and was told the screw that was missing is the culprit.

Service advisor that checked my car called yesterday for today's appointment to fix it. Apparently, I need to wait 2 weeks for the arrival of screw. (they don't keep stock) gosh!

I was briefed by the service advisor that I have to bear the cost of the screw which is rm1.80. It's not costly but for a screw, yes, it's bloody expensive. And guess what, I have to bear the cost because the screw went missing. Those who know own 408 will know the screw is made with special design that normal Phillips screwdriver is unable to unscrew it. Therefore, I have no reason to remove it and definitely don have the capability of doing it. Yet, I am punished for the sloppy assembly job. Totally disappointed.

Collected my Peugeot privilege card today. 6months after collecting my car. Flipped through the privileges booklet and found this card is useless except the towing service that covers up to rm150. Others, are craps.

Fellow pugs, do check ur front left door passenger door panel for loosen screws. And if your door panel is not properly aligned...it could be the screws.

Good luck.
Thanks for the heads up. I feel for you bro!

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 2 2013, 01:11 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 03:04 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jan 2 2013, 01:18 PM)
Also, the my name printed on the card is mispelled. Damn!
How dare they? That is undisputedly the No. 1 OFFENCE in CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!. Glenamarie has been repeated offender in poor customer service issue , I think honestly, they cannot deal with the volume there despite the upgrade. But once having it rectified, do go seek service in better ones. My experience so far with Chan Sow Lin and Balakong is satisfactory to good. But in case PJ would be more ideal for you, try Kota Damansara or GeoAuto PJ. KD is new, so can give them chance , Geoauto has been reported to be quite OK. Like my French neigbour say, good car, but service so-so.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 03:17 PM

4,117 posts

http://www.caradvice.com.au/99056/volkswag...sed-out-report/

http://smh.drive.com.au/motor-news/touting...0203-1qwjh.html

http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-revie..._118tsi_warning

http://rockyroadblog.com/stupid-technology...st-engines-2244

I AM HOWEVER PLEASED TO REPORT THAT FROM MY HUMBLE RESEARCH, PEUGEOT's PRINCE THP 1.6 TURBO ENGINE HAS THE LEAST REPORTED ISSUE.

SO My PUG Turbo Bro and Sis have made the wiset risk taking, THUMBS UP !!!!!!
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 05:30 PM

4,117 posts

What is this emotion?
Is it guilt ridden pride?
Is it overwhelming knowing?
Or is it calming serenity?
An ultimate peace of mind?
... When I feel so great like the king of the world,
elated and inflated, parking next to any car?

EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 2 2013, 05:58 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jan 2 2013, 05:40 PM)
i notice many sales persons do not deflate the tyres for new cars. please ask them to do so. you see, this is what is called 'showroom pressure'. due to the car having to stand in a showroom for some time, tyres are deliberately pumped higher at the factory. once they are of a higher pressure, there is less risk of the tyre developing a 'flat spot' meaning, a section of the tyre which does not follow the general curve of the tyre due to it standing in one location for too long. flat spots result in vibrating steering (which makes you think it is balancing), tyre noise.

so that's why cars in showroom are usually pumped up higher. now, when a car is sold, it is the duty of the sales person to release the air to get it to road pressure. so, get them to do it. hmmm, those sales guys should start carrying tyre pressure gauges in their pocket before delivering a car! biggrin.gif
Good reminder raised by both sleepy and lowpro. Take heed !

Added on January 2, 2013, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 2 2013, 05:42 PM)
Yup, at this sort of price point its like best bet for money in terms of what you get. So a little bit of compromise is expected la, ie 50/50 reliability. FC quite ok la, lasts me around 600-700km a full tank travelling to and from work. 50% of the route is on MRR2, congested like hell as usual, 50% in MEX cruising 110kmh. I only did once full highway during CNY 2012, lasts about 900km, but still got fuel to go before low fuel warning. But I dont dare to drive till the warning really light up because up north near thai borders there isnt really alot of fuel station.

My rear left hand door developed some rattle inside also. Complained to the balakong SC and they say they added some padding inside but gotta leave it stationary for 2 days for the glue/adhesive to harden. Obviously something that I cant do because I drive to work everyday, so the rattle came back in less than a week's time. I give it benefit of doubt that the glue havent harden properly to hold things in place?

Yup 50psi. Most owners in the autoworld forum also report the same thing when they collect their car
The padding that they put sound like insulation material and solving the symptoms but not the root of the problem. Can they diagnose the source of the rattling instead?

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 2 2013, 06:01 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 10:17 AM

4,117 posts

Oh dear we have no more service centres to go then

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:24 am
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 3 2013, 09:50 AM)
Termbait getting screwed by the SC  tongue.gif
With Naza now busy with their new wife - adik perempuan peranchis Dari keluarga sama, we will all be screwed x2

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 3 2013, 10:24 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 10:36 AM

4,117 posts

I have been lucky so far with the SC my dealing with Balakong 2 visits have been pleasant. They are also busy as hell. Place is always packed. CSL visits x3 is acceptable as they are quite new. May be I sm not so demanding. Geoauto is actually recommended bu my French neighbour may be they treat him differently? One day I may try the Kota Damansara SC.

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:41 am
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 3 2013, 10:06 AM)
Peugeot SC,  at least u guys have more options. I have only 2 available options in JB. One of it heard about some negative experience, customer brand new batt got stolen (swap with old batt) while send in for servicing. Hence, I got only one choice left. Sending my car for 10k service this month. Hope everything go fine!
Hope is still there ? Naza Euro is planning to have another 3S centre for Citroen in a few months in South. So may be can sent there if they allow that... Actually not sure. But if they do , u can feast your eyes with all the adik-adik pompuan. Heard a few more Citroen models will be launched

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 3 2013, 10:41 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 11:06 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jan 3 2013, 10:35 AM)
Lunchtime, don tell me you don have any bad experience wit your sc. I have read about this avanza owner went to extend of consumer tribunal with Toyota. A Honda accord owner sticker his car and park in front of Honda hq.

By the way, you are not driving a Peugeot, are you? Lol
He is mostly likely going for a Kia Sportage but hearing this may change his mind again !

Added on January 3, 2013, 11:08 am
QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 09:58 AM)
Boss, dont expect too much from either nasim or its contracted workshops. You'll be disappointed. While others say balakong SC is good, I've got my own bad experience with them as well. The new SC in chan sow lin is by far the worst though.
Can share what happened to you or your 508 @balakong and @ CSL? curious....

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 3 2013, 11:08 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 12:17 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 11:52 AM)
Yup quite similar figures. I suppose you're right about the silicone glue part because they ask me to leave the car stationary for 2 days, and yet they dont wanna provide me with courtesy car.

So far no need topup engine oil. Everyday check on the onboard computer it says engine oil level fine. Yours?
@balakong - took multiple attempt to fix the engine kencing thingy. I took day offs to get my car fixed, and since there's nothing around there to eat I just monitor them from the waiting room upstair throughout the entire process. By 12pm they already put my car aside and went prayers. So I go down there and ask whether my car is ready for collection and they say havent do test drive yet. So I just wait and then 5pm comes they call me and say car ready for collection. I ask them where's the test drive? They say already done. I'm monitoring them the entire time, if they did drive off with my car I would've noticed. So I just wasted 5 hours for the so call "test drive" doh.gif

@csl - doesnt make any difference if you make an appointment with them. I remember that time I went for a biz trip, so I booked a timeslot for servicing with them. Then come the time when I was away and my wife took my car for servicing, and surprise they say no mechanic that day and ask to reschedule. Nice? When scheduling that time, everything ok, come the actual day say no mechanic shakehead.gif
What? can't believe I am hearing this. Really sorry to hear how appalling but unapologetic they are of their unprofessional conduct.

Actually in balakong they have scheduled shuttle service using a P 207 to take u to AEON and u can go have lunch and come back to the same drop off/pick up point. If u still go there next (given that we have no choice) be sure to not get hungry.

When did this engine kencing problem start-at what km mileage? If you don't mind sharing more...
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 03:23 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 01:05 PM)
It happens after the first service which is at 10k mileage. I dont know whether its a coincidence or if its something that the SC did that caused the leak. My 10k service was done at KS chan sow lin. Back then they're still contracted SC for Nasim but not anymore.

I only discovered the leak about a week or so after the 10k service. Then I go back to them and get them to fix it, and was told this is parts related because they need to change the PCV hose. Then I was told to get glenmarie to settle this because they cant do RMA anymore.

Ok la, so I thought small matter la, just give a call to glenmarie and a malay lady with seriously broken english answered. Then she's like "oh, siapa suruh you pergi sana service? itu bukan authorize SC from blablabla onwards". Argument ensued and I demand to talk to manager and she swiftly answered "manager pergi training kat france". So I just drop the call la.

Next day I call again and a different lady answered, this time very well mannered and good command of english. Told her what happened the day before and she promised me resolution by end of the day. Later in the day she did call me and told me she'd informed balakong about my case and they're ready to fix my problems. That's how I got to balakong SC for the first time.
It is no longer KS @CSL. The new company is Sing Huat Premium, hailed from Malacca. They are among Top selling dealer. It is just launched since 19 Sep 2012... Located where it used to be a Citroen 3S centre. I reckon we may be talking about 2 different management and centre as KS Auto at CSL was at another location behind this new one but has moved out.

See link especially the different picture and addresses . If you have done your 10k service before the operation of Sing Huat Premium new 3S centre in Aug 2012, then we are really be referring to different management and team.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/new-peu...ue-box-in-kl-2/
Versus
http://www.ksserv.com.my/

So no wonder I say CSL acceptable and u say it is bad. Now I know why!

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 3 2013, 03:31 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 03:49 PM

4,117 posts

Engine leak seemed to be a repeating issue with turbo engines. Be it Pug/VW/Ford.

To all my NA Engine brothers:
So far any leaking issues?

Added on January 3, 2013, 3:52 pmMJ: Look at the man in the mirror....when one talk of any one else besides your self is sensitive. Like Austin Power always say: Oh BEhave. Wink wink

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 3 2013, 03:52 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 3 2013, 04:31 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 04:14 PM)
Eh I think some miscommunication took place. KS is no longer there yes (becomes mitsubishi), my 10k service was done in KS and resulted in a leak.

My 20k service, which I got ffk'ed (well my wife kena ffk'ed actually) is the new Sing Huat SC. When make appointment, the guy just say can can can. No problem no problem. But when come actual day, they claim tarak mechanic doh.gif
Got u. I will certainly bare this in mind when I make appointment there . Looks like the only way to avoid disappointment is to call them on the same day before going JUST TO CONFIRM GOT MECHANIC AH??? L O L. Aiyo. I just got a call from them yesterday educating me to make booking for future service with all issues Spelt Out in Advance when booking the service date LIKE they really get prepared before u come. From your feedback I have to lower down my expectation Like Really super low. Sigh.....
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 10:43 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jan 9 2013, 11:32 PM)
Guys, bad news. Was in up north early this week to attend meetings when suddenly during petrol fill up, there's a spillage of petrol underneath the car!! However, I was filling up full tank and when observing the tank gauge (without starting the car), the petrol is full. So apparently there seems to be an overspill but instead of spilling through the tank's inlet port, it seems that the overspill occurs at the tank itself!!........

..........So, eventhough I didn't know what exactly the problem is, does anyone here has already filled their tank to the limit where the filling was 'stopped' because of the tank being full? Because as far as I could remember, I have not filled up my tank to exceed the capacity up until that point where the overspill occurs.
First and foremost, very sorry to hear this, bro, i agree with jessyeo, it sounds like a leakage at the tank itself. ohmy.gif shocking.gif sad.gif

I am sure it is covered under warranty. Hope your car 'get well soon' , bye.gif

I had a not quite similar experince with other half's car, we were filling in like normal but the pump noozle did not stop and petrol start oozing out from the fuel filling inlet , wetting my fuel filling flap and also the fule filling cap, and i had to release the noozle manually and got petrol all over my hands and feets in the process. The petrol station apologized and gave us back RM10 for the spilled petrol, but no petrol spillage underneath the car or seen from below the tank.

But stil we were worry sick but we were at kg area , so just drive 60-90km per hour trying to use up the excessive filled in fuel and doing that 200 km for about 2.5 hours, only then we saw the needle dropping from over F level to F level itself, the car was not later having any problem, so we did not send it to the do checking, but the experience taught me one thing, trust fuel pump noozle with speed mode for only first 70-80% of what you think your tank can take, and step it down to the slower level , and once it stopped, don't press the second or third time. lAst but not least at all time, concentrate on the the litre reading at the pump meter, and manually cut in and stop the noozle when it is taking too long to stop.Never trust the noozle entirely

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 11 2013, 11:10 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 11 2013, 08:43 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Jan 11 2013, 08:11 AM)
Finally decided and took the plunge. Booked a unit, silver color. Going settle the HP. Opting for the over trade instead of the other options. Guys, can provide link to post regarding maintenance cost up to 60000km.
I have 2012 but not 2013 for 2.0 NA but 1.6 turbo don't have

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 11 2013, 08:56 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 11 2013, 11:43 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:36 AM)
Guys,

Any webmaster here? May be we could have Peugeot 408 club or something like http://www.myaltis.com/forum/ to share information and problems faced by owners? And I find it useful whenever I had any issue with my car, those that faced it will advice/recommend what could be the issue and how to go about it.

drool.gif  drool.gif
Good idea, the webmaster can move this thread to the car clubs forum. HELLO WEBMASTER, CAN YOU HEAR US? HELP?
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 12 2013, 04:01 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jan 12 2013, 01:08 PM)
Received my 408 yesterday after 3 days being stranded in SC. Before I share my experience dealing with Pug throughout this ordeal, let me share what exactly went wrong with my car.

Refer to below picture :

[attachmentid=3257804]

The circle section is where they claim the source of the crack which has caused the overspill. It is not a welded section nor externally attached to the tank; it's a union member of the tank hence there're no exploded view of thie section nor any numbering indication attached to it since it could not be dismantled without cutting/breaking it.

That is what they've explained to me. Then I have a short Q&A session with them :

Q : How you've solved this problem?
A : We dismantle the previous tank and found the crack and request for replacement.

Q : How can this sort of thing occur?
A : Manufacturing defect most probably

Q : Any this sort of case throughout Pug models?
A : The first that they've encounter.

Q : Do you take any picture and can I take a look?
A : Yes, there're pictures but was given to Peugeot warranty section as a proof to France for warranty claim

Then I went through their report and notice that the tank cost them RM34xx + RM2xx for a hose connected to the broken part.

Soon after taking my car, I went to petrol station to fill up the tank and gladly the petrol's nozzle tripped once it's full and no fuel leaking observed from undercarriage or elsewhere.

Glad that I have my ride back  rclxm9.gif
Thanks for sharing, glad to hear u have your ride back.

EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 15 2013, 02:11 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 15 2013, 01:54 PM)
Maybe I should plan my service schedule during my KL trip also?!  cool2.gif
Why? JB 'scenary' not nice enough meh? tongue.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 15 2013, 04:55 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 15 2013, 03:59 PM)
No la,he wants to check out the good Klang Valley service meh!
Hahaha , Bro jfcheong is all ready to be SERVED ! Don't miss the TIP TOP SERVICE RECEPTIONIST drool.gif wub.gif

Glenmarie is where Peugeot showcase and display their nicest 'Merchandise' and 'equipments'!! Feats your eyes.....(i am talking about their La Boutique)

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 15 2013, 05:36 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0215sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:19 PM