Interview, What to prepare...
Joey Christensen
Jul 10 2009, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(ntdote @ Jul 9 2009, 07:21 PM) Hey guys i have a question. What is the procedure of confirmation of you as an employee? I am puzzled because yesterday i went for an interview and the manager said that he wanna hire me. He asked me to report to work next 2 weeks but i havent sign or receive offer letter. What should i do now? Procedure of Confirmation. 1. End of probationary period, assessment/appraisal will be given...there yu have it, your confirmation letter. (Basis varies in accordance to...) 2. Once decided, yu may go for the work. Wait, Ask, Wait for the Letter of Appointment. (Basis varies in accordance to...) Regards, Joey p.s: Your question is ambiguous and it doesn't reflect upon your following query.
Joey Christensen
Jul 10 2009, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(ntdote @ Jul 8 2009, 02:09 PM) Hi guys, Nowadays, wearing tie to a interview is optional or it has become a necessity? Depending on what job yu wish to do. Do yu think working as a fishmonger requires a fine formal attire+tie? Yu do the thinking. Regards, Joey Added on July 10, 2009, 10:06 amQUOTE(*devilelle* @ Jul 10 2009, 10:01 AM) then sure he knows im copying from textbook  what if i cant achieve, you i deserve termination from them?? im afraid i've been throw out this question by them  It's not copy and paste, yu nincompoop! If it could not be attained, yu can come up with, contingency plans, diversification of planning, and if yu are in the managerial position, this would be a testing ground for the interviewer to test your capability to act in such situation. Regards, Joey This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jul 10 2009, 10:06 AM
Joey Christensen
Jul 10 2009, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Jul 10 2009, 11:24 AM) i come across an interview which ask me such question and maybe the way i reply not satisfying them ... they said if im that excellent in job, then i might conquer their position in 5 years time, aint that dangerous in hiring me  OMAI~~~I'm speechless and gobsmacked! Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Jul 13 2009, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Jul 10 2009, 11:28 PM) I want to ask...the operation manager is gonna call me this Monday morning for an interview...is it OK for me to ask him whether my chances to get tat job is high???  Yu have quite a stud there. It's your call. Anyway, like "ahjames" have mentioned, they'll most probably won't answer yu in a direct way. As an interviewer, I would say, "yu'll be notified if yu are shortlisted". It's a standard answer actually. Regards, Joey p.s: Sounds a bit like an eager duckling to me. Hmmm...
Joey Christensen
Aug 5 2009, 09:38 AM
OMAI~~~Thanks for sharing some tips. I would agree with the socks rule of thumb.
Same goes to the tie. Wearing tie with cartoon designs is a definite NO. It will kill yu off instantly.
Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Aug 6 2009, 09:32 AM
Teacher interview? What's that? Seeking a teaching profession or being interviewed by a teacher?
Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Aug 6 2009, 12:33 PM
Yes. Definitely. How long is the tenure of your bond?
Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Aug 6 2009, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(red-queen @ Aug 6 2009, 12:44 PM) just a few months left. i don't mind paying off the bond myself as it's not alot. but i was just wondering if Ingram Micro will pay my bond  Yu may ask. Are they urgently to fill in the position? Well, it's your call. Good Luck. Regards, Joey p.s: Worth a buckshot on asking.
Joey Christensen
Aug 7 2009, 09:53 AM
I heard yu are teaching Physics. Anyway, congrats.
Regards, Joey
p.s: Minimise your PS3 gaming sessions. Hahaha~~
Joey Christensen
Jan 5 2010, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 5 2010, 08:59 AM) No idea why you resigned before getting another job and what you've been doing... how to offer advice? It doesn't matter. As a matter of fact, you will want to let the interviewer know that you were busy doing something worthwhile and active, regardless of whether you resigned, or being asked to leave or being terminated, and for whatever reason. What they want is honesty in play here. As long as you come up with some explanations, it will be fine. You can just say you do some book readings, participated in community service, giving free tutor to your sister's in law children, so on and so forth while actively job seeking. Regards, Joey p.s: Just don't give the impression that you've been lazing around like a mutt during the "free days." This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jan 5 2010, 09:47 AM
Joey Christensen
Jan 18 2010, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(booby @ Jan 17 2010, 08:05 AM) is it appropriate for guys to wear earrings to an interview? In my industry, definitely a killer. It's a NO for me. Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Feb 8 2010, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 8 2010, 08:50 AM) No, it's normal. The graduation and course end thingy varies with universities/ colleges. My Uni for example - have people who finish their course in either December or June. The graduation ceremony in Australia is only once a year - in April. So some of them who graduated in June waited around 10 months for graduation then only job hunt... and no, it's not a joke - I have several friends who did just that. Therefore it's absolutely normal for them to ask this question IMO. It's fairly common for graduating students to land jobs before they graduate. It may seem heavy, but you got to start somewhere. Why would someone wants to wait around for 10 months? You do not need to have the paper qualifications in your pocket to begin with. If they ask you for it, all you need to say is, "Sir/Madam, I cannot afford to wait for my convocation to take place. However, I'll photocopy my certifications once I get a hold of it." Not everyone has the privilege of waiting. Regards, Joey p.s: Some can afford to wait. Some need to act instead of waiting. This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Feb 8 2010, 11:09 AM
Joey Christensen
Feb 10 2010, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(ellena @ Feb 9 2010, 09:36 PM) Hie, I would like to ask if i were to send a Thank you letter for the interviewer but I dont have their email. How do i send it ? There's 3 interviewer so should I type 3 different email or only 1 that thank all 3 of them ? Cheers~ It is not necessarily to do so. Do whatever that is within your capacity. Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Nov 22 2010, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(shinningteen @ Nov 12 2010, 03:38 PM) I just finish my study as a diploma student. In the same time, I got an interview form a company. Here, I still dont have the diploma certificate and i still waiting my final semester result. So what should I do during the interview Either you verbally inform them or pen it down on your documents. QUOTE(melol @ Nov 17 2010, 07:41 PM) What if im going for an interview for a job that actually do not allow wearing of make up during working ? Eg in the factory plant , practise food safety... As i know a light make up is advisable for girls during interview process....
any say on this? Make your self clean and presentable. Why would you make it as thou you are trying to diffuse an explosive? It's just an interview. Regards, Joey This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Nov 22 2010, 04:27 PM
Joey Christensen
Feb 5 2012, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Relentless @ Feb 5 2012, 01:33 PM) Guys,Tips for improving 'improvising skill' for interviews. Are you seeking forth something or just merely sharing something? I don't know what were you trying to say. Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen
Apr 1 2012, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(patrickthissen @ Mar 31 2012, 12:17 AM) I got once told by my friend that during interview, try to 'boom' the interviewer by telling 'I am very good in this skill bla bla bla etc.' The purpose just to impress interviewer.
But in fact i am not so proficiency in that particular area. Is it good to be honest or lie to the interviewer? Try this move on a seasoned interviewer and you'll see the boomerang effect of your lies (if you choose to lie) Regards, Joey p.s: Honesty is always the best policy.
Joey Christensen
Jun 25 2012, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 24 2012, 10:06 PM) if I resign because boss do unethical thing which u also need to sign on the letter where company manipulated the data to gov. how? tell ur interviewer meh? You could mentioned something that is not that direct. D'uh! Regards, Joey