Hobbies Electronics Enthusiasts Club, All elect/robotics lovers! pls come!

elm383
post Dec 21 2008, 09:54 PM

Hiya,
I've been looking for a community of electronics/robotics enthusiasts in Malaysia for quite some time (other then the ones in the IPTs). Does anyone out there know where, if it exists, can I find these communities. Or is this as close it gets hmm.gif ?
I've been looking forward to continue on building electronic gadgets and robots. Previously, I get do it in the uni. Now, no more sad.gif . It's just no fun if u'r building something on u'r own. Cannot discuss or compare or compete. Really want to find a community that would like to build these things together or compete with each other or go and participate other competitions outside....

Anyone???
elm383
post Jan 14 2009, 04:43 PM

yeah, me 2. where are you from?
i m from robotics background. also looking for ppl can doing this thing together also:)

I'm from PeeJay...
I thought that nobody would reply. I'm from Electronics background but been doin a few robots previously in the Uni. Like automation and control.
Anything up or any project u r thinking of?

elm383
post Feb 19 2009, 10:29 AM

It's quite difficult to obtain items like this in Malaysia. If you want exactly like that, you'll have a hard time. Try looking at Nixie. The outlet is located just in front of Pudu Plaza. The Jalan Landak wan. But still, the robotic kits they have are from cytron oso.
elm383
post Mar 5 2009, 03:29 PM

Have you tried to measure the soil resistance using a multimeter? Just to see if the specimen or the system using resistance works.

Btw, has anyone here tried to make closed loop speed controller from a normal DC motor and self made parts? Meaning that we can run the DC motor at specific speeds even with variable load (within tolerable limit). I've always been fascinated by the Micromouse. But I've always stuct at that part. Never had enough motivation to go around doing that these days.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by elm383: Mar 5 2009, 03:33 PM
elm383
post Oct 27 2009, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Devilhpk @ Oct 27 2009, 11:32 AM)
hi, i'm a mechanical student n doin final year project.
due to the lack of electronic background, my supervisor allow me to ask ppl 2 build or buy the electronic circuit.

my project is an x,y,z axis linear movement pick n place.
i will be using stepper motor n i need a driver to control it.
may i noe izzit jalan pasar got ppl help me build n design circuit board for me?
or other eletronic expert willing to help me?

I've never heard anyone selling a CNC controller being sold at Jln Pasar (Btw, linear movement pick n place should be similar to the CNC system, just different actuator). If there were someone selling, that would be OWESOME drool.gif ...!!!
But there are multiple sites selling CNC controllers. Unfortunately they are not in located in Malaysia. Depending on your budget, I think it might be kinda affordable. MAYBE. I'll reopen my old links and update soon.

[UPDATE]
It seems there are a lot of sites selling DIY CNC machine parts now. Just search for it. Maybe there are someone selling or being the distributor of the controller in Malaysia. Who knows. Btw this is the old link that I was talking about: http://buildyourcnc.com. There was a guy in Malaysia building it and he has a blog up (I think...) but I don't remember and can't find it. Well its up to you though on how you're going to proceed.

This post has been edited by elm383: Oct 27 2009, 12:30 PM
elm383
post Jan 14 2010, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(free666 @ Dec 8 2009, 02:29 PM)
er normal hardware shops got sell the pickit2?

You can try the imitation by cytron. Look up UIC00A. You can buy it retail at Nixie; just off Jalan Pasar at Jalan Landak (right in front of Pudu Plaza).
elm383
post Feb 1 2010, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(ghodul @ Jan 31 2010, 11:42 PM)
... But the problem now is, how to control the fan speed. What component I should use. Someone says that I can use relay to control it, is it true? can you guys give me some example function of relays...

Depends on what fan you have in mind. DC or AC? If it is a DC fan with voltage up to 24V, you can use a BJT or MOSFET transistor. If you are using 240VAC fan, you might try using a TRIAC. Although, using a relay would be a safer bet. But if relay can be used to speed control, you can only do speed increment in steps. Something like the speed buttons on your AC fan. I have not gone into controlling speed using relays before. But since the AC fan uses switches to control the speed, most probably you can reverse engineer how the AC fan does it. Hope this helps a bit.

0.0317sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:17 AM