Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V33, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

barca96
post May 13 2012, 01:06 PM

980 posts

Im so pissed of with the keyboard.
Using Swype is better but I hate using the keyboard in a browser (Dolphin HD).
When I want to type, it becomes very jumpy.
So I want to install an aftermarket keyboard app.
Another reason is because I type a similar type message to around 30 people a day.
So I want to get a good t9 app.

QUestion is, after I install an aftermarket app, can I still change back to the stock keyboard?
barca96
post May 15 2012, 05:27 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ May 13 2012, 01:50 PM)
yes why not?
just change it in the setting
barca96
post May 15 2012, 05:58 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Flamix @ May 13 2012, 02:19 PM)
There are so many type of keyboard that suit different person, such as for me i'm using swift key X..
And yeah is the NO.1 for me..  tongue.gif

Try it out, and see whether you'll like it?
Yeah I read about Swift Key X too.

I found a website that lists all the best ones for each style; T9, Swype etc.

Added on May 15, 2012, 6:12 pmDoes Google Map use up a lot of data?

Sometimes I really need to use the Google Map Direction.

How come the google map in browser is not so polished like the one in our computer browser?

This post has been edited by barca96: May 15 2012, 06:12 PM
barca96
post May 15 2012, 06:17 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Flamix @ May 15 2012, 06:15 PM)
Not that sure, i'm currently using either waze (FREE) or sygic (PAID)
As google navigation doesn't support Malaysia yet, unless the phone is rooted.

Added on May 15, 2012, 6:15 pm

Welcome to the ICS family  nod.gif
Is Waze better than the Google Map Direction in the browser?

What do you mean that the Google Navigation doesn't support Malaysia yet unless the phone is rooted?
If I root my phone, I can use it?

Is the Google Navigation similar to Google Direction?
barca96
post May 16 2012, 12:24 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 15 2012, 08:16 PM)
i suggest Sygic.. malaysian turn-by-turn voice navigation,
and it's offline..
u just need to turn ur GPS, and turn the Data off can use also..
paid a little but very good..
sweat.gif version latest is 11.2.6 but a lot of cracked 11.2.5 out there; use with care lah..  whistling.gif
support the developer lah..
google nav doesnt need any root..
Thanks a lot!

Added on May 16, 2012, 12:28 am
QUOTE(Flamix @ May 15 2012, 06:25 PM)
Well when you open google navigation an error would pop up, saying that it doesn't support in Malaysia yet..

Yeah, replacing the map.. You can check out the tutorial at XDA.
Plus if i root the phone, it may affect the warranty.. So not planning to do so till i get my second android phone coming up in the future.

Waze is quite ok to me, as it would detect the best route, and jam location in Malaysia when others share it.
and place you wanna search would actually integrate not only by waze or google, but also foursquare. So you can detect most places using it  smile.gif

Overall for free navigation in Malaysia, i'll say waze is the best..

Check out here
Thanks!

Im impressed by Waze.

This post has been edited by barca96: May 16 2012, 12:28 AM
barca96
post May 16 2012, 08:35 PM

980 posts

Guys,

Im going to go buy memory card.
i heard that we have to format it first?

How do I do it?
And when I insert the new memory card in my phone, will it wipe off all my data or photos?

barca96
post May 16 2012, 08:48 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 16 2012, 08:46 PM)

buy 32gb no need, buy 64gb need. can format using laptop/computer if you have card reader, make sure to ask for the sd adapter for the microsd. format to fat32

no will not wipe any shit u have
So I have to buy a card reader or an adapter?

Will it be cheaper to buy at KLIA or HK airport?
Flying tomorrow morning.

Added on May 16, 2012, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 16 2012, 08:46 PM)
I don't think so, bought a 32gb class 10 recently and just use it straight away.
How much did you get yours?

This post has been edited by barca96: May 16 2012, 08:49 PM
barca96
post May 16 2012, 08:53 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ May 16 2012, 08:49 PM)
Just format using your phone. Nothing to do with data inside your internal storage.
How to format using the phone?

Will it be cheaper to buy at KLIA or HK airport?
Flying tomorrow morning.
barca96
post May 20 2012, 09:36 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ May 17 2012, 08:58 AM)
If you go for kingston microsd card, it comes with sdcard adapter to plug into pc. Its advisable to format, start clean to prevent any issues smile.gif

But I heard Sandisk is better so I will go with Sandisk.

I just came back from Hong Kong.
Obviously I wanted to take a lot of photos but most of the times,
the camera will only open at my 2nd try.
The first try will result in nothing.
It will just give me a blank black screen and then it will go back to home screen.

What is the problem?

This post has been edited by barca96: May 20 2012, 09:38 PM
barca96
post May 21 2012, 08:15 PM

980 posts

I just came back from Hong Kong.
Obviously I wanted to take a lot of photos but most of the times,
the camera will only open at my 2nd try.
The first try will result in nothing.
It will just give me a blank black screen and then it will go back to home screen.

What is the problem?
Any solution to it?
barca96
post May 21 2012, 09:43 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ian913 @ May 21 2012, 09:00 PM)
i used to have this problem after i flash to omega ICS rom
but after a few open and closing the camera app it seem to be normal
what i feel is the camera has longer shutter lag and take longer time to load and save
not sure other ICS user share the same experience as me or not
not sure it is rom related or is part of the ICS 'feature'

But I am using an original version.
I didn't modify my phone.
barca96
post May 30 2012, 01:14 AM

980 posts

Check out these offers on GroupOn for portable battery chargers.

Vivis 4500mAh Portable Battery Charger for RM100

&

12,000mAh Portable Battery Charger for RM150

Which one is more worth it?
Or better buy another brand?

How can we tell how much extra % the said charger can give based on the mAh #?

barca96
post May 30 2012, 02:47 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ May 30 2012, 06:27 AM)

Get the 12000 mah la... I think most of the user here using yoobao powerbank. But I think any brand also same and since it also offer 1 year warranty.
Thanks for your input.

But I was wondering, why not just buy an extra battery instead of a portable charger?

I am always on the go, so it is not convenient to charge it at all.

0.0187sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:35 AM