Car Audio, Any recommendations?

TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 10:02 AM, updated 20y ago

I will survive...
795 posts

Hi guys, any good recommendations for a good car audio? Any shop recommended for fair pricing and good service?

My budget is < RM2k, can support CD (must), MP3 (must), WMA (optional), cassette (optinal). Prefer double din but single din one is acceptable.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 10:03 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

BTW, what I am looking for is the player unit only. Not looking for amplifier or speakers.
Thanks in advance for the recommendations guys! biggrin.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 10:06 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

mod, i think my topic should be in the ICE sub forum, overlooked it. Please move my topic to the ICE sub forum. Thank you very much for your help.
limweekoon
post Dec 30 2005, 10:07 AM

372 posts

you got so much budget, just walk into accessories shop and point which one u like lo.
WhizzWork2005
post Dec 30 2005, 10:12 AM

1,433 posts

With this budget.. you can get lots of good stuff..... variety....

1. 2-Din unit Clarion
2. 2-Din unit Kenwood
3. 2-Din unit Alpine (not sure malaysia got market.... but OEM got)
4. 2-Din unit Panasonic

Most people will take CLarion or Kenwood Double Din player.....
Nowadays, some advance 2-Din player comes with MiniDisc, CD, CD changer, DVD Changer, MP3 Playback..........
howiechoo
post Dec 30 2005, 10:13 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

do u mean 2k for just the hu?
erm, i think 2k can buy any brand of hu for the function u wan above..
unless those fxxking nakamichi or wat la..
limweekoon
post Dec 30 2005, 10:20 AM

372 posts

go to www.brothers.com.my
have a look at which one you like and call them to quote price.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 11:34 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

Yeah, been seeing Clarion and Pioneer 2 din HU. The Clarion 2 din came with Honda Jazz is not bad too but dunno how much it cost. But one attract me the most is the Kenwood 2 din HU with touch screen one. Saw it in BEST at KLCC, with 6.5" TFT screen and DVD player somemore. Cost RM4K~5K, so expensive, but impressive...hehe biggrin.gif if i m not mistaken, the stock HU in BMW is provided by Nakamichi? How expensive is a 2 din Nakamichi?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 11:35 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(limweekoon @ Dec 30 2005, 10:20 AM)
go to www.brothers.com.my
have a look at which one you like and call them to quote price.
I thought BROTHERS is not a recommended place to get all these car audio stuff? Have been reading some bad bad review about them.
rockdapunkymonkey
post Dec 30 2005, 12:19 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Dec 30 2005, 11:35 AM)
I thought BROTHERS is not a recommended place to get all these car audio stuff? Have been reading some bad bad review about them.
What kind of bad reviews? Can you share with me? Im also thinking of getting one from brothers as their prices are alot cheaper compared to other acc shops.
Ken
post Dec 30 2005, 12:43 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(rockdapunkymonkey @ Dec 30 2005, 12:19 PM)
What kind of bad reviews? Can you share with me? Im also thinking of getting one from brothers as their prices are alot cheaper compared to other acc shops.
heard from people is their bad attitude in servicing customer...the face like u own them money 1...
Noyze
post Dec 30 2005, 12:51 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

Would you happen to be interested in something like this? taken out of the harrier cos sold hte harrier and restore it to stock standard, now current car er.. already has built in player n screen etc so dun need it.

I've used this player less than a year.

Kenwood KVT 735 DVD

I'm selling it at RM 4,600

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

* 7.0 inch Wide Colour TFT Active Matrix Display
* New Full-automatic Open/Close Mechanism
* Interactive Touch Panel Control with OSD
* MP3/WMA Folder/File Search Function on OSD
* Secondary Display = 5 x 7 Dot Matrix LCD
* System Q/System E's+
* Dual Zone Source & Volume Control
* Dual Disc Changer Control Capability (Option)
* Optional TV Tuner (KTC-V500P)

rockdapunkymonkey
post Dec 30 2005, 12:57 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 30 2005, 12:43 PM)
heard from people is their bad attitude in servicing customer...the face like u own them money 1...
Just their attitude isit? Bound to happen as they don't have to come looking for customers, we are the idiots who come looking for them as they always offer dirt cheap prices.

Anyway is that it? Just bad attitude? Actually i've heard ppl telling not to get their accesories fixed in Brothers, because some insider would follow you home and break into your car and steal it.

Very lame i know, but i thought ppl were referring to this when they said heard alot of bad things about brothers.
WhizzWork2005
post Dec 30 2005, 01:47 PM

1,433 posts

Yup. I also wanna know about it???
coz, seen their stuffs is attractive.....
e-jump
post Dec 30 2005, 02:27 PM

â”( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

tho only thing i know about some brothers shop r bad workmanship..
well, not all brothers r like that..

since the thread starter have a huge budget juz for 2-din cd mp3 player, check out clarion n alpine..
clarion usually have a decent look , while alpine quite fancy [cbright colour buttons etc]

well, since my budget so low, i settled for pioneer 3750 doh.gif laugh.gif
PrinceHamsap
post Dec 30 2005, 02:39 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

wat are u trying to achieve first ?
boomy bass? clear sound? or just want beautiful HU design?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 03:28 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Dec 30 2005, 12:51 PM)
Would you happen to be interested in something like this? taken out of the harrier cos sold hte harrier and restore it to stock standard, now current car er.. already has built in player n screen etc so dun need it.

I've used this player less than a year.

Kenwood KVT 735 DVD

I'm selling it at RM 4,600

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

* 7.0 inch Wide Colour TFT Active Matrix Display
    * New Full-automatic Open/Close Mechanism
    * Interactive Touch Panel Control with OSD
    * MP3/WMA Folder/File Search Function on OSD
    * Secondary Display = 5 x 7 Dot Matrix LCD
    * System Q/System E's+
    * Dual Zone Source & Volume Control
    * Dual Disc Changer Control Capability (Option)
    * Optional TV Tuner (KTC-V500P)
Your unit looks interesting but it is way over by budget..hehe. I am looking for a 2 din one smile.gif
Noyze
post Dec 30 2005, 03:42 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

yeah i guess it could be way over ur budget but this one opens up to a 2 din! or perhaps 2.5 din unit lolx the screen pops out of the unit. Just trying my luck cos hard to find buyers for this unit. Not many appreciate it.
TSSurvivor
post Dec 30 2005, 04:11 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Dec 30 2005, 03:42 PM)
yeah i guess it could be way over ur budget but this one opens up to a 2 din! or perhaps 2.5 din unit lolx the screen pops out of the unit. Just trying my luck cos hard to find buyers for this unit. Not many appreciate it.
haha...if i got enough juice, sure i will consider your unit. I fall in love with a Kenwood 2 din touch screen also...but what to do...no $$$ ma tongue.gif

Who has Honda Jazz Clarion 2 din unit to sell? i m interested! biggrin.gif

I think this is the HU in Honda Jazz. Anyone knows the price of this baby?
Noyze
post Dec 31 2005, 12:33 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

Hmm. my friend owns a honda dealership I'll ask him the next time I see him about the clarion set
TSSurvivor
post Dec 31 2005, 04:56 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Dec 31 2005, 12:33 AM)
Hmm. my friend owns a honda dealership I'll ask him the next time I see him about the clarion set
Many thanks in advance for your help! biggrin.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 3 2006, 10:12 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

any updates on the Clarion set? drool.gif i think must cost around 1.3k and above...just spend quite a lot on Chinese New Year shopping cry.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 4 2006, 03:03 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Asking for opinion from all sifu here..
Is it worth to spend 1K+ on double din HU while other single din HU with the same function usually cost 50% lesser?
What benefit is double din gives you other from the good visual look?
After spending on Chinese New Year shopping...suddenly feel spending 1K+ for double din HU is quite a waste... tongue.gif
(N)3
post Jan 4 2006, 04:18 PM

2,661 posts

types of media
1 din HU can only load 1 type of media wither CD or tape or MD
2 din can load 2 type of medie

well depends on HU lar and usually those that can load 2 media dun have a TFT screen

tft screen
1 din screen higher changes of spoiling as it has a mechanism to move the screen
2 din screen lower chances of spioling as the screen is always open

also it will depend on the HU as some 2 din have moveable parts also

security
1 din will come with removable face panel (dunno if it applies to those with TFT screens)
2 din so far i have not see any with removable face panel

note: becafeful when buying HU which have motorised face panes and such cause they may spoil like what happen to me sad.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 4 2006, 04:42 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Jan 4 2006, 04:18 PM)
types of media
1 din HU can only load 1 type of media wither CD or tape or MD
2 din can load 2 type of medie

well depends on HU lar and usually those that can load 2 media dun have a TFT screen

tft screen
1 din screen higher changes of spoiling as it has a mechanism to move the screen
2 din screen lower chances of spioling as the screen is always open

also it will depend on the HU as some 2 din have moveable parts also

security
1 din will come with removable face panel (dunno if it applies to those with TFT screens)
2 din so far i have not see any with removable face panel

note: becafeful when buying HU which have motorised face panes and such cause they may spoil like what happen to me sad.gif
I always think that motorized HU is kinda cool...but now need to think twice about it..hehe...thanks for the advice given..really appreciate it notworthy.gif My Toyota got 2 din space...so if i install the 1 din HU, it will left a space in the lower part...not nice to the visual view of the whole front panel...but if install 2 din more expensive...is it worth paying more just for the visual...
(N)3
post Jan 5 2006, 09:27 AM

2,661 posts

i driving toyota also stock 2din HU
2nd slot there you can put other things also if you want wink.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2006, 10:13 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Jan 5 2006, 09:27 AM)
i driving toyota also stock 2din HU
2nd slot there you can put other things also if you want wink.gif
For example what kind of other thing i can install there? Another HU? that would be no different from installing 2 din HU in term of money...
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 10:50 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

u can install EQ or preamp on the empty slot
BuFung
post Jan 5 2006, 10:55 AM

8,407 posts

No No... CLoudy will recommen u install Media Manager on the 2nd slot.. sweat.gif
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 11:00 AM

4,016 posts

well if he like it why not laugh.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2006, 11:07 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

What exactly is media manager??
BuFung
post Jan 5 2006, 11:37 AM

8,407 posts

basically is a Digital Signal processor with Digital Para-EQ, Delay, crossover etc..
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2006, 01:11 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 5 2006, 11:37 AM)
basically is a Digital Signal processor with Digital Para-EQ, Delay, crossover etc..
Hmm...got any pic of the media manager to show me? Don't really know physically which device are you saying tongue.gif Sorry, pretty out on this ICE thing tongue.gif
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 02:46 PM

4,016 posts

here is the pic

cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 02:55 PM

4,016 posts

this is the info of the PIC above
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2006, 03:43 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

ohhh...okiee...new knowledge added biggrin.gif
Any idea how much this unit cost? more than 500 or not?
BuFung
post Jan 5 2006, 04:02 PM

8,407 posts

RM500.. sweat.gif it can cost half of a kancil price.. sweat.gif
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 04:06 PM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 5 2006, 04:02 PM)
RM500..  sweat.gif  it can cost half of a kancil price..    sweat.gif
cost half of a kancil price shocking.gif shocking.gif
where u find that price list??????
is only RM 2K+++ thumbup.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 5 2006, 04:08 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 5 2006, 04:02 PM)
RM500..  sweat.gif  it can cost half of a kancil price..    sweat.gif
YO~ doh.gif My budget is less than 1k now...how come recommend me half the price of a kancil product tongue.gif i need something cheaper and nice tongue.gif
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 04:15 PM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 5 2006, 04:08 PM)
YO~  doh.gif My budget is less than 1k now...how come recommend me half the price of a kancil product  tongue.gif i need something cheaper and nice tongue.gif
BuFung don't kacal lahhh

read one more time on the 2nd pic, than u know why it cost Rm 2K+++ drool.gif
BuFung
post Jan 5 2006, 04:20 PM

8,407 posts

sorry sorry.. notworthy.gif shakehead.gif

cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 04:24 PM

4,016 posts

BTW BuFung not interested get ur-self a multimedia manager

it will look nice on ur new car thumbup.gif
cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 04:25 PM

4,016 posts

sorry double post doh.gif

This post has been edited by cloud8318: Jan 5 2006, 04:25 PM
BuFung
post Jan 5 2006, 04:53 PM

8,407 posts

Cloudy.. I only eyeing ur 7998R.. thank you.. will get it from u during CNY whistling.gif

cloud8318
post Jan 5 2006, 09:29 PM

4,016 posts

my CDA-7998R is already out-date and nearly 3 years old doh.gif
won't look nice on a new car, heheheee laugh.gif
driftmeister
post Jan 5 2006, 11:50 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

got 1 fella selling 7998r for 1.3k mah
cloud8318
post Jan 6 2006, 04:55 AM

4,016 posts

huh! 1300! new or use?
(N)3
post Jan 6 2006, 10:06 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 5 2006, 10:13 AM)
For example what kind of other thing i can install there? Another HU? that would be no different from installing 2 din HU in term of money...
signal processor, EQ, monitor,
of put a wooden panel there cut hole for turbo timer tongue.gif or any meters tongue.gif
driftmeister
post Jan 6 2006, 12:41 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jan 6 2006, 04:55 AM)
huh! 1300! new or use?
used la
if new i sapu liao lo laugh.gif
TSSurvivor
post Jan 8 2006, 12:51 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Any one got any updates on my Clarion double din set? Any one seen the unit before? How bout the price? (For the info of the Clarion set mentioned, please refer to earlier post of mine biggrin.gif)
TSSurvivor
post Jan 17 2006, 10:11 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

@Noyze

Any updates on the Clarion set?
stockish
post Jan 22 2006, 11:27 AM

206 posts

guys....need your opinion on dls woofer...do you know how much it will cost me and how good the stuff is??
TSSurvivor
post Feb 7 2006, 03:27 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

It's been a long time since i posted in this topic so here i am again. i just install Pioneer FH-P5000MP In-Dash Double-DIN CD/Cassette Receiver with MP3/WMA/WAV Playback to my Toyota Corona. Everything looks good thumbup.gif

Lipyueng
post Feb 8 2006, 07:04 AM

442 posts

Let me think...!!!

This post has been edited by Lipyueng: Feb 8 2006, 07:07 AM
Lipyueng
post Feb 8 2006, 07:06 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Dec 30 2005, 10:02 AM)
Hi guys, any good recommendations for a good car audio? Any shop recommended for fair pricing and good service?

My budget is < RM2k, can support CD (must), MP3 (must), WMA (optional), cassette (optinal). Prefer double din but single din one is acceptable.
For me... I will go for Alpine(1st choice),Pioneer(2nd Choice), Or Kenwood... Baso on wht is your need la... Coz... If you wan the subWoofer be more powerfull... You should pick SONY...

DEH-P8600MP(Pioneer)
CD Receiver with Customizable Multicolor Organic EL Display, Auto Slide Flap Face, MP3/WMA/WAV Playback, Built-in DSP with 13-Band Graphic EQ, Auto-EQ and Auto Time Alignment, Burr-Brown DAC's, BMX Digital Compression, MOSFET50, XM-Ready, Supertuner® IIID(tm), IP-Bus System Control, 10-Key Remote, Rotary Volume Control, Detachable Face Security(tm), and Hi-Volt Preouts
[attachmentid=90263][attachmentid=90264]

(One of my choice)

This post has been edited by Lipyueng: Feb 8 2006, 07:07 AM
TSSurvivor
post Feb 8 2006, 11:23 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipyueng @ Feb 8 2006, 07:06 AM)
For me... I will go for Alpine(1st choice),Pioneer(2nd Choice), Or Kenwood... Baso on wht is your need la... Coz... If you wan the subWoofer be more powerfull... You should pick SONY...
Well just in case you didnt notice. I stated that i would prefer double din HU. If money is not a problem then of cause i would long ago choosing the best HU the planet can come up with. But the fact is, money is a problem. So i have to settle with something around RM1.5k...based on what the sales person told me, Sony, Clarion and Kenwood will have problem reading pirated disc after some life span (i am not supporting pirated! tongue.gif) while Pioneer will have no such problem. I don't know about Alpine. If i have the money i would go for the Kenwood 6.5" touch screen HU drool.gif But that is just day dream, i have stepped my foot down wink.gif
BTW, the Pioneer HU you suggested i think would easily cost more than RM2k with the color OLED display. Correct me if i am wrong tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Feb 8 2006, 11:26 AM
ioriyagami
post Mar 15 2006, 09:09 PM

hi i have a system like Noyze but i only sell for RM 2.5k but the different is
mine cannot play DVD and MP3 the rest all no problem. it come with touchscreen function too. i got the satelite console for play TV function i will give it to u also i bought it at RM1.2k. And 1 more thing is the DSP proccessor
come with equilizer can play cassete also i bought it at RM1.9k but this i will give it to u also. last time i bougth this full set at brother for RM9k but now have to let go cheap because need money sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif
Call me or pm me if u interested .
Kevin 019-3139993.
Can come to view the item if u want i stay in klang or if u want me to KL call me.

ioriyagami
post Mar 15 2006, 09:24 PM

all this i only sell for RM2.5k Very good player. i bought it for RM9k in brothers.
Haiz what to do need money.sad.gifsad.gifsad.gifsad.gif

call me if interested.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSSurvivor
post Mar 16 2006, 01:03 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Too bad i already bought my PIONEER. Anyhow, the player cannot play MP3, which i think is definately not suitable for me since my main source of musics if MP3. Good player anyway smile.gif
hkspower
post Mar 16 2006, 01:17 PM

357 posts

omg bought those at 9k?
big sotong lol
driftmeister
post Mar 16 2006, 02:21 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

dun be so straight forward la
i already diam diam lo laugh.gif