need input/review and feedback, in choosing amp.

TSalieamin
post May 11 2012, 05:01 PM, updated 14y ago

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

Hi guys...
Was thinking to upgrade my amp to maximise my current setup performance.
These 2 amp came as my final choice as only these i could afford tongue.gif
1. Alpine PMX-f640 Rm7xx
2. Nakamichi pl-460 Rm8xx

from the specs sheet i see Nakamichi has Higher rate.
Or there is any other model of amp better? prefer with local distributor in case warranty purpose.

searched for review and comparison online,but not help very much sad.gif

My current setup.

Myvi

HU : kenwood 4038
front comp: alpine type r 6.5' + tweeter + crossover
rear: Alpine type G 6.5"
sub: alpine type e 12"
Amp: cap ayam whistling.gif

krayden
post May 11 2012, 08:14 PM

578 posts

Between the 2 I'd go with the Naka. Although actually both amps are underpowered for your sub. Looked around for some more options but din come up with anything at your current budget. Maybe the other guys will have more luck.

If there's nothing wrong with your current amp, why dun you use 1st and save up more $. If you backside itchy to buy something, your choice of HU might need some attention.

BTW, Zenn is selling the same Alpine amp for rm600 new.
TSalieamin
post May 12 2012, 09:28 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 11 2012, 08:14 PM)
Between the 2 I'd go with the Naka. Although actually both amps are underpowered for your sub. Looked around for some more options but din come up with anything at your current budget. Maybe the other guys will have more luck.

If there's nothing wrong with your current amp, why dun you use 1st and save up more $. If you backside itchy to buy something, your choice of HU might need some attention.

BTW, Zenn is selling the same Alpine amp for rm600 new.
thanks for ur reply, those 2 amps cant fully power up my current sub? shocking.gif u mean i need a mono? im avoiding mono actually sweat.gif

so u are saying my current HU need to be replace? im looking for 2-din HU lastime, came accross alpine double din,forgot the model,but i was quoted at rm2.5k that is over my budget, rather buying alpine HU lastime i split into 2,i get kenwood HU + type r comp.

zenn? thanks for ur tip biggrin.gif
krayden
post May 12 2012, 01:26 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ May 12 2012, 09:28 AM)
thanks for ur reply, those 2 amps cant fully power up my current sub? shocking.gif  u mean i need a mono? im avoiding mono actually sweat.gif

so u are saying my current HU need to be replace? im looking for 2-din HU lastime, came accross alpine double din,forgot the model,but i was quoted at rm2.5k that is over my budget, rather buying alpine HU lastime i split into 2,i get kenwood HU + type r comp.
zenn? thanks for ur tip biggrin.gif
The 2 amps give 180 and 200w (if i remember correctly) and your sub needs 250w. Which means ideal is a 300w amp. So yeah, the 2 amps are underpowered. you'll have bass, just not the best bass that the sub can give you. Will be more sluggish.

I reckon a HU change will improve your SQ more than an amp change, unless your present amp is a really really low end chicken.
Can get a P80RSii for around 1k used.

If you can explain exactly what kinda sound is missing from your system, will be easier to help you. eg. not enuf bass, fronts not clear enuf, everything not smooth or slow or no kick.
TSalieamin
post May 12 2012, 04:03 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 12 2012, 01:26 PM)
The 2 amps give 180 and 200w (if i remember correctly) and your sub needs 250w. Which means ideal is a 300w amp. So yeah, the 2 amps are underpowered. you'll have bass, just not the best bass that the sub can give you. Will be more sluggish.

I reckon a HU change will improve your SQ more than an amp change, unless your present amp is a really really low end chicken.
Can get a P80RSii for around 1k used.

If you can explain exactly what kinda sound is missing from your system, will be easier to help you. eg. not enuf bass, fronts not clear enuf, everything not smooth or slow or no kick.
Thanks again for ur input notworthy.gif

ok,from my system,in my view, my amp is not in right place, Trans 454 4 chn. I mean to power up such sub+comp.

for the bass,yes i can feel slightly higher/better than previous sub which is trans 12".

by changing the amp, i was hoping that i can get better boom2 pow+(bass) and my front comp would produce better sound.

terrencekiah
post May 12 2012, 06:48 PM

HM...ACTUALLY IT IS BETTER TO USE 2 AMP ACCORDINGLY YOUR CASE
SO.....I THINK THE BEST SOLUTION IS YOU USE THE ALPINE AMP TO KICK IN THE FRONT AND REAR COMPONENT...THEN YOUR ORDINARY AMP JUST SUPPORT YOU WOOFER....I THINK IT IS ENOUGH POWER TO DO SO...
ckmoy007
post May 13 2012, 05:43 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

i second krayden's opinion... consider hu change. rubbish in rubbish out.
TSalieamin
post May 15 2012, 12:28 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(terrencekiah @ May 12 2012, 06:48 PM)
HM...ACTUALLY IT IS BETTER TO USE 2 AMP ACCORDINGLY YOUR CASE
SO.....I THINK THE BEST SOLUTION IS YOU USE THE ALPINE AMP TO KICK IN THE FRONT AND REAR COMPONENT...THEN YOUR ORDINARY AMP JUST SUPPORT YOU WOOFER....I THINK IT IS ENOUGH POWER TO DO SO...
2 amp setup? hmm.gif u knw how small myvi is? 1 amp and woofer already sacrifice too much space. sad.gif

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 13 2012, 05:43 PM)
i second krayden's opinion... consider hu change. rubbish in rubbish out.
kenwood 4038 consider as rubbish? hmm.gif
krayden
post May 15 2012, 06:53 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ May 15 2012, 12:28 PM)
2 amp setup? hmm.gif u knw how small myvi is? 1 amp and woofer already sacrifice too much space. sad.gif
kenwood 4038 consider as rubbish? hmm.gif
I drive a swift. I have:
1 4ch amp
1 monoblock
1 EQ
1 Xover
2 1F capacitor
10" sub
1 pair of custom passives in 2 boxes
A lot of other small stuff

Trust me, you can fit it in and still have 75% of your boot space. The mono can put underseat what.

The rubbish in rubbish out term is just general. Your Kenwood is not really that bad. Dun change also nvm. Just that a jump to a P80 for instance will result in very significant SQ gains. More than an amp change, I feel.

0.0185sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:48 AM