Streamyx StreamyX Wireless ?, Anyone using it ?

TSIntegraTypeR
post Dec 28 2005, 06:11 PM, updated 20y ago

Guitar alien
736 posts

I just shifted to Kota Damansara Sekysen 9.
I have to cancel my previous StreamyX 1mBit connection because the technicians at TMPoint said that Seksyen 9 doesn't have any ports. I checked through Jaring Broadband website, no luck too for my area.

One day, i stumbled across a StreamyX promotion nearby my area. I asked one of the person there once more whether there are any ports available for Seksyen 9. Same answer but she kindly added that i could opt and try the new Wireless StreamyX. However it wasn't for certain that i can use that service as it depends on my signal that i can receive from my area.

So here i am using my *stone age* 56k modem, wondering whether anyone else is using the Wireless StreamyX ? I am hoping to get some feedbacks on this service since its a trial product for TMNet. The promoter said its RM99 for a 512kBit wireless service. Hopefully the speed isn't too bad as said for Jaring Wireless and GoLightSpeed wireless.

This Thread Belongs in "Getting Broadband"

This post has been edited by prasys: Dec 28 2005, 07:15 PM
prasys
post Dec 28 2005, 07:18 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I heard the service suffers from a lot of downtimes (i.e - 2-3 days of downtimes , then it will be up and running). But I think speed wise , its okay. From what I heard , it seems to be fine. There are some lag spikes here and there. I also heard that sometimes you could get up to 2Mbps (not sure).
TSIntegraTypeR
post Dec 29 2005, 12:18 AM

Guitar alien
736 posts

Ahhh....sorry that i posted in the wrong section.

I am wondering whether there are any port blocking for StreamyX Wireless since i heard about Jaring Wireless.

Most of the time, my connection will be for severe P2Ping and some online RPGs. Hopefully the connection is good enough to go 24/7 without disconnections.

Ahhh wait, provided that the technician confirms that my house is receiving good signal for the service. *down on the knees and praying*

--> 56k modem connected at 28.8k speed <--
::cries out for broadband::
OKLY
post Dec 29 2005, 12:28 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Don't expect much from this service. This is all I can tell you.
Crazymalaysian
post Dec 29 2005, 02:14 AM

107 posts

Actually for the most part i'm happy with streamyx wireless here. Bar the downtime, which happens once in a while, and it's very frustrating. However, making friends with the subcontractors works in your favor, and they're very helpful and quick to rectify the problem.

Pings arent that bad (i'm in clear line of sight to the tower about 500 meters away), pings to local servers are well below 100. Rain affects it somewhat, i notice lag whenever it rains. Direct downloads with a download accelerator hover around 250-350KB/s with a fast server, which is very useful. Bittorent downloads are sometimes a bit slow, around 50KB/s, but sometimes fast, 100KB/s and beyond. All other forms of P2P arent blocked too.

Actually wired streamyx is offered in my area, but i'll be getting slower speeds with it over bittorent and direct downloads. So for the time being, i'll stick with wireless streamyx tongue.gif

LickGuy
post Dec 29 2005, 12:51 PM

Highly Flammable Material
1,520 posts

any info on the streamyx wireless service ?
i couldn't found any info on tmnut's site wor
prasys
post Dec 29 2005, 01:01 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Ask any dealer (Streamyx agent) or call 1300889515 , and press option no 4 for other services and ask them if they cover your area or not or you could ask an agent
LickGuy
post Dec 29 2005, 01:04 PM

1,520 posts

requirement ? price/package ?
feel like wanna know more before signing up leh smile.gif
prasys
post Dec 29 2005, 01:09 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

As the poster said its RM 99 for 512Kbps/128Kbps* (some claim its 256Kbps..I am not sure)..There is only 1 package

So where is your locationn .I know StreamyX Wireless now covers Sri Rampai , etc
Crazymalaysian
post Dec 29 2005, 10:29 PM

107 posts

Basically you pay rm99 a month, and they install this directional antenna on your roof which points to the base station.

They claim 512/256, but i know for sure you'll get speeds much faster than that. My bittorent uploads usually hover at 100KB/s, when there are few seeds and many leechers and im seeding.
Darkmage12
post Dec 30 2005, 01:21 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

what about your download speed
LickGuy
post Dec 30 2005, 06:11 PM

1,520 posts

crazymalaysian:
where's your location then ?
sounds not so bad after all

but how come some claim > advertised speed
some claims < advertised speed ?

btw, does it bind to some sorta contact like 12 months or smth ?
mind to give more info ?
sorry if cause any inconvenient ...but i'd like to gather more info before i sign up

This post has been edited by LickGuy: Dec 30 2005, 06:44 PM
prasys
post Dec 30 2005, 07:23 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Its just like regular streamyx. Yes , got 12 months contract

First the installers would come (you need to pay the fees for it , RM 88. You dont have a choice). Then you could test the speed (this is the time , go ahead and do speedtests , download a huge file. If you're not happy with it , you can ask them to pack their bags and go home. But if you like it , then "welcome to the world of streamyx"....

It depends , up to you
LickGuy
post Dec 30 2005, 07:48 PM

1,520 posts

antenna ?
need modem anot ?
come in a package or need to buy it seperately ?
haih
how come they don't provide any info on their site la

ps:
damn tis tmnet .... capped my office streamyx wrongly ... 1m/384 capped to 512/256k ..
escalate to boss lar ... let them deal with it .... rm418/month get 512k ... blah
prasys
post Dec 30 2005, 07:51 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Its because this service is new and they are testing it....

It comes with modem , and they install antenna..everything it comes with it..Just like Streamyx with Modem package....Everything is there
Crazymalaysian
post Dec 31 2005, 01:53 PM

107 posts

They install this directional antenna on your roof, yeah you got to pay installation fee and all, which adds up to quite alot. I think the first month bill was near 300 bucks, with two months payment.

I'm in section 13 shah alam, kgsaas, previously no port for streamyx wired, so they suggested wireless. Other option around here was jaring wireless, but i think this is better. Lower pings, and can bittorent tons.

I've got no clue why they quote 512/256, when i get speeds much faster than that. Like i said, when using a download accelerator and downloading from a direct download, i get well over 200KB/s. With bittorent it varies, sometimes insanely fast (like this http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v451/Cra...streamyxbt.jpg), and sometimes it just hovers around 40 or 50KB/s. Uploads are fast (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v451/Crazymalaysian/uploadfast.jpg), way faster than whatever it is they quote.

The only explanation ive got is that they havent capped each SM (subscriber module, the antenna) properly. I checked the SM configuration page and it's limited at 10Mb/s both ways, up and down. Haha.

Yes they're idiots, they dont update their website to include info on streamyx wireless. Even worse, their tech support personnel sometimes dont have a clue what is it. That just pisses me off, and i asked to speak to their supervisor.

Here's a pic of the SM on my roof:

This post has been edited by Crazymalaysian: Dec 31 2005, 02:01 PM
Darkmage12
post Dec 31 2005, 10:38 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

wow your speed so cool .... streamyx wireless every part of malaysia also can use?
Crazymalaysian
post Jan 1 2006, 08:29 AM

107 posts

Nah, only a few areas, mostly around the klang valley i think. Places where you cant get streamyx wired.
freako
post Jan 1 2006, 09:17 AM

885 posts

hey hey.. 1 more good thing about it...
its static ip for maybe a month or 2...

and the ping times are not bad.. for wireless connection.. max maybe 70-80ms.. for local servers..
they are using motorola canopy 5.7Ghz in sek. 13 shah alam. area.. dunno other places wud they using..

i would say they imporved alot on this... i used this service a few years back when they were using some crappy technology... its downtime is GREAT.. soo much that it can be down for 3-4 days... till it up again.. thats if u CALL them repeatedly..

This post has been edited by freako: Jan 1 2006, 09:18 AM
Crazymalaysian
post Jan 1 2006, 06:15 PM

107 posts

Eh no la, pings to local servers are much faster than that. Like right now, even with the heavy rain, my ping to flying spaghetti monster.org is only 37ms. I dont think rain affects it, because i get the same ping when it isnt raining.

0.0192sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:57 PM