►+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XXX9-+♠+◄, Persona: The Definition of Handling

Cavino
post May 9 2012, 11:35 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(zapdos9 @ May 8 2012, 10:50 PM)
Wait longer 1st brows.gif
Try install navigation then see whistling.gif
At 1st if your feet is big + shoe sometimes will hit it la but when got used to it then u won't accidentally kick it anymore
Ya...Locktech user here. Got it in ALL my cars. Size 10 or 11 feet. It will occassional hit the top big toes especially if big feet with high toe shoes. Flat toes shoes or sandals, no issue. Thats why I'm wearing a Power Sport Shoe, RM70+ when driving at all times instead of my RM300-RM400 leather shoes. Initially like ZapDos mentioned, will hit, very uncomfortable but after a while, you stop noticing it, and then you will stop hitting it altogether. If small foot, no issue at, my wife or my mom never hit it. Rarely hitting it now, but practically have no issue with it.
Cavino
post May 9 2012, 11:43 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ May 9 2012, 11:32 AM)
what kind of action?
ps: what if i have to compete with a few other guys?  how can i get an egde on the competition?
No casanova here, but be a gentleman, chat here and there but no touching, no special attention (like being sticky to a girl, no girls like a man sticking to her like a glue), just act friendly but not intrusive, no prying into private matters unless you know her well.

Be attentive (ie, helping carrying things, drinks, being helpful but never look overly eager, expressing interest but never desperately interested and NO stalking). Stalking will ALWAYS scare away any potential.....victims.

You can joke but never ever assume you can go vulgar with her unless you know her very well and she knows you mean no harm, only joking. If unsure, play gentlemen, give advice but never looks like your teaching her...just suggestion to help out. Always acts like trying to help BUT hinting NOT EXPECTING any favor returned.....in another word, no ulterior motives when you're with her (somehow let her know that)...gentlemen ALWAYS attracts....boring does not tho....a fine line there.
Cavino
post May 9 2012, 12:00 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ May 9 2012, 11:54 AM)
good advice..we really need this kind of advice.
Err...I also no good at that but THATS how I notice my friend doing it....and HE IS VERY POPULAR with girls...and best of all, he's a horseface, not handsome at all but joke a lot, friendly but extremely attentive and observant towards everyone especially girl and never touch or even try to touch them in anyway...believes me, the girls always comes back for more. And be generous when going out, don't kedekut but always knows your limit tho...girls likes generous men but no over spenders that can go broke anytime...
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 10:26 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ May 9 2012, 05:06 PM)
I test drive preve total 3 times oledi.conclusion is,u feel d pick up from 10 to 120 is awesome.but after 120 wat i feel it juz slightly better pe.i hit 185 at highway wit 4 adult in car..oledi full throttle wit s mode.wat i feel is it oledi susah wan to climb up.but d wind and road noise is much better than pe.
I tot someone say Preve below 2K rpm cannot move much??? That means pickup should only come after nearing mid range speed ie. 70-80 km/h onwards. Is that true? If it is, then in jam prone city road, preve mati liao, FC gonna go sky high, either that or let everyone jump queue in front of preve....
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 10:56 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(shelby_yong @ May 10 2012, 10:38 AM)
but ah..
when preve in S mode...
hehe...
hard to cut queue..
the car come alive...instance add 1k rpm when in sport mode
Thats why I say, if we try normal drive in FC concious way, everyone will jump queue in front of Preve. If in S mode, add 1K rpm, what happen to the FC....

In the world where everyday drivers are generally going for FC concious type of cars ie hybrid, city, vios all going towards green driving....what is Preve...add power, FC how ar...

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 10 2012, 10:57 AM
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 11:10 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ May 10 2012, 11:01 AM)
Yup,below 2k is sluggish.tats why need use s mode and press hard to hit 2k rpm above..and d paddle shift for me is useless.wil auto upshift once hit 5.5k rpm.inspira more better
That means the CFE still has the critical weakness of earlier Campro engine, lack of low end torque no matter how much they improve on mid-end to high end. Its mid-end was already improve via IAFM before CFE comes in. CFE improves it way stronger BUT it did not address its critical low end traffic jam retarded weakness that that has proven to be a bane for everyday driver that try to save FC, seeing that the fuel ceiling price will not stay there forever. Global market are moving towards FC concious trend and yet the GLOBAL car proton make still does not address what the global market demand.

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 10 2012, 11:11 AM
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 11:19 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 10 2012, 11:15 AM)
That's not true, considering the Exora Bold CFE does not exhibit this behaviour at the low ends.

Some Preve owners have reported much improvement on the low end RPM after the SC tinkered with their ECU, so the consensus right now is that it is because the ECU was tuned this way initially, for what reason, only Proton and god knows.
Like that as usual, wait for mid-life FL where most faults should be corrected and improve if ever think of replacing PE.

Haiz, my City reaching 7th year next year, in prime condition now with smooth silent engine and no fault with CVT. However its better to sell while its still going strong with higher value rather than later. Wonder what car to get at sub or 100K range? Insight, maybe?

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 10 2012, 11:21 AM
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 01:25 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ May 10 2012, 12:54 PM)
need to apply annual leave for that bro. they dont do warranty services on saturday. so that's why im trying to opt for options, and seems like the only option is outside workshoplah. and i still think if i go to the sc to rectify the a/c problems, they will still charge me..
10K servicing does not touch air cond. So you should claim under warranty. If there is not enuf gas, at least they will check for leaks. At most you have to pay for the gas.

Personally, I would suggest dropping by outside aircond serciving shop, ask them to check if your air cond enuf gas or not. If not enuf, just pay to refill, cheap cheap only RM15 to RM30. If suspected leak, either pay a minimal amt (ask first) to check. If no leak, ok, if got leak, then apply leave go SC. Either that, or drive for sometime, if air cond not cold again, go to SC straight coz definitely leaking. Normally gas can last at least a year or 2 or maybe even 3 depending on usage.

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 10 2012, 01:26 PM
Cavino
post May 10 2012, 04:25 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(zapdos9 @ May 10 2012, 04:23 PM)
Sailormoon power. Wear skirt when transform
Dafuq? Wing= fly? Last time got ppl do 911 also
Can ask k.lee to buy laugh.gif
I rike cr-z smile.gif
CR-Z is practically a 2 seater car...only meant really for a car enthusiast, not everyday man...
Cavino
post May 11 2012, 09:24 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ May 11 2012, 09:13 AM)
When can I come over there so u can intro me the girls u know?
I tot his college already shortage of fish....if introduce a sweet talking crocodile in the ponds, ikan bilis also he cannot get....

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 11 2012, 09:26 AM
Cavino
post May 18 2012, 03:55 PM

842 posts

Urmm...unless you're seating far away from the screen, having anything bigger than 21" is going to give you headache. Bigger for me is not necessary better. Of course I personally would hook up a pc with an LCD/LED TV 32" - 42" and use a wireless mouse and keyboard if I want a big screen...
Cavino
post May 21 2012, 08:44 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(abong8 @ May 20 2012, 08:21 AM)
Since u already did the EO change, better change it one more time.. Scared that your engine might got problem in the long run.. Just go to outside workshop and change to a better oil.. Ask them to use back the current oil filer as it is still new.. Or maybe u can buy castrol magnatec from tesco or somewhere else and bring it to any workshop of your choice..
Don't lar scare him till he really tot engine gonna kong out becoz using mineral lube. Using mineral lube WOULD NOT cause any damage to the engine. Just change it at next service interval to semi. What you might felt is decrease in performance, vibration, noise, increased FC, etc. Not as nice, power or any long term damage as long as you change your lube at the next 10K service (5K mileage) or 6 months whichever comes first.

After reading so many complaint, still bear bear install magnacrap.... doh.gif

Somemore kena 1 time Mach 5 liao, somemore this service did not ask for what lube SC use before doing servicing...only COSE garanteed using at least semi for standard service...other SC, have to ask wan...

Added on May 21, 2012, 8:47 am
QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ May 20 2012, 08:34 PM)
Hello guys...

I really have a bad problem here

when i driving the car, suddenly the meter panel shut and darken by itself.. all the electrical system is malfunctioning including radio, signal and lamps..
after shut for a couple of minute, the meter panel come alive but the RPM meter show to 8.. but the engine is normal and still driveable.

i've change the battery 3 times costing me about 500++.. and after nearly a day of changing the last battery the problem rise again.  mad.gif

then i  ask the technician to change the alternator module and it costing me rm800++   mad.gif

the problem still arise..any solution guys?  icon_question.gif
do any of you encounter this problem?  hmm.gif

i really need help here.

here are some pic of the meter panel.
If your car is only 1.5 years and IF STILL within 50K mileage, why spend RM800+ to change alternator....that ITEM is also under warranty. Should have go to COSE and ask check ECU, etc for error codes of something. Also alternator CAN be tested to check for charging problem, technician tak tahu to check kah before changing it...

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 21 2012, 08:49 AM
Cavino
post May 22 2012, 05:49 PM

842 posts

If you look at Persona Maint Schedule, it list 5 bottles of gear oil for each gear oil change. So 5L it should be...

Darn Proton, tot maint will be cheaper than Honda, so goes for Proton instead. Ni a mah....even gear oil change also over 30-40% more expensive than City CVT oil change....

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 22 2012, 05:51 PM
Cavino
post May 22 2012, 06:44 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ May 22 2012, 06:11 PM)
blink.gif nobody says proton maintenance is cheap. By right it's more expensive because it's unreliable, parts need to be replaced more often & they overcharge us on that.
Owned an iswara before and persona is a replacement for my often reliable wira. Wira and iswara parts are cheap and maintenance is quite affordable thus the misleading impression of proton being cheaper to maintain...
Cavino
post May 23 2012, 09:37 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(zapdos9 @ May 23 2012, 12:39 AM)
We got out own oil man in persona thread brows.gif
Mm...someone calling out for me....I can hear it...

cool2.gif

In layman explanation, the difference between general Grade 3 Fully Syn vs the others is FS is using Hydrocracked mineral component. Hydrocracked oil is refined to a stage that its almost comparable to real FS lube albeit minus several true FS inherent property such as natural higher viscosity index and better contaminant containment. However hydrocracked still have way better viscosity index and other properties than semi and mineral. Actually in general thats semi and mineral has more similarity. If you service at every 5K, it is arguably FS, Semi and Mineral generally perform almost the same. In real life tho, a good FS generally provide better anti-vibration, contaminant containment, smoother acceleration, longer lasting viscosity indexer, etc. In terms of engine protection, in our hot and humid weather, actually all good lubes be it FS, Semi and Mineral protect almost the same. In cold country, FS DO MAKE a big difference during startup protection (critical protection) due to its cold weather protection property (going up to -30 degree protection against lube feezing).

Thats one reason I mention even Mach 5 would not damage engine coz its still a good mineral (not fake or recycled), just performance suffers a bit due to extra engine noise, vibration, etc. If change every 5K, I don't see any reason mineral lube cannot be used. My City has used mineral up to 60-70K mileage and when open up engine, its still sparkling clean and all components looks new and THAT is using the original Honda and Idemitsu MINERAL lube. However as engine gets older, it tends to vibrate more, noiser, etc. FS with its better properties fixed that BUT engine protection still performed the same. The key word here is changing lube and filter EVERY 5K without fail. That is actually MORE important than using whatever lube, FS, mineral...in the capacity of engine protection. Performance is another story tho as mentioned in 1st paragraph.

Concept of FS is thicker or thinner than normal mineral and semi is not accurate tho...FS ability of getting thinner to suit high performance engine temperature is what mislead most ppl that FS is actually thinner. Hydrocracked and true FS do lubricate better and smoother and its viscosity changes from very high temperature range to extremely low temperature is the biggest difference here. Becoz FS has better natural viscosity index, it means when addictives that affect viscosity are worn out, it still are able to perform viscosity changes albeit at a much reduced range better than standard mineral and semi.

As for Semi vs Mineral, its still out there with a lot of arguing that it actually does not makes much difference between the 2. Its is given tho that mineral lube have slightly more contaminant than the rest. So semi is slightly cleaner and FS refined lube is the best on this aspect. However at 5K service interval this not as contaminant thingy is irrelevant. Usually the % of synthetic components of a semi is not given, we really does not know how much synthetic is there, maybe 10% or so. FS generally have higher syn components abt 30% but its the hydrocracked based oil that makes the biggest different, soley my opinion only coz we also don't know how much % of syn is there. Lube company keeps MUM...very secretive on that.

So generally I stick either with a very good proven mineral or go straight for FS. Semi IMO, is overated. I maintained semi currently becoz Proton uses it for my free service and parts up to 20K mileage. Probably will retain semi usage due to continuation but will change to either idemitsu or havoline semi next time. FS is too expensive for my 3 months engine lube change.

Oh....true FS like the Amsoil do have the best natural properties but most likely only effective for high performance engine where its properties truly shine. For ours, normal Grade 3+ FS might perform better.

ps. New Havoline with deposit shield just released, saw in Paul Tan site....ha....most prob will try its semi for my 25K change...next week going for 20K last foc service and parts....cialat have to pay over RM150 for extra gear oil changes since it is the only part not included in my FOC thingy.

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 23 2012, 09:54 AM
Cavino
post May 24 2012, 09:21 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ May 24 2012, 12:35 AM)
muslayer.
Cusco is the best so far. Havoline lo. Q8 ok lah. Engine vibration a bit harsher than cusco.
I'm thinking of trying the newly launched upgraded Havoline Semi with Deposit Shield has rated API SN at my 25K lube change outside.

"According to Caltex, Havoline Synthetic Blend SAE 10W-40 goes beyond what is required of API SN and provides 30% more protection from corrosion and 30% better wear protection. The same oil is also 70% better at wear protection in extreme driving conditions, improving oil stability and increasing durability.

The by-products of combustion and breakdown of oil over time can change the oil viscosity, potentially causing poorer fuel economy. Caltex says that Havoline Synthetic Blend SAE 10W-40 is 55% better at retaining viscosity under harsh conditions."

Seems like so impressive on protection addictives. Will try after 3-4 months later.

Added on May 24, 2012, 9:23 am
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ May 24 2012, 04:12 AM)
Black B line.. The chick have really good taste like me..  thumbup.gif
Her BM in workshop so FORCED to use her younger brother's college car.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 24 2012, 09:25 AM
Cavino
post May 24 2012, 10:10 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 24 2012, 09:26 AM)
yawn.gif No money still can go holiday ah?
Cavino, you already checked how much is the Havoline ah?
I tot last time you say RM103 for semi. Did not check since then. Probably with check with Caltex near my house this weekend.
Cavino
post May 24 2012, 10:19 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ May 24 2012, 10:14 AM)
blink.gif I never bought or use Havoline lah.  sweat.gif
Oops..misread you as Xan....I'm sleepy...
Cavino
post May 24 2012, 01:21 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ May 24 2012, 12:23 PM)
She use BMW while her bro use PE? Impossibru.. Unless the brother some bapuk who cares not bout cars.. college kid somemore..
Why not esp if either she go pau by someone or her bf bought it for her......some bf or pau kong don't like their women spending too much for their family...

Oh....our PE got cabin air filter or not. If yes, when to replace har...what abt air-cond service interval?

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 24 2012, 01:21 PM
Cavino
post May 24 2012, 03:11 PM

842 posts

In case of misleading info, this is to clarify the the oil post I did several pages ago on the FS being thinner.

As for FS being thinner, it is actually true in general BUT when they are operating and normal engine temperature, the thickness is actually the same, thus my say so earlier.

Synthetic do have natural protection properties that mineral does not...one is they cling to engine parts better due to their higher film strength. They are naturally thinner but have greater slipperiness YET clinging to parts better. A bit contradicatory to standard thickness cling better to part but in FS, its the reverse and works that way. Of course when start up the naturally thinner and slippery nature WORKS better than mineral in moving up to parts quicker to minimize wear. Thus FS usually mentioned protecting engine better due to minimization of this startup wear that form 85% of engine wear failure.

True FS does not have VI addictives thus in short, viscosity never wear out however do note most of our FS is grade 3+ mineral, not ester or POA, so VI is there just not as much as semi and mineral thus wearing them out still have a bit of buffer protection in allowing viscosity changes.

0.0580sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:23 AM