Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V33, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

freddy manson
post May 12 2012, 10:39 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(akcatzstudio @ May 12 2012, 09:47 AM)
Dude i already rooted then the yellow triangle means what?

Oh and before this ive installed superatmos kernel but theres some prob like purchasing apps from google play.

Oh and dude i did like you said, vol up+home+power then go to restore from sd>superom

Thats how i did it.
dude the triangle one shows that u'd have custom ROM in ur OS
dont worry dude the yellow triangle doesnt effects anything
but dude, when u send ur phone to samsung dude, they'll know u're using custom rom dude
it kindda ruins the warranty dude
freddy manson
post May 14 2012, 08:00 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(roimekoi @ May 14 2012, 07:53 PM)
what is the expected price drop when s3 launch?
not much i guess (:

cause phone's still hot..
even the Galaxy Nexus price's drop faster than SII
freddy manson
post May 15 2012, 08:16 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ May 15 2012, 05:58 PM)
Yeah I read about Swift Key X too.

I found a website that lists all the best ones for each style; T9, Swype etc.

Added on May 15, 2012, 6:12 pmDoes Google Map use up a lot of data?

Sometimes I really need to use the Google Map Direction.

How come the google map in browser is not so polished like the one in our computer browser?
i suggest Sygic.. malaysian turn-by-turn voice navigation,
and it's offline..
u just need to turn ur GPS, and turn the Data off can use also..
paid a little but very good..
sweat.gif version latest is 11.2.6 but a lot of cracked 11.2.5 out there; use with care lah.. whistling.gif
support the developer lah..

QUOTE(barca96 @ May 15 2012, 06:17 PM)
Is Waze better than the Google Map Direction in the browser?

What do you mean that the Google Navigation doesn't support Malaysia yet unless the phone is rooted?
If I root my phone, I can use it?

Is the Google Navigation similar to Google Direction?
google nav doesnt need any root..
freddy manson
post May 15 2012, 08:20 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Singapore punya is I9100DXLP9 (4.0.3)
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1631641

modem only can get:
[FW] GT-I9100 Region:XSP (Singapore), V:I9100DXLP9 (4.0.3)
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1631660
The firmware: http://samsung-updates.com/get/959/Samsung...roid_4_0_3.html
just the modem: http://samsung-updates.com/modem/Samsung-U...DXLP9_Modem.zip

im downloading and trying tonight, see if its good enuff~

This post has been edited by freddy manson: May 15 2012, 08:21 PM
freddy manson
post May 15 2012, 11:22 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(AzureOfSky @ May 15 2012, 10:27 PM)
Flashing this firmware to upgrade to ICS wont wipe my hp right? Please correct me if im wrong,but all i need to do is download at 1st link, and just flash it using odin?
its stated that it's a non wipe, but most likely its a wipe version..
just backup your data, backup ur apps.. and contacts/sms/logs also..

QUOTE(mtxx @ May 15 2012, 11:05 PM)
issit? yaya, the LPQ i download is from intratech

is non wipe.
i thought all official firmware is non wipe. cos i read in jayce ooi blog say that is official firmware, which is non wipe.

thanks antoo for clearing the air.
luckily i din download from sam firmware
some sammy firmware are non wipe but its rarely happens icon_rolleyes.gif
freddy manson
post May 15 2012, 11:24 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ May 15 2012, 11:21 PM)
Guys, after upgraded to ICS 4.0.3, the official rom for MY.

KIES don't seem to able to communicate with my device, I can't restore back all my contacts, sms, memos, calender and call log. I can sure that KIES and my SGS2 is connected or not...

Plus the Basic Information page on KIES doesn't show the firmware I'm using now too.

Anything wrong with it? Can someone please guide me from here as I have importants sms and call logs which I cannot afford to lose...

Very much appreciated....
Kies doesnt detect, or what?
any screenshot?

do u upgrade the firmware via Kies, or Odin?
freddy manson
post May 17 2012, 09:53 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ May 17 2012, 09:24 PM)
Does anyone manage to download ownwhere maps 6.5.1 or latest?
Can share it here?

Poor Stian Pedersen

Added on May 17, 2012, 9:25 pmIs Speedmod Kernel doing great with ICS ROM?
I dont use Googlemaps nowadays..

Im hooked to Sygic (Aura)..
Cheap GPS, offline maps, turn-by-turn navigation..
The downside is lack of updates..
here in JB good but when going back to Sabah wont have much options..

Wonder if anyone else have a good offline, gps nav software for android?
freddy manson
post May 17 2012, 11:45 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ May 17 2012, 11:42 PM)
I saw the link. But the files alredy been removed.
That's why I'm asking ppl to share lah.
Then u have to learn using google, yahoo, bing, ir whatever search engine dat u like.. then..

(:

This post has been edited by freddy manson: May 17 2012, 11:47 PM
freddy manson
post May 18 2012, 08:30 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 18 2012, 05:11 PM)
nod.gif
oh? so wifi hotspot works with network off kah? nice  nod.gif  so now if small stuffs can use bluetooth, big stuffs can just use wifi  brows.gif
Yes AirDroid is such a beauty..
I use it whenever i wana extract an apps..
Just go to the Apps screen and i can get the apk file..
Life is so much easier now (:
freddy manson
post May 18 2012, 08:53 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 18 2012, 08:43 PM)
ah crap jkay gonna charge $2.49 for the deluxe settings apk doh.gif
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ May 18 2012, 08:51 PM)
doh.gif that means cant advertise on xda anymore
Adoi.. terbantutlah pembikinan CheckROM ni kan?
just hope that the CheckROM team wont be discourage by this
freddy manson
post May 19 2012, 12:39 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 18 2012, 11:59 PM)
Dafuq. The-person-who-should-not-be-named is back ???
Yup, that stupid-ass-whothoughtheis-asmartone-is-back, better get ready guys. Nullify ur screens hahaha
freddy manson
post May 19 2012, 11:42 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ May 19 2012, 10:58 AM)
u dont need data roaming for google maps to work. Just use cache option in google maps, and select the area you plan to visit in singapore before u depart (using wifi of course), and it will be stored in your phone's memory.
bear in mind tho, cache will be deleted after 30days..

(:

Sygic is the best for JB, Penang, KL, Singapore area..
sad that they doesnt implement MFM (malfreemaps) instead they use Tomtom, which rarely get updates
freddy manson
post May 19 2012, 11:03 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 19 2012, 10:35 PM)
fantastic news rclxms.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 10:38 pms3 wallpaper/live wallpapers
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1662014
wow that was quick! thumbup.gif

bigger ROM file size aye?
have to slow down on the upgrading i guess (if i own s3 lah)
around 800mb++ then sure files are big, and hopefully things runs faster

This post has been edited by freddy manson: May 19 2012, 11:10 PM
freddy manson
post May 21 2012, 09:35 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ May 21 2012, 09:11 AM)
Hey guys, would doing this procedure wipe the data in my sd card? I.e: pictures or docs

Going to cwm>mounts & storage>format system

In other words, lets say i feel like something is wrong with the rom that i'm currently using, is it fair enough to say that i should just wipe my cache, dalvik, and then go to the above procedure to format system to reinstall back a rom? im just wondering also about it wiping my sd card files cause me back up is in the sd card instead of an external sd card.
Nope..
It'll just wipe the /System/ folder

While ur docs are in /mnt/sdcard/
This folder wont be wiped unless u choose Wipe Drive (:

usually what i do is,
- Wipe System
- Wipe Data
- Wipe Cache
- Wipe Dalvik Cache
freddy manson
post May 21 2012, 01:32 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ May 21 2012, 12:35 PM)
THanks bro for your explanation. I think I get the idea now..

So, my situation is I'm on Wanamlite 11.5 now... very happy with this shy of some buggy things which is related to me not formatting the system cause what I did when I moved on to Wanam11.5 from CRRv6 was,

- Wipe Data/Factory Reset
- Wipe Cache
- Wipe Dalvik
- Install Wanamlite11.5 from internal SD card.

So, I'm afraid that (stupidly careless) misstep of NOT formatting system could be the cause of some minor bugs here and there. So, let's say I wanna install Wanamlite 11.5 again without having to set up everything again and install all the apps again is:

- Wipe System
- Wipe Cache
- Wipe Dalvik
- Install Wanamlite 11.5 from internal SD card.

Or should i do the factory reset again? I actually don't mind doing it... but if skipping this step would save me time from setting everything up again of course would be much welcomed... should I still wipe data/factory reset?
You should do a proper 'wipe' before installing a full-wipe ROM..

Go to clockwork mode recovery. Volume up, power button, and home button all pressed together for a couple of seconds

Go to mounts and storage and select it.

Go to format / system and select it. Scroll down to format system and select yes.

Go to format / data and select it Scroll down to format data and select yes.

Go to format / cache and select it. Scroll down to format cache and select yes.

That's it no need to format or wipe anything else, when you install the rom it will clear the dalvik, cache, and batt stats, just go back and install the rom from the internal or external sd card.
freddy manson
post May 21 2012, 09:54 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ May 21 2012, 09:39 PM)
Why are they keeping the ICS rom? Really don't understand. Any one working in Samseng?
They're probably still working on it..
since its a different proc, so i guess they'll have to build it from scratch..
ICS's not that much if a different also..
(:
freddy manson
post May 30 2012, 07:15 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(ks1230 @ May 30 2012, 06:16 PM)
Thanks for the fast reply..i tried that combination alot of times but it doesnt work..  blink.gif
yup. hold it for about 3 seconds bro.. sure can..
except u have other Custom ROM that uses other key bindings lah~

QUOTE(sleepwalker_00 @ May 30 2012, 07:06 PM)
just upgraded to ICS, but I can't do print screen anymore, I press power and home button together, but not working, also I noticed that my phone can't connect to PC kies after upgrade is done.

Please help.
power + volume down.. hold it for about 2-3 seconds.. take time to master the timing tho~

icon_rolleyes.gif
freddy manson
post May 30 2012, 11:06 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ May 30 2012, 11:03 PM)
how to root 9100G ICS ? please help.
---
CODE
iOS Device:iPhone4 32GB@IOS5.1.1 ,New iPad 64GB+4G@IOS5.1.1
Android Device :Samsung Galaxy Note 16GB@ICS4.0.3 , Galaxy Tab 7.7 16GB+3G@HC3.2 ,Samsung Galaxy SIII <--Soon

wah u using Note so i dunno how to root..
for S2, i think not yet lah.. find a stable ROM, dats better~
freddy manson
post May 30 2012, 11:08 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(ichigo79 @ May 30 2012, 11:05 PM)
How come My phone number status appear 'unknown'?. Update ICS at SC, non G but everything OK
oh no, efs is gone..
u try *06# to look at ur IMEI?
freddy manson
post May 30 2012, 11:14 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(GUESS @ May 30 2012, 11:12 PM)
is nokia data cable compatible on this device?
if its the micro-usb on one end and USB on one end then its useable i think..
i used Blackberry and HTC's micro-USB cable still can use..
as long as it fits in~ brows.gif

0.0531sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:09 AM