Interview, What to prepare...

debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 09:19 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Hi, not knowing where to post my question but i think this thread should be the most suitable one.

Let's say, your current pay is RM4K, you're expecting to change a new job and wish to get RM6k. Now you are attending an interview, during the interview, the employer asks you what's your latest pay, would you tell him RM4K? Or you will tell him RM7k as let him deduct RM1k to be RM6k, which is your expected salary.

Kindly share your opinions.
debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 09:55 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Apr 24 2009, 09:34 AM)
2 things likely to happen if u tell them ur current sal is 7K:

1) they nego wif u and u get 6K.

2) they ask u to proof ur salary is 7k.

I leave it to u to think about which is more likely to happen.
But i thought salary slip is P&C, non-employer has no rights to view it?
debbieyss
post Apr 24 2009, 10:09 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Apr 24 2009, 10:00 AM)
Yes, it is P&C for you, and your right to let them know or not.

Many HR will require ur previose payslip to verify ur claims of what you currently earn.

Of course, there are exceptions, especially for high end job where it go by ur track record.

What i try to say is, if they ask and u duwan to show, might affect ur chances.

Added on April 24, 2009, 10:04 amof course the hiring manager is no fool also.
esp if ur ex company is MNC an ur level is executive, i will be somewhat skeptical if u tell me u earns 8K. cos many company have salary banding.
ok get it~ smile.gif
debbieyss
post Oct 7 2009, 12:28 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Oct 6 2009, 09:31 PM)
agree on that..yes we sad about we did not get it..but into some point..think further..see for you mistakes..ask them how do they answer..so u might somehow know what are your mistakes..

btw..got another interview..from O&G company as well..

think of my first interview...just want to know all of your answer..if asked like below:

1-What is your hobby??
--->Do we need to relate it with the job? such as if field engineer need to travel..then we said something like that? or honestly answer? I like to play chess..bla..bla..bla..??

2-If in your team, u find a person that is not trustable.. how are going to manage it?
--->just want to know the best answer from all of you~ happy.gif

Thanks~
Let me have some fun by trying it:

1-What is your hobby??
My line is actually PR/Communications. So i will answer this way:
My hobby is actually socialising, simply because my personalities are outgoing and people oriented and I just feel comfortable and exciting to meet up new people. Therefore, I do actively attend various of events such as seminar talks, exhibitions, having official and unofficial meet up sessions with internal parties such as colleagues from different departments, external parties such as media friends, suppliers, business partners etc, build up good rapport with everyone I newly know or known for long time.

2-If in your team, u find a person that is not trustable.. how are going to manage it?
I will keep this thought to myself and I think it's not the best time to open discussion with my superiors for further action, I will also keep up working relationship with him as usual as I know it's not fair to suspect him without any provens on hand. Secondly, for every and any opportunities that come to me to investigate this person, I will grab it and from there accumulate convincing evidence such as signed documents, emails etc. Once obtained enough evidence, I will only make record to my superiors.

Like this can or not? laugh.gif
debbieyss
post Jul 7 2011, 11:33 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ Jul 7 2011, 11:00 AM)
what are you hiding? your objective is to get a job and secure some income. do what you need to do to reach that objective.

this is not primary school where you play hide and seek.
Did you read august.decision's post before you replied? I find that your statement makes no sense to what he/she is asking. doh.gif
debbieyss
post Jul 7 2011, 06:12 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Jul 7 2011, 05:21 PM)
Y u want to do things the complicated way?

Open ur mouth n ask from ur hr. U said they stopped giving for past 6mth. means previously there were payslips befote.

Else, there are ready made payslip forms in stationary shop that ur boss can fill in with pen, sign n stamp.
Even this is a simple way, providing P&C info such as pay slip is not wise.
debbieyss
post Jul 7 2011, 07:38 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Jul 7 2011, 07:31 PM)
She just wanted the payslip.

P&c or not that depends on the individual. If dun wan give then y bother.
Maybe she really interested in the job but not willing to disclose her payslip. That's why she wonder if there is any other way to negotiate.
debbieyss
post Jul 8 2011, 01:54 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 8 2011, 09:36 AM)
For me this carries more weight than the stupid pay slip. I would sight original to authenticate it. Pay slips can be original but forged.
I got one question:
EA statement or BE form both show our percentage of EPF or income tax charged per month or per year, if interviewer wants, he/she can really go and calculate and can estimate how much is our salary per month also.

So there is no difference if you show your pay slip or not.
debbieyss
post Jul 9 2011, 01:06 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 9 2011, 10:22 AM)
yes...this is what i mean...can show EA or BE form as proof if dont have the payslip....
My question is, my initial intention is not revealing my salary to HR as I don't feel comfortable in doing so, and I take payslip as my P&C document, so isn't showing EA or BE form is just the same as you show monthly salary slip?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jul 11 2011, 09:58 AM
debbieyss
post Jul 14 2011, 04:15 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 14 2011, 03:21 PM)
yes...showing EA or BE form is just the same as you show monthly salary slip...just in case you don't have payslip...the EA or BE form can be used to serve the same purpose....

anyone here know that if 1 day...the company that we went to interview hired us...do they able to check our previous emploment epf contribution?
You sound like you don't mind showing them your paylip or BE form, do you?
debbieyss
post Jul 15 2011, 03:56 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 15 2011, 11:37 AM)
yes...better be honest on the current salary issue...i'm considering the consequences.....if the company that we went to interview hired us...and if they are able to check our previous emploment epf contribution...then v r in big trouble if they find out ur stated salary no match with the info u provided during the interview....

that y need to know...are they able to check our previous emploment epf contribution? need to take into consideration....
I never want to cheat them also, i don't mind they check my EPF but I am just thinking why the HR never pay someone according to his/her ability but according to his/her last drawn salary? That's unfair..
If i tell them my last drawn salary no matter how they will push down my expected salary 'gao gao'....
debbieyss
post Aug 19 2011, 09:36 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 15 2011, 08:44 PM)
1) The Boss Attitude ( I think if the boss always the problem or hostile, no matter what salary u get also no point.)
2) Salary and Benefit
3) Company Reputation
4) Distance
5) Work Place and Environment
6) Opportunity to grow is really depend on the outcome of the Boss, if he is the one taking all the credits, than it's time to go.
If to arrange by priority, mine will go like this:
1) The Boss Attitude ( I think if the boss always the problem or hostile, no matter what salary u get also no point.)
2) Work Place and Environment
3) Salary and Benefit
4) Opportunity to grow is really depend on the outcome of the Boss, if he is the one taking all the credits, than it's time to go.
5) Company Reputation
6) Distance

0.0547sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:12 PM